Rim Rock Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 46 avis
N°2 sur 3 randonnées à

Rim Rock Trail est un sentier en boucle de trafic modéré situé sur une distance de 6,6 km situé près de Fort Collins, dans le Colorado. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et est accessible toute l’année. Les chevaux peuvent également utiliser ce sentier.

Distance: 6.6 miles Dénivelé: 1,072 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

VTT

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

running

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

rocheux

chiens interdits

Une extension agréable à Coyote Ridge. Continuez le long de la crête puis descendez à l'aide de plusieurs lacets jusqu'à atteindre une petite vallée. Après avoir traversé la vallée, dirigez-vous vers un tirage au sort qui vous mènera plus loin dans les vallons à dos de biche. Lorsque vous atteignez le sommet, vous aurez une vue sur Longs Peak.

randonnée
insectes
9 days ago

T

randonnée
1 month ago

Vraiment apprécié cette randonnée. Beaucoup d'espace ouvert, pas de couverture. Nettoyez la salle de bain un peu après le début du sentier (environ 800 mètres). Un ou deux spots rocheux, un pôle de trekking était agréable, mais réalisable sans. Si vous vous asseyez au bord de la boucle si vous ne vous éloignez que d'environ 20 pieds, vous pourrez voir beaucoup de vététistes faire du vélo.

randonnée
1 month ago

Grand sentier! Nous sommes arrivés au bout du sentier (crête de coyote) vers 9h15. Pas trop de monde. C'est un excellent moyen de voir une partie différente de la montagne. Il n'y a pas d'ombre, assurez-vous de porter un écran solaire, un chapeau et des lunettes de soleil. C'était environ 7 miles aller-retour. Nous y retournerions sans hésiter! Un peu rocheux avant de terminer Coyote Ridge, mais un sentier tout en douceur!

randonnée
2 months ago

Ceci est une belle addition à Coyote Ridge pour prolonger votre randonnée et obtenir un peu de solitude.

randonnée
pas d'ombre
rocheux
3 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

Des paysages étonnamment intéressants et magnifiques. Une fois derrière la crête, la vue change complètement. Je vais certainement faire ça à nouveau.

randonnée
4 months ago

Nice et sec, beaucoup de soleil. Trafic léger. Mieux que prévu

randonnée
insectes
pas d'ombre
rocheux
4 months ago

Cette piste était parfaite pour une journée de printemps ensoleillée, elle était étonnamment vide pour un samedi également. Vers le sommet où il se connecte à Blue Sky, il devient très rocheux mais offre des vues très agréables. Pas trop fatigant, mais un bon moyen de passer un après-midi avec un ami ou deux. Très convivial pour le vélo. N'a pas aimé les sauterelles cette période de l'année cependant! Méfiez-vous aussi des serpents; ils commencent à se montrer.

randonnée
6 months ago

Cette randonnée a été faite par une belle journée ensoleillée de mars avec un ami. C'était un peu boueuse à certains endroits, ça devient un peu caillouteux vers le haut mais, ouah, la vue. Nous avons vu un troupeau d’une cinquantaine d’argent avec quelques dollars qui cachaient tout. Je ne savais pas que nous ne l'avions pas fini en descendant dans la vallée, nous y sommes retournés! Randonnée étonnamment belle.

randonnée
boueux
6 months ago

C'est un excellent sentier avec des vues magnifiques. Nous avons fait cette randonnée 3 jours après une grosse tempête de neige et, alors que le sentier était assez dégagé, nous avons eu plusieurs endroits assez boueux, surtout après la partie où vous descendez les escaliers tout autour le sentier du ciel bleu. Nous avons repéré environ 16 cerfs mulets lors d'une randonnée à travers la vallée. Malgré les conditions boueuses et glissantes, ce fut une randonnée agréable!

randonnée
Wednesday, August 08, 2018

Randonnée de faible intensité. Le paysage est magnifique, mais il n'y a pas d'ombre alors apportez beaucoup d'eau et un écran solaire! J'ai vu deux crotales pendant la randonnée. Aussi, ils sont nombreux les cyclistes de montagne, alors soyez prudent.

randonnée
Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Départ à 70 °, nombreux serpents sur le sentier, circulation piétonnière réduite ... une bonne petite randonnée.

