Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Warren Lake Trail

DIFFICILE 46 avis
N°20 sur 193 randonnées à

Warren Lake Trail is a 13.9 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Truckee, California that features a lake and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from July until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
13.9 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
3,927 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

forêt

lac

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

insectes

couvert de végétation

Directions from Truckee: Travel west on Hwy. #80 and take the Castle Peak/Boreal Ridge Road exit, which is immediately west of the highway's Donner Summit Roadside Rest Area. On the south side of the highway there is a sign reading: Tahoe National Forest Trailhead Donner Summit Pacific Crest Trail. Follow the directions on the sign turning east for 0.4 miles to the trailhead.

randonnée sac-à-dos
6 months ago

Je salue ceux d'entre vous qui marchent jour après jour avec ce bébé. J'ai même eu un homme qui courait qui m'a doublé! Je suis nouveau dans le monde de la randonnée, mais cette randonnée m'a donné un coup de pied. Je voudrais remercier le monsieur un couple de post ci-dessous pour le bon appel sur le signe qui dit Warren's Lake +1 avec et flèche sur un rocher en partant à gauche. Ne partez pas à gauche! Tous les sentiers ont également dit d'aller droit, mais je me suis souvenu de votre poste au cas où! L'application All Trails et mes bâtons de randonnée ont sauvé mes fesses sur celui-ci. C'était une aventure incroyable. Si belle et si calme. La piste était bien marquée. Je n'ai vu qu'un seul couple sur le chemin. La randonnée fait beaucoup de va-et-vient, mais la dernière descente sur le lac de Warren a été éprouvante. Les bâtons de randonnée étaient un must pour moi. Tu descends tout droit sur les rochers et le gravier et à mon crédit je ne suis tombé qu'une fois, ha! Comme je conduisais avec tout mon équipement, cela m'a pris un peu plus de temps que sans. En bas, j'ai trouvé un petit camping isolé à droite avec son propre foyer et son sentier de plage. Il y a plus de campings sur la gauche et sur les rochers après le site que j'ai choisi. Beaucoup de randonneurs et de routards campent ici, alors vous n'êtes vraiment pas seul. Absolument magnifique lac et vaut chaque instant d'agonie.

randonnée sac-à-dos
6 months ago

Les vues sont spectaculaires et le dernier kilomètre est extrêmement technique pour se rendre au lac. Le temps était parfait à cette période de l'année. Beaucoup de fleurs sauvages et de petites criques pour obtenir de l'eau en cas de besoin. Il n'y avait que 3 sites pour camper au pied du sentier au lac Warren. Nous ne nous attendions pas à voir autant de groupes et avons eu la chance de pouvoir en trouver un. Je referais ce choix sans hésiter !!

randonnée
7 months ago

Belles vues. C'était la piste la plus difficile que j'ai jamais essayée de courir. Non seulement les collines étaient abruptes, mais elles étaient difficiles à trouver. Nous avons fini par en monter une partie. Lorsque vous vous approchez du lac, un panneau indique "Warren lake 1+". Allez à droite à ce signe, ça dit tout droit, mais allez à droite. Je l'ai suivi et il m'a fallu 1 mile pour comprendre que j'ai pris une décision d'interdiction. J'ai fait 3 minutes de la vidéo sur mon youtube. C'est un mélange de nouvelles images de drones et de plans professionnels. Tu peux le voir ici. https://youtu.be/hKaAKOyUEv0. ou consultez les photos sur instagram @chanjak. Prendre plaisir.

randonnée
7 months ago

Notre groupe de 3 personnes recherchait une randonnée «difficile» et aventureuse, et nous étions plus que satisfaits de ce que Warren Lake avait à offrir. De l’I-80, le lac Warren se trouvait à un peu moins de 7 milles, ce qui en fait une randonnée de presque 14 milles. Avant de descendre au lac, le dernier kilomètre était assez escarpé et de loin la partie la plus difficile de la randonnée, car vous saviez que vous deviez effectuer le même trajet en remontant du lac sur le chemin du retour. Cela nous a pris un total de 7 heures, y compris un arrêt de 45 minutes au lac Warren. Si vous recherchez une randonnée d'une journée impressionnante et difficile avec des montées raides, je vous recommande vivement le sentier du lac Warren. Et si vous n'avez pas mis à niveau votre application AllTrails vers la version "pro", je vous suggère définitivement de le faire. AllTrails est une bouée de sauvetage!

