Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Bear Lake Road Loop is a 4.9 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Estes Park, Colorado that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from April until September.

Distance: 4.9 miles Elevation Gain: 1,092 feet Route Type: Loop

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

forest

lake

views

wild flowers

wildlife

Reservations to enter the park will go on sale through Recreation.gov at 8 a.m. Mountain Time on Thursday, May 28. Reservations will be available to enter the park from June 4 through July 31. The next release will be on July 1, for the month of August and any remaining days that have not been booked for July. On August 1, reservations will be available for the month of September and any remaining days that have not been booked for August. On September 1, reservations will be available for the month of October and any remaining days in September that have not been booked. Permits issued using the reservation system will allow park visitors to enter the park within two-hour windows of availability between 6 a.m. through 5 p.m. This process will facilitate advance payment of entrance fees, minimize contact between park entrance station staff and visitors and limit congestion in parking lots. The permit system will apply to all areas of the park. In the initial opening phase, the park will open approximately 60 percent of the park’s maximum parking capacity or 4,800 vehicles (13,500 visitors) per day.

Mon Mar 11 2019

awesome views...it was a bit busy but still a great hike

hiking
Tue Jun 26 2018

No, please don't do that! You miss all the fun, yet still walk 5 miles? Try to include worthwhile detour such as mills lake, haiyaha, emerald, the loch, and even sky pond

hiking
Mon Nov 06 2017

Beautiful hike, a must see if you're in Estes!

hiking
Tue Oct 31 2017

Great moderate trek with views of several alpine lakes. We did it in about 3 inches of snow and very manageable. I would recommend taking the loop left from the Glacier Gorge Trailhead.

hiking
Tue Jun 18 2019

hiking
Sun Sep 02 2018

hiking
Sun Sep 02 2018

hiking
Sat Sep 01 2018

hiking
Sat Sep 01 2018

hiking
Fri Aug 24 2018

hiking
Fri Aug 24 2018

hiking
Sun Aug 12 2018

hiking
Sun Aug 12 2018

hiking
Tue Jul 17 2018

hiking
Tue Jul 17 2018

hiking
Tue Jul 17 2018

hiking
Tue Jul 17 2018

Sat May 26 2018

Sat May 26 2018

hiking
Wed Sep 13 2017

hiking
Wed Sep 13 2017

hiking
Sat Sep 09 2017

Showing results 1 - 30 of 46