Benton Mckay Springer Mountain Loop

INTERMÉDIAIRE 86 avis
N°5 sur 9 randonnées à

Benton Mckay Springer Mountain Loop est un sentier en boucle de 4.1 miles modérément fréquenté situé près de Ellijay, Géorgie. Le sentier traverse une forêt et sa difficulté est évaluée comme modérée. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités. Les chiens sont les bienvenus sur ce sentier mais seulement en laisse.

Distance: 4.1 miles Dénivelé: 846 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens en laisse

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

course à pied

forêt

randonnée
rocheux
8 days ago

randonnée
arbres tombés
rocheux
8 days ago

randonnée
1 month ago

Belle piste mais difficile à atteindre. Trajet vers le sentier comprend un trajet de 5 km sur du gravier, une seule voie, une route. Un trajet cahoteux, lent mais faisable de 30 minutes.

randonnée
rocheux
1 month ago

a enregistré Benton Mckay Springer Mountain Loop

randonnée
propriété privée
2 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

Belle piste. Je suis allé dans le sens anti-horaire et visité le Terminus. 2 premiers milles du Benton McKaye facile à modérer. Reste modéré avec quelques montées importantes mais le paysage et les traversées d’eau le valent bien.

randonnée
7 months ago

Grand sentier difficile. Traverse plusieurs criques pour l’approvisionnement en eau. Avais ma première rencontre d'ours!

randonnée
8 months ago

Je ne recommanderais pas ce sentier. La route pour se rendre au parking de la montagne Springer était une heure de sentiers de montagne boueux et boueuse qui ont vraiment gâché notre petite voiture. Les vues au sommet de la montagne Springer étaient très décevantes et la majeure partie de la randonnée est boisée et sans particularité.

randonnée
8 months ago

C'était un si beau sentier! J'ai rencontré quelques personnes qui commençaient leur randonnée vers le nord en AT, ce qui était un réel plaisir. Chien amical, plein de gens gentils, mais la route du début du sentier était un petit cauchemar. Si vous avez une voiture capable de gérer facilement la conduite hors route, vous n’aurez pas à vous inquiéter, mais ni moi ni ma Honda Accord n’étions préparés à la longue route en terre et en gravier indiquée par nos instructions. Elle est escarpée, remplie de nids-de-poule et comporte quelques endroits si boueux que ma voiture a failli rester coincée. La randonnée en valait vraiment la peine, mais préparez-vous à une randonnée cahoteuse!

9 months ago

Nous avons parcouru ce sentier le 6 mars. C'était une matinée fraîche avec des taches de glace sur le sentier. C'était tellement excitant de visiter le terminus AT! Nous avons rencontré 3 randonneurs débutant leur voyage dans le Maine. Bonne chance à chacun d'entre eux! La boucle de Bentin Mackaye était vraiment belle et tranquille. Nous avons seulement vu des randonneurs sur la partie AT de la boucle. Nous avons vu plusieurs pics et merles bleus. C'était une belle journée et une belle randonnée!

randonnée
9 months ago

Nous avons parcouru ce sentier le 3/4/19! Beau sentier! Springer Mountain est le terminus sud officiel du sentier des Appalaches (AT) !! Nous avons commencé la piste à 12h09 et il faisait 22 degrés Celsius, vents nuageux et vents de 10 mph. Nous avons commencé à 1 mile de Springer Mountain sur la portion AT du sentier et nous avons juste fait un petit détour de la boucle jusqu'au terminus AT alors que nous sommes allés au sommet, mais nous n’avons aucune vue aussi nuageux, venteux et brumeux! Rencontré environ 15 randonneurs sur l'AT et 3 ont été à travers les randonneurs! SO alors nous nous sommes aventurés en arrière et avons pris un droit sur le BMT pour commencer notre boucle! C'était absolument magnifique !!! Le pays des merveilles de l’hiver, des glaçons, des pins enneigés et même traverser des tunnels de neige recouvrant Rhododendron et Mountain Laurel le long du ruisseau et même traverser trois zones de ruisseau !! Tellement gentil et pacifique aussi !! Seulement rencontré un très beau couple sur le BMT et leur belle bien-aimée Dogo Aregentinian !! Elle était vraiment la beauté d'un toutou! KUDOS aux Trailblazers BMT et aux bénévoles de maintenance pour hommes et femmes! Ce sentier est en très bon état et très bien entretenu! Quelques taches boueuses mais sinon parfait et bien marqué !! Nous avons déjeuné à Owen's Overlook et à ce moment-là, le soleil était sorti et dégagé pour nous donner une vue incroyable !!!!

randonnée
10 months ago

Belle piste avec trois traversées de criques!

randonnée
10 months ago

C'est un super petit cercle autour de la montagne. De beaux tunnels à travers le Rhododendron et la montagne Laurel le long des calanques. Longues vues sur les montagnes depuis les crêtes, en hiver.