randonnée
Saturday, May 19, 2018

Belle randonnée! Il n’ya pas beaucoup de couverture solaire, alors je vous conseillerais d’y aller un jour couvert et frais. Les vues sont spectaculaires et la fin du sentier est très rentable. Je le recommanderais!

randonnée
Sunday, November 19, 2017

randonnée
Sunday, August 27, 2017

J'ai aimé la vallée et les vues du haut de la crête. Regardez dans la direction nord-ouest alors que dans la vallée, vous devriez être capable de voir Horsetooth Rock. La moitié de ma randonnée s'éloignait des vététistes et des coureurs alors soyez vigilant

randonnée
Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Nous sommes allés sur 70 degrés jours et c'était la randonnée la plus parfaite. Une vue vraiment cool sur les contreforts et la faune. Nous avons vu beaucoup de chiens de prairie et de cerfs mulets. Un cerf mulet est même venu sur le sentier pour dire bonjour, mais nous ne nous sommes pas trop approchés de lui. Beaucoup de vététistes, alors gardez un œil sur eux.

Sunday, March 05, 2017

Il était difficile de comprendre quel coyote était Ridge et quel était Rim Rock. Les deux étaient de très beaux sentiers!

randonnée
Monday, August 01, 2016

Ok randonnée. Belle vue sur Loveland et Foco.

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Nous avons apprécié cette randonnée de l'après-midi et la journée d'avril parfaite du Colorado. La montée me fit battre le cœur, mais la pente avait plusieurs points de ralentissement pour reprendre son souffle. Belle vue au sommet. À environ un kilomètre du sentier Coyote, il y avait une belle dépendance qui était très appréciée.

randonnée
Saturday, February 02, 2013

Certainement la plus belle partie du sentier Coyote Ridge. J'ai vraiment apprécié les arbustes et les affleurements rocheux presque de l'Arizona. Les foules de la section de Coyote Ridge se sont éclaircies au bout du sentier Rim Rock. Je reviendrai pour terminer le sentier Blue Sky qui commence à la fin de la boucle de Rim Rock.

randonnée
Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Un très bon moyen de sortir de la ville mais pas trop loin. Si vous êtes intéressé à vérifier l'écologie dans cette partie aride des contreforts du Front Range, je le recommande vraiment. Vous verrez probablement des cerfs, des coyotes, des couleuvres, des chiens de prairie, des lapins et, le soir, des hiboux. C'est un sentier merveilleux lorsque vous passez de Devil's à Rim Rock à Coyote Ridge.

randonnée
22 days ago

randonnée
3 months ago

vtt
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Rim Rock Trail

moderate 55 reviews

Rim Rock Trail is a 6.6 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Fort Collins, Colorado that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Horses are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 6.6 miles Elevation Gain: 1,072 feet Route Type: Loop

hiking

horseback riding

mountain biking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

running

forest

views

wild flowers

rocky

no dogs

A pleasant extension to Coyote Ridge. Go along the top of the ridge then drop down using several switchbacks until you reach a small valley. After you cross the valley, head up a draw that carries you farther into the rolling hogbacks. When you reach the summit you will have a view of Longs Peak.

hiking
no shade
rocky
21 days ago

1-31-20: the trail was damp in a few places but over all pretty dry. As a few have stated; there is a herd of deer that made their home nearby. I spotted 3 bucks and nearly 20 does curiously keeping their eye on me as I ran by.

hiking
21 days ago

This was more like 7.2 miles, but beautiful and worth the trek. It’s a good trail in fall/winter/spring when the temps are mild. Not many trees. I see bucks and does most times I hike.

hiking
muddy
1 month ago

Did this yesterday starve said it was 7.1 miles. took me about 2.5 hours. I walk about 2.8 mph avg. Saw 4 Bucks and 13 does. It was beautiful untill the blustery cold wind started. but still enjoyed myself. A bit of horse poop, lots of trail runners and bicyclist. Be mindful if you have ear buds in.

hiking
3 months ago

Excellent trail! Big parking lot, and good up and down for a great hike. I measured 7 miles. Beautiful views from the loop at the end and really the whole way. No mud no ice!

hiking
bugs
5 months ago

T

hiking
6 months ago

Really enjoyed this hike. Lots of open space, no coverage. Clean bathroom a little ways after the trailhead (half mile maybe) ☺️ . One or two rocky spots a trekking pole was nice to have, but doable without. If you sit out on the edge of the loop if you only go about 20 feet off trail, you can see plenty of mountain bikers riding by.

