Want AllTrails in English?
Change Language

Clark Peak Summit Trail

DIFFICILE 9 avis
N°7 sur 13 randonnées à

Le Clark Peak Summit Trail est un sentier en boucle modérément fréquenté de 15 km, situé près de Rand, dans le Colorado, qui comporte un lac et qui est considéré comme difficile. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, le camping, l'observation des oiseaux et la randonnée. Il convient de l'utiliser de mars à septembre. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

DISTANCE
9.5 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
3,887 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Boucle

chiens en laisse

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

randonnée

ornithologie

forêt

lac

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

rocheux

gravir

randonnée
8 months ago

Nous avons emprunté le sentier du lac Bleu pour aller au lac Bleu, puis avons grimpé le flanc de la montagne puis traversé la crête pour nous rendre à Clark's Peak. Nous sommes arrivés au sommet en 8,5 heures (pas mal, à mon avis). Absolument magnifique du sommet, et personne d'autre n'y était, nous avons donc pu nous imprégner. La difficulté à franchir la crête était assez difficile, mais dans l'ensemble, la piste n'était pas trop mauvaise. Tout un gain d'élévation, bien sûr. Il était beaucoup plus difficile de descendre, car nous avons emprunté un autre chemin puis nous nous sommes perdus en essayant de localiser le chemin d'enregistrement en dents de scie (je ne sais pas exactement comment il s'appelle). Si je le faisais à nouveau, je pense que je reviendrais sur la crête et redescendrais à Blue Lake, mais à chacun leur tour. Nous nous sommes levés à 2 heures du matin et avons commencé à faire de la randonnée, ce qui nous a permis de nous rendre au sommet à 10h30, ce qui était, je pense, un bon moment, en particulier avec les orages d'été l'après-midi pris en compte.

Monday, July 17, 2017

Conduit jusqu'à un mile du parking 4 roues motrices avant d'être arrêté par un mini "mâchoires". Le sentier menant au lac est doux; du lac au sommet Clark est un peu une bête. Fait la boucle, mais vient de contourner l'autre sommet. L'itinéraire de descente était beaucoup plus facile, mais il pourrait être difficile à suivre si vous tentiez de monter de cette façon. Belles fleurs sauvages en abondance.

randonnée
Friday, August 05, 2016

Nous nous sommes garés au deuxième lot à Clark Peak Yurt. Sérieusement, il faudrait un véhicule à haut dégagement pour se rendre au 3 e lot (4x4). Nous avons parcouru cela comme un sentier aller-retour et nous ne sommes pas allés aux pics sans nom via la boucle décrite dans de nombreux livres. Le sentier du lac Jewel est assez facile avec une montée régulière presque tout le temps. C'est beaucoup plus graduel que vous approchez du lac. La course à la selle puis au sommet était difficile par endroits. Il y a des sections de roches meubles alternant avec des zones herbeuses escarpées. Il a fallu plus de 2 heures pour arriver au sommet du lac. Comme il n’ya pas de sentier, nous n’avons peut-être pas choisi le bon chemin. Les vues depuis le sommet sont superbes, mais soyez conscient du paysage le long du chemin, car il est également très beau. Bien que je fasse un autre kilomètre, si je refaisais ce pic, je compléterais la boucle. Je soupçonne que le décent est plus facile de cette façon.