randonnée sac-à-dos
7 months ago

Warren Lake est magnifique. Nous avons campé une nuit et passé un bon moment. Cependant, comme un autre utilisateur l'a mentionné précédemment, le «sentier» entre les lacs Warren et Paradise n'existe pas. C'est une zone escarpée et rocheuse avec beaucoup de broussailles, très dangereuse. Le sentier qui descend au lac Warren est vraiment raide et difficile mais faisable. Je laisserais les chiens à la maison cependant, les pattes de mon Golden se sont vraiment déchirées.

randonnée sac-à-dos
7 months ago

Ce n'était pas le voyage initial que nous allions faire mais je suis content que nous l'ayons fait ... C'est magnifique !!! Comme incroyablement belle - vaut le trek atroce que nous avons eu. Si vous êtes l’un des rares coureurs de sentier, nous l’avons vu bravo à vous !! Nous avons pensé qu'il était fou qu'ils couraient ici et ils ont pensé que nous étions fous d'avoir emballé toute notre merde! Lol. Nous avons peut-être été un peu lourd. Le sentier est parfois peu évident, mais la fin en vaut la peine. Il y avait plus de trafic que prévu. Notre randonnée a duré deux jours car l’altitude, bien que peu folle, a eu des effets sur l’autre personne de notre groupe de deux. Nous avons campé un peu après le premier accent, puis nous nous sommes réveillés et avons terminé la randonnée vers le lac. Une fois le camp installé, je me suis dirigé vers le lac, qui était à peu près le nôtre et un autre groupe de deux. C'était un super voyage de randonnée / camping (4 jours 3 nuits). Nous sommes allés à pied avec 35 livres et plus, la prochaine fois, nous avons emballé un briquet - mais il y en aura une autre!

randonnée sac-à-dos
7 months ago

Si vous vous garez au début du sentier du château, vous pouvez parcourir la totalité de la boucle de 17 km qui relie le sentier de Warren Lake au PCT. Ceci est un voyage de randonnée et non une randonnée d'une journée. Il y a beaucoup d'eau à l'heure actuelle, mais dans quelques semaines beaucoup de petites criques vont s'assécher. Assurez-vous d'apporter beaucoup d'eau et de faire le plein quand vous pouvez car vous allez transpirer. -John

randonnée sac-à-dos
7 months ago

Warren Lake est une randonnée substantielle, qui en vaut la peine. Les premiers kilomètres sont passablement piétonniers, même parfois à vélo, jusqu'au lac Frog. Faites une pause et profitez de la vue. Après cela, il y a très peu de circulation jusqu'au lac Warren. Le dernier kilomètre dans Warren Lake est assez raide et lent. Le lac lui-même est si isolé et si beau. Nous avons trouvé une petite plage de sable sur le côté nord-nord ouest du lac et sommes allés nous baigner un moment. Nous avons eu le lac pour nous seuls pendant 24 heures. En sortant, nous avons rencontré un couple qui venait nous dire qu'ils prévoyaient de faire une randonnée sur la crête à l'ouest, jusqu'à Paradise Valley. Cela devrait être faisable, mais je ne crois pas qu'il y ait un sentier existant.

randonnée
7 months ago

Les directions AllTrails vous mènent à la halte I-80 qui se trouve au début du sentier. Il s’agit d’un stationnement de 4 heures seulement, il ne semble pas probable qu’ils en suivent de près, mais si cela vous inquiète, le sentier PCT n’est qu’à un kilomètre environ avec un terrain illimité. Depuis la zone de repos, le sentier commence à droite du bâtiment. À la fin du mois de juillet, il y avait encore des fleurs sauvages et de la bonne eau pour presque toute la durée de la randonnée, ce qui était nécessaire, car j’ai parcouru environ 6 L par une journée chaude. Le manteau neigeux semblait presque parti, alors vous ne savez pas combien de temps tous ces cours d'eau vont continuer à couler. C'est une randonnée difficile pour une journée - je suis sûr que cela peut être fait en 5 heures et demie, a commenté une personne ci-dessous, mais c'est une piste difficile pour maintenir 3 mph dans l'ensemble. Les 4 montées sont assez importantes, et la descente est lâche dans beaucoup d'endroits.

