Lover's Leap Trail

FACILE 96 avis
N°1 sur 3 randonnées à

Lover's Leap Trail est un sentier très fréquenté de 1,2 km situé près de New Milford, dans le Connecticut, qui comprend un lac et convient à tous les niveaux de compétence. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et sa meilleure utilisation est d’avril à novembre. Les chiens sont également capables d'utiliser ce sentier.

Distance: 1.2 miles Dénivelé: 196 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

convient aux enfants

pêche

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

running

forêt

lac

vue panoramique

boueux

site historique

Les sentiers traversant le parc mèneront le promeneur à travers des siècles d'histoire de l'utilisation des terres. En se dirigeant vers le nord-est depuis le parking, le sentier utilise le pont de fer 1895 de Berlin, l'un des cinq ponts restants dans le Connecticut, pour traverser la rivière Housatonic. De l'autre côté du pont, le sentier Lovers Leap se dirige vers le sud-est, à 1 200 pieds de la formation rocheuse qui a donné son nom au parc. De là, la tradition veut que la princesse Lillinonah, fille du chef indien Pootatuck Indian Waramaugs, et son amant aient sombré à la mort. Le chef lui-même est décédé en 1735. La vue vers le sud donne sur une île Goodyear, aujourd'hui submergée, qui doit son nom à un ancien commerçant de fourrures de Derby venu pour commercer avec la communauté indienne établie. Des ruines de l’ère industrielle existent toujours près de l’eau dans la partie nord-ouest du parc. D'autres ruines ont été localisées sur la carte ci-jointe.

randonnée
8 days ago

Idéal pour les familles qui souhaitent faire de la randonnée. Il est facile de naviguer sur les sentiers avant le pont et après le pont à droite. Il y a une petite surprise mignonne dans les bois que les enfants vont adorer. Le pont est absolument magnifique et il y a une histoire dans son histoire d'où le nom Lovers Leap. Attention, les falaises sont assez raides et parfois glissantes. Je serai de retour pour explorer plus

randonnée
insectes
1 month ago

Attention aux éclats de verre tout au long du sentier.

randonnée
insectes
2 months ago

randonnée
couvert de végétation
insectes
3 months ago

ce sentier est facilement prolongé. Il y a une boucle supérieure près du parking. Et un autre sous le pont routier.

randonnée
4 months ago

Très facile, super simple, simple, marche / randonnée plus rapide, à voir -

randonnée
5 months ago

Idéal pour une courte randonnée. Environ une heure et demie peut vous amener à différents endroits intéressants. Bonne piste pour les chiens.

Sunday, September 16, 2018

Je ne sais pas pourquoi il est bien noté, peut-être que les autres pistes pourraient être meilleures. Nous sommes allés sur le sentier des amoureux, qui n'avait aucun fascination :( il n'y a qu'un seul point de vue et ce n'est pas si terrible. L'eau est toujours tellement de moustiques et honnêtement, quand le lac Candlewood est aussi beau, c'est une perte de temps en amoureux saute.

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Pas une mauvaise randonnée. Maintenu par les utilisateurs avec un peu d'aide de l'état. Vue sur la rivière très agréable.

randonnée
Tuesday, August 07, 2018

Ça vaut le coup pour le pont et la vue du "saut" aussi. Oui, le sentier principal est assez court, mais il y a beaucoup d'autres sentiers à explorer dans le parc.

balade
Thursday, June 07, 2018

Une grande variété de sentiers faciles avec de multiples miradors. Le pont en acier rend cet endroit encore meilleur. Assurez-vous de lire les plaques d'information au début car elles enrichissent l'expérience et l'importance historique de ce magnifique parc d'État.

balade
Tuesday, June 05, 2018

La marche vers le Leap Lovers actuel est ridiculement courte. Mais il y a d'autres sentiers qui serpentent pour une promenade plus longue et il y a de jolies vues.

Monday, May 21, 2018

C'est "facile" du parking à la première vue. J'ai fait cette randonnée plus «modérée» de 3 km en explorant les sentiers rouge et bleu et en parcourant les deux côtés de la rivière. Il doit y avoir un champ de tir à proximité, car il y a eu des coups de feu maintes et maintes fois qui m'ont amené à faire demi-tour sur Red Trail, car les tirs se rapprochaient, me rendant nerveuse. Blue Trail est un parcours beaucoup plus joli que le Red Trail. Belle vue ... surveillez votre pied!

