Rifle Falls

EASY 25 reviews
#2 of 2 trails in

Rifle Falls is a 0.6 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Rifle, Colorado that features a waterfall and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, and nature trips and is best used from March until October.

DISTANCE
0.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
75 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

wheelchair friendly

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

cave

forest

river

views

waterfall

snow

hiking
20 days ago

I’m surprised that this doesn’t have a higher rating on AllTrails. The falls are beautiful & there are fun short surrounding trails. Park sign says there are moose, but unfortunately we didn’t see any. Park has very limited parking.... the campsites look very nice. The $7 admission to park, includes the nearby Riffle Gap reservoir. Wish we had more time to explore, but given the limited number of ratings on this site & the mediocre overall rating — we didn’t plan much time.

hiking
23 days ago

I arrived early on a Wednesday morning (7AM) and there was only one other person. The park opens at 6AM, and before 8AM, you pay at the self-pay kiosk, before the attendant at the gate starts duty. Parking is very limited; only 13 spots at the trailhead. I was a bit surprised how small the park is. It’s directly off a winding country road. All that being said, the falls are beautiful. You can explore the falls from a variety of angles and the caves above. It’s a very easy hike. There’s just a bit of a commercial/tourist attraction vibe to it though.

1 month ago

beautiful views

hiking
1 month ago

Easy but beautiful hike. Extend the hike by taking the trail to the fish hatchery.

hiking
17 days ago

hiking
21 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
Thursday, September 21, 2017

hiking
Friday, August 25, 2017

hiking
Wednesday, July 26, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, July 18, 2017

hiking
Wednesday, July 12, 2017

hiking
Monday, July 10, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Sunday, June 04, 2017

hiking
Saturday, May 06, 2017

Friday, July 29, 2016

hiking
Friday, November 27, 2015