Sentier de la rivière Santa Ana - partie est

INTERMÉDIAIRE 26 avis
N°58 sur 152 randonnées à

Santa Ana River Trail - Eastern Portion est un sentier modérément fréquenté de 17,6 km situé près de Angelus Oaks, en Californie. Il présente de belles fleurs sauvages et est considéré comme modéré. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de mai à novembre. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

DISTANCE
17.6 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
2,073 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

VTT

course de trail

balade

ornithologie

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

effacé

randonnée
4 months ago

Sentier facile, montée modérée, beau temps d'automne, les feuilles virent au brun, au doré et au rougeâtre. Une belle vue sur les montagnes. Trafic léger. Pris les chiens et ils ont adoré aussi.

randonnée
6 months ago

Je viens de faire une section le week-end de la fête du travail. Belle piste de réchauffement pour aiguiser mon apatite en pleine croissance pour la randonnée et la randonnée. Rien de difficile. Pas un endroit pour la solitude, mais pas trop de monde non plus.

7 months ago

Je viens de parcourir le tronçon allant de Glass Road à Thomas Hunting Grounds. C'est une très belle partie du sentier avec beaucoup de diversité. Plusieurs jolis passages de cours d'eau. Pas génial pour ceux qui ont peur des hauteurs, car certaines sections ont un dénivelé important combiné à un sentier étroit. Important à noter: le sentier est gravement érodé des deux côtés du ruisseau Schneider. Après nous être sentis en danger dans quelques endroits et voir plus loin devant nous, nous avons fini par descendre Schneider Creek en direction de Middle Control Road. Il y avait un panneau indiquant que cela venait de l'ouest mais pas de l'est. Le mieux est de rester sur Middle Control Road pour cette section, car elle est parallèle, jusqu'à ce que cela soit corrigé!

7 months ago

Nous avons vraiment apprécié ce sentier. Belles vues, pas trop difficile. Paisible. On se sent plus isolé que vous êtes dans quelques endroits. Vu des signes de lion de montagne et quelques oiseaux différents. Les arbres sont en assez bonne santé par rapport aux autres parties de SBNF. Vous avez vu un vélo de montagne décoller d'un des garants et vous effondrer, faites donc preuve de prudence. Il reste assez proche des routes et des cabines, il y a donc un bruit de circulation faible mais vous pouvez aussi entendre la rivière et les oiseaux.

randonnée
8 months ago

Le sentier de la rivière Santa Ana allant d’Angelus Oaks à l’autoroute 38 (environ 16 milles) est une région extrêmement agréable. Nous avons fait l'aller-retour de Middle Control dirt Road (alias Mill Creek Road) en direction de l'ouest en direction de Angelus Oaks. Très pittoresque. environ 30% de cette piste est assez double piste, puis encore plus belle piste simple. Le sentier suit le flanc d'une montagne escarpée faisant face au nord (en bas de la colline se trouve l'immense canyon de la rivière Seven Oaks / Santa Ana qui aboutit à l'océan dans le comté d'Orange). Il y a quelques parties qui font peur et il faut y faire attention. Le sentier se rétrécit dans quelques endroits à peut-être 8-10 pouces avec des pentes abruptes de votre côté. Il y a des pistes cyclables partout. Comme ce côté de la montagne est orienté au nord, il est assez sombre toute la journée. Très pittoresque, et devenir l'un de mes domaines de randonnée préférés. Je n'ai pas vu de semelle dans les 3 heures où nous étions sortis.

randonnée
9 months ago

Randonnée très facile avec de superbes paysages. Bon pour les randonnées en famille, faites attention aux vététistes.