8 months ago

ATTENTION: une fois passé le lac Warren, le sentier est extrêmement envahi par la végétation et difficile à trouver. Je suivais du mieux que je pouvais avec l'application AllTrails, mais je me suis retrouvé dans des situations dangereuses en prenant quelques mauvaises décisions, voire très dangereuses. Pas intélligent. Donc, si vous faites cette randonnée - et je vous le recommande vivement, car elle est vraiment magnifique - pensez à en faire un aller-retour de Warren Lake.

randonnée sac-à-dos
9 months ago

Nous avons fait cette randonnée en deux jours, nous a pris environ 4 heures par jour, donc si vous êtes en forme, vous pourriez aussi bien le faire qu'une randonnée d'un jour. Il y avait encore beaucoup de neige (20/06/18), alors apportez peut-être une paire de chaussettes supplémentaire, au cas où vos pieds seraient mouillés. Je recommanderais également une sorte de GPS car il est facile de sortir du sentier avec la couverture de neige. Mais la raison principale pour laquelle j'écris cette critique: SOYEZ CONSCIENT! Warren Lake est un lieu de reproduction pour les moustiques !! J'ai seulement apporté mes "huiles de hippie" (comme dirait mon mari), et ils n'ont rien fait pour repousser ces créatures menteuses dès que nous étions au bord du lac. Littéralement des tonnes de moustiques !! Si je refaisais ce sentier, je camperais un peu en amont, là où la concentration des squitos est bien moindre. A part ça, la randonnée est magnifique !! Super aventureux et personne n'est là-bas! Grands spots d'escalade et lieux de pêche !!

randonnée sac-à-dos
Sunday, November 12, 2017

Tentative avec 3 des éclaireurs Dece. Temps incroyable, belle randonnée, mais plus de neige que prévu. Nous aurions probablement fait le lac si nous avions nos raquettes à neige avec nous. Je veux vraiment revenir et essayer à nouveau.

randonnée sac-à-dos
Saturday, October 28, 2017

vue imprenable

randonnée
Monday, September 04, 2017

C'était magnifique mais l'une des randonnées les plus difficiles que j'ai faites. En particulier, la descente à travers les rochers à plus de 300 mètres de distance pour atteindre le lac Les fleurs sauvages sont incroyables et le lac est magnifique!

Saturday, September 02, 2017

Une de nos randonnées préférées dans la région de Tahoe! Nous avons fait l'aller et le retour à Warren Lake et pensons que cela a fini par être environ 16 miles (aurait été plus comme 17,5 si nous avions fait la boucle). Sentier vraiment amusant qui était intéressant tout au long du parcours - des montées difficiles dispersées et des changements impressionnants de paysages / flore sur chaque crête. Ressenti davantage comme une aventure exploratoire que votre typique sentier aller / retour. Nous sommes en très bonne forme et nous avons fait un excellent entraînement pour une journée de randonnée. Commencé à 9h et a pris environ 5,5 heures. J'ai adoré!

randonnée sac-à-dos
Monday, August 21, 2017

Une fois que vous avez atteint le premier changement d'altitude important, il y avait de la neige mais rien d'inquiétant. Cependant, le ruissellement de la neige a rendu la piste difficile à trouver. Une partie du sentier était littéralement une crique que vous deviez traverser. La vue est magnifique. Randonnée difficile pour n'importe qui. Si vous allez jusqu'au lac Warren, c'est vraiment rocheux (lâche) et raide et étroit dans certaines parties. Il y a des sites de camping autour du bas. Nous étions trop fatigués pour nous aventurer plus loin pour un meilleur camping et il a commencé à pleuvoir, nous avons donc choisi le camp au bon endroit Les buissons couvrent complètement la vue sur le lac, mais il y a des chemins sur lesquels on peut marcher pour aller à l'eau. Il y a des moustiques mais ce n'était pas horrible. Nous avions un insectifuge qui se présentait dans une bombe aérosol jaune spécialement destinée aux moustiques et je ne me suis pas mordu du tout. (Ils m'aiment généralement) Nous avons également pris nos 2 laboratoires jaunes et ils ont très bien fonctionné.

