The Florida Trail Segment 18: Green Swamp Wilderness Preserve Hampton Tract to Richloam Fire Tower

INTERMÉDIAIRE 11 avis
N°6 sur 17 randonnées à

Segment 18 du sentier Florida: La réserve naturelle de Green Swamp Wilderness Preserve de Hampton Tract à Richloam Fire Tower est un circuit en boucle à trafic modéré situé près de Polk City, en Floride, qui comporte un lac et est qualifié de modéré. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et est accessible toute l’année. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance : 8.3 miles Dénivelé: 36 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens en laisse

randonnée sac-à-dos

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

course de trail

balade

ornithologie

lac

rivière

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

randonnée
hors piste
1 month ago

randonnée
couvert de végétation
insectes
pas d'ombre
1 month ago

Le sentier ici est en fait le Green Swamp Wilderness Preserve Hampton Tract, ce qui peut prêter à confusion pour les personnes qui voient le titre de ce sentier. Il y a un sentier est plus loin sur Rockridge Road, mais ce n'est pas ça. La tour de pompiers mentionnée doit être celle de la route 98 et vous pouvez y aller à pied par ce réseau de sentiers, bien que ce soit un bon moyen de partir de ce début de piste. L’enregistrement que j’ai fait suit le tracé des repères 1 à 4 de la carte, qui m’entraînent à travers le camping, puis jusqu’à 8, et continuent de parcourir 17, 18, 6 et 5 avant de terminer la boucle par 2 et 1. (Il y a un total de 20 balises dans ce système, alors prenez une carte au début du sentier.) Entre la route très difficile pour le premier kilomètre et le dernier demi-mille, les conditions de sentier envahies par la végétation que j'ai rencontrées à plusieurs endroits sable dans d’autres, et de profondes sections défoncées de pistes de jeep ou de VTT, j’étais prêt à terminer ce sentier au bout de 5 km environ. Je m'étais pourtant engagé à boucler une boucle de 15 km et j'ai survécu. Mais cela pourrait nécessiter du travail. Cela fonctionnera peut-être mieux comme sentier équestre (pour lequel il est utilisé) ou comme vélo de montagne, mais c’était difficile pour une randonnée que je ne referai probablement pas. Il n'y a que quelques endroits ombragés, ce qui le rend très chaud, et beaucoup d'insectes. En été, en randonnée en Floride, on apprend à gérer cela, mais les conditions générales du sentier n'étaient pas bonnes et ont conduit à une journée peu agréable. Comme je l'ai dit, ce n'est peut-être pas grave si vous êtes à cheval, mais il était difficile de trouver un terrain plat où ne pas pénétrer dans les traces de pneus profonds ou épais.

randonnée
2 months ago

J'ai marché devant pour revenir aux lacs. Environ 8 miles. Très facile marche bon pour n'importe qui. Puis a marché la boucle 11. Beaucoup d'ornières. Une surface irrégulière. C'est un très bel endroit. J'ai hâte d'y retourner!

Grand tour. Beaucoup de sentiers et de variété. Le lac à la fin est incroyable.

Saturday, June 02, 2018

pas beaucoup de piste unique. principalement des sentiers de Jeep. il est isolé, sans trop de variété, vous êtes donc seul. beaucoup d'espaces ouverts, donc vous êtes sûr de voir la faune.

randonnée
Tuesday, January 02, 2018

Nous sommes arrivés en voiture de Tampa et avons rencontré un ami venant de Sanford. Les sentiers étaient plus étendus que ce qui est reflété ici. Il y a une bonne carte au début du sentier, mais nous vous recommandons de la prendre en photo car il n'y a pas de carte papier à emporter avec vous. Il y a des indicateurs de piste décents ici. Sachez que certains des sentiers adjacents aux zones de brûlage contrôlé sont très déchirés en raison du matériel lourd utilisé pour contrôler les incendies. Cela signifie que les sentiers sont très inégaux avec du sable doux. Il est facile de tourner la cheville avec les deux pas en avant et un pas en arrière. Lorsque nous sommes sortis de la zone des brûlés contrôlés, le sentier était beaucoup plus agréable. De plus, le sentier fait référence à l'entrée «Hampton» et cela nous a amenés à nous demander si nous étions au bon endroit. Étant donné que les sentiers sont beaucoup plus étendus que ce qui est indiqué sur ce sentier, vous voudrez peut-être essayer quelques-unes des autres options pour voir si la randonnée est plus agréable.

randonnée
Thursday, May 11, 2017

Il faisait trop chaud pour moi aujourd’hui pour pouvoir profiter de la piste, mais j’ai vu un cerf et mon premier alligator, le cerf m’a couru droit vers moi. commence la piste. Le gator était dans un petit marais vert presque au retour du sentier. C'est assez sablonneux en randonnée et pas beaucoup pour l'ombre.

randonnée
Sunday, January 12, 2014

belle piste bien marquée .GPS est faux pour l'entrée. Vous devez aller plus à l'ouest.

