Mule Deer to Elk Trail

MODERATE 23 reviews

Mule Deer to Elk Trail is a 9.6 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Idaho Springs, Colorado that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from February until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
9.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1814 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

birding

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

hiking
9 months ago

This trail has a little of everything, forest, meadow, some historical signs to read, great views at top. Trail is pretty smooth most of the way. My favorite so far

hiking
Sunday, January 01, 2017

We hiked this 12/30/16. There wasn't too much snow, mostly icy areas. We went from the Kriley Pond TH all the way to Panorama point. We ended up hiking on Mtn Base Rd for a bit, to avoid the snow and move a bit faster. It was a beautiful afternoon to hike. It was 8.5 miles round trip. We went out and back on Mule Deer/Mtn Base Road.

hiking
Tuesday, September 06, 2016

Scenery and difficulty were ideal for new hikers wanting a break from the city yet still seeking a challenge. Heavy foliage provides ideal cover in the heat of the day; wildlife interspersed throughout. Downside: jumping out of the way for mountain bikers. Can't hate; just keep your head up

hiking
Friday, February 19, 2016

You can start at the trailhead, or you can start below Kriley Pond just off Golden Gate Canyon Road. The Pond is frozen solid in the winter and fun to walk on. About a mile into mule deer, there's a good vista looking North (I think). Another half mile and you come to Frazer's Meadow, the site of an old burnt-down cabin. trail is well-maintained, and fine for older kids.

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

recorded Mule Deer to Elk Trail

hiking
10 months ago

Friday, April 07, 2017

hiking
Thursday, March 23, 2017

backpacking
Wednesday, March 15, 2017

trail running
Monday, February 27, 2017

Monday, January 16, 2017

hiking
Friday, November 11, 2016

Thursday, November 03, 2016

hiking
Monday, August 15, 2016

hiking
Saturday, July 16, 2016

mountain biking
Sunday, May 22, 2016