Santee Lakes Trail is a 3.2 mile loop trail located near Santee, California that features a lake. The trail is good for all skill levels and primarily used for walking, nature trips, and birding.

DISTANCE
3.2 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
62 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

kid friendly

birding

nature trips

walking

lake

views

no dogs

walking
18 days ago

This was a beautiful walk around the Santee Lakes. We were surprised to have such a nice park in our backyard and never know about it. You do have to pay $5 for parking.

It is not possible to walk around Lake #1 as shown in the trail. There is a fence blocking it from a complete loop.

Once you get to lakes 6 & 7 you are on the camp grounds, still nice, but not on the waters edge. Also as you leave the camp grounds and come back along the edge of the lake there is no more pavement, we were able to get by in the stroller, but would not go that far if you have one.

Another important note is that pets are not allowed at the lake unless you are staying at the campgrounds and even then there is limited designated area where you can have them.

Overall this was a nice walk and we will be back, probably having a BBQ or two as well.

walking
27 days ago

Dogs are allowed around Lake 6 & 7 on leash But other areas of loop they are not allowed.
Around Lake 6 & 7 is crashed garnet so it’s not hard to walk on or muddy. There are some bigger rocks on the path of lake 6 so I find it a little more difficult to walk.

6 months ago

This was a beautiful walk around a set of 7 lakes. Note you cannot walk around lake 1 though. Be prepared to pay $3-$6 for entrance via car. We did see a gate that leads out to the neighborhood, so you could park for free on the street and walk in. Lots of picnic areas. General store and food stand with hot dogs and burgers. Paddle boats and bike surreys for rent.

Sunday, October 08, 2017

Nice place

walking
Thursday, November 24, 2016

Fun place to go explore and look around.

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Great for a nice walk. Beautiful & has a lot of activities and playgrounds for kids.

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
8 months ago

walking
Saturday, June 03, 2017

hiking
Friday, June 02, 2017

Thursday, June 01, 2017

Thursday, May 04, 2017

walking
Sunday, April 23, 2017

Monday, April 03, 2017

walking
Saturday, February 25, 2017

walking
Sunday, February 05, 2017

recorded Santee lakes

walking
Sunday, January 01, 2017

recorded lakes walk

walking
Friday, December 02, 2016

Friday, November 04, 2016