randonnée
Saturday, July 30, 2016

J'ai téléchargé la photo de mon itinéraire. Je publie cette revue car je pense qu'il y a beaucoup d'informations mauvaises ou incomplètes sur ce sommet. Par exemple, je n'ai pas trouvé de sentier appelé le sentier Clark Peak Summit. Du sommet, je ne pouvais voir aucune piste. J'ai fait cette randonnée le 29/07/2016 à partir de la tête du sentier du lac bleu. J'ai décidé de faire une randonnée d'une journée (non recommandée), en partant de Fort Collins à 6 heures du matin pour arriver au parking vers 7h30 et commencer la randonnée peu après. Je faisais de la randonnée avec mon chien Rocky, un sauvetage de race inconnue de 10 kg. Je portais un gallon d'eau pour nous deux, ainsi que des vêtements de pluie, des vêtements pour temps froid, des bâtons de randonnée, des vêtements de premiers secours et de la nourriture pour Rocky et moi. Probablement un sac de 20 lb. Le sentier partant du début du sentier jusqu'au lac bleu est de 5 milles (et non les 4 milles signalés sur d'autres sites). Il s'ensuit une douce colline gagnant environ 1300 pieds d'altitude avec des hauts et des bas. Le sentier est bien marqué et bien parcouru. C’était la seule partie de la randonnée où j’ai vu des gens, personne d’autre n’était au sommet. Du lac, montez encore 3/4 de mile jusqu'au col du lac Blue sur un sentier raide en lacets. Au col, vous êtes à environ 10 500 pieds et sur votre gauche, vous pouvez voir Clark Peak, à votre droite Cameron Peak. Je suis arrivé au col 2 heures après le début de la randonnée, juste avant 10 heures. Après avoir été nourris et abreuvés, nous avons commencé à gravir la pente sur notre gauche pour rejoindre la ligne de crête nord-est de Clark Peak. La ligne de crête est clairement visible, il ne vous reste plus qu'à choisir votre ligne pour accéder à la pente. Il n’ya aucune raison de dépasser le cairn qui marque le sommet du col avant de grimper jusqu’à la ligne de crête nord-est. Il s'agit d'une ligne de crête exposée sur 3+ à travers plusieurs champs de blocs et d'éboulis avec une exposition des deux côtés. Il existe également plusieurs champs de neige qui sont facilement contournés avec cette approche. La randonnée sur la ligne de crête a environ 4 faux pics cachant le prochain sommet plus élevé. Le vent soufflait à 5-10, rendant l'exposition plus dangereuse qu'elle ne l'était. Après le 3ème faux sommet, vous verrez les deux dernières ascensions, un faux sommet, puis le vrai sommet. Nous avons largué notre équipement à la base de la montée finale, à 500 degrés de la verticale, sur une pente abrupte d’un quart de mille. Grande protection contre le vent et une vue imprenable du sommet. A pris mes 2,5 heures du sommet du col au sommet. J'étais au sommet à 13h15. Au lieu de revenir en arrière, j'ai décidé de descendre la face sud (non recommandé). Du sommet, la face sud ressemble à une pente douce et descendante de la montagne. Le temps et le vent se levant, je me suis donc opposé au retour de la ligne de crête. C'était une erreur. À peine visible du sommet, la face sud devient incroyablement escarpée et se transforme en talus et en éboulis avec des rochers partout. C’était une descente très difficile et au lieu de gagner du temps, ma descente a été plus longue que ma montée Après cela, vous avez des champs de blocs et des champs de neige. Je devais traverser et revenir en arrière à la recherche d'une bonne ligne. Finalement, j'ai dû glisser sur un champ de neige sur mes fesses pour descendre. Ma recommandation serait de remonter la crête nord-est ou de descendre au lac Jewel, d'éviter la face sud à moins que vous ne possédiez du matériel d'alpinisme et de l'expérience. Les bâtons de trekking sont très utiles jusqu'au sommet et à la descente. De plus, le fait d'avoir une montre GPS qui suivait mon ascension m'a aidé à retrouver mon chemin là où il n'y avait pas de sentier. Retournez au sentier du lac bleu et dirigez-vous vers le début du sentier. Je suis arrivé à ma voiture à 19h15. Toute l'eau et la moitié de la nourriture avaient disparu. Portez un écran solaire car la montée au sommet se situe bien au-dessus de la limite des arbres et le soleil vous fera cuire. Les statistiques sont sur la photo. Avec le recul, j'aurais dû camper à Blue Lake et tenter l'ascension le lendemain.

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

Saturday, July 15, 2017

randonnée
Friday, October 03, 2014

For a limited time only, save 30% on a year of AllTrails Pro!
Get Started
Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Clark Peak Summit via Ruby Jewel Road is a 9.4 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Rand, Colorado that features a lake and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, camping, bird watching, and backpacking and is best used from March until September. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 9.4 mi Elevation gain 3,517 ft Route type Out & Back

Dogs on leash

Backpacking

Camping

Hiking

Bird watching

Forest

Lake

Views

Wild flowers

Wildlife

Rocky

Scramble

Waypoints (0)
Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (18)
Photos (18)
Recordings (14)
Completed (33)
Kevin Arndt
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJune 28, 2020
Hiking

Trail is in good shape. The lake is still partially covered with snow. Great hike and you can traverse the ridge line to 2 additional peaks. The 1000+ foot accent to Clark Peak is the hardest part. Fees are now $9.00 per car per day

Alex Dorr
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 24, 2019
BackpackingBugsScramble

1. Its $8 to enter the hiking spot 2. If you have a good 4x4 you can skip a decent portion of the hike if you want (but why?) 3. Plenty of Shade and ice melt, which also means tons of mosquitos. 4. Not many people, saw 3 groups total Getting up to the lake was easy, getting around the peaks is a little more difficult as even in July there is snow at the top. Fun Hike, good for camping

Sam Mccain
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJune 29, 2019
Hiking

Great hike that is clearly marked. Views of the Rawahs looking north is incredible.

Ruth Reed
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 20, 2018
Hiking

We took the Blue Lake Trail up to Blue Lake, and then scrambled up the mountainside and then across the ridge to get to Clark's Peak. We got to the peak in 8.5 hours (not bad, in my opinion). Absolutely gorgeous from the top, and nobody else was there so we were able to just soak it in. Scrambling across the ridge was pretty difficult, but overall the trail wasn't too bad. Quite an elevation gain, of course. Getting down was considerably harder, as we took another route down and then got lost trying to locate the Sawtooth Logging Road (not exactly sure what it is called). If I did it again, I think I would just go back over the ridge and back down to Blue Lake, but to each their own. We got up at 2 AM and started hiking, which allowed us to summit at 10:30, which I think was a good time, especially with summer thunderstorms in the afternoon taken into consideration.