randonnée
Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Des vues incroyables! Je me suis rendu à Warren Lake avant de rentrer. Je recommande fortement de ne pas essayer de faire cette randonnée en une journée, car vous serez absolument épuisé. Je suis assez en forme et j'ai à peine réussi. Il m'a fallu 10 heures pour aller au lac et en revenir. Les montées et les descentes rendent la tâche extrêmement difficile. Il y avait encore beaucoup de neige au 7.23.17. Cela rend difficile de rester sur le sentier, mais c'est faisable si vous pouvez vous débrouiller. Méfiez-vous si vous vous attendez à une randonnée facile d'une journée. Il va te botter le cul. Les moustiques sont également agaçants.

randonnée
Monday, July 10, 2017

C'est une randonnée spectaculaire. Sachez qu'à partir du 7/8/17, à partir de la cuvette située sous Castle Peak, le sentier est presque entièrement recouvert de neige. Nous sommes allés aussi loin que Basin Peak et avons pensé qu'il valait mieux ne pas s'aventurer jusqu'au lac sous la neige.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Les fleurs sauvages le long des lacs PCT, Paradise et Warren sont incroyablement belles.

randonnée
Thursday, September 01, 2016

Très belle journée de randonnée. Juste à 17 miles de la zone de repos à la rive du lac et à l'arrière.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Cool

Monday, July 11, 2016

Grande randonnée. Belles vues. Attention aux moustiques!

randonnée
Monday, July 04, 2016

Génial! Nous avons commencé le sentier sur le côté droit - j'aurai le nom exact - beaucoup de fleurs fraîches et de rochers. Petits ruisseaux et ombre jusqu'à ce que vous atteigniez la ligne droite qui surplombe le lac Grenouille. Cette vue était incroyable. Nous avons essayé d'aller du côté gauche jusqu'à Warren Lake, car il y avait beaucoup de neige pour manœuvrer et nous n'avions pas l'équipement approprié pour aller aussi loin ni ce que Steve veut savoir. Donc, nous allons essayer à nouveau pendant la nuit

randonnée
Monday, May 30, 2016

Beaucoup de neige. Bonne montée première mi-temps. Superbes vues au sommet. Le lac était gelé :)

Sunday, May 29, 2016

Belle!

randonnée
Tuesday, September 08, 2015

Commencé au point de départ PCT, juste à l’est de la station de ski de Boreal Mountain. Grande randonnée modérée. Nous avons démarré un peu plus tard dans la journée mais nous sommes revenus dans mon camion juste avant que des lampes de poche ne soient nécessaires pour voir notre chemin. Assurez-vous de regarder votre carte et les panneaux affichés. Beaucoup de jonctions de sentiers à 3 et 4 voies et il vous suffit de vous surveiller pour vous assurer de rester sur le sentier du lac Warren.

camping
Monday, June 15, 2015

Nous y sommes allés les 13 et 14 juin et le sentier est en grande partie sans neige sauf à quelques endroits. Il y a quelques sections assez boueuses. Warren Lake était étonnamment chaud pour nager, mais les moustiques étaient féroces! Les fleurs sauvages sont belles et diversifiées en cette période de l'année. Ce serait une randonnée difficile pour une journée et je le recommande comme une nuit afin que vous puissiez vous détendre au bord du lac et ne pas avoir à gravir la colline escarpée. Nos distances étaient d'environ 8 miles dans chaque sens, selon mon GPS.

