Assawoman Canal Trail is a 2 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Ocean View, Delaware and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 2.0 miles Elevation Gain: 32 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

road biking

walking

bird watching

running

hiking
1 month ago

Easy and short. Not much view as it backs up to a development and back yards are very close to the trail. Big drop offs to water (erosion). I have never had to pay to park. Not sure where others are saying they paid?

hiking
fee
2 months ago

Great trail, 4 stars for having to cross busy roadway that no one stops for pedestrians for

walking
4 months ago

more of a stroll

hiking
9 months ago

Fun short and flat

hiking
Sun Jan 27 2019

Nice short trail but it does wind through the back of peoples property that are no more than spitting distance away

Sat Jul 28 2018

short trail. Not very scenic unless you like looking at peoples houses. Paying to use the trail is ridicules. $4 for instate $8 for out of state. You are actually paying for parking, but there is nowhere else to park. The alley leading up to the parking is marked no parking. there are better trails near by.

walking
Sun Oct 08 2017

Nice & short quiet flat trail for an easy quiet bike ride along the canal, dog-walk, or nature walk with the kiddos. Perfect little cut-through trail to ride or run from Ocean View to Bethany.

Sat May 20 2017

Nice walkable short shady trail.

Fri Apr 14 2017

Walked this trail in april and its a nice quiet trail that goes along a canal. Approximately one mile each way. It runs along a residential neighborhood. Nice trail for walking and bike riding with family. Good for children and saw many birds. To walk the entire path you must cross a road about 3/4 of the way. Looks like the state is expanding the trail. Parking and restrooms are available.

hiking
6 days ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

mountain biking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

mountain biking
Sat May 04 2019

hiking
Sun Apr 28 2019

hiking
Sun Sep 30 2018

hiking
Sun Sep 16 2018

running
Sun Feb 18 2018

Sun Oct 22 2017

recorded Assawoman Canal Trail

hiking
Sat Aug 05 2017