Castaway Island Preserve Walk

EASY 25 reviews
#2 of 2 trails in

Castaway Island Preserve Walk is a 1 mile heavily trafficked out and back trail located near Jacksonville, Florida that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is best used from October until April. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.0 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
3 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

views

wild flowers

wildlife

muddy

5 months ago

Very easy boardwalk hike.

walking
7 months ago

This trail is great if you have little children and have strollers or for handicapped people. It is very accessible. For me though, I rather enjoy a longer, non- paved trail. I would also consider this pretty safe also, as it was fairly crowded when I was there.

trail running
9 months ago

Pretty short for a trail run. The trail was paved the entire way. Gorgeous views!

hiking
10 months ago

walking
11 months ago

Nice quick trail to get your steps in. Seeing the tiny crabs on the intercoastal is pretty cool too.

walking
Monday, July 31, 2017

It was crowded and short. As a serious naturalist/hiker, I would not recommend it.

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Alright. All paved. Very short.

hiking
Saturday, June 03, 2017

We had a great time adventuring today! My daughter loved following the animal footprints.

walking
Saturday, April 29, 2017

Great short walk for those with limited time; perfect for a quick lunchtime walk.

Monday, January 16, 2017

Easy walk with a fun game along the whole thing. Was able to do with a 11 month old carrying him most of the time. Not the most scenic walk but a good walk for the family.

walking
Thursday, December 08, 2016

Easy, peaceful, and informative. Perfect for children.

hiking
2 days ago

4 months ago

6 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

Saturday, July 29, 2017

hiking
Sunday, July 09, 2017

Thursday, April 13, 2017

walking
Thursday, April 06, 2017

birding
Monday, March 13, 2017

Saturday, March 04, 2017

walking
Saturday, January 21, 2017

walking
Thursday, January 19, 2017