hiking
6 months ago

Great trail! We got to the trail head (coyote ridge) around 9:15am. Not very crowded. It’s a great way to see a different part of the mountains. There is no shade so make sure to wear sunscreen, hat and sunglasses. It was about 7 miles round trip. We would definitely go again! A little rocky at one point before you finish Coyote Ridge but a smooth trail other than that!

hiking
7 months ago

This is a nice add-on to Coyote Ridge to extend your hike and get a little bit of solitude.

hiking
no shade
rocky
8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

Surprisingly interesting and beautiful scenery. Once you get behind the ridge the views completely change. Will definitely hike this again.

hiking
9 months ago

Nice and dry, plenty of sun. Light traffic. Nicer than expected

hiking
bugs
no shade
rocky
9 months ago

This trail was perfect for a sunny spring day, it was surprisingly empty for a Saturday too. Towards the summit where it connects to Blue Sky, it gets very rocky but has some very pleasant views. Not too strenuous, but a good way to spend an afternoon with a friend or two. Very bike friendly. Did NOT enjoy the locusts this time of year however! Also be wary of snakes; they are starting to show themselves.

hiking
11 months ago

Did this hike on a nice sunny March day with a friend. It was a tiny bit muddy in places, gets a little rocky toward the top but, wow, the views. We saw a herd of about 50 dear with a couple of bucks that were duking it out. Didn’t realize we hadn’t finished it by going down into the valley, definitely going back to finish it! Unexpectedly beautiful hike.

hiking
muddy
11 months ago

This is a great trail with some gorgeous views. We did this hike 3 days after a big snow storm and while the trail was fairly clear of snow, we did have several places that were pretty muddy, especially after the part where you descend the stairs all the way around the loop to the connection with the Blue Sky Trail. We spotted roughly 16 mule deer while hiking across the valley. Despite the muddy and slick conditions, it was an enjoyable hike!

hiking
Wed Aug 08 2018

Low intensity hike. The scenery is beautiful, but there is no shade so bring lots of water and sun screen! I saw two rattle snakes while hiking. Also they’re plenty of mountain bikers, so be cautious.

hiking
Wed May 30 2018

70° start, multiple snakes on the trail, low foot traffic...overall a great little hike.

hiking
Sat May 19 2018

Beautiful hike! Not a lot of sun cover so I’d recommend going on a cool overcast day. Views throughout are spectacular and the end of the trail is a great payoff. Would recommend!

hiking
Sun Nov 19 2017

hiking
Sun Aug 27 2017

I liked the valley and the views from the top of the ridge. Look in the northwest direction when in the valley you should be able to see Horsetooth Rock. Half my hike was getting out of the way of mountain bikers and runners so be alert

hiking
Tue Apr 11 2017

Went on 70 degree day and it was the most perfect hike. Really cool views of the foothills and wildlife. We seen a lot of prairie dogs, and mule deers. One mule deer even came out on the trail to say hello, but we didn't get too close to him. Lots of mountain bikers so keep an eye out for them coming up behind you.

Sun Mar 05 2017

Was difficult to understand which was coyote Ridge, and which was rim Rock. Both were very beautiful trails!

hiking
Mon Aug 01 2016

Ok hike. Good view of Loveland and Foco.

Wed Apr 13 2016

Enjoyed this afternoon hike & Colorado's perfect April day. The climb got my heart pumping but the incline had several coasting spots to catch your breath. Beautiful views at the top. About a mile from Coyote trailhead there was a nice outhouse that was much appreciated.

hiking
Sat Feb 02 2013

Definitely the nicest part of the Coyote Ridge trail. I really enjoyed the almost Arizona-like shrubs and rocky outcrops. The crowds from the Coyote Ridge section thinned out by the end of the Rim Rock trail. I'll be returning to complete the Blue Sky trail which begins at the end of the Rim Rock loop.

hiking
Tue Jun 14 2011

A very great way to get outside of town but not too far. If you're interested in checking out the ecology in this arid part of the Front Range foothills I really recommend this. You'll probably see deer, coyotes, rattle snakes, prairie dogs, rabbits, and in the evenings you might see some owls. This is a wonderful trail when you go from Devil's to Rim Rock to Coyote Ridge.

Load More