Saturday, July 22, 2017

VTT
Monday, May 16, 2016

Je suis allé hier et c'était très gentil. Les fleurs, les écureuils et les faucons étaient géniaux. Nous étions quatre avec une personne qui n'est pas en forme, mais elle s'en est bien tirée. Cependant, sur le chemin du retour, elle devait parfois pousser le vélo car elle était fatiguée. Le seul point négatif, c’était que j’avais le sentiment que certaines parties du sentier étaient empruntées par des sans-abri et des toxicomanes. Je ne permettrais pas à ma fille de parcourir cette piste seule. Globalement, beaux paysages et belle balade.

randonnée
Sunday, July 26, 2015

La partie la plus orientale du sentier de la rivière Santa Ana est assez agréable. La majeure partie du sentier est en bon état (un peu "en pente / plateau", mais assez agréable pour les zones de forêt sèche). Il n'a pas été affecté par les récents incendies. Le début et la fin de ma piste correspondent aux aires de stationnement sur Glass Road ou Hwy 38. Je dirais que cette partie correspond plus régulièrement aux jolis couplets de Glass Road à Angelus Oaks, bien que tout cela en vaille la peine. Beaucoup de motards aiment ce sentier. Je suis un randonneur.

VTT
Friday, May 22, 2015

Sentier génial

randonnée
Tuesday, April 30, 2013

J'adore ce sentier. superbe paysage avec différents types de pistes. belles montées et descentes.

vélo de route
Thursday, August 02, 2012

Grand sentier pour les cyclistes débutants à votre cycliste plus passionné. L'endroit le plus sûr pour les miles de base. Aucune voiture pour te frapper. Il peut y avoir des sans-abri qui vivent dans les viaducs. Mais ils ne vous dérangeront pas. Habituellement à Anaheim à Santa Ana. Bon vent de face près de la plage pour l'entraînement en résistance.

vélo de route
Thursday, August 02, 2012

Grand sentier pour ceux qui aiment un topo plat sur lequel monter. C'est environ 70 miles aller-retour de bout en bout (Corona à Huntington Beach). Si vous souhaitez disposer de miles de base sans craindre d'être renversé par une voiture dans la rue, c'est ce que vous recherchez. Obtient un peu de monde le week-end. Essayez également de rouler avec un copain. On a signalé des cas de bicyclette sur le sentier, mais je crois qu'ils ont attrapé quelqu'un. Sachez tout de même que si vous ressentez de façon amusante le sentiment que quelqu'un reste loin de sortir un couteau. Je n'ai eu aucun problème et ai parcouru ce sentier plus de 1000 miles. Les bons vents forts et les vents favorables dépendent de la direction que vous prenez

VTT
Wednesday, July 04, 2012

Il existe de nombreuses sections de ce sentier qui peuvent être réalisées en boucle ou en aller-retour. Les sections peuvent être combinées pour des trajets plus longs. Si vous êtes nouveau dans la région, garez-vous à la sortie 1/7 de mile 7 restaurant Oaks sur Rt.38. Descendez le chemin de contrôle de contrôle moyen. Environ 2/3 de la descente, il y aura un point d’entrée sur votre droite. Vous pouvez entrer ici et faire une seule piste aller-retour. Le sentier traversera trois criques. Le sentier sort à Glass Rd. De l'autre côté de Glass Road se trouve un autre long tronçon de voie simple qui commence (se termine) en face du camping de South Fork. Pour une belle boucle de 3 à 4 heures, garez-vous à la sortie. Descendre le contrôle central jusqu'au fond. Il devient pavé et se trouve 7 Oaks Road. Restez sur 7 Oaks Road. Après plusieurs miles, il va bifurquer. 7 Oaks Road à gauche, Glass Road à droite. Restez sur 7 Oaks Road et tournez-vous sur un chemin de terre en terre battue pour une belle randonnée le long du ruisseau. Cela mènera à Rt.38 où la piste unique commence. Il sera bien marqué avec une info. planche. Parcourez la piste unique qui sortira à Glass rd. Traversez Glass Road et parcourez une autre section qui sortira à Middle Control. Revenir à la voiture. Ce trajet comporte au moins 1 heure de simple piste rectiligne à travers les montagnes. Une autre option consiste à se rendre au restaurant / bureau de poste et à prendre le chemin du retour. Il y aura un point d'entrée marqué par un banc et un gros rocher. Menu déroulant. En bas, vous pouvez aller à gauche pour trouver d'autres points d'entrée non marqués pour référence future, mais le trajet est à votre droite. Profitez de la voie unique et sortez à environ 1/3 de la voie de contrôle central. Soit monter le feu rd. en voiture ou en descente pour combiner la section à voie unique mentionnée ci-dessus. Avertissement: Il y a quelques points dans le sentier où, même s'il peut être monté, le trajet est long, il est donc conseillé de faire du vélo.