Mon Oct 08 2018

LES ABEILLES À OWENS LOOKOUT. GOT STUNG 4 FOIS

randonnée
Sun Sep 30 2018

Le belvédère d'Owen avait les meilleures vues, mais les abeilles nous ont piqué, alors faites attention.

Sun Sep 02 2018

C’est une bonne journée de randonnée que tout le monde peut faire. Owens Lookout était assez impressionnant. Je recommanderais d'aller jusqu'au sommet de Springer. C'est moins d'un demi-mile.

randonnée
Sun Aug 26 2018

Je recommande de faire un petit détour de cette boucle jusqu'au terminus AT situé en haut de la montagne. Une séance photo amusante au marqueur AT permet de signer le journal de bord et de profiter d’une belle vue. Conseil: Certains chemins de terre des services forestiers sont réservés aux véhicules à jeu élevé. Consultez leurs cartes pour choisir le meilleur accès pour vous. Même certaines des routes marquées pour les véhicules de tourisme peuvent ne pas convenir aux berlines basses, à cause des nids de poule. https://www.fs.usda.gov/main/conf/maps-pubs

randonnée
Fri Jul 20 2018

belle piste modérée qui vous amène sur deux gros, l'AT et le BMT. nous avons fait de la randonnée un vendredi et n’avons vu que quelques personnes. C’est alors que nous nous approchions du parking. Nous avons déjeuné à Owen's qui est à mi-chemin. C'était notre deuxième fois sur le sentier. L'année dernière, nous l'avons parcouru dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre et cette année, nous sommes allés dans l'autre sens :)

randonnée
Sat Jul 14 2018

Ce sentier est un must. Vous pouvez voir le premier incendie de l'AT avec une vue incroyable sur le sommet de la montagne Springer, puis vous suivrez une incroyable crique avec des cascades mouillables.

randonnée
Fri Apr 27 2018

J'ai allumé et éteint mon enregistrement quand nous nous sommes arrêtés. J'ai oublié de reprendre à une vue et ai manqué la moitié de la randonnée. Je vais laisser l'enregistrement à partir de maintenant. Nous avons pris le chemin le plus difficile pour nous rendre au départ. Effrayant! Nous avons conduit à la maison Doublehead Gap Rd à 52. Beaucoup mieux! Le sentier était bien balisé, modérément facile et tellement beau fin avril. Peu de randonneurs étaient sur le sentier. 3 traversées de cours d'eau sur le sentier Benton Mackaye. Une bonne journée.

randonnée
Fri Nov 17 2017

Nous avons fini par faire une boucle de 5,5 km qui a suivi à peu près cette boucle. Belle randonnée l'après-midi. Drive intéressant, via les routes UFS pour se rendre au parking.

randonnée
1 day ago

randonnée
29 days ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
2 months ago

Charger plus

Benton Mckay Springer Mountain Loop

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(103)
Blue Ridge Wildlife Management Area

Benton Mckay Springer Mountain Loop is a 4.1 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Ellijay, Georgia that features a great forest setting and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, running, and nature trips. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 4.1 miles Elevation Gain: 846 feet Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

hiking

nature trips

walking

running

forest

hiking
15 days ago

Great trail to hike, the view at the top was worth the work. The dogs enjoyed it a well

hiking
1 month ago

Love this place but it is CLOSED

hiking
muddy
rocky
2 months ago

Loved this trail! I went clockwise, but I would suggest going counterclockwise. Especially if you might not be in peak shape. There is a VERY long climb up to the top of Springer. I haven’t been hiking in a few months and it was also my first time hiking with a loaded 65L backpack. There are 3 water crossing that had slick rocks for stepping stones. Trekking poles would make that a lot easier.

hiking
muddy
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

Such a great trail! got a taste of the AT, Springer Mountain was a bit crowded at the top, as was expected from other reviews. Neat photo ops though with AT signage. The view from Owen's Overlook on the BM trail was incredible. We just sat and enjoyed it for quite a while, and we were the only ones there. On the backside of this loop, the creek crossings are really fun. Rocks are strategically placed so you don't get wet, but it still feels somehow adventurous. We had a lot of fun on this trail!

hiking
rocky
6 months ago

hiking
blowdown
rocky
6 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

Nice trail but hard to get to. Drive to trail includes a 5 mile drive on gravel, single lane, road. A bumpy, slow but doable 30 minute drive.

hiking
rocky
7 months ago

hiking
private property
8 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

Beautiful trail. Went counter clockwise and visited the Terminus. First 2 miles of the Benton McKaye easy to moderate. Remainder moderate with some significant climbs but scenery and water crossings make it well worth it.

hiking
Sat Apr 20 2019

Great challenging trail. Crosses several creeks for water supply. Had my first bear encounter!

