Santa Cruz Trail: Oberer Oso-Campingplatz zu Happy Hollow

SCHWER 7 Bewertungen
#132 von 173 Wegen in

Santa Cruz Trail: Der Upper Oso Campground bis Happy Hollow ist ein 10,3 Meilen langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Goleta in Kalifornien, der wunderschöne Wildblumen bietet und als schwierig eingestuft wird. Der Weg bietet zahlreiche Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und ist das ganze Jahr über zugänglich. Hunde und Pferde können diesen Weg auch nutzen.

ENTFERNUNG
10.3 Meilen
HÖHENUNTERSCHIED
3,241 Fuß
ROUTENTYP
Hin & zurück

hundefreundlich

Rucksacktour

Camping

Wandern

Reiten

Mountainbiking

Aussicht

Wildblumen

Wildtiere

überwachsen

ausgewaschen

rucksacktour
9 months ago

Dieser Weg ist als geschlossen zu bezeichnen, da der überwiegende Teil des Weges überwachsen ist und der Campingplatz nicht gepflegt wird. Der Aufstieg zum Happy Hollow Campground umfasste am 28. Juli 2018 unzählige ausgewaschene Streckenabschnitte mit ernsthafter Gefährdung.

Thursday, March 01, 2018

Härteste Wanderung / Reise meines Lebens! Wir gingen Backpacking als die Online-Bewertungen sagten, es war mäßig herausfordernd. Diese Wanderung ist 10 Meilen lang bergauf. KEINE Schatten für die Mehrheit, und wir mussten unser gesamtes Wasser tragen. Es dauerte 8,5 Stunden, bis wir zur Happy Hollow kamen. Es gab auch einige wirklich skizzenhafte Stellen, an denen man leicht 50-Fuß-Hänge hinunterfallen konnte. Ich würde das Backpacking nicht empfehlen.

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Könnte ein wirklich schöner Weg sein, leider wurden einige Auswaschungen etwa 5 Meilen unterhalb des Gipfels unpassierbar. Wir kletterten um zwei herum, bevor wir uns für den Rückweg entschieden. An der Ranger-Station war ein Hinweis darauf, dass es geschlossen war, und wir sahen den Weg nach draußen, aber kein Hinweisschild am Ausgangspunkt.

Sunday, April 02, 2017

Senken Sie Oso zu obere Oso Straße, die wegen rey Feuerwiederherstellung geschlossen wird. Erreichbar über Wandern. Der Weg vom oberen Oso zur glücklichen Heiligtum ist alles durch eine kürzliche Verbrennung durch das Feuer von Rey. Der Weg ist immer noch leicht zu navigieren. Creek fließt stark, aber starke Erosion durch Verbrennungen und Regen. Entlang des Weges in der Nähe des Baches befinden sich schwere Eichenfänger. Immer noch eine tolle Wanderung, nur nicht das, was sie früher war.

rucksacktour
Saturday, March 25, 2017

Zweifellos die härteste Wanderung meines Lebens! War letztes Jahr im Juni 2016 mit einer Gruppe von drei und Welpen. 1) Wenig bis kein Schatten der gesamten Strecke 2) Keine Wasserquellen (wir brachten je eine Gallone mit, da es ein heißes Wochenende war) 3) Unterschätzen Sie nicht die INCLINE. (8 Stunden hoch / 3 Stunden runter für uns) Wir waren so verzweifelt, ein Lager aufzubauen, aber da der Weg nur ein Fußweg ist, hatten wir keine andere Wahl, als immer auf und ab zu gehen. Als wir den Gipfel erreichten, fanden wir eine wunderschöne Stelle, an der man einen Tag lang anrufen konnte (kein ausgewiesener Campingplatz), und wir wurden mit der schönsten Aussicht belohnt. Definitiv eine Lernstunde mit Überfüllung und Kenntnis Ihrer Einschränkungen. Wir werden dieses Jahr zurück sein, um es zu erobern!

rucksacktour
Monday, July 18, 2016

Wir wollten einen Rucksack hier haben, weil wir online gehört hatten, dass es schön ist. Wir dachten, wir würden am ersten Tag zum Happy Hollow-Campingplatz einsteigen, etwa 8 km nach unserer Karte, und entweder die Feuerstraße raus (11 km) oder den Weg zurück, den wir gekommen sind. Nun, die Art, wie wir gekommen sind, erwies sich als Hölle. Es war 7,5 Meilen lang statt ungefähr 5,5 Meilen bergauf, es war sehr heiß ohne nennenswerten Schatten und der Weg war nicht gut gepflegt. Es gab mehrere Orte, an denen es eine Tonne losen Schiefer gab, der schrecklich unsicher war, zumal wir 20 bis 30 Pfund Packungen hatten. Wir sind immer noch nicht ganz sicher, ob wir es bis Happy Hollow geschafft haben, wir fanden einen nicht markierten, überwachsenen "Campingplatz" und riefen nach Hause. Ich empfehle dies nicht als Tageswanderung oder so etwas!

