West Big Dry Creek Trail

MODERATE 28 reviews
#1 of 1 trails in

West Big Dry Creek Trail is a 7.5 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Highlands Ranch, Colorado that features beautiful wild flowers. The trail is rated as moderate and offers a number of activity options. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
7.5 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
764 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

partially paved

views

wild flowers

wildlife

mountain biking
3 months ago

Awesome trail! This area has tons of great trails in it and has an amazing view of both the rolling hills of Colorado and downtown Denver. PARK AT MOUNTAIN VISTA HIGH SCHOOL. Go past the football field and then take the left trail. That should lead you right to the trail. Great ride! P.S.- Go later in the day to get an amazing view of the sunset over the Rocky Mountains.

mountain biking
5 months ago

I live nearby and ride much of this area regularly. Couple things:

1) The loop area marked on the map is part of Highlands Point trails system. Since no one is impressed with the paved paths from Southridge Rec Center, I would suggest parking at the Mountain Vista high school, and short hike/ride up dad clark to get to loop.

2) Be careful hiking/biking, trails are narrow flowy single-track and some sections are in the woods with blind corners. Some sections are fast downhill on a bike. Upper trails, especially near E/W trail can be busy with hikers, bikers, and dogs.

3) All of highlands Point system is labeled 'Easy'. This trail should be labeled 'Easy' as well.

5 months ago

In the middle of a neighborhood with septic tanks everywhere. It was a windy day when I went and it smelled like septic. Not worth if you have to drive to it. Couldn’t find the actual trail, all I found were paved walkways

walking
Saturday, August 12, 2017

This is NOT a trail! It is a paved path that runs through a snooty rich neighborhood. If your looking for trails do not run here.

hiking
Tuesday, June 13, 2017

I think people are confused as what this trail is. From what I can only see a paved walk way around this area that is smack dab in the middle of a residential area. I don't see anywhere to mountain bike.
I also parked at the Arrowhead middle school, but you park down Brookwwod DR right in front of the trail head.

hiking
Saturday, May 06, 2017

Definitely park at the rec center. The trail ends at the middle school coming back. It's a good city trail. Lots of bikers.

hiking
Thursday, February 23, 2017

I really enjoyed this hike once I found it. The directions take you to an elementary school, but if you park at the Highlands Ranch South Ridge recreation center, the trail runs right along there. Yes, it's a paved pathway at first. Just follow it until you cross the road and that's when the real hiking trail begins.

trail running
Sunday, October 02, 2016

The first couple of miles are on a sidewalk and in a valley between houses. You also will have to cross a couple of streets. After that it's beautiful!

hiking
2 months ago

3 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

mountain biking
6 months ago

mountain biking
Saturday, September 02, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, July 25, 2017

hiking
Saturday, July 01, 2017

hiking
Sunday, June 11, 2017

Tuesday, June 06, 2017

walking
Tuesday, June 06, 2017

hiking
Monday, June 05, 2017

hiking
Friday, June 02, 2017

Sunday, April 23, 2017

Sunday, March 19, 2017

walking
Sunday, March 12, 2017

Sunday, January 29, 2017

recorded Recording - Sep 03, 04:15 PM

hiking
Saturday, September 03, 2016

walking
Saturday, July 09, 2016

mountain biking
Tuesday, July 08, 2014