randonnée
Sunday, April 29, 2018

Il y a beaucoup plus à faire que la courte randonnée vers l'aperçu rocheux. Au-dessus du sentier principal, un réseau de sentiers bleus, rouges et jaunes passe près des ruines du domaine de Catherine Judson Hurd. Le sentier bleu mène à une vue magnifique sur la rivière ci-dessous. De retour plus près du parking, il y a aussi une belle boucle bleue qui suit le rivage avant de traverser à nouveau le bois jusqu'au parking Iron Bridge est super cool aussi.

balade
Sunday, April 22, 2018

Courte promenade et vues douces

randonnée
Monday, March 05, 2018

Randonnée facile et de belles vues

randonnée
Thursday, October 19, 2017

Courte randonnée avec un accès facile à de belles vues sur le lac Lillinonah. Vous pouvez traverser le pont et emprunter le large chemin de gravier qui monte directement vers la plus grande falaise, mais il existe d’autres points de vue impressionnants plus loin dans la montagne si les sentiers plus raides ne vous dérangent pas. Beaucoup de vestiges de bâtiments intéressants et de sites historiques également, pour ceux qui aiment l'histoire de la région!

balade
Sunday, September 10, 2017

Un bon petit sentier ... Le début est unique en traversant l'un des 4 ponts de fer qui existent encore dans le Connecticut. Il y a aussi d'autres options de randonnée dans le parc avec plusieurs autres sentiers

Tuesday, August 08, 2017

Ils sont fous de noter cette facile. La colline que vous devez gravir les deux directions est tout sauf une

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Le sentier bleu offrait de superbes vues, mais c’était une randonnée extrêmement facile - pas pour les randonneurs passionnés.

balade
Saturday, June 03, 2017

Friday, May 19, 2017

Belle vue avec un accès facile au belvédère.

randonnée
Monday, April 24, 2017

Terrain relativement court et facile. L'histoire derrière cet endroit est également un atout. Il y a un beau parking, vous ne devriez donc pas avoir de problème à trouver une place pour vous garer. Il y a aussi une salle de bain qui est pratique, pas la plus propre quand j'y étais mais cela suffira. Pendant mon séjour, nous avons emprunté le sentier bleu qui offrait une vue magnifique sur l’eau au sommet. Kid et animaux acceptés. Vous pouvez aussi aller pêcher.

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Empruntez la Blue Trail sur la colline, vous serez récompensé par une vue magnifique.

balade
Monday, September 05, 2016

Il a de jolies vues et une promenade relaxante. Je ne pouvais pas sortir des sentiers battus, ce qui rendait la randonnée très courte.

randonnée
Thursday, June 30, 2016

Super joli sentier. J'ai adoré la vue et mon chien a profité d'une petite baignade dans le lac au bord d'un des sentiers. Peut être un entraînement si vous choisissez la bonne piste à suivre.

randonnée
Thursday, June 16, 2016

C'est un endroit très cool! Nous avons parcouru le sentier bleu qui était facile mais avait une vue magnifique! Vu des cerfs sur le chemin qui était cool. Les enfants vont adorer les quais très escarpés!

Sunday, June 12, 2016

Ok pour les débutants. Facile

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Cette randonnée n’est pas une randonnée pour les randonneurs expérimentés. Il est destiné aux rendez-vous familiaux et mignons. Bel endroit, mais pour les randonneurs passionnés, ne perdez pas votre temps

randonnée
Sunday, April 17, 2016

Endroit très familial pour faire de la randonnée. Vues panoramiques très cool. Aucune plainte des enfants ou des chiens.

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Lover's Leap Trail is a 1.2 mile heavily trafficked out and back trail located near New Milford, Connecticut that features a lake and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from April until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
1.2 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
196 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dog friendly

kid friendly

birding

fishing

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

lake

views

muddy

historic site

Trails through the park will lead the walker through centuries of land-use history. Heading northeast from the parking lot the trail utilizes the 1895 Berlin Iron Bridge, one of five remaining in Connecticut, to cross the Housatonic River. Across the bridge the Lovers Leap Trail heads southeast 1,200 feet to the rock formation that gives the park its name. From here, tradition has it, that the Pootatuck Indian Chief Waramaugs daughter, Princess Lillinonah, and her lover plunged to their deaths. The Chief himself died in 1735. The view to the south overlooks a now submerged Goodyear Island named for an early fur trader from Derby who came there to trade with the established Indian Community. Industrial era ruins still exist near the water on the northwest section of the park. Other ruins have been located on the accompanying map.

2 months ago

Am not sure why it's rated well, maybe the other trails might be better. We went to the lover's leap trail which didn't have any fascinating :( there is just 1 viewing point and not all that great. The water is still so lot of mosquitos around and honestly when candlewood lake is so beautiful it's just waste of time in lovers leap.