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
Thursday, May 24, 2018

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

The Florida Trail Segment 18: Green Swamp Wilderness Preserve Hampton Tract to Richloam Fire Tower

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray Star(20)
Withlacoochee State Forest

The Florida Trail Segment 18: Green Swamp Wilderness Preserve Hampton Tract to Richloam Fire Tower is a 8.3 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Polk City, Florida that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 8.3 miles Elevation Gain: 36 feet Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

backpacking

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

running

lake

river

views

wild flowers

wildlife

For up to date park information, please see their website here: https://www.fdacs.gov/Divisions-Offices/Florida-Forest-Service/Our-Forests/State-Forests/Withlacoochee-State-Forest

mountain biking
1 month ago

Trails are within the Hampton Tract of the Green Swamp Wilderness Preserve. Well marked parking lot but easy to miss, right at the intersection of Deen Still and Rockridge Rd. Maps at the gate - take one! - but also bring your compass. Trails are well marked but there are some confusing intersections that the map doesn’t help with and it’s a big property. Also bring bug spray and plenty of water. I did this with mountain bike - all trails are wide, multi-use, various surfaces, some better maintained than others. I went on a Saturday morning and had the whole place to myself. Nice flat woods and lakes towards the back of the property.

I’m new to hiking this was my third hike and my longest definitely interesting wading through water and the different terrain it was very interesting and fun though I’d do it again

hiking
bugs
8 months ago

Fucking mosquitos

hiking
off trail
11 months ago

The trailhead here is actually the Green Swamp Wilderness Preserve Hampton Tract, so that may be confusing for people who see the title of this trail. There is an East trailhead further out on Rockridge Road but this isn’t it. The fire tower mentioned has to be the one on Highway 98, and you can hike to that point through this trail system, though it's a good ways from this trailhead. The recording I did follows the trail from markers 1-4 on the map, which took me through the campground, then over to 8, and continuing to run through 17, 18, 6, and 5 before completing the loop with 2 and 1. (There are a total of 20 markers in this system, so pick up a map at the trailhead.) Between the open hard-packed road for the first mile and the final half-mile, overgrown trail conditions I encountered at several spots, thick sand in others, and deep rutted sections from jeep or ATV tracks, I was ready for this trail to end after about 3 miles. I'd committed myself to finishing a 9-mile loop though and I survived. But it could use some work. It might work better as an equestrian trail (which it's used for) or mountain biking, but it was tough for a hike and one I won't likely do again. There are only a few spots that are shaded, making it very hot, and a lot of bugs. Hiking in Florida during the summer, you learn to deal with that, but the overall trail conditions weren't good and led to a less than enjoyable day. Like I said, it might not be bad if you're on a horse, but it was hard finding level ground where you weren't stepping into deep tire tracks or thick

hiking
Fri May 31 2019

I walked front to back to lakes. About 8 miles. Very easy walk good for anyone. Then walked loop 11. Lots of ruts. Uneven surface. This is very nice place. Can’t wait to go back!

Great ride. Lots of trails and variety. The lake at the end is amazing.

Sat Jun 02 2018

not a lot of single track trail. mostly Jeep trails. it is isolated, without a lot of variety so you get to be alone. a lot of open spaces, so you are sure to see wildlife.

hiking
Tue Jan 02 2018

We drove over from Tampa and met a friend coming in from Sanford. The trails were more extensive than that which is reflected here. There is a decent map at the trailhead but we would recommend that you take a picture of it as there are no hardcopy maps to take with you. There are decent trail indicators here. Be aware that some of the trails adjacent to the controlled burn areas are very torn up due to the heavy equipment that they use to control the fires. This means that the trails are very uneven with soft sand. Easy to turn agn ankle with the proverbial two steps forward and one step back. When we got out of the area of the controlled burns the trail was much more enjoyable. Also, the trailhead references “Hampton“ entrance and that made us wonder if we were at the right place. Given that the trails are much more extensive than reflected on this trail you may want to try out some of the other options to see if the hiking is a more enjoyable.

hiking
Thu May 11 2017

It was too hot for me today 93 to really enjoy the trail, I did however see a deer and my first alligator, the deer ran right towards me, than past me like I wasn't even there right on the straight hard pack road that begins the trail. The gator was in a small green swamp almost back to the y of the trail. It's quite sandy hiking the loop and not much for shade.

hiking
Sun Jan 12 2014

nice trail well marked .GPS is wrong for the entrance. You need to go farther west.

hiking
Sat May 25 2019

hiking
Thu May 24 2018