camping
Sunday, June 07, 2015

Warren Lake, Paradise Lake et Devils Oven sont parmi les meilleurs en ce qui concerne les lacs de haute montagne. Mon père, mes frères et moi-même avons été innombrables fois, passant de 2 à 5 nuits à chaque fois. Nous pêchons, grimpons, slackline, nageons et randonnées d’une journée pour combler le temps de chaque parcours. Sur la randonnée, il y a beaucoup de roches en vrac menant au sommet du château, mais rien de bien difficile. Traverser la crête est simple et à couper le souffle, mais toujours terriblement venteux. Trouver où les sentiers tombent de l’arête sur l’arrière peut être un peu délicat, mais si vous vous en tenez à l’extrême gauche, tout ira bien. Le temps peut changer en quelques minutes sur la crête, du temps ensoleillé et calme à 100pmh + rafales et grêle. Croyez-moi, j'ai vécu cela deux fois. En tout, il s’agit d’une belle randonnée, de superbes campings tout autour des lacs, de rochers sur lesquels sauter, d’eaux claires, que demander de plus?

camping
Saturday, June 06, 2015

Je dirais que c'est définitivement une nuit au moins. Nous venons de le faire début juin et malgré la sécheresse et le manteau neigeux normal, le sentier était encore couvert de neige et serait difficile à suivre sans GPS. Il n'y a pas beaucoup de terrain plat sur ce sentier - beaucoup de montées et de descentes qui ont tendance à être raides, et de nombreux ruisseaux drainant le manteau neigeux des sommets de Castle et Basin. Une grande partie du sentier devient un ruisseau et les quelques zones plates qu’il traverse deviennent de la boue. Sur le chemin du retour, une fois le sentier connu, je l’ai mesurée à 6,4 milles et 2600 pieds d’ascension. Ça vaut vraiment le coup quand même. La vue sur le lac Frog est agréable et Warren est entouré de hautes falaises de granit et d'une île. Il y a beaucoup de bons campings le long de la côte. J'ai l'impression que cet endroit pourrait être populaire les week-ends d'été, mais il n'y avait que quelques pêcheurs ici.

randonnée
Monday, August 11, 2014

Beau sentier de randonnée. Nous sommes allés à pied et avons passé la nuit à Warren Lake, comme je pouvais m'imaginer le faire en une journée. La randonnée vers Warren Lake est assez raide et contient beaucoup de roches et si vous recherchez un sentier plat, vous ne le trouverez pas ici ... vous montez ou descendez. Avoir tout le lac pour nous valait vraiment les ampoules sur mes pieds. Nous avons un petit chien et avons heureusement décidé de ne pas l'amener, bien qu'un gros chien n'ait aucun problème. Beaucoup de traversées de cours d'eau et beaucoup d'endroits pour filtrer l'eau. Les campings sont bien une fois que vous avez trouvé votre chemin à travers les broussailles qui entourent le lac.

Charger plus

Warren Lake Trail

HARD 44 reviews
#20 of 168 trails in

Warren Lake Trail is a 12 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Truckee, California that features a lake and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from July until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
12.0 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
3,910 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dog friendly

birding

camping

hiking

nature trips

walking

forest

lake

views

wild flowers

wildlife

bugs

over grown

Directions from Truckee: Travel west on Hwy. #80 and take the Castle Peak/Boreal Ridge Road exit, which is immediately west of the highway's Donner Summit Roadside Rest Area. On the south side of the highway there is a sign reading: Tahoe National Forest Trailhead Donner Summit Pacific Crest Trail. Follow the directions on the sign turning east for 0.4 miles to the trailhead.

backpacking
15 days ago

I salute those of you who day hike this baby. I even had a man running who passed me twice! I am new to the backpacking world, but this hike kicked my butt. I would like to thank the gentleman a couple of post below for the good call on the sign that says Warren’s Lake +1 with and arrow on a rock going left. Do not go left! All Trails also said to go right, but I remembered your post just in case! The All Trails app and my trekking poles saved my butt on this one. It was an incredible adventure. So beautiful and so quiet. Trail was nicely marked. I only saw one couple on the way in. The hike is up and down a lot, but on the last decent to Warren’s lake it was grueling. Trekking poles were a must for me. You’re going straight down rocks and gravel and to my credit I only fell once ha! As I was backpacking with full gear on it took me a bit longer then without. At the bottom I found a secluded little campsite to the right with its own fire pit and beach trail. There are more campsites out to the left and up the rocks after the site I chose. A lot of hikers and backpackers camp here so you’re really not alone. Absolutely beautiful lake and worth every moment of agony.