3 months ago

Not a bad hike.
Maintained by users with little help from state.
River views very nice.

hiking
4 months ago

Worth it for the bridge and view from the “leap” point as well. Yes the main trail is pretty short but there are a bunch of other trails to explore in the park.

walking
6 months ago

A wide variety of easy trails with multiple overlooks. The steel bridge makes this place even better. Make sure to read the information plaques at the beginning as they enrich the experience and historical significance of this beautiful state park.

walking
6 months ago

The walk to the actual Lovers Leap is laughably short. But there are some other trails that snake around for a longer walk and there are some pretty views.

6 months ago

This is "easy" from the parking lot to the first view. I made this a 3+ mile more "moderate" hike by exploring the red and blue trails and doing both sides of the river. There must be a shooting range close by though because there were gunshots over and over and over leading me to turn around on the Red Trail because the shots kept getting closer, making me nervous. Blue Trail is much prettier a trail than the Red Trail. Beautiful views...watch your footing!

hiking
7 months ago

There's a lot more than the short hike to the rocky overview to do. Up above the main trail there is a network of blue, red and yellow trails that pass by the ruins of the estate of Catherine Judson Hurd. The blue trail leads to a great view of the river below. Back closer to the parking area there is also a nice blue trail loop that follows the shoreline before cutting back through the woods to the parking area. Iron bridge is super cool too.

walking
7 months ago

Short walk and sweet views

hiking
9 months ago

Easy Hike and beautiful views

hiking
Thursday, October 19, 2017

Short hike with easy access to beautiful views of Lake Lillinonah. You can cross the bridge and take the wide gravel path straight up to the largest cliff, but there are other awesome viewing spots farther up the mountain if you don't mind steeper trails. Lots of interesting building remains and historic sites too, for those who are into the history of the region!

walking
Sunday, September 10, 2017

Great little trail..beginning is unique by crossing over one of 4 iron bridges that still exist in Connecticut. There are also other hiking options in the park with several other trails

Tuesday, August 08, 2017

They are crazy rating this easy. The hill you have to climb both directions is anything but.

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Blue trail offered great views however, this was a extremely easy hike- not for avid hikers.

walking
Saturday, June 03, 2017

Friday, May 19, 2017

Great view with easy access to the overlook.

hiking
Monday, April 24, 2017

Relatively short and easy terrain. The history behind this location is also a plus. There is a nice parking lot so you should have no problem finding a place to park. There's also one bathroom which is convenient, not the cleanest when I was there but it will suffice. While I was there we took the blue trail which had a beautiful view overlooking the water at the top. Kid and pet friendly. You can go fishing as well.

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Take the Blue Trail up the Hill, you will be rewarded with a terrific view.

walking
Monday, September 05, 2016

It has pretty views and relaxing stroll. I wasn't able to take the off trails, which made the hike very short.

hiking
Thursday, June 30, 2016

Great pretty trail. I loved the views and my dog enjoyed a little swim in the lake off one of the trails. Can be a workout if you choose the right trail to follow.

hiking
Thursday, June 16, 2016

This is a very cool place! Walked the blue trail which was easy but had awesome views! Saw some deer on the path which was cool. Kids will love it however very steep embankments!

Sunday, June 12, 2016

Okay for beginners. Easy

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

This hike is not a hike for advanced hikers. It is meant for family's and cute dates. Nice place, but for avid hikers don't waste your time

hiking
Sunday, April 17, 2016

Very family friendly place to hike. Very cool scenic views. No complaints from the kids or dogs.

hiking
Wednesday, April 06, 2016

Skys the limit challenge brought me here. OK hike to the Scenic Vista leaves were very slippery and the view was cool. Hit up a few geocaches along the way. Not too much to bring me all the way back out here again but worth the check out if your in the area.

hiking
Sunday, October 04, 2015

This is a VERY family friendly hike. easy terrain, little incline in most spots. Trailhead parking is ample and free, and has a compost toilet that honestly is the cleanest i have ever seen hiking across the country at big and small trails. The first thing you encounter steps from the parking lot at the trailhead is a list of signs telling stories of the trail and the bridge - cool read and educational. Then comes a totally cool red iron bridge. Photo worthy for sure, with bright green water running beneath it. . Great path, forest views and a great view a the top of the Housatonic river and CT countryside. Lots of space at top to have lunch or a snack. Main trail is very well marked with blazes on trees. However beware there is a network of tiny little trails that wind off of the main trails that are hardly marked at all and very confusing. Saw the chimney from the burnt down house and a piece of the castle. Great fall family hike, not too long not too strenuous, no complaints from the kiddies.

hiking
Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Very easy hike, but a few ruins of various structures as well as views of the river.

hiking
30 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

Load More