San Mateo Canyon Loop Trail

MODERATE 32