Millset Trail is a 6.5 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Rye, Colorado that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from May until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
6.5 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
2,739 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

activités en pleine nature

ornithologie

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

arbres tombés

couvert de végétation

neige

randonnée sac-à-dos
6 months ago

Il semble y avoir une certaine confusion quant à la longueur de cette piste, alors laissez-moi voir si je peux éclaircir un peu les choses. Tout d’abord, c’est TOUT en montée ... ne vous attendez donc pas à un soulagement de la montée. Vous allez grimper 6 milles, puis ... vous descendez environ 2 milles ... soit 2 dixièmes de mille, très court ... alors vous devez traverser le ruisseau et aller à droite ... environ 100 mètres vous trouverez la cabine qui a été construite en 1939. Elle contient certaines choses ... pas de porte ... un bon endroit pour passer la nuit avec une cheminée adéquate et un foyer extérieur. Juste à côté de la crique avec quelques superbes piscines. Maintenant ... si vous pouvez le trouver, le sentier continue de passer devant la cabine. Cherchez de temps en temps des rubans verts, roses et rouges ainsi que les pierres empilées, traversez un très petit champ skree et continuez sur quelques kilomètres et vous vous retrouverez sur la route des services forestiers. La meilleure partie de ceci est d'arriver à la cabine près de la crique ... cela en vaut la peine ... surtout si vous restez la nuit et utilisez réellement la cabine. Il est important de se rappeler que tout est en montée ... alors ne pensez pas que la montée sera terminée ... car elle ne le sera pas. J'y étais aujourd'hui et j'ai fixé les manteaux de la lanterne et en ai installé de nouveaux. S'il vous plaît ne touchez pas les manteaux lorsque vous les allumez. Ce n'est pas comme cela qu'ils fonctionnent ... vous allez ruiner les nouveaux et les prochains campeurs n'auront plus de lanterne. En outre, le réservoir de propane qui alimente la lanterne est plein maintenant, donc tout fonctionne. Les allumettes sèches et le bois de chauffage Firestarter se trouvent dans le récipient sec et transparent sur le plateau. Veuillez respecter la cabine pour que les autres puissent en profiter aussi. À votre santé.

randonnée
6 months ago

C'est une randonnée difficile, je dirais que cette randonnée est modérée à difficile. beau paysage stsrted à 1040 a fait une randonnée à mi-chemin et a été redescendu par 1.,

8 months ago

Ne sont allés que dans le premier kilomètre ou deux. Le parking est très difficile. Nous avons campé pendant la nuit sur le premier appartement dans lequel était très agréable avec une vue magnifique.

8 months ago

La piste était très agréable pour nous sur nos chevaux, bien que rocheux par endroits. Des chaussures seraient une nécessité. Une fois que vous montez environ 3 miles, vous entrez dans un très joli bosquet de trembles. La situation du parking, cependant, était plutôt effrayante. Le coup d'envoi est juste après le virage vers Mears Junction du côté ouest de la route et vers l'est. Cependant, le résultat est entre les courbes aveugles des deux côtés. Nos chevaux sont habitués à la circulation mais c'était toujours préoccupant. J'ai choisi de continuer plus au sud jusqu'à Poncha Pass pour faire demi-tour et essayer de faire demi-tour. Il semble que le sentier passe à l’est et à l’ouest de la route, mais nous l’avons suivie à l’est, ce qui nécessite de la traverser.

randonnée
9 months ago

Belle randonnée. 2700 verticales est un bon indicateur de la difficulté. Je dirais que c'est plutôt du côté de la fatigue. Beaucoup d'ours aussi.

randonnée
10 months ago

Ce sentier est très boisé et contient un peu de bois abattu. Pas une randonnée très facile, mais néanmoins très agréable. Les 6,5 miles sont bien récompensés une fois que vous atteignez la crique et la cabine à la fin du sentier. Super endroit pour un voyage d'une nuit, mais faisable en une seule journée. J'ai parcouru ce sentier hier en 2,5 heures aller-retour.

