Upper Bidwell Trail

MODERATE 28 reviews
#1 of 10 trails in

Upper Bidwell Trail is a 10.3 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Chico, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
10.3 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1181 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

birding

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

road biking

trail running

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

hiking
22 days ago

3 months ago

3 months ago

The walk up is really ugly, but coming down is great. Recommend doing at sunset or sunrise

hiking
Saturday, October 15, 2016

Sunday, October 02, 2016

Loved being next to the creek for most of the hike.

hiking
Wednesday, September 07, 2016

Upper Bidwell Park is one of Chico's many attractions. While the trails will not pose a challenge for any serious hiker, the park is a fun place to explore. There are many different routes that offer a variety of experiences. There are several different swimming holes you can hike to as well. This place is more of a recreation area for locals, but if you are visiting Chico or any neighboring cities, it is definitely worth the trip.

hiking
Saturday, July 23, 2016

hiking
Friday, July 15, 2016

I live here and while it is great to have such a huge space to be able to roam about, the trail can't even be called a hike. More like a place to just get some energy out of the way while being outdoors. There is no real views especially in the summer because everything is dead and it is very hot. All in all if you're down for a nice walk this is the place but if you want an adventure look elsewhere.

hiking
Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Did the first part of the trail! Nice view from the top.

mountain biking
Sunday, May 08, 2016

Thursday, May 05, 2016

Saturday, April 30, 2016

Thursday, April 21, 2016

We've hiked and bikes this trail. It has a variation of sights and is always a pleasure. Make sure to bring water in the summer as shade is sparsely available

hiking
Sunday, February 21, 2016

hiking
Sunday, January 10, 2016

hiking
Monday, October 19, 2015

I have lived in Chico for 26 years and love it and Bidwell Park, but the best time to hike these trails is in the spring. The summer is hot and dusty (I've posted a couple of pics) and this park gets many visitors.

mountain biking
Sunday, June 29, 2014

mountain biking
Sunday, June 08, 2014

There are many great trails in Upper Park. Once you pass the lake, most of the riding is technical with lots of rollers, rocks, and pinch points. From a hiking perspective, its a just an awesome area to take in nature and the beauty of the park.

mountain biking
Tuesday, May 27, 2014