Trails.com is merging with AllTrails! Please click here to read more.

Sawhill Ponds is a 2.2 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Boulder, Colorado that offers the chance to see wildlife. The trail is good for all skill levels and offers a number of activity options. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 2.2 miles Elevation Gain: 22 feet Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

horseback riding

mountain biking

walking

bird watching

views

wildlife

hiking
bugs
23 days ago

hiking
bugs
1 month ago

Easy trail but pleasant. Can be buggy. Great for birdwatching.

hiking
3 months ago

Nice flat terrain with plenty of views of the mountains. Many ponds along the hike contain wildlife to view.

hiking
bugs
3 months ago

hiking
no shade
6 months ago

bird watching
Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Pretty ponds with lots of birds/waterfowl to check out

bird watching
Sunday, May 27, 2018

This is one of the best birding places on Earth! There are many side trails that lead to smaller ponds and dense vegetation. Today we saw Cedar Waxwings, Bullock’s Oriole, American White Pelican, Redwing Blackbirds, Eastern Kingbirds, Canada Geese and several unidentified species. We also saw a rabbit. The trail also offers incredible views of the front range.

hiking
6 days ago

hiking
15 days ago

hiking
18 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

11 months ago

11 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

walking
Monday, May 07, 2018

hiking
Friday, April 27, 2018

hiking
Friday, March 16, 2018

hiking
Tuesday, January 23, 2018

hiking
Friday, December 29, 2017

hiking
Wednesday, November 22, 2017

hiking
Saturday, May 27, 2017

Sunday, May 22, 2016

bird watching
Monday, March 14, 2016

Featured Trails