camping
10 months ago

Pouvez-vous camper la nuit sur ce sentier?

randonnée
11 months ago

Belle région et pas très occupé un samedi matin ou après-midi. La plupart des sentiers étaient recouverts d’arbres, la crème solaire étant facultative. Une partie du sentier près de la ligne des 3 milles était difficile à suivre à cause de tous les arbres abattus. La piste en avril et a-t-elle heurté de la neige / de la glace, cependant facile à contourner? Si vous êtes un routard, vous avez vu deux emplacements de camping que vous avez marqués sur mes enregistrements avec des images. AllTrails n'a pas de moyen de communiquer avec d'autres passionnés de plein air, je peux être contacté sur Facebook Messenger si vous avez des questions sur ce sentier.

Sunday, March 18, 2018

Adoré

Monday, November 06, 2017

Belle piste peu fréquentée, peut-être seulement 2-3 personnes par semaine, vous l'aurez donc probablement à vous-même! Je l'ai parcouru le 11/2017, très peu d'arbres jusqu'au dernier demi-kilomètre, même si ce n'était pas si mal. C'est une montée régulière mais les conditions de piste sont bonnes, pas trop de terre battue, la section la plus raide est le premier demi-mile. À environ 0,75 mile, restez à gauche, il y a un autre sentier / route qui pourrait être déroutant. Pas d'eau n'importe où sur le sentier jusqu'à ce que vous vous retourniez, joli ruisseau là-bas. Il y a une cabane en terre battue, pas de porte mais un bon toit au cas où vous voudriez camper et il pleuvait au bout du sentier. Beaucoup d'animaux sauvages en soirée, de bons oiseaux et quelques daims. Quelques vues correctes, pas géniales pour ça. Pourrait être déroutant s'il y avait beaucoup de neige, ce n'est pas flambé.

randonnée
Friday, July 07, 2017

il semble y avoir une certaine confusion sur le kilométrage ... 10 milles ou 6,5 comme le dit All Trails / j’ai fait de la randonnée de nombreuses fois et c’est rude ... mais il ressort à de très belles vues ... je l’aime bien la neige mieux. J'y retournerai ce week-end qui est 7-8-17. à tous sur le sentier.

randonnée
Saturday, July 01, 2017

C'était une belle randonnée! Cependant, c'était très très difficile. Il y avait beaucoup d'arbres tombés et c'était très raide. En outre, cela indique que c'est 6,5 milles, mais c'est plus proche de 10 milles. Je travaille tous les jours et c'était assez difficile pour une journée de randonnée.

randonnée
Sunday, June 11, 2017

Grande randonnée Cependant, la montée est très raide et assez ardue. Préparez-vous avec beaucoup d'eau et de temps. Des roches en vrac et de nombreux arbres abattus, mais de jolies prairies et de superbes points de vue. Six d’entre nous l’avons fait en environ 6 heures aller-retour, nous nous entraînions tous les jours et nous nous considérions en forme, mais restions assez difficiles à monter!

Saturday, June 10, 2017

C'est marrant. ..trees down. ..Faites attention

randonnée
Monday, May 15, 2017

C'était une super randonnée! Nous n’avons pas terminé le programme parce que nous avions pris notre enfant de 7 ans - c’était un peu long pour elle. Mais je pense que nous avons fait environ 2/3 du chemin avant de faire demi-tour. Nous y retournerons certainement quand il n'y a que les adultes. Beau paysage et paix et calme merveilleux.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

C'était amusant et joli et nous avons marché dans une tempête de neige le 4-22-17 dans la neige jusqu'aux genoux. beaucoup d'arbres sur le sentier.