backpacking
22 days ago

The views are spectacular, and the last mile is extremely technical getting down to the lake. The weather was perfect this time of year. Lots of wildflowers, and little creeks to get water when needed. There were only 3 sites to camp at the base of the trail right at Warren Lake. We weren’t expecting to see so many groups and were lucky we could snatch one up. I would definitely do this one again!!

hiking
28 days ago

Beautiful views. It was the most difficult trail I Have ever tried to run. Not only were the hills steep, they were hard to get footing. Ended up walking up some of it. When you get close to the lake, there is a sign that points up and says "Warren lake 1+". Go right at that sign, It says straight, but go right. I followed it and it took me 1 mile to figure out I made a bar decision. I made 3 minute of the video on my youtube. It's a mix of some fresh drone footage and go pro shots. You can see it here. https://youtu.be/hKaAKOyUEv0. or check out the photos on instagram @chanjak. Enjoy.

hiking
1 month ago

Our group of 3 was looking for a "hard" and adventurous day hike, and we were more than pleased with what Warren Lake had to offer. From the I-80 rest stop to Warren Lake was just under 7 miles, making it an almost 14 mile hike. The last mile before coming down to the lake was pretty steep and by far the most challenging part of the hike because you knew you had to make that same trek back up out of the lake on the way back. It took us a total of 7 hours including a 45 minute stop at Lake Warren. If you're looking for an awesome and challenging day hike with some steep climbs, I highly recommend the Warren Lake trail. And if you haven't upgraded your AllTrails app to the "pro" version, I definitely suggest you do so. AllTrails is a lifesaver!

backpacking
1 month ago

Warren lake is beautiful. We camped there one night and had a great time. However, as another user previously mentioned, the “trail” between Warren lake and Paradise lake does not exist. It’s a steep, rocky area with lots of brush, very unsafe. The trail that comes down to Warren lake is really steep and difficult but doable. I’d leave the dogs at home though, my Golden’s paws got torn up really badly.

backpacking
1 month ago

This was not the initial trip we were going to take but I am stoked we did... It is gorgeous!!! Like amazingly beautiful - worth the agonizing trek we had. If you are one of the few trail runners we saw out here Kudos to you!! We thought it was crazy they were running out here and they thought we were crazy for packing in all our crap! Lol. We may have been a little pack heavy. The trail is a little non-apparent at times but the end is well worth it. There was more traffic than we anticipated. Our hike in took two days because the altitude, although not crazy, had some effects on the other person in our group of two. We camped a little bit after the first accent then woke up and finished up the trek to the lake. After camp was set up I headed to the lake which was pretty much ours and one other group of two. It was a great backpacking/camping trip (4days 3nights). We hiked in with 35+lbs, next time packing lighter - but there will be a next time!

backpacking
1 month ago

If you park at the castle peak trailhead you can do the full 17.2 mile loop from the Warren Lake trail to the PCT. This is a backpacking trip not a day hike. There's plenty of water right now but in a couple weeks a lot of the small creeks will dry up. Be sure to bring plenty of water and to fill up when you can cuz you will be sweating.
-John

backpacking
1 month ago

Warren Lake is a substantial hike, well worth the effort. The first few miles have a fair amount of foot traffic, even occasional bikes, up to the Frog Lake over look. Take a break and enjoy the view. After this, there is very little traffic all the way to Warren Lake. The final mile into Warren Lake is pretty steep and slow going. The lake itself is so isolated and so beautiful. We found a small sand beach on the north-north west side of the lake and went swimming a while. We had the lake to ourselves for a good 24 hours. On the way out, we met a couple who was coming in- they told me that they were planning to hike over the ridge on the west to Paradise Valley. It should be doable, but I don't believe there's an existing trail.

hiking
1 month ago

AllTrails directions take you to the rest stop on I-80 as the trailhead. It's signed as 4 hour parking only, it doesn't seem likely they keep close track of it but if that worries you the PCT trailhead is only about a mile away with an unlimited lot. From the rest area the trail starts to the right of the building.