Jim Randa
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 17, 2017

Drove up to within a mile of the 4wd parking lot before getting stopped by a mini "jaws." Trail to lake is mild; from lake to Clark summit is a bit of a beast. Did the loop, but just skirted the other peak. Descent route was much easier, but could be hard to pick up if you tried to ascend that way. Beautiful wildflowers in abundance.

Lisa Boesch
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 5, 2016
Hiking

We parked at the second lot at Clark Peak Yurt. Seriously would need a high clearance vehicle to make it to the 3 rd (4x4) lot. We hiked this as an out and back trail and did not go to the Unnamed Peaks via the loop described in many books. The Jewel Lake Trail is fairly easy with a steady climb most of the way. It is much more gradual as you near the Lake. The scramble to the saddle and then to the Peak was difficult in places. There are sections of loose rocks alternating with steep grassy areas. It took over 2 hours to summit from the Lake. Because there is no trail, perhaps we didn't chose the right way. The views from the top are stunning but be aware of the scenery along the way, as it is also very beautiful. Although another mile in distance, if I did this peak again, I would complete the loop. I suspect the decent is easier that way.

Brad Conner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 30, 2016
Hiking
First to Review

I uploaded the photo of my route. I am posting this review as I think there is a lot of bad or incomplete information out there about this summit. For instance, there is no trail that I could find called the Clark Peak Summit trail. From the peak I could see no trails. I hiked this on 7/29/2016 from the Blue Lake Trail head. I decided to do it as a day hike (not recommended) leaving Fort Collins at 6 a.m. arriving at the parking lot around 7:30 and starting the hike soon after. I was hiking with my dog, Rocky, a 55 lb rescue of unknown breed. I was carrying a gallon of water for both of us plus rain gear, cold weather gear, trekking poles, first aid gear, and food for Rocky and I. Probably a 20 lb pack. The trail from the trail head to blue lake is 5 miles (not the 4 miles reported on other sites). It follows a gentle up hill gaining approx 1300 feet of elevation with some ups and downs. The trail is well marked and well traveled. This was the only part of the hike were I saw people, no one else was summiting. From the lake hike up another 3/4 mile to Blue Lake Pass on a steep switchback trail. At the pass you are at about 10,500 feet and on your left you can see Clark Peak, on your right Cameron peak. I arrived at the pass 2 hours after starting the hike just before 10 a.m. After getting fed and watered we started up the slope on our left to gain the northeast ridge line of Clark Peak. The ridge line is clearly visible, its just a matter of picking your line to get to the slope. There is no reason to go past the cairn marking the top of the pass before scrambling up to the northeast ridge line. This is a 3+ exposed ridge line across multiple boulder and scree fields with exposure on both sides. There are also multiple snow fields which are easily skirted on this approach. The hike up the ridge line has about 4 false peaks hiding the next higher peak. The wind was blowing 5-10 making the exposure feel more dangerous than it was. After the 3rd false peak you will see the last two ascents, a false peak and then the true peak. We dropped our gear at the base of the final climb, 500 ish vertical up a quarter of a mile steep slope. Large wind protection plus amazing views from the top. Took my 2.5 hours from top of the pass to summit. I was on the summit at 1:15 pm. Instead of back tracking, I decided to descend the south face (not recommended). From the peak the south face looks like a gentle rolling slope down the mountain. Weather and wind were picking up so I decided against the ridge line return. This was a mistake. Just out of view from the peak the south face gets incredibly steep and turns into talus and scree with boulders throughout. It was a very tricky descent and instead of saving me time, actually made my descent take longer than my ascent. After that you have boulder fields and snow fields. I had to cross and back track looking for a good line. Finally, I had to slide across a snow field on my butt to make my way down. My recommendation would be to back track the northeast ridge or descend to Jewel Lake, avoid the south face unless you have mountaineering equipment and experience. Trekking poles came in very handy up to the peak and on the descent. Also, having a gps watch that tracked my ascent helped my find my way back down where there was no trail. Made it down back to blue lake trail and out to the trail head. Got to my car at 7:15 pm. All water and half of the food were gone. Wear sunscreen as the ascent to the summit is well above treeline and the sun will bake you. Stats are in the photo. In hindsight, I should have camped at Blue Lake and attempted the ascent the next day.

Jared G
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 22, 2020
Hiking
View Jared's Recording
Cody Van
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 22, 2020
Hiking
View Cody's Recording
Anthony H.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 30, 2020
Hiking
View Anthony's Recording
Tony Pizzamiglio
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 26, 2019
Hiking
View Tony 's Recording
Kristen Cognac
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 1, 2019
Hiking
View Kristen's Recording
Max Frankenberry
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 18, 2019
Hiking
View Max's Recording
Chad Wickless
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMarch 12, 2019
Hiking
View Chad's Recording
Stephanie Anderson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 9, 2018
Hiking
View Stephanie's Recording
Dalton Schroeder
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSeptember 30, 2018
Hiking
View Dalton's Recording
Chris Frohlich
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarJuly 15, 2017
Michael Nelson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 3, 2014
Hiking
View Michael 's Recording