randonnée
Wednesday, October 05, 2016

C'est une séance d'entraînement! Nous avons parcouru ce sentier avec un groupe de collègues / amis, c'était tout en haut de la colline (au moins les 3 miles que nous avons parcouru) Nous sommes des randonneurs guerriers du week-end et ce fut une randonnée difficile. Un gars a dit "Mes poumons brûlaient en montant et mes genoux me faisaient mal en descendant!" Il y a des belvédères avec de belles vues et de jolies prairies où s’arrêter et se reposer. Les arbres commençaient à changer de couleur. Le parking est petit mais vous pouvez également vous garer sur la route.

randonnée
Tuesday, July 19, 2016

De belles fleurs sauvages, une abondance de papillons et un point final très utile. Apprécié le sentier bien balisé! Assez rocheux et parfois, pourrait être un problème pour certains chiots!

randonnée
Tuesday, July 19, 2016

De belles fleurs sauvages, une abondance de papillons et un point final très utile. Apprécié le sentier bien balisé!

randonnée
Sunday, May 29, 2016

Fun petit sentier. Nous ne sommes pas vraiment allés à la cabine à la fin, trop de neige récente a compliqué le suivi du sentier. Cependant, nous reviendrons!

randonnée
Saturday, May 28, 2016

Absolument magnifique! Principalement en montée mais nous en valons la peine. Je n’ai pas atteint la cabine, trop de neige à ce point ... nous reviendrons!

randonnée
Thursday, April 14, 2016

Belle piste. Facile à suivre. Beaucoup d'ombre. Greats vues que vous devenez plus élevé. Nous avons parcouru environ 2,5 km par trajet. Je serais allé plus loin, mais nous avons rencontré beaucoup de neige en montant. Nous n'étions pas conçus pour cela. Je reviendrai quelque temps.

randonnée
Thursday, April 07, 2016

Sentier étonnamment décent avec des vues assez impressionnantes sur les plaines orientales et la région de Pikes Peak. Le gain en altitude n’est pas trop grave tant que l’on garde un bon rythme. J'habite à Colorado City et fais de la randonnée presque tous les jours dans les Wet Mountains; Cela étant dit, ce sentier est un nouveau favori à coup sûr. J'y retournerai certainement bientôt.

randonnée
Sunday, October 04, 2015

Nous avons apprécié notre première promenade dans le Millset à partir du sentier route 165. Nous avons seulement marché jusqu'aux lignes électriques et le sentier a semblé se terminer, alors nous nous sommes retournés. Nous y retournerons pour le finir.

course de trail
Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Bel exercice pendant ma pause déjeuner.

randonnée
Wednesday, August 05, 2015

Nous n'avons parcouru que 4 milles du sentier. 2 miles tout en haut de la colline, 2 miles en arrière. C'était une bonne pente, mais fatigante. Nous avons vu un grand mâle et une moufette! Belle vue sur le point de 2 mile et belles prairies.

Thursday, July 02, 2015

Est-ce que quelqu'un connaît l'histoire de la cabine Outpost? (The Hut) J'ai toujours pensé qu'il appartenait au Camp Jackson du YMCA. (Crockett)

Saturday, June 21, 2014

Pas une mauvaise randonnée. Cependant, c'était une randonnée aller-retour de 12 km. Montez le pour les premiers 3,5 miles. Lorsque vous arrivez au ruisseau, vous devez traverser pour vous rendre à la cabane. C'est dur, mais amusant.

2 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

Charger plus

Millset Trail is a 6.5 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Rye, Colorado that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from May until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 6.5 miles Elevation Gain: 2,739 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

backpacking

camping

hiking

horseback riding

nature trips

bird watching

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

blowdown

over grown

snow

hiking
blowdown
19 days ago

Very enjoyable trail, the incline isn't too demanding for most of the way. There's still a little bit of snow higher up past the views but it's definitely manageable to walk around. The trail does get a bit sparse higher up but there's pink tags on the trees that show the way very accurately. The cabin and creek at the end were great, would be a fun one night backpacking trip.

hiking
1 month ago

hi! just hiked this trail to the powerlines and back.i am seeing alot of info regarding cabins,creeks,etc... beyond this.where to find more info where these places are?

hiking
8 months ago

excellent

hiking
8 months ago

Most excellent scary trail!!