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

randonnée
9 months ago

randonnée
Sunday, October 22, 2017

VTT
Tuesday, August 08, 2017

randonnée
Thursday, July 13, 2017

Charger plus

Santa Ana River Trail - Eastern Portion

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(43)
San Bernardino National Forest

Santa Ana River Trail - Eastern Portion is a 17.6 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Angelus Oaks, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from May until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 17.6 miles Elevation Gain: 2,073 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

mountain biking

walking

bird watching

running

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

washed out

mountain biking
6 days ago

Fun trail with great views. Went out about 3 miles and mistakenly thought we found a new path. Ended up carrying the bikes all the way down the mountain to the river to find our way backs. Would not recommend trying what we did.

hiking
7 days ago

Well established,out and back trail, with plenty of scenery. Good father-daughter day. The trail does track the river but you never come in contact with it... River is a couple hundred feet below, but we could hear it the entire walk. Getting my daughter into hiking and this was an excellent trail to test her interest. Advise some caution to those new to hiking as the trail descends the whole way out, so when planning out your distance, please keep in mind the way back will be a bit more effort (at no point would I consider the trail steep or challenging though).

mountain biking
14 days ago

Super fun trail , for intermediate riders. Some parts are easy others technical and scary. Only rode 4 miles and I loved it. You have to try it.

hiking
off trail
9 months ago

hiking
bugs
9 months ago

hiking
blowdown
rocky
washed out
Sat Mar 23 2019

1st time hiking this particular trail and it was quite nice for the exception of some trail damage from the recent storms. Started out at 7am with a temperature of 38 degrees under clear skies. The trailhead parking is just off Hwy 38 and you must walk down the road about 100 yards west to reach the start of the trail crossing a small creek across the road. The trail has very little elevation change in the first couple of miles and is in very good condition, after that there are a number of washed out sections and deadfall between miles 2 and 4 that will be very difficult if you are taking small children. I hiked this trail out and back to Glass road for a total of 13 miles and an overall elevation gain of 1,750 ft.. I had intended to hike this eastbound from Glass rd. but there was a road closure sign at Hwy 38. All said this is a nice trail although you are high above The Santa Ana river you can hear it most of the way.

hiking
Mon Nov 05 2018

Easy trail, going up hill at a moderate rate, beautiful fall weather, the leaves are turning brown, gold, and reddish. A beautiful view of the mountains. Light traffic. Took the doggies and they loved it as well.

hiking
Mon Sep 03 2018

Just did a section Labor Day weekend. Nice warm-up trail to whet my growing apatite for hiking and backpacking. Nothing difficult. Not a place for solitude, but not crowded either.

Mon Aug 13 2018

I just hiked the section from Glass Road to Thomas Hunting Grounds. This is a very pretty section of the trail with a lot of diversity. Several pretty stream crossings. Not great for those afraid of heights though because some sections have a steep drop off combined with a narrow trail. Important to note: the trail is severely eroded on either side of Schneider Creek. After feeling unsafe in a couple spots and seeing more up ahead, we ended up traveling down Schneider Creek to Middle Control Road. There was a sign indicating this coming from west but not the east. Best to stay on Middle Control Road for this section, as it closely parallels, until this gets fixed!

