William Heise Desert View and Canyon Oak Loop Trail

MODERATE 25 reviews

William Heise Desert View and Canyon Oak Loop Trail is a 2.8 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Julian, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
2.8 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
741 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

birding

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

hiking
17 days ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

7 months ago

7 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
Friday, October 14, 2016

My husband and I did this with our dog today and we did not feel it warranted the difficult rating. Great views at the top, but the climb itself was mediocre.

hiking
Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Good workout. Not a lot of shade. Nice scenery and some steep inclines but not all uphill which is nice. Hiked with 3 others and all thought it was very worthwhile. William Heise campground is really roomy unlike most where you're on top of each other!

Monday, September 26, 2016

I had a lot of fun hiking around William Heise County Park; make sure you go to Cedar Loop. Since Julian is only a short drive away, I go for a hike at William Heise and then drive into Julian for a piece of yummy pie from Julian Pie Co.

hiking
Thursday, June 09, 2016

Not difficult. But a nice hike and a very nice park.

hiking
Saturday, May 21, 2016

Fun

hiking
Friday, May 20, 2016

Loved it! Peaceful!

hiking
Thursday, March 24, 2016

hiking
Saturday, March 05, 2016

Easy hike, well maintained trail.

Saturday, December 19, 2015

hiking
Saturday, September 26, 2015

Beautiful easy hike, great for kids and beginners. Go into the town of Julian after for some famous apple pie and ice cream, makes it a great outing!

hiking
Saturday, September 05, 2015

Holy Cow, this trail is so dangerous. Very loose footing on the steep sections resulted in my wife slipping, falling,and getting a couple of bruises. I nearly fell. This thing needs to be closed and fixed before someone else gets hurt.

hiking
Monday, May 04, 2015

hiking
Thursday, January 29, 2015

Nice moderate trail. Remnants of Cedar Fire everywhere. Cool old growth forest near the end.

hiking
Tuesday, July 29, 2014