11 months ago

We were glad someone before us marked the trail, especially up high where there was less traffic and more snow. This isn't a long hike but it's a fairly intense climb the whole way, so be ready for that. Great views in a couple of places. Water at the end of the hike if you or the animals need a refill. Camping opportunity at the cabin at the end of the trail. Enjoy

hiking
11 months ago

The trail was nice, didn't see anyone else on it. Lowe down the trial is on a South facing ridge, and gots warm fast, but higher up still has a lot of snow.

hiking
11 months ago

This was my first trail EVER, and I did it solo. It was a beautiful morning hike, didnt record the distance, wish i would have. Had to turn back about half way, according to the map, the downed trees and snow gave me a hell of a time! I am going to make it to the cabin, gonna wait a few weeks and ill be at this again.

bird watching
rocky
Sat Apr 27 2019

I made it about halfway (1.75 miles) before admitting to myself I wasn't going to get to the top. I was starting to encounter more and more snow and trees; I imagine those only got worse higher up. On the way back down on the switchbacks near the trailhead, I slipped on loose rocks a couple times. Other than loose rocks and the fallen trees, the trail was easy to follow and well-maintained. Not any great views but lots of birds.

hiking
Sat Apr 20 2019

only walked for and hour.

backpacking
Mon Sep 17 2018

seems to be some confusion regarding the length of this trail so let me see if I can clear things up a bit. First of all, it is ALL uphill... so don't expect any relief from the climb. You will climb 6 miles, then... you climb down approximately .2 miles... that is 2 tenths of a mile, very short... then you have to cross the creek and go right... about another 100 yards you will find the cabin that was built in 1939. It has some things in it... no door... good place to overnight with an adequate fireplace and fire pit outside. Right next to the creek with some great bathing pools. Now... if you can find it, the trail keeps going passed the cabin. Look for green, pink, red ribbons and also the stacked rocks every now and then, cross a very small skree field and keep going another couple of miles and you will end up on the forest service road. The best part of this is getting to the cabin by the creek... it is worth it... especially if you stay the night and actually use the cabin. Important to remember is that it is ALL UPHILL... so do not think that the uphill hike will end... because it won't. I was there today and fixed the mantels in the lantern, installed new ones. Please do not touch the mantels when lighting them. That is not how they work... you will ruin the new ones and then the next campers will have no lantern. Also, the propane tank that feeds the lantern is full now so it all works. Dry matches and Firestarter fatwood is in the dry clear container on the shelf. Please respect the cabin so others can enjoy it too. Cheers.

hiking
Sun Aug 26 2018

this is a strenuous hike I would rate this hike as moderate to hard. beautiful scenery stsrted at 1040 hiked half way and were back down by 1.,

Sun Jul 15 2018

Only went in the first mile or so. Steep so very challenging Parking is sketchy. We overnight camped on the first flat area in which was very nice with a great view.

Thu Jun 21 2018

The trail was very nice for us on our horses, although rocky in places. Shoes would be a necessity. Once you climb up about 3 miles or so you enter a very pretty aspen grove. The parking situation, however, was pretty scary. The pull off is immediately past the turn to Mears Junction on the west side of the road, and east to miss. However, the turn out is between blind curves from both directions. Our horses are used to traffic but it was still concerning. I chose to continue further south to Poncha Pass to turn around vs attempting a U turn. It appears the trail goes both east and west of the highway, but we followed the trail to the east thus necessitating crossing the highway.

hiking
Sun Jun 10 2018

Nice hike. 2700 vertical is a good indicator of the difficulty. I would rate it more on the strenuous side. Lot of bears too.

hiking
Mon Apr 23 2018

This trail is heavily wooded and has a bit of downed timber. Not a super easy hike, but very enjoyable none the less. The 6.5 miles in is well rewarded once you reach the creek and cabin at the end of the trail. Great place for an overnight trip, but doable in a single day. I hiked this trail yesterday in 2.5 hours round trip.

