Little French Gulch Trail

MODERATE 22 reviews
#65 of 196 trails in

Little French Gulch Trail is a 4.6 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Breckenridge, Colorado that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
4.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
482 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dog friendly

kid friendly

birding

cross country skiing

hiking

nature trips

skiing

trail running

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

hiking
1 day ago

Couldn’t actually find the trail. The trail head was easy to find but the only trail we found was the Sallie Barber mine trail. Also a nice hike but not what we were looking for so that was frustrating.

11 months ago

Saw a moose family in a meadow!

hiking
Saturday, June 24, 2017

We followed the trail shown on the app, and realized it stopped while we were still on the road. So we kept going. It will take you all the way up to French Pass between Mount Guyot and Bald Mountain. We had to cross a creek that I didn't feel comfortable hopping, so I took off my shoes. But it was totally doable and gorgeous from the top. The entire hike was about 9.2 miles and we saw lots of moose (maybe elk?) poop along the trail but no actual wildlife. It appears we came to the same point that the French Pass Trail does but we did it from the other side. Once you get past the boring road, this trail is incredible. (6/23/17)

hiking
Friday, August 05, 2016

We weren't impressed. We followed the map in the app and basically walk on a road through houses.

hiking
Wednesday, August 03, 2016

Wasn't very impressed, hiked on a dirt road then made it to the valley. Was told by a fellow hiker if we had continued another 45 minutes past the point in Alltrails we would have reached a beautiful vista. Maybe next time!

hiking
Friday, July 29, 2016

Fantastic hike! The first part is an easy trail through the woods. After reaching the road the trail continues just a short distance ahead. The most beautiful wildflowers we've seen on any hike. It gets really challenging about halfway up but we 59 year olds were able to get to the top where the view was absolutely spectacular! Don't miss the grave from 1864 at the beginning of the hike!

hiking
Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Beautiful scenery. moderate difficultly

hiking
Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Saw a moose!

hiking
29 days ago

cross country skiing
6 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
Thursday, July 06, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Sunday, June 04, 2017

recorded Breckenridge

hiking
Friday, September 16, 2016

hiking
Monday, July 25, 2016

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

hiking
Sunday, July 17, 2016

Friday, June 17, 2016

hiking
Wednesday, June 15, 2016

hiking
Sunday, March 13, 2016

hiking
Wednesday, September 09, 2015