Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

McNeil Trail [PRIVATE PROPERTY]

INTERMÉDIAIRE 33 avis
N°170 sur 191 randonnées à

McNeil Trail [PRIVATE PROPERTY] is a 6.3 mile heavily trafficked out and back trail located near Colorado Springs, Colorado that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, birding, and horses and is best used from March until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
6.3 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
1,299 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

arbres tombés

couvert de végétation

propriété privée

If you're into bagging peaks then this trail (non-trail) is the quickest-shortest way to the geological summit of Cheyenne Mountain. Great views once on top but it's a strenuous hike up slope through the trees, over and around big bolders and often over dead fall. Please note: this trail reaches private property just before the summit.

randonnée
neige
1 month ago

Je recommande vivement le sentier, je travaille également au Broadmoor Cloud Camp. Je suggère que personne ne tente de traverser le panneau indiquant qu'il est interdit d'intrusion. Vous avez beaucoup de superbes paysages autour de vous et pouvez obtenir des images étonnantes. Si vous revenez du panneau indiquant l'absence d'intrusion, vous rencontrerez une crevasse de 2 petits sommets. Il y a un sentier caché qui peut vous monter à un sommet sans intrusion.

randonnée
8 months ago

Sentier sympa à travers les pins puis remontant le mont Cheyenne. J'ai pris le sentier jusqu'à les antennes et c'était très raide, mais ouvert sur un beau pré de trembles très calme et silencieux. Certainement, je ne parlerais pas de trafic intense, car je n'ai vu qu'une seule personne toute la journée.

randonnée
Sunday, October 29, 2017

Belle piste. Le sentier était un peu difficile à localiser, mais nous l’avons trouvé derrière la charpente en bois qui, autrement, aurait une indication juste au-dessus, juste en face du parking. Le sentier est en bon état et mène à un panneau «Pas d'intrusion» juste avant le sommet. Nous avons ignoré le panneau et terminé le sommet pour obtenir de superbes photos. Je ne suis pas sûr de ce que Broadmoor pourrait entreprendre s’il vous attrapait là-haut, mais cela semblait valoir le risque. Nous sommes restés à l'écart des structures, avons pris nos photos et avons poursuivi la route. Si vous ne voulez pas risquer de contourner la petite barrière de la chaîne, il ne vaut probablement pas la peine d'essayer d'atteindre le sommet.

randonnée
Saturday, October 14, 2017

La randonnée a été vraiment agréable jusqu'à ce que nous atteignions le panneau et la chaîne «aucune intrusion interdite» bloquant le sentier à environ un quart de mille du sommet. Quelle déception. J'ai choisi cette randonnée pour l'anniversaire de ma femme ..... Il y a donc trois sommets; l'un est la ferme d'antennes, l'autre appartient à l'armée de l'air, et maintenant le Broadmoor a réclamé ce sommet. Je suppose que je ne serais pas aussi énervé si je n'avais pas pensé aux gens qui peuvent se permettre le camp Cloud, mais ne sont pas disposés à travailler pour la vue. Les autres qui le souhaitent sont repoussés par une pancarte au milieu d’une forêt nationale. Laisse-moi tranquille....

randonnée
Friday, September 15, 2017

Lorsque vous arrivez derrière les écuries, vous verrez un sentier qui monte tout droit dans la pente et un autre à gauche parallèle à la route. Empruntez le sentier parallèle à la route. Ce sentier doit être mis à jour sur cette application car la carte vous conduit dans la mauvaise direction. Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour trouver une bonne carte de ce sentier, je vous suggère de rechercher ColoradoChris. Je suivis son chemin jusqu'à l'ancienne pompe à eau, me retournai puis remontai le sentier des swissis jusqu'au sommet de Cheyenne. Son parcours sur google maps a sauvé la vie

randonnée
Sunday, September 10, 2017

Je ne sais pas comment certains d'entre vous ont trouvé ce sentier. Nous avons compris que le premier demi-mile avait été perdu. Belle région souhaite juste que le sentier a été mieux marqué

randonnée
Saturday, July 29, 2017

J'ai pu trouver le sentier derrière le grand panneau pour les écuries / à côté du panneau de limitation de vitesse. Le chemin est bien balisé, même s'il y a des endroits où il faut faire attention sur certaines pentes, car cela devient tout en terre. Le sentier indiqué sur AllTrails vous ramènera au chemin, mais il y a une intersection à environ 3 km du but pour vous conduire à The Horns. Soyez prudent car il y avait quelques sentiers latéraux qui pourraient être déroutants sur le chemin du retour.