camping
Fri Apr 20 2018

Can you camp overnight on this trail?

hiking
Sun Apr 15 2018

Beautiful area and not very busy on a Saturday morning or afternoon. Most of the trail had tree cover, sunscreen optional. Some of the trail near the 3 mile mark was hard to follow due to all the downed trees. Did the trail in April and did run into some snow/ice, however easy to get around it. If you are a backpacker, saw two camping spots, marked them both on my recordings with pictures. AllTrails does not have a way to communicate with other outdoor enthusiast, I can be reached on Facebook Messenger if you have any questions about this trail.

Sun Mar 18 2018

Loved it

Mon Nov 06 2017

Nice infrequently used trail, maybe only 2-3 people per week so you'll probably have it to yourself! I hiked it 11/2017, very few down trees until the last half mile, even then it wasn't bad. It's a steady climb but trail conditions are good, not too muck rock, steepest section is the first half mile. At about 0.75 mile stay left, there's another trail/road that could be confusing. No water anywhere on the trail until you turn around, nice creek there. There is a dirt floor cabin, no door but a good roof in case you wanted to camp and it was rainy, at the trail end. Lots of wildlife in the evening, good birds and a few mile deer. Just a couple ok views, not great for that. Could be confusing if there was much snow, it's not blazed.

hiking
Fri Jul 07 2017

there seems to be some confusion on the mileage....10 miles or 6.5 as All Trails states/ I have hiked this numerous times and it is rough...but it comes out at some beautiful views...I like it in the snow better. I will be going again this weekend which is 7-8-17. see you all on the trail.

hiking
Sat Jul 01 2017

This was a beautiful hike! However, it was very very difficult. There were a lot of fallen trees and it was very steep. Also, this says it's 6.5 miles, but it's closer to 10 miles. I work out daily and this was pretty challenging for a day hike.

hiking
Sun Jun 11 2017

Great hike; however, it is very steep uphill, pretty strenuous. Be prepared with lots of water and time. Loose rocks and lots of downed trees, but pretty meadows and great views at a few points. Six of us did it in around 6 hours roundtrip, and we all workout daily and consider ourselves in shape, but was still pretty tough going up!

Sat Jun 10 2017

this is fun. ..trees down. ..be careful

hiking
Mon May 15 2017

This was a great hike! We didn't complete it due to taking our 7-year old - that was a bit long for her. But I think we made it about 2/3 of the way before turning around. We will definitely go back when it's just the adults. Beautiful scenery and wonderful peace and quiet.

Tue Apr 25 2017

it was fun & pretty & we hiked in a snow storm on 4-22-17 in knee deep snow. lots of trees down on the trail.

hiking
Wed Oct 05 2016

It's a workout! Hiked this trail with a group of coworkers/friends, it was all up hill (at least the 3 mile we hiked)! We are weekend warrior hikers and it was a challenging hike. One guy said "My lungs were burning on the way up and my knees were aching on the way down!" There are some overlooks with beautiful views and some pretty meadows to stop and rest. Trees were starting to change color. Parking lot is small but you can also park on the road.

hiking
Tue Jul 19 2016

Beautiful wildflowers, an abundance of butterflies and a very worthwhile end point. Enjoyed the well marked trail! Pretty rocky and times, could be an issue for some pups!

hiking
Sun May 29 2016

Fun little trail. We didn't quite make it to the cabin at the end, too much recent snow made following the trail a bit difficult. However, we will be back!

hiking
Sat May 28 2016

Absolutely gorgeous! Mostly uphill but we'll worth the effort. Didn't make it to cabin, too much snow that high...will definitely be back!

hiking
Thu Apr 14 2016

Nice trail. Easy to follow. Lots of shade. Greats views as you get higher. We did about 2.5 miles each way. Would have gone further but ran into a lot of snow packs as we got higher. We were not geared for that. Will come back some time.

Showing results 1 - 30 of 68