In late July there are still wildflowers, and good water for almost the duration of the hike, which was needed as I went through ~6L on a hot day. The snowpack looked nearly gone, so not sure how long all those streams will keep running.

This is a tough hike for 1 day - I'm sure it can be done in 5.5 hours as someone commented below, but this is a hard trail to maintain 3mph on the whole way. The 4 climbs are pretty significant, and the downhill is loose in a lot of places.

2 months ago

WARNING: once you get past Warren Lake the trail is extremely overgrown and difficult to find. I was tracking with the AllTrails app the best I could but ended up in some dangerous situations making a few bad, and really unsafe, decisions. Not smart.

So if you do this hike- and I HIGHLY recommend that you do because it is freaking gorgeous- consider making it an In-and-out from Warren Lake.

backpacking
2 months ago

We did this hike in two days, Took us about 4 hours each day, so if your in good shape you might as well do it as a day hike. There was still a lot of snow (6/20/18), so maybe bring an extra pair of socks, in case your feet get wet. I also would recommend some sort of GPS since its easy to get off the trail with the snow coverage. But the main reason why I am writing this review: BE AWARE! Warren Lake is a breeding place for MOSQUITOS!! I only brought my "hippie oils" (as my husband would say), and they did not do anything to repel those f......lying creatures as soon as we were at the lake. Literally TONS of MOSQUITOS!! If I would do this trail again, I would actually camp a little bit uphill, where the concentration of the `squitos is way less. Besides that, the hike is beautiful!! Super adventurous and no one is out there! Great climbing spots and places to fish!!

backpacking
10 months ago

Attempt with 3 of the Dece Scouts. Amazing weather, beautiful hike, but more snow than expected. We would have probably made the lake if we had our snowshoes with us. Definitely want to come back and try it again.

backpacking
10 months ago

amazing view

hiking
Monday, September 04, 2017

It was gorgeous but one of the hardest hikes I've done. Especially the scramble down through rocks 1000 feet in one mile to get to the lake. The wildflowers are incredible though and the lake is beautiful!

Saturday, September 02, 2017

One of our favorite Tahoe area hikes! We did the out-and-back to Warren Lake and think it ended up being ~16 miles (would have been more like 17.5 if we did the loop). Really fun trail that was interesting the whole way- challenging uphills dispersed throughout and awesome change in scenery/flora over every ridge. Felt more like an exploratory adventure than your typical up-and-back/peak trail. We're in pretty darn good shape and was definitely a great workout for a day hike. Started at 9am and took about 5.5 hours. Loved it!

backpacking
Monday, August 21, 2017

Once you reached the first major elevation change there was some snow but nothing to worry about. However the run off from the snow made some of the trail hard to find. Some of the trail was literally a creek you had to walk thru. The views are beautiful. Tough hike for anybody. If you go all the way down to warren lake it's really rocky (loose) and steep and narrow in some parts. There are camping sights around the bottom. We were to tired to venture farther for a better campsite and it started to rain on us so we chose camp right where the trail let out. Bushes completely cover the view of the lake but there are paths you can walk on to get to the water. There are mosquitos but it wasn't horrible. We had insect repellant that comes in a yellow spray can that is specifically mosquitos and I didn't get bit at all. (They usually love me) We also took our 2 yellow labs and they did just fine.

hiking
Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Incredible views! I only made it to Warren Lake before heading back. I'd highly recommend not to attempt to do this hike in one day because you will be absolutely exhausted. I'm pretty fit and I barely made it out. Took me 10 hours to get to the lake and back. The uphill and downhill parts make it extremely difficult. There was still a lot of snow as of 7.23.17. Makes it difficult to stay on Trail but doable if you can make your way around. Beware if you expect an easy one day hike. It will kick your ass. Also mosquitoes are annoying.