wandern
Sunday, May 24, 2015

Empfohlene Wege

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Santa Cruz Trail: Upper Oso Campground to Happy Hollow

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray Star(13)
Los Padres National Forest

Santa Cruz Trail: Upper Oso Campground to Happy Hollow is a 10.3 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Goleta, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

Length 10.3 mi Elevation gain 3,241 ft Route type Out & Back

Dog friendly

Backpacking

Camping

Hiking

Horseback riding

Mountain biking

Views

Wild flowers

Wildlife

Over grown

Washed out

Waypoints (0)
Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (13)
Photos (140)
Recordings (11)
Completed (28)
Volker J.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Jan 19 2020
HikingBlowdownClosedMuddyNo shadeOff trailOver grownRockyWashed out
View Volker's Recording
David Goodger
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Sep 08 2019
HikingWashed out
View David's Recording
Saul Alcala
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Sep 08 2019
HikingBlowdownBridge outBugsClosedMuddyNo shadeOff trailOver grownRockyScrambleWashed out
View Saul's Recording
Bill Finn
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarMon Jul 30 2018
Backpacking

This trail should be noted as closed Majority of trail is overgrown and the campground is not maintained. Ascent to Happy Hollow Campground included countless washed out sections of trail with serious exposure as of July 28 2018.

Kaitlyn Dinham
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu Mar 01 2018

Hardest hike/ trip of my life! Went backpacking as the online reviews said it was moderately challenging. This hike is uphill for 10+ miles. NO shade for majority, and we had to carry all of our water. It took us like 8.5 hours to get up to happy hollow. There were some really sketchy bits too where you could easily fall down 50ft slopes. I would not recommend backpacking.

Jeff Sharp
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat Sep 30 2017

Could be a really nice trail, unfortunately some washouts about 5 miles in, just below the peak made it impassable. We climbed around two before deciding to head back. There was a sign warning that it was closed at the Ranger Station that we saw in the way out but no sign at the trailhead.

josh demas
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Apr 02 2017

Lower oso to upper oso road closed to due rey fire restoration. Accessible via hiking. Trail from upper oso to happy hallow is all through a recent burn from the rey fire. Trail is still somewhat easy to navigate. Creek is flowing strong but heavy erosion from burn and rains. Heavy oak snag patches all along the trail near the creek. Heads up Still a great hike just not what she used to be pre rey fire.

Emily Velasquez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat Mar 25 2017
Backpacking

Hands down the hardest hike of my life! Went last year June 2016 with a group of three and pup. 1) Little to no shade the whole trail 2) No water sources (we each brought a gallon since it was a hot weekend) 3) Don't underestimate the INCLINE. (8 hours up/3 hours down for us) We were so desperate to setup camp, but since the trail is only a foot path we had no choice but to keep going up and up. Once we got to the peak we found a gorgeous spot to call it a day (not a designated campsite) and were rewarded with he most amazing views. Definitely a learning lesson with overpacking and knowing your limitations. We will be back this year to conquer it!

Taylor Binney
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarMon Jul 18 2016
Backpacking

We wanted to backpack here because we'd heard online it was nice. We thought we'd hike in to the Happy Hollow campground the first day, about 5.5 miles by our map, and either take the fire road out (11 miles) or come back out the way we came. Well, the way we came in turned out to be hell. It was uphill for 7.5 miles instead of roughly 5.5, it was very hot with no substantial shade, and the trail was not well maintained. There were several places were there was a ton of loose shale that was horribly unsafe, especially as we had 20-30 pound packs on us. We're still not entirely sure if we made it to Happy Hollow, we found an unmarked, overgrown "campground" and called that home for the night. I do not suggest this as a day hike or anything!

Harri K
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Feb 21 2020
Hiking
View Harri's Recording
Antoinette A.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Dec 19 2019
Hiking
View Antoinette's Recording
Leo Alcala
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Sep 08 2019
Hiking
View Leo's Recording
Darin Martinez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun May 24 2015
Hiking
View Darin's Recording