Friday, July 14, 2017

a eu du mal à suivre ce sentier après le premier demi-kilomètre

randonnée
Saturday, May 20, 2017

J'ai trouvé les écuries. J'ai trouvé le panneau de limitation de vitesse décrit par d'autres randonneurs. Je n'ai pas trouvé le sentier. Quelqu'un voudrait-il publier une photo du départ du sentier? J'ai marché Old Stage Road. J'ai marché la route par les écuries. J'ai essayé de profiter d'une belle journée.

Saturday, May 13, 2017

belle

randonnée
Monday, September 05, 2016

pas mauvais sentier, le sentier est un peu difficile à trouver mais la vue au sommet est géniale

randonnée
Monday, July 04, 2016

Il s’agit d’une randonnée très agréable avec de multiples points d’observation de CO Springs et de la région de Cheyenne Mountain. Si vous envisagez de faire cette randonnée, il n’ya que quelques éléments d’entretien à régler. Premièrement, le sentier est assez bien établi, sans brouillage ni bloc pour les premiers 4,8 milles. Cela étant dit, il est uniquement décrit comme étant de difficulté moyenne en raison de la distance parcourue, pas du terrain lui-même. Deuxièmement, si vous parcourez ce sentier à partir du Broadmoors Cloud Camp avec l’intention de terminer au Ranch Emerald Valley, le sentier se termine au chemin Old Stage. Vous devrez remonter la vieille scène sur environ 800 mètres jusqu'au panneau EVR. Ensuite, ce sera encore 1 mile sur cette route faisant un total de 6,68 miles selon mon GPS. Le Broadmoor n'annote pas ceci dans sa carte des sentiers que vous recevez en tant qu'invité, il indique le parcours se terminant à EVR! Juste un heads-up! Dans l’ensemble, il s’agit d’une belle randonnée d’une demi-journée parcourue par de petits ruisseaux et vous pouvez même organiser une navette à l’EVR pour vous faire redescendre!

Monday, October 05, 2015

Bien que la randonnée ait été agréable, il y avait deux problèmes à noter. La distance de 5,1 miles aller-retour est incorrecte. Ses 5 miles dans chaque sens. Deuxièmement, le degré de difficulté est inexact. La majeure partie de la randonnée est facile avec une section difficile qui était raide. J'appellerais ce sentier Modéré. Encore une belle randonnée et mérite d'être faite.

ski de fond
Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Dur sur le dernier kilomètre mais était magnifique paysage

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Vues impressionnantes, l'ascension du dernier kilomètre était un peu difficile, mais sinon, une excellente randonnée. Le début du sentier n'est pas très bien indiqué, mais cela devrait aider, il y a un panneau de limitation de vitesse sur le côté sud de la route avant de tourner sur la route qui mène aux écuries, c'est ici que commence le sentier. Grande randonnée

randonnée
Sunday, June 14, 2015

Belles vues.

randonnée
Wednesday, May 06, 2015

J'ai parcouru ce sentier plusieurs fois et ce n'est pas si difficile ... je ne sais pas pourquoi on dit "recommandé pour les amateurs de plein air très expérimentés". La seule difficulté de ce sentier est de trouver le début du sentier qui est très bien caché de la route. Cela dit, je n'ai croisé d'autres personnes sur ce sentier qu'une ou deux fois au cours des cinq ou six fois où je l'ai parcouru. Le sentier est boisé et rocheux avec d'excellentes vues. Cela commence un peu en descente pendant un moment, puis graduellement et devient un peu plus difficile si vous continuez, mais je pense que le sentier est différent à ce stade. Le sentier Swisher, par exemple, est accessible par le sentier McNeil et vous emmène au sommet du mont Cheyenne, qui est très escarpé. Le début du sentier se trouve à l'arrière d'un talus sur la route, juste à côté de l'allée Broadmoor Stables.

randonnée
3 months ago

a enregistré McNeil Trail [PRIVATE PROPERTY]

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
9 months ago

randonnée
Sunday, November 12, 2017

randonnée
Sunday, August 27, 2017

Charger plus

McNeil Trail [PRIVATE PROPERTY]

MODERATE 25 reviews
#49 of 144 trails in

McNeil Trail [PRIVATE PROPERTY] is a 6.3 mile heavily trafficked out and back trail located near Colorado Springs, Colorado that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, birding, and horses and is best used from March until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
6.3 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1299 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

horseback riding

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

blowdown

over grown

private property

If you're into bagging peaks then this trail (non-trail) is the quickest-shortest way to the geological summit of Cheyenne Mountain. Great views once on top but it's a strenuous hike up slope through the trees, over and around big bolders and often over dead fall. Please note: this trail reaches private property just before the summit.

hiking
1 month ago

Nice trail. The trailhead was a little difficult to locate, but we found it behind the wood frame that would otherwise have a sign in it just on the rise, opposite the parking area. The trail is in good condition and leads to a ‘No Trespassing’ sign just before the summit. We ignored the sign and completed the summit to get some pretty great photos. I’m not sure what action the Broadmoor may take if they caught you up there, but it seemed worth the risk. We stayed away from the structures, took our photos and carried on back down the trail. If you aren’t willing to risk bypassing the little chain barrier, it’s probably not worth attempting to reach the top.

hiking
2 months ago

The hike was really nice up until we hit the “no trespassing” sign and chain blocking the trail about a quarter mile from the summit. What a disappointment. I picked this hike for my wife’s birthday.....