hiking
Monday, July 10, 2017

This is a spectacular hike. Be aware that as of 7/8/17, beginning at the bowl below Castle Peak, the trail is almost entirely covered with snow. We went as far as below Basin Peak and thought it best not to venture all the way down to the lake in the snow.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

The wildflower along PCT, Paradise and Warren Lakes are incredibly beautiful.

hiking
Thursday, September 01, 2016

Real nice day hike. Right at 17 miles from rest area to Lake shore and back.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Cool

Monday, July 11, 2016

Great hike. Beautiful views. Watch out for the mosquitos!

hiking
Monday, July 04, 2016

Great! We started on the trail on the right side -I will get the exact name - lots of cool flowers and rocks. Little streams and shade until you hit the cut off to the right that over looks frog lake. That view was amazing. We tried to go to the left down to Warren Lake bit way to much snow to maneuver around and we didn't have the proper equipment to go that far or that Steve wants to know. So we're going to try again on overnight

hiking
Monday, May 30, 2016

A lot of snow. Good uphill first half. Great views at the top . Lake was frozen :)

Sunday, May 29, 2016

Beautiful!

hiking
Tuesday, September 08, 2015

Started at the PCT Trailhead just to the east of Boreal Mountain Ski Resort. Great moderate hike. We started a little later in the day than we wanted to but got back to my truck just before flashlights would be necessary to see our way. Make sure you are watching your map and posted signs. Lots of 3 and 4 way junctions of trails and you just need to watch yourself to make sure you stay on the Warren Lake Trail.

camping
Monday, June 15, 2015

We went June 13-14 and the trail is mostly clear of snow except in a few spots. There are some pretty muddy sections. Warren Lake was surprisingly warm to swim in, but the mosquitoes were fierce! The wildflowers are beautiful and diverse this time of year.
This would be a tough hike for one day and I recommend it as an overnight so you can relax by the lake and not have to climb the steep hill out.
Our distances were about 8 miles each way, according to my GPS.

camping
Sunday, June 07, 2015

Warren Lake, Paradise Lake and Devils Oven are among the best when it comes to high alpine lakes. My Dad, brothers and I have each been countless times, spending 2-5 nights each time. We fish, climb, slackline, swim and day hike to fill time on each journey. On the hike in there is a lot of loose rock leading up to castle peak but nothing too difficult. Crossing the ridge is simple and breathtaking, always terribly windy though. Finding where the trails drops off the ridge onto the backside can be a bit tricky, but if you stick to the far left you'll be fine. The weather can change up in a matter of minutes up on the ridge, from sunny and calm to 100pmh+ gusts and hail. Trust me- I have experienced this twice.

Over all a wonderful hike though, great campsites all around the lakes, rocks to jump off of, clear water, what more can you ask for?

camping
Saturday, June 06, 2015

I'd say this is definitely an overnight at least. We just did this in early June and despite the drought and 0%-of-normal snowpack the trail was still covered in a lot of snow, and would be hard to follow without a GPS. There is not a lot of level ground on this trail - lots of up and down which all tends to be steep, and lots of streams draining the snowpack off Castle and Basin peaks. Much of the trail turns into a stream and the few flat areas it crosses turn to mud. On the way back, once we knew the trail, I measured it as 6.4 miles and 2600 feet of ascent.
Definitely worth it though. The views from Frog Lake overlook are nice and Warren is ringed with high granite cliffs and complete with an island. There are many good campsites along the shore, I get the impression this place might be popular on summer weekends, but there were only a couple fishermen there this time.

hiking
Monday, August 11, 2014

Beautiful backpacking trail. We hiked in and stayed the night at Warren Lake as I could night imagine doing this in one day. The hike down to Warren Lake is pretty steep and has a lot of loose rocks and if you are looking for a trail that is flat, you will not find it here...you are either hiking up or hiking down. Having the entire lake to ourselves was definitely worth the blisters on my feet. We have a little dog and thankfully decided not to bring him, though a large dog would have no problems. Lots of stream crossing and plenty of places to filter water. Campsites are good once you find your way through the brush that surrounds the lake.

Load More