Sweetheart Mountain Trail

MODERATE 23 reviews

Sweetheart Mountain Trail is a 1.5 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Canton, Connecticut that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.5 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
426 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

hiking

forest

views

wild flowers

bugs

Former ski resort that closed many years ago, and has since overgrown. Many remnants of old ski equipment can be seen in the trail, such as lift ropes and pulleys, and drive motors.

hiking
12 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

A decent hike, but note worth the time given the variety of other trails in the area.

Pros: short hike for decent views, cool old ski area equipment, and ability to see the old trails. Also very few people so nice solitude.
Cons: wandering dogs can be dangerous (was attacked on more than one occasion) and the trails are not well maintained. Always bring mace.

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Sunday, November 13, 2016

Good view southeast toward Rattlesnake Mountain in Farmington.

Saturday, October 15, 2016

steep and beautiful

hiking
Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

hiking
Monday, October 10, 2016

Really great short hike. Awesome views during the fall time!

Monday, September 12, 2016

Friday, September 02, 2016

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

it was my first solo hike look out was not part of blazed path so I had to follow someone else's directions. good short hike pretty view!

hiking
Monday, August 01, 2016

Fairly short and easy hike. Great for kids. You have to kind of wander off the trail to see the views, but it was pretty. Would do it again.

hiking
Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Great views

hiking
Saturday, July 02, 2016

hiking
Monday, May 16, 2016

Not a bad trail for a quick hike.

hiking
Saturday, May 14, 2016

hiking
Thursday, May 12, 2016

Awesome short hike! The 2nd view is pretty awesome! It seems like a hidden gem that no one knows about!

Sunday, April 24, 2016

great incline. beautiful second view