Memorial Day Verkauf! Holen Sie sich ein Jahr AllTrails Pro für nur $14.99
Erste Schritte

Pikes Peak Highway: Kaskade zum Gipfel des Pikes Peak

MITTELSCHWER 53 Bewertungen

Pikes Peak Highway: Cascade zum Gipfel des Pikes Peak ist ein 17,4 km langer, stark befahrener Punkt-zu-Punkt-Pfad in der Nähe von Cascade, Colorado, der die Möglichkeit bietet, Wildtiere zu sehen, und wird als moderat bewertet. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich für Ausflüge in die Natur, zum Radfahren und für landschaftlich reizvolles Fahren verwendet. Er wird am besten von Mai bis Oktober genutzt. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

ENTFERNUNG
17.4 Meilen
HÖHENUNTERSCHIED
6,509 Fuß
ROUTENTYP
Direkte Route

angeleinte hunde

kinderfreundlich

Naturausflüge

Rennrad

Fahren mit Aussicht

Wald

befestigt

Aussicht

Wildtiere

Die Mautgebühr beträgt 12 US-Dollar pro Person, der militärische Rabatt macht 10 US-Dollar aus

fahren mit aussicht
1 month ago

Schöner Antrieb! Überprüfen Sie die Stunden, da es ungefähr zwei Stunden dauert, um nach oben und zurück zu gelangen. Wir waren um 15.35 Uhr beim ersten Versuch aufgetaucht und das Tor war gerade um 15:30 Uhr geschlossen. Unabhängig davon ist Pikes Peak ein absolutes Muss-Symbol der USA. Herrliche Aussichten und fantastische Ausblicke auf die Landschaft, die sich hinter der Baumgrenze verändert. Bringen Sie warme Kleidung mit - an der Spitze kann es kalt und windig sein !! Wir haben eine GoPro auf unser Dach gestellt und die Ergebnisse veröffentlicht: https://youtu.be/HHBfg_RCQOY

7 months ago

Ich bin Anfang Oktober gegangen. Es gab wenig Verkehr und das Wetter war sehr kooperativ. Viele tolle Aussichten!

7 months ago

Schöne Fahrt, tolle Aussicht!

7 months ago

Absolut schöne Fahrt mit herrlichem Ausblick, besonders an der Spitze. Ich fuhr mit heruntergefahrenen Fenstern und war enttäuscht vom Geruch aller Autodämpfe. Viel Verkehr geht also während der Woche und früh.

fahren mit aussicht
9 months ago

Hey, es ist Pikes Peak, was nicht zu mögen ist! Spektakuläre Aussichten, haarige Tropfen und verschiedene Bereiche zum Abziehen und Entspannen! Wir haben mehrere Murmeltiere gesehen, aber das Big Horn-Schaf verpasst. Vielleicht nächstes Mal!

fahren mit aussicht
Sunday, April 22, 2018

Tolle Fahrt mit toller Aussicht! Sehen Sie sich die Landschaft an, die das Lied "America the Beautiful" auslöste. Ich war im Dezember dort und es war wahnsinnig windig an der Spitze, was Ohren und Hände einfror, also warme Kleidung mitbringen. Wenn Sie krank werden, haben Sie möglicherweise Probleme während der Fahrt, aber es gibt reichlich Horizont (wenn auch in einem Winkel von 20 Grad), auf den Sie schauen können, um den Magen zu beruhigen. Es gibt einen schönen Geschenkeladen und ein Café mit heißen Getränken und gutem Essen an der Spitze. Wenn Sie vom Meeresspiegel kommen, kann die Erhebung das Atmen erschweren. Ich konnte oben etwas laufen ohne zu viel Mühe außer einem leichten Lichtkopf. Aber jeder reagiert unterschiedlich auf die Höhe. Bring deine Kamera mit!

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Die Aussicht von oben ist die Fahrt definitiv wert. Wir warteten 2-3 Stunden in der Schlange, bevor wir das Tor erreichten, um in die malerische Autobahn zu gelangen. Verwenden Sie eine niedrige Ausrüstung, die vom Berg kommt, und seien Sie darauf hingewiesen, dass einige Bereiche keine Geländer haben. Dies dauert ungefähr 2 Stunden von Anfang bis Ende. Versuchen Sie, einen Wohnwagen oder Wohnwagen auf dieser Autobahn zu nehmen. Bringen Sie warme Kleidung mit, die Temperatur ist auf dem Berg viel kühler.

