Tuolumne Meadow to White Wolf via Pacific Crest Trail

DIFFICILE 16 avis
N°167 sur 246 randonnées à

Tuolumne Meadow to White Wolf via Pacific Crest Trail est un sentier de point à point de 27.3 miles modérément fréquenté situé près de parc national de Yosemite, Californie. Le sentier longe une rivière et sa difficulté est évaluée comme difficile. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de juin à août.

Distance: 27.3 miles Dénivelé: 4,950 feet Type d'itinéraire: Point A à point B

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

randonnée

forêt

rivière

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

chiens interdits

randonnée
effacé
inondé
insectes
23 days ago

Nous avons parcouru le sentier en juillet, le sentier a été inondé à certains endroits. En raison des inondations, il y avait ... une quantité énorme de moustiques. Nous avons rencontré trois serpents à sonnettes sur la piste. L'eau était assez chaude pour la baignade. Superbe partie du monde, j'aimerais y retourner.

randonnée sac-à-dos
pont inutilisable
2 months ago

La plus belle randonnée que j'ai jamais faite. La partie médiane du sentier est assez difficile, tout comme la montée hors de la vallée de la pate. Le sentier serpente le long du canyon avec de belles cascades et une eau bleue cristalline presque tout le temps. C'était bien de pouvoir remplir nos bouteilles à tout moment. Le pont à traverser dans la vallée de Pate était en panne et en maintenance lorsque nous avons fait une randonnée il y a environ une semaine, nous avons donc traversé la rivière à la place. Je recommanderais de camper dans le camping du loup blanc lors de votre dernière nuit. Il y a une section entière pour les routards. Je recommande vivement ce sentier à tous ceux qui aiment les cascades et des vues superbes.

randonnée sac-à-dos
insectes
pont inutilisable
2 months ago

Commencé à White Wolf le matin du 14 septembre et terminé au parking du Dôme de Lembert vers 11h le 8 septembre, il faisait chaud et il y avait une grosse poussette à Pate Valley. Les insectes ne se sont dissipés qu'après la tempête du jour 3 apportant des vents violents et des températures basses. Nous avons été surpris de voir à quel point il faisait chaud et nous aurions souhaité avoir plus de capacité en eau - 2 litres par personne ne suffisaient pas par temps chaud, car la rivière est inaccessible sur une grande partie du sentier. Nous n'avons rencontré aucun ours, même si nous en avons vu beaucoup, et nous n'avons ni vu ni entendu de serpents à sonnettes. Le pont sur la rivière dans la vallée de Pate était presque achevé, de sorte que nous pouvions le traverser, même si l’eau était également suffisamment basse pour pouvoir traverser facilement. Bien que moins fréquenté, nous avons apprécié la randonnée sur ce sentier d'ouest en est, car la vue s'était nettement améliorée les troisième et quatrième jours. La descente de White Wolf est cependant assez brutale, surtout si vous avez des antécédents de problèmes au genou ou à la cheville. Nous avons rencontré quelques personnes (entre 3 et 5) les deux premiers jours, puis beaucoup plus de personnes à notre arrivée aux chutes et à Glen Aulin, à cause des dayhikers. Le camping Glen Aulin était fermé, il n'y avait donc pas d'eau courante, mais les toilettes à compost du camping étaient ouvertes et stockées avec du papier hygiénique et du désinfectant pour les mains. Nous avons fait cette randonnée en quatre jours, soit environ 10 milles le jour 1 et 6 milles chacun des jours 2 à 4, commençant chaque jour vers 8h15 et se terminant vers 15 heures. Je pense qu'il serait possible et agréable de le faire en 3 jours si vous êtes en forme et si les conditions sont propices (temps frais et absence d'insectes).

randonnée
3 months ago

Cette randonnée était la deuxième moitié d'un voyage de 10 jours en sac à dos. La fatigue a donc certainement joué un rôle dans mon expérience. C'était l'été et le Grand Canyon du Tuolume était chaud et sec, la montée de la vallée au loup blanc était brutale - cela étant dit, ce fut un voyage extraordinaire, un superbe sentier et une vue magnifique - le referait définitivement.

randonnée sac-à-dos
8 months ago

J'ai fait ce voyage sac à dos il y a quelques années. La circulation est rare une fois que vous marchez plus profondément dans les montagnes. Trois jours + trois nuits semble raisonnable. Le point de départ est proche du bureau des permis, vous pouvez donc avoir des permis sans rendez-vous. La route sur la route de Tioga est toujours étonnante, mais cela signifie que vous ne pouvez pas faire cet essai lorsque la route de Tioga est fermée. Mi été. Prenez le bus au loup blanc pour revenir au point de départ ou à votre voiture.