So there are three peaks; one is the antenna farm, the other belongs to the Air Force, and now the Broadmoor has claimed this this summit. I guess I wouldn’t be so upset if it wasn’t for the thought of the folks who can afford the cloud camp but aren’t willing to work for theview. The rest of who are willing to are turned back by a sign in the middle of a national forest. Give me a break....

hiking
3 months ago

When you get behind the stables sign there is a trail leading straight up the slope and one to the left that runs parallel to the road. Take the trail that runs parallel to the road. This trail needs to be updated on this app as the map leads you in the total wrong direction. If you guys need help finding a good map of this trail I suggest looking up ColoradoChris. I followed his trail right to the old water pump, turned back around and then went up the swisher trail to the summit of Cheyenne. His trail on google maps was a life saver

hiking
3 months ago

Not sure how some of you found this trail. We figured out about the first half mile than lost it. Beautiful area just wish the trail was marked better

hiking
4 months ago

I was able to find the trailhead behind the big sign for the stables/next to the speed limit sign. The path is well marked, although there are some spots where you have to pay attention on some slopes as it becomes all dirt. The trail indicated on AllTrails will take you back to the road way, but there is an intersection at about the 2 mile mark to take you all the way out to The Horns. Use caution as there were a couple spots side trails that might get confusing on the way back down.

5 months ago

struggled to follow this trail after the first half kilometer

hiking
6 months ago

I found the stables. I found the speed limit sign described by other hikers. I did not find the trailhead. Would someone kindly post a picture of the trailhead? I walked Old Stage Road. I walked the road by the stables. I tried to make the most of a beautiful day.

beautiful

hiking
Monday, September 05, 2016

not bad trail, trailhead is kinda hard to find but the view at the top is awesome

hiking
Monday, July 04, 2016

This is a very enjoyable hike with multiple viewing spots of CO Springs and the Cheyenne Mountain area. There is just a few housekeeping items to clear up if you plan on doing this hike. First, the trail is pretty well established with no scrambling or bouldering for the first 4.8 miles. That being said, it is only described as being moderate in difficulty due to the distance hiked, not the terrain itself. Second, if you hike this trail from The Broadmoors Cloud Camp with the intention of ending at Emerald Valley Ranch, the trail terminates at Old Stage Rd. You will have to walk up Old Stage another .8 miles (approx) to the EVR sign. Then it will be another 1 mile down that road making a total of 6.68 miles according to my GPS. The Broadmoor does not annotate this in their trail map that you receive as a guest, it shows the trail ending at EVR! Just a heads up! All in all though it is a great half day hike will little streams along the way and you can even arrange a shuttle at EVR to take you back down!

Monday, October 05, 2015

Although the hike was enjoyable, there were two issues of note. The 5.1 mile out and back is incorrect. Its 5 miles each way. Secondly, the difficulty rating is inaccurate. Most of the hike is easy with one hard section that was steep. I would call this trail Moderate. Still a nice hike and worth doing.

cross country skiing
Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Tough on the last mile but was beautiful scenery

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Awesome views, the last mile ascent was a little difficult but otherwise a great hike. The trailhead isn't marked very well but this should help, there is a speed limit sign on the south side of the road prior to turning onto the road that leads to the stables, this is where the trail begins. Great hike

hiking
Sunday, June 14, 2015

Beautiful views.

hiking
Wednesday, May 06, 2015

I've hiked this trail a number of times and it's not that hard...not sure why they say "recommended for very experienced outdoorsmen". The only hard part about this trail is finding the trailhead which is very well hidden from the road. Having said that, I've only run across other people on this trail once or twice in the five or six times I've hiked it. The trail is woodsy and bouldery with excellent views. It starts off going slightly downhill for a while and then gradually slopes up and gets a bit harder if you keep going, but I think it's a different trail at that point. Swisher Trail, for instance, is accessed via the McNeil Trail and it takes you to the top of Cheyenne Mountain and it's very steep in places. The trailhead is on the back side of a berm on the road, right next to the Broadmoor Stables driveway.

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
3 months ago

6 months ago

7 months ago

hiking
Saturday, November 26, 2016

Load More