Sun Jul 29 2018

We really enjoyed this trail. Good views, not too hard. Peaceful. Feels more secluded that you are in a few spots. Saw signs of mountain lion & some different birds. Trees pretty healthy relative to other parts of SBNF. Did see a mountain bike go off one of the dropoffs and take a tumble so use caution. It stays fairly close to roads & cabins so there is light traffic noise but you can also hear the river & birds.

hiking
Wed Jul 18 2018

The Santa Ana River Trail from Angelus Oaks east to Highway 38 (about 16 miles or so one way) is an extremely nice area. We did an out and back from Middle Control dirt Road (aka Mill Creek Road) heading back West towards Angelus Oaks. Quite scenic. about 30 % of this track is pretty double track, then even prettier single track. The trail follows the side of a North facing steep mountain (down the hill is the huge Seven Oaks/ Santa Ana River canyon that ends at the ocean in Orange County). It is ledgy in a few parts, and you do have to pay attention. The trail narrows in a few place to maybe 8-10 inches with steep slopes on your side. There's bike tracks throughout though. Since this side of the mountain is north-facing, it is quite shady all day. Quite scenic, and becoming one of my favorite areas to hike. Didn't see a sole in the 3 hours we were out.

hiking
Sat Jun 02 2018

Very easy hike with great scenery. Good for family hikes just pay attention for mountain bikers.

Sat Jul 22 2017

mountain biking
Mon May 16 2016

Went yesterday and it was very nice. The flowers, squirrels, and hawks were awesome. There were four of us with one who is not in good shape, but she did pretty well. However, on the way back she had to push bike at times because she was fatigued. The only negative was that I had the feeling that parts of the trail were used by homeless people and some drug addicts. I would not allow my daughter to ride this trail alone. Overall, beautiful scenery and nice ride.

hiking
Sun Jul 26 2015

The Eastern most part of the Santa Ana River Trail is quite nice. Most of the trail is in good shape (a little "slopy/shelfy", but quite nice for dry forest area). It was not affected by the recent fires. The beginning and ending of my track correspond to parking areas on either Glass Road or Hwy 38. I would say this part is more consistently pretty verses Glass Road to Angelus Oaks, though the whole thing is worth while. Lots of bikers love this trail. I'm a hiker.

mountain biking
Fri May 22 2015

Awesome trail

hiking
Tue Apr 30 2013

Love this trail. great scenery with different types of tracks. nice climbs and descents.

road biking
Thu Aug 02 2012

Great trail for cyclist beginners to your more avid cyclist. Safest place to be for base miles. No cars to hit you. There can be some homeless people living in the overpasses. But they won't bother you. Usually in Anaheim to Santa Ana. Good head wind close to the beach for resistance training.

mountain biking
Wed Jul 04 2012

There are numerous different sections of this trail which can be done as loops or out and backs. The sections can be combined for longer rides. If you are new to the area, park at the turnout 1/4 mile past 7 Oaks restaurant on Rt.38. Ride down Middle Control fire road. About 2/3 of the way down there will be an entry point on your right. You can enter here and do a single track out and back. The trail will cross three creeks. The trail exits at Glass Rd. Across Glass Road is another long section of single track which starts (ends) across the street from the South Fork campground. For a nice 3 to 4 hour loop, park at turnout. Ride down Middle Control all the way to the bottom. It becomes paved and is 7 Oaks Road. Stay on 7 Oaks Road. After several miles it will fork. 7 Oaks road to the left, Glass Road to the right. Stay on 7 Oaks Road and it turns to a dirt fire road for a beautiful ride that runs along the creek. It will lead up to Rt.38 where the single track begins. It will be well marked with an info. board. Ride the single track which will exit at Glass rd. Cross Glass road and ride another section which will exit at Middle Control. Ride back up to car. This ride has at least 1 hour of straight single track riding through the mountains. Another option is to ride over to the restaurant/post office and take the fire road back there. There will be a marked entry point by a bench and big rock. Drop down. At the bottom you can go left to find other unmarked entry points for future reference, but the ride is to your right. Enjoy the single track and you will exit out about 1/3 of the way down Middle Control Road. Either ride up fire rd. to car or ride down to combine single track section mentioned above. Warning: There are a few points in the trail where even though it can be ridden, it's a long way down so you might want to hike a bike.

hiking
6 days ago

mountain biking
7 months ago

Showing results 1 - 28 of 43