Wood Canyon Mathis Loop Trail is a 6.1 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Aliso Viejo, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round.

DISTANCE
6.1 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
872 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

birding

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

walking

views

wild flowers

no dogs

hiking
5 months ago

It's okay. Much better than accessing near Top of the World which is waaaay to busy for my liking. But this trail map leads you to a gated community so we actually had to go about 2 miles down the road to a park and access the trail head from there.

It was a pretty easy trail. There is some good elevation on the last leg of the loop along West Ridge Trail.

Tip: for directions use Canyon Vistas Park in Aliso Viejo; not a lot of shade so start early or make sure you pack sunscreen, a hat, and plenty of sunscreen. Watch out for mountain bikers cuz they ain't watching for you!

hiking
7 months ago

Well maintained trail. Nice views if you add on top of the world to the middle of it. The actual hill on Mathis is pretty challenging.

Sunday, October 08, 2017

very easy trail. almost too easy

hiking
Thursday, August 10, 2017

Don't go in the blazing heat like we did! But it's a gorgeous hike with views that reward you for your effort

hiking
Tuesday, July 04, 2017

Nice hike; be prepared for a ton of mountain bikers.

hiking
Friday, June 23, 2017

The spot marked as the trailhead is inside of a gated community and I could not find anyway to access it. I ended up starting at Canyon View Park and still did the majority of this marked loop.

hiking
Tuesday, November 08, 2016

Very well maintained and organized trail. Very popular and is an easier alternative to Car Wreck Trail. Have your water and sun block ready if you are planning on doing the full trail during peak sunlight hours.

hiking
Tuesday, October 04, 2016

Great hike in the morning. Almost no people out there

hiking
Saturday, May 14, 2016

Some nice views and very clearly marked trail, but most of it was fairly boring and we were always afraid of colliding with a mountain biker. There are lots of ways to do this loop and we chose a few trails that took us about 6miles r/t.

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

mountain biking
10 months ago

trail running
10 months ago

hiking
Thursday, October 19, 2017

hiking
Monday, September 18, 2017

mountain biking
Saturday, August 19, 2017

hiking
Thursday, July 06, 2017

hiking
Friday, May 19, 2017

trail running
Thursday, May 18, 2017

trail running
Friday, May 12, 2017

hiking
Sunday, April 30, 2017

Friday, November 04, 2016

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Sunday, July 24, 2016

hiking
Monday, May 16, 2016

hiking
Saturday, March 12, 2016

recorded

Wednesday, November 19, 2014