hiking
Sun Mar 31 2019

I wouldn't recommend this trail. The drive to get to the Springer Mountain parking area was an hour of potholed, muddy mountain paths that really messed up our small car. The views at the Springer Mountain summit were very underwhelming, and most of the hike is forested and unremarkable.

hiking
Sat Mar 16 2019

This was such a lovely trail! I met a few people beginning their hike north on the AT, which was such a pleasure. Dog friendly, chock-full of kind people, but the road to the trailhead was a small nightmare. If you have a car that can handle off-roading with ease, then you don’t have to worry, but neither I nor my Honda Accord were prepared for the long (about 7 miles?) dirt and gravel road that our directions indicated. It is steep, filled with potholes, and had a few places so muddy that my car almost got stuck. The hike was absolutely worth it, but be prepared for a bumpy ride!

Sun Mar 10 2019

We hiked this trail on March 6th. It was a chilly morning with icy spots on the trail. It was so exciting to visit the AT terminus! We met 3 hikers beginning their journeys to Maine. Good luck to each of them! The Bentin Mackaye Loop was really nice and quite. We only saw hikers on the AT portion of the loop. We saw several woodpeckers and Eastern Bluebirds. It was a beautiful day and a great hike!

hiking
Thu Mar 07 2019

We hiked this trail on 3/4/19! Beautiful Trail! Springer Mountain is the official southern terminus of the Appalachian Trail(AT) !! We began the trail at 12:09pm and it was a crisp 22 degrees, cloudy and 10mph winds! We started at the 1 mile up to Springer Mountain on the AT portion of the trail and we took just a short detour off the loop to the AT terminus as we went to the top, but no view as cloudy, windy and fogged over! Met about 15 plus hikers on the AT and 3 were thru hikers! SO then we ventured back and took a right on to the BMT to begin our loop! It was absolutely STUNNING!!!! Winter wonderland, icicles, snow covered pines, and even walked through tunnels of snow covered Rhododendron and Mountain Laurel along the creek and even got to cross over three stream areas!! SO NICE and PEACEFUL too!! Only met one very nice couple on the BMT and their beautiful beloved Aregentinian Dogo!! She sure was a beauty of a pooch! KUDOS to the BMT Trailblazers and Maintenance MEN and WOMEN VOLUNTEERS! This trail is in very good shape and maintained excellently! A few muddy spots but otherwise perfect and well marked!! We had lunch at Owen’s Overlook and by then the sun had come out and cleared to give us AN INCREDIBLE VIEW!!!!

Nice trail with three creek crossings!

hiking
Sat Jan 26 2019

This is a great little circle around the mountain. Beautiful tunnels through the Rhododendron and Mountain Laurel along the creeks. Long reaching views of mountain ranges from the ridges, in winter.

Mon Oct 08 2018

BEES AT OWENS LOOKOUT. GOT STUNG 4 TIMES

hiking
Sun Sep 30 2018

Owen’s lookout had the best views, but we got stung by bees, so just be careful.

Sun Sep 02 2018

This is a good day hike that just about anyone can do. Owens lookout was pretty impressive. I would recommend going all the way to the Springer summit. It's less than half a mile.

hiking
Sun Aug 26 2018

I recommend taking a short detour off this loop to the AT terminus at top of the mountain. Fun photo op at the AT marker, can sign the log [composition book], and enjoy a nice overlook. Tip: Some of the forest service dirt roads are for high clearance vehicles only. Check out their maps to choose the best access for you. Even some of the roads marked for passenger vehicles might not be suitable for sedans that are low to the ground - due to potholes. https://www.fs.usda.gov/main/conf/maps-pubs

hiking
Fri Jul 20 2018

nice moderate trail that gets you on two big ones, the AT and the BMT. we hiked on a Friday and only saw a few people and that was when we were getting close to the parking lot. We ate our lunch at Owen's overlook which is about halfway. This was our second time on the trail, last year we hiked it clockwise and this year we went the other way:)

hiking
Sat Jul 14 2018

This trail is a must do. You get to see the first blaze on the AT with a incredible view on top of Springer mountain and then you'll follow a incredible creek with mutable waterfalls .

hiking
Fri Apr 27 2018

I turned my recording on and off as we stopped. I forgot to restart at an overlook and missed 1/2 of the hike. I will leave the recording on from now on. We took the most difficult road to get to the start. Scary! We drove home Doublehead Gap Rd to 52. Much better! The trail was well marked, moderately easy and so beautiful at the end of April. Few hikers were in the trail. 3 stream crossings on Benton Mackaye trail. A good day.

hiking
Fri Nov 17 2017

We ended up doing a 5.5 mile loop that roughly followed this loop. Nice afternoon hike. Interesting drive, via UFS roads to get to parking lot.

Showing results 1 - 28 of 103