Sunday, July 02, 2017

War hier Anfang Juni 2017. Ich war begeistert!

Sunday, July 02, 2017

Publikumsliebling von unserer Reise nach Colorado!

fahren mit aussicht
Monday, May 29, 2017

Dies ist eine schöne Fahrt nach oben

fahren mit aussicht
Saturday, April 08, 2017

Ich bin 1980 mit meinem alten F-100 Ford Pickup hierhergefahren. Es ist eine großartige Straße und die Aussicht ist offensichtlich großartig. Dies war das erste Mal, dass ich auf dieser Höhe war und ich saugte einfach nur über den Parkplatz. Verrückt. Sie überprüften die Bremsen aller unten, als Sie herunterkamen, um zu sehen, dass Sie es nicht übertrafen. Sie würden dich dazu bringen, an den Rand zu ziehen und zu warten, wenn du sie überhitzt.

rennrad
Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Fahren Sie mit dem Zahnradzug auf den Gipfel und dann eine Radtour hinunter ... Tolle Aussichten und lustige kleine Fahrt mit vielen Stopps auf dem Weg!

Saturday, November 12, 2016

Es gab viele Orte, an denen man die Straße entlangfahren und die wunderschöne Landschaft von Colorado genießen konnte. Die Luft ist an der Spitze sehr dünn.

fahren mit aussicht
Wednesday, November 09, 2016

schöne Aussicht und eine tolle Fahrt

fahren mit aussicht
Monday, August 22, 2016

Gestern sind wir auf den Pikes Peak Highway gefahren. Wir waren aufgeregt, etwas zu tun, das keiner von uns je getan hatte, obwohl ich den größten Teil meines 48-jährigen Lebens in Colorado verbracht hatte! Während die Ansichten atemberaubend waren, muss ich Ihnen sagen, dass meine Eindrücke im Allgemeinen sehr schlecht waren. Vor allem ist es teuer. Sie berechnen pro Person statt pro Fahrzeug. Was mich frustriert, ist, dass öffentliche Plätze außerhalb der Reichweite einer durchschnittlichen Familie liegen. Wir zahlten 39 Dollar, um an der Mautstelle vorbeizufahren. Für den Kontext kostet es 20 Dollar, um für einen Tag in den Rocky Mountain National Park zu gelangen. Es gibt keinen Zweifel, dass die Aussicht nicht aufregend ist! Der Gipfel ist im Grunde ein nackter Parkplatz mit so viel Müll, er ist herzzerreißend. Treten Sie zu den Rändern und Sie wissen, warum Sie gekommen sind. Sicher. Es ist wunderbar! Die Badezimmer im Geschenkeladen waren jedoch schmutzig. Der Geschenkeladen selbst ist winzig. Keine große Sache, bis der Zahnradzug ankommt, dann ist es bedrückend. Wenn Sie klaustrophobisch sind, vergessen Sie es! Der Angestellte, der uns auscheckte, prahlte dem Mann vor mir zu, dass die Angestellten Wettbewerbe haben, um zu sehen, wer am schnellsten den Berg hinauf und hinunter fahren könne. Wenn Sie nicht dort waren und die Straße gefahren sind, werden Sie die Kühnheit dieser Zulassung nicht verstehen. Die Fahrt nach unten war auch meistens ereignislos, abgesehen davon, einem großen Diesel-Lastwagen den ganzen Weg hinunter zu folgen, auch wenn mehrere Stopps, einschließlich solcher, die lediglich dazu gedacht waren, dem Lastwagen zu entkommen. Es war der sprichwörtliche schlechte Pfennig, obwohl ich sicher bin, dass die Leute nett genug waren! Der Kondensstreifen war nicht! Während unserer Stopps besuchten wir die Ranger und sammelten verschiedensten Müll, den wir gesehen hatten (sowohl oben als auch auf dem Weg… macht mich traurig), und wenn die Leute von hinten heraufkommen würden, würden wir sie überholen lassen. Wir hatten keine Eile und wollten keinen Druck haben, zu schnell zu gehen. Nach mehreren Versuchen, den Diesel-Lastwagen zu meiden, kamen wir darauf an und es blieb auf der Straße stehen und machte Fotos. Als wir wieder losfuhren, bat ich meinen Mann, einfach daran vorbei zu gehen. Es machte uns alle im Auto, besonders unsere Tochter, krank. Wie auch immer, als wir uns dem Gebäude näherten, in dem wir bezahlt hatten, bat ich meinen Mann, ein paar Karten zu besorgen, um sie als Andenken zu behalten. Als er wieder ins Auto stieg, sagte er, dass die Rangerin, mit der er gesprochen hatte, ihm erzählt hatte, dass sie vier Beschwerden über Passanten (Plural) erhalten hatte. Und sie war auch wirklich böse darüber. Wo mein Mann ruhig und vernünftig ist, bin ich leidenschaftlich und leidenschaftlich. Nach dem Besuch, den wir durchgelassen hatten, den Dieselabgasen, dem Müll, den wir aufgesammelt hatten, waren es im Allgemeinen gute Besucher, die Ungerechtigkeit war zu groß. Ich ließ ihn zurückgehen, damit ich ihr ein Stück meines Verstandes geben konnte. Ich habe nicht geschrien, ich habe keine schlechte Sprache benutzt, aber im Grunde erzählte ich ihr, was ich über dieses kleine Geschäft dachte. Zumindest waren wir ein zahlender Gast. Wir hätten uns sanft an die Regeln erinnern können. In meiner Interaktion mit dem Unternehmen stellt sich heraus, dass die Anrufe, die sie erhielten, nach einem „dunkelblauen“ Lieferwagen gingen. Unsere ist grau. Ich habe keinen Zweifel, dass es einen Anruf gab, in dem wir an dem Lastwagen vorbeigingen. Und ich stehe zu unserem Vorbeigehen. Wir konnten die Straße vor uns sehen und niemanden gefährden. Es war kein Rennen und wir haben es nicht getan, nur um schneller runterzukommen. Ich werde Ihnen die Details meines Gesprächs mit dem Förster ersparen, aber ich werde niemals zurückkehren. Wir waren im ganzen Bundesstaat Colorado und wurden noch nie so behandelt. Und dabei mehr als ein wenig aufgeladen? Nein danke. Es gibt viele Orte, an denen Sie atemberaubende Ausblicke und dergleichen sehen können.