Fri Feb 09 2018

Randonnée sur cette route durant la semaine du 4 juillet 2016. Les conditions étaient idéales. J'ai vu de grosses truites dans la rivière, alors la pêche était probablement bonne mais je n'ai pas essayé. Nous avons séjourné à Glen Aulin, la première nuit, qui comportait des salles de bains et des bâtiments, mais je souhaitais le matin continuer à descendre un peu plus loin sur la rivière car il y avait une très belle zone plate pour de nombreux campings, juste au coin de la rue, près de la rivière. Descendre dans le Canyon avant Glen Aulin et remonter hors du Canyon, avant White Wolf, étaient les points les plus difficiles, de mémoire, bien qu'il y ait eu un autre tronçon difficile à mi-chemin. Une grande partie du temps est passée près de la rivière mais sans vue. Pas de problème d'ours, comme dans d'autres parties de Yosemite, bien que j'aie utilisé un cylindre d'ours, contrairement à ce que je faisais avant de nouer des sacs de nourriture dans un arbre, il y a bien longtemps, avant qu'il y ait eu des cylindres d'ours. À peine des moustiques. Gentilles personnes. En auto-stop, retour à Tuolumne Meadows, après, avec de grands compagnons de randonnée, le matin, vers 9 heures, car le bus ne venait pas très souvent et rentrait chez lui à Bay Area, la même journée, commençant à 2 heures. : 00h00 J'ai rencontré d'autres personnes qui ont débuté à White Wolf et qui ont parcouru le sentier plus d'une fois. Il y a une vue de Hetch Hetchy mais vous voudrez peut-être que les jumelles le voient bien, de la crête escarpée. La plupart des vues panoramiques sont en fait de la route 120, à travers Tuolumne Meadows. Mais la randonnée le long de la rivière est particulièrement paisible. Les orhers ont affirmé avoir vu des ours pendant leur voyage actuel et les années précédentes. année sur ce sentier. Je n'avais pas de GPS, mais j'en recommande un, car le téléphone ne reçoit pas de signal et j'ai déjà été perdu, ce qui n'est pas amusant. Restez toujours sur le sentier à Yosemite, car ils sont trop occupés pour garder une trace des gens comme avant. Et faites très attention aux panneaux routiers, en particulier lorsque vous sortez du parc, car j’ai également manqué des virages. Si vous n'êtes pas sûr, arrêtez-vous et vérifiez la carte. Comme les téléphones perdent la réception, une erreur peut coûter des heures dans un grand pays. Le problème avec Yosemite, c'est que vous devez parcourir 5 miles dans le parc, le premier jour, et camper à 5 miles de votre sortie. Prévoyez donc de rester quelque part à proximité, la nuit précédente, ou passez une longue et dernière journée.

Sat Jul 01 2017

Été

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée sac-à-dos
3 months ago

randonnée
Fri Sep 14 2018

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Tuolumne Meadow to White Wolf via Pacific Crest Trail

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow Star(16)
Yosemite National Park

Tuolumne Meadow to White Wolf via Pacific Crest Trail is a 27.3 mile moderately trafficked point-to-point trail located near Yosemite Valley, California that features a river and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, camping, and backpacking and is best used from June until August.

Length 27.3 mi Elevation gain 4,950 ft Route type Point to Point

Backpacking

Camping

Hiking

Forest

River

Views

Wild flowers

Wildlife

No dogs

Description
Waypoints (0)

Yosemite National Park is open to those with reservations begining on Thursday, June 11. See the park website for more info: https://www.nps.gov/yose/planyourvisit/covid19.htm

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (16)
Photos (1493)
Recordings (9)
Completed (22)
Kellen Broemmelsiek
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Nov 19 2019
HikingBugsFloodedWashed out

We hiked the trail in July, the path was flooded at some points. Due to the flooding there was...an enormous amount of mosquitos. We encountered three rattle snakes on the trail. The water was warm enough for bathing. Gorgeous part of the world, I would like to go back.

Shane Outridge
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Sep 24 2019
BackpackingBridge out

The most beautiful hike I’ve ever been on. The midsection of the trail is pretty tough as is the climb out of pate valley. The trail winds along the canyon with beautiful waterfalls and crystal clear blue water most of the way. It was nice we could fill our bottles any time we needed. The bridge to cross in pate valley was out and under maintenance when we hiked about a week ago so we crossed through the river instead. I’d recommend camping in the white wolf campground on your last night. There is an entire section for backpackers. I would highly recommend this trail to anyone who loves waterfalls and some great views.

