Star Mine Trail

MODERATE 20 reviews

Star Mine Trail is a 5.7 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Antioch, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
5.7 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1,000 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

camping

hiking

horseback riding

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

no shade

6 months ago

So beautiful!!!!!

hiking
Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Did see a coyote on this trail. Not as well marked as other trails, but still a nice hike!

Wednesday, March 08, 2017

It was such a amazing trail and you get to see cows very close , super nice view and a great workout

hiking
Monday, November 14, 2016

I truly enjoyed this beautiful place. We parked off of Frederickson in the parking area. There are no restrooms here, just a heads up. Ascending the Stewartville Trail, then winding left onto the Star Mine Trail at the camp area, you'll walk through the camp parking lot to continue. We went even further to the Oil Canyon Trail at Star Mine's end, to the upper Overlook, which is a fairly steep incline. It was lovely up there with a valley/delta view, but wires (and electrical noises) disrupt the view and sounds. Coming down, we hit the Stewartville Trail back, stopped to add Prospect Tunnel to our hike (+1.5 mi), then back to the parking area. The tunnel is great, you can walk inside, but I recommend a flashlight. There's a great variety of wildlife present throughout the preserve. Today, we spotted two coyotes from a pretty close distance at the summit of Star Mine.
From the parking lot and back, with all of the above, we timed at 4 hours exactly.

Monday, July 18, 2016

Good

hiking
Thursday, February 18, 2016

In my opinion, this is the best trail in Black Diamond Mines. It has a camp ground, a mine, a canyon, trees, a huge sand stone wall (natural amphitheater), a pretty intense climb up sand stone and when you get to the top it has a beautiful view with a bench! 5 stars!

7 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

Friday, August 04, 2017

hiking
Friday, July 14, 2017

hiking
Monday, May 08, 2017

hiking
Thursday, May 04, 2017

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Sunday, January 01, 2017

Sunday, August 07, 2016

Monday, July 18, 2016

hiking
Saturday, December 26, 2015