fahren mit aussicht
Friday, August 19, 2016

Diese Fahrt ein paar Mal genommen. Es ist okay, und Sie haben eine tolle Aussicht von oben, aber nicht wirklich etwas, was ich gerne noch einmal machen möchte. Eine sehr überfüllte Gegend!

fahren mit aussicht
Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Sehr landschaftlich, aber ich fahre das nächste Mal mit dem Zug, damit ich sehen kann

rennrad
Sunday, July 17, 2016

Ich habe den Aufstieg mit meinem Rennrad gemacht. Ein schwieriger Aufstieg vor allem in Bezug auf die Höhe, aber es lohnt sich für die Abfahrt. Ich kann es kaum erwarten, es wieder zu tun ...

fahren mit aussicht
Monday, June 06, 2016

Wunderschöne Landschaft, viele Boxenstopps, um Fotos zu machen und auf einer Rennstrecke zu fahren !!!!

fahren mit aussicht
Monday, September 14, 2015

Tolle Fahrt, kostet aber etwas und ist beschäftigt.

Saturday, July 25, 2015

Zu viele Leute. Auf dem Parkplatz an der Oberseite werden die Abgase aller Autos Sie nach Luft schnappen lassen, wenn Sie nicht bereits aus Sauerstoffmangel waren. Trotzdem ist die Aussicht beeindruckend und wenn Sie von der Straße und dem sehr beschädigten Ökosystem weg wandern, ist es sehr schön. Vielleicht ist es gut, dass die meisten Menschen es nie so hoch in die Berge schaffen werden. Das empfindliche Ökosystem oberhalb von Timberline kann mit dem Missbrauch nicht fertig werden. Die ganze Reise machte mich traurig. Ich werde nie wieder auf einen Berg fahren. Ich habe es in meinen 20ern gewandert. Ich denke, ich werde das in Zukunft noch einmal anstreben.