Alexandra Jordan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Sep 14 2019
BackpackingBridge outBugs

Started in White Wolf on morning of Sept 14 and finished at the Lembert Dome parking lot around 11am on Sept 8. Conditions were hot and buggy in Pate Valley. Bugs only abated after a storm rolled in on day 3 bringing high winds and low temps. We were surprised by how warm it was and wished we had brought more water capacity--2L per person wasn't sufficient in warm weather given that the river is inaccessible on much of the trail. We did not encounter any bears, though we saw lots of scat, nor did we see or hear rattlesnakes. The bridge over the river in Pate Valley was nearly complete such that we were able to cross it, though the water was also low enough to walk across easily. Though less popular, we enjoyed hiking this trail west to east because the views improved significantly on days three and four. The downclimb from White Wolf is pretty brutal, however, especially if you have a history of knee or ankle issues. We saw a few (between 3-5) people on the first two days and then many more people as we got to the Falls and Glen Aulin, due to the dayhikers. Glen Aulin campground was closed, so there was no running water, but the composting toilets in the campground were open and stocked with toilet paper and hand sanitizer. We did this hike in four days, roughly 10 miles on day 1 and 6 miles each on days 2-4, starting each day around 8:15am and ending around 3pm. I think it would be possible and enjoyable to do it in 3 days if you are fit and if the conditions are right (i.e., cool weather and no bugs).

Stephanie Pavlos
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Aug 16 2019
Hiking

This hike was the second half of a 10 day backpacking trip, so fatigue definitely played a role in my experience. It was summer and the Grand Canyon of the Tuolume was hot and dry, the climb out of the valley up to white wolf was brutal- that being said, it was an amazing trip, a great trail and view- would definitely do it again.

Xianzhi Li
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Mar 27 2019
Backpacking

I have done this backpacking trip a couple of years ago. Traffic is rare once you hike deeper into the mountains. Three days + three nights seems reasonable. The starting point is close to the permit office, so you can have walk in permits. The drive on Tioga road is always amazing, but that means you can’t do this trial when Tioga road is closed. Mid summertime. Take the bus at white wolf back to the starting point, or your car.

Bob B.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Feb 09 2018

Hiked this route during the Fourth of July week, 2016. Temps were ideal. I saw large trout in the river, so fishing was probably great but I didn't try. Stayed in Glen Aulin, the first night, which had bathrooms and buildings for guests, but wished in the morning that I had kept going, just a little bit further, down the river because there was a very nice, flat area for many campsites, just around the corner, which we're close to the river. Going down, into the Canyon before Glen Aulin and coming back up, out of the Canyon, before White Wolf, were the toughest points, by memory, though there was another difficult stretch, midway. Much of the time is spent close to the river but without a view. No bear problems, like I've had in other parts of Yosemite, though I used a bear cylinder, unlike when I used to tie food bags in a tree, years gone by, before there were bear cylinders. Barely any mosquitoes. Nice people. Hitchhiked a ride back to Tuolumne Meadows, after, with great fellow hikers, in the morning, around 9:00 am, since the bus did not come very often and drove home, to Bay Area, the same, long day, starting at 2:00 am. Met others, who started in White Wolf and had hiked the trail, more than once. There is a view of Hetch Hetchy but you may want field glasses to see it well, from the steep ridge. Most scenic views are actually from highway 120, through Tuolumne Meadows. But hiking along the river is particularly peaceful. Orhers did claim they saw bears, during their current trip and in previous years. year on this trail. I did not have GPS but recommend one, as phone won't receive signal and I have been lost before, which is not fun. Always stay on the trail in Yosemite, as they are too busy to keep track of people, like they used to. And pay close attention to the road signs, especially coming out of the park, as I have also missed turns, there. If you're not sure, stop and check the map. Since phones lose reception, a mistake can cost hours in big country. The hitch to Yosemite is that you have to get 5 miles into the park, the first day and you have to camp 5 miles from your exit, so plan to stay somewhere close by, the night before or have a long first and last day.

Piotr Nowodworski
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Jul 01 2017

Yay

Andrew Buck
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Sep 21 2019
Hiking
View Andrew's Recording
Andrew Buck
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Sep 20 2019
Hiking
View Andrew's Recording
Andrew Buck
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Sep 19 2019
Hiking
View Andrew's Recording
Jeremy Bates
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Sep 06 2019
Backpacking
View Jeremy's Recording
Lisa William
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Aug 17 2019
Hiking
View Lisa's Recording
Lisa William
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Aug 16 2019
Hiking
View Lisa's Recording
Mark Herman
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Jul 30 2019
Hiking
View Mark's Recording
Jeff Trost
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Sep 14 2018
Hiking
View Jeff's Recording
Rodney Campbell
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Jun 05 2018
Hiking
View Rodney's Recording