Toyon Ridge Trail

HARD 31 reviews
#2 of 9 trails in

Toyon Ridge Trail is a 5.5 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Salinas, California that offers scenic views. The trail is rated as difficult and primarily used for hiking and trail running. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
5.5 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1,446 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

hiking

trail running

views

hiking
4 months ago

this was a tough incline....but worth it!

10 months ago

A couple of really good grades. I’d say a cockwise loop seems best and look on satellite view for trails adjacent to Cougar Ridge on the way down, especially near the paved portion of Cougar.

11 months ago

Steep hills and gorgeous scenery. Overall a great workout!

hiking
Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Steeply ascending ridge trail with almost constant full-sun exposure, so plan accordingly on hot days. Nice vistas of Salinas Valley from upper elevations. Overall, a very good workout.

hiking
Monday, April 24, 2017

I was a bit unsure at first. I saw that the entrance to Toro park requires $8 per vehicle but you can park outside the gate for free and take a little extra walk. The park gets full but the trails were practically empty. This specific trail was a constant up then a long down. The views were beautiful and the trail was peaceful and a good workout. If I were to repeat a trail I'd definitely do this one again.

hiking
Thursday, April 20, 2017

Difficult trail even for in shape 50+ year old marathoners!

hiking
5 days ago

hiking
6 days ago

hiking
6 days ago

hiking
27 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
Friday, August 11, 2017

hiking
Wednesday, July 12, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, June 27, 2017

hiking
Thursday, May 11, 2017

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Sunday, February 12, 2017

Friday, January 06, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, January 03, 2017

hiking
Thursday, November 24, 2016

hiking
Thursday, November 24, 2016

Friday, February 19, 2016

Load More