fahren mit aussicht
Sunday, March 22, 2015

Schöne Fahrt ... wir waren Anfang Februar unterwegs, das Restaurant an der Spitze war geschlossen. Wir sind 19 Meilen in den Park gegangen. Die letzte Meile wurde aufgrund der für diese Jahreszeit verständlichen Straßenverhältnisse gesperrt. Unschlagbare Aussichten soweit das Auge reicht!

fahren mit aussicht
Sunday, March 22, 2015

herrliche Fahrt auf den Berg mit herrlichem Blick auf die Umgebung. Ich empfehle, im Frühling, Sommer oder Herbst zu fahren, da es im Winter geschlossen ist

Monday, February 23, 2015

Als ich dort war, bin ich hochgefahren, aber ich bin sicher, dass ich wieder hinfahren werde, um es zu erkunden. So hübsch und ein bisschen unheimlich! Geliebt!

fahren mit aussicht
Sunday, August 24, 2014

Beeindruckende Landschaft! Zeitweise trat meine Höhenangst nach oben. Aber! Die gesamte Reise zum Gipfel ist die drei bis vier Male, die ich am Sitz festhielt, wert. Die Stauseen, die Bäume, die frisch riechende Luft ... wunderschön !!

mountainbiking
Monday, June 30, 2014

Fahren Sie mit dem Zahnradzug nach oben und fahren Sie (gebremst!) Mountainbikes 20 Meilen nach unten

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Schöne Fahrt sehr schön an der Spitze! Kaum zu glauben, dass eine Frau diesen Aufstieg gemacht hat, war so inspiriert von der schönen Szene, dass sie AMERICA THE BEAUTIFUL schrieb! Wahre Geschichte und würde gerne eines Tages wandern!

Monday, February 03, 2014

Fahrspaß und tolle Aussicht an der Spitze! Ich würde empfehlen, die Fahrt über die Zahnradbahn zu machen, wenn Sie können.

fahren mit aussicht
Tuesday, December 03, 2013

Eine schöne Fahrt zur Spitze des berühmten 14'er. Für viele von uns ist Fahren die einzige Quelle, auf der wir einen Berg so hoch machen! Tolle Aussicht, Geschenkeladen usw. an der Spitze. Coole Ablenkung.

fahren mit aussicht
Thursday, November 07, 2013

Die Mautgebühr beträgt 12 US-Dollar pro Person, der militärische Rabatt macht 10 US-Dollar. Schöne Fahrt, landschaftlich sehr reizvoll mit vielen Fotoaufnahmen. Viel mehr Spaß auf einem Motorrad! Es ist bis ganz nach oben gepflastert, wo der Parkplatz aus Schotter besteht.

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Pikes Peak Highway: Cascade to the Summit of Pikes Peak

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(67)
Hurricane Canyon Natural Area

Pikes Peak Highway: Cascade to the Summit of Pikes Peak is a 17.4 mile heavily trafficked point-to-point trail located near Cascade, Colorado that offers the chance to see wildlife and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for nature trips, road biking, and scenic driving and is best used from May until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 17.4 mi Elevation gain 6,509 ft Route type Point to Point

Dogs on leash

Kid friendly

Nature trips

Road biking

Scenic driving

Forest

Paved

Views

Wildlife

Fee

Description
Waypoints (0)
Contact

The toll is $12 per person, military discount makes it $10

719-385-Peak 800-318-9505 http://www.pikespeakcolorado.com

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (68)
Photos (182)
Recordings (22)
Completed (276)
H B
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarAugust 12, 2020
Scenic drivingGreat!

We also paid $15 per person and there is a ton of construction at the top. Crowded. There are some good views, but you will need to walk through rocky terrain and some construction to get to them. Wear your mask as it will also help with the dust! Shuttle at 13 mile mark and 16 mile mark. Running all the time and didn’t have to wait long. They are not filling each shuttle van. Lots of room each time when we went at 2:00 on a weekday.

Shane Silvey
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarJuly 14, 2020
Scenic driving

I give it a three star rating because they are doing so much construction at the top that you can't really get good views in most places. The scenery driving up and back down is very nice though. However, at the moment, it is not worth the price of admission, $15/person, because of the construction. The shuttles are a big headache because you have to wait in line; or at least we did July 14, 2020.

Tim Lewis
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMay 10, 2020
Scenic driving

Great drive up on mothers day. Stunning 360 views of the rockies

Micah Harris
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 13, 2019
Scenic driving

Great scenic drive. Takes 2 hrs to go up. But there doing construction at the top, so you have to ride a shuttle bus.

Mike C.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 17, 2019
Scenic driving

Beautiful Drive! Check hours as it takes about two hrs to get to the top and back, so gate closes early. We showed up at 3:35pm first try and the gate had just closed at 3:30. Regardless, Pikes Peak is a must-see American Icon. Amazing views and awesome to watch the scenery change past the tree line. Bring warm clothes - it can be cold and windy at the top!! We put a GoPro on our roof and posted the results: https://youtu.be/HHBfg_RCQOY

Derial Bivens
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 11, 2018

I went at the beginning of October. There was little traffic and the weather was very cooperative. Lots of amazing views!

Rebecca Allen
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 10, 2018

Absolutely beautiful drive with stunning views, especially at the top. I drove with my windows down and was disappointed in the smell from all the car fumes.Alot of traffic so go during the week and early.

Brad Utterback
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 29, 2018
Scenic driving

Hey, it’s Pikes Peak, what’s not to like! Spectacular views, hairy drips and several areas to pull off and relax! We saw several marmots but missed the big horn sheep. Maybe next time!

View Brad's Recording
Kirsten Chesney
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 22, 2018
Scenic driving

Awesome drive with great views! View the landscape that prompted the song, "America the Beautiful." I was there in December and it was insanely windy at the top, which froze your ears and hands, so bring warm clothes. If you get car sick, you might have issues during the drive, but there is plenty of horizon (albeit at a 20 degree angle) to gaze at to help calm the stomach. There is a nice gift shop and cafe with hot drinks and comfort food at the top. If coming from sea level, the elevation might make it difficult to breathe. I was able to run a bit at the top without too much trouble except a slight light head. But everyone responds differently to elevation. Bring your camera!

Laura Sedlock
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 16, 2017

The view from the top is definitely worth the drive. We waited in line for 2-3 hours before we even reached the gate to get into the scenic highway. Use low gear coming off the mountain and be advised some areas do not have guard rails. This will take you about 2 hours from start to finish. Do attempt to take a travel trailer or camper up this highway. Bring warm clothes, temp is much cooler on top of the mountain.

Shannon Connors
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 2, 2017

Was here in early June 2017. Loved it!!!

Matthew Knight
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 2, 2017

Crowd favorite from our Colorado trip!

Tiffany M
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMay 29, 2017
Scenic driving

This is a beautiful drive up to the top

Pat Ribotto
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 8, 2017
Scenic driving

Drove up here in my old F-100 ford pickup back in 1980. It's an awesome road and the views are obviously great. This was the first time being at that kind of elevation and I was suckin wind just walking across the parking lot. Crazy. They were checking everyone's brakes at the bottom when you got down to see that you weren't overdoing it. They would make you pull over and wait if you overheated them.

Trey Trey Williams
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMarch 15, 2017
Road biking

Rode the Cog Train up to the Peak and then took a bike ride down... Great views and fun little ride with plenty of places to stop along the way!

Tiffany N
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 12, 2016

There was plenty of places to pull off the side of the road and take in the beautiful scenery of Colorado. The air is very thin at the top.

Jaimie Drummond
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 9, 2016
Scenic driving

beautiful views and an amazing drive

Nicolle Walters
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarAugust 22, 2016
Scenic driving

Yesterday we went on the Pikes Peak Highway. We were excited to do something that none of us had ever done despite living in Colorado most of my 48 years of life! While the views were breathtaking, I have to tell you that my impressions were in general very poor. First of all, it’s expensive. They charge per person instead of per vehicle. Something that frustrates me is public places being priced out of the grasp of the average family. We paid $39 to drive past the toll booth. For context, it costs $20 to get into Rocky Mountain National Park for one day. There's no arguing that the views driving up aren't exhilarating! The summit is basically a bare parking lot with so much trash, it’s heartbreaking. Step to the edges and you know why you came. For sure. It’s amazing! However, the bathrooms inside the gift shop were filthy. The gift shop itself is tiny. Not a big deal until the cog train arrives, then it's oppressive. If you're claustrophobic, forget about it! The employee who checked us out was bragging to the guy in front of me that the employees have competitions to see who could drive up and down the mountain the fastest. Unless you've been there and driven the road, you won't understand the audacity of that admission. The trip down was also mainly uneventful other than following a big diesel truck all the way down despite several stops including those meant simply to get away from said truck. It was the proverbial bad penny although I’m sure the people were nice enough! The contrail was not! While on our stops, we visited with the rangers, picked up miscellaneous trash we saw (both on the top and along the way…makes me sad) and when people would come up from behind, we'd pull over letting them go past...we weren't in a hurry and didn't want to feel pressure to go too fast. After several attempts to avoid the diesel truck, we came up on it and it as stopped in the road taking pictures. As we started driving again, I begged my husband to just go past it. It was making all of us inside the car, especially our daughter, sick. Anyway, as we approached the building where we'd paid to get in, I asked my husband to stop and get a couple of maps to keep as souvenirs. When he got back in the car, he said that the female ranger he’d talked to had told him that she'd received four complaints about us passing people (plural). And she was really nasty about it too. Where my husband is calm and rational, I’m fiery and passionate. After the visit we’d had, those we’d let pass, the diesel fumes, the trash we’d picked up, generally been good visitors, the injustice was too much. I made him go back so that I could give her a piece of my mind. I didn't yell, I didn't use bad language, but I basically told her what I thought of that little piece of business. At the very least, we were a paying guest. We could have been gently reminded of the rules. In my interaction with the establishment since, it turns out that the calls they received were for a “dark blue” van. Ours is grey. I have no doubt that there was one call regarding us going past the truck. And I stand by our going past it. We were able to see the road ahead and didn’t endanger anyone. It wasn’t a race, and we weren’t doing it simply to get down faster. I'll spare you the details of my conversation with the ranger, but I will never ever go back. We’ve been all over the state of Colorado and never been treated like this. And while being charged more than a little? No thank you. There are many places you can see sweeping vistas and such.

Laurah Brown
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarAugust 19, 2016
Scenic driving

Taken this drive a couple of times. Its okay, and you have great views from the top, but not really something I care to do again. A very crowded area!

Jeff Tomlin
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 16, 2016
Scenic driving

Very scenic, but next time I'm taking the train so I can sightsee

Iain Baker
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 17, 2016
Road biking

Made the climb on my road bike. Tough climb particularly considering the altitude, but totally worth it for the ride down. Can't wait to do it again...

Hector Viera
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 6, 2016
Scenic driving

Gorgeous scenery plenty of pit stops to take pics and your driving on a race track!!!!

E S
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSeptember 14, 2015
Scenic driving

Great drive but costs a bit and is busy.

Amy Morton
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarJuly 25, 2015

Too many people. In parking lot at the top exhaust fumes from all the cars will have you gasping for air, if you weren't already from lack of oxygen. In spite of that, the views are awe inspiring and if you hike away from the road and the very damaged ecosystem it is very beautiful. Maybe it is a good thing that most people will never make it that high into the mountains. The delicate ecosystem above timberline can't handle the abuse. The whole trip made me sad. I'll never drive to the top of a mountain again. Hiked it in my 20's. I guess I'll aspire to that again in the future.

Andi Donahue
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMarch 22, 2015
Scenic driving

Beautiful drive... we went during the beginning of February so the restaurant at the top was closed. We went 19 miles into the park. The last mile was closed due to road conditions which is understandable for that time of year. Unbeatable views for as far as the eyes can see!

Jarrad Griffith
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMarch 22, 2015
Scenic driving

wonderful drive up the mountain with great views of the surrounding area. I recommend going in the spring summer or fall because it gets closed in winter

Peyton E.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFebruary 23, 2015

I drove up when I was there, but I'm for sure going back to hike it! So pretty, and a little scary! Loved!

Melissa M.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 24, 2014
Scenic driving

Stunning scenery! At times my fear of heights kicked in towards the top. But! The entire trip to the summit is well worth those 3 or 4 times I found myself gripping the seat. The reservoirs, the trees, the fresh smelling air...beautiful!!

Melody Long
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 30, 2014
Mountain biking

Rode the Cog Train to the top and rode (braked!) mountain bikes 20 miles to the bottom

Cassandra Johnston
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 19, 2014

Nice drive very beautiful at the top! Hard to believe that a woman made that climb, was so inspired of the beautiful scene that she wrote AMERICA THE BEAUTIFUL! True story, and would love to hike this one day!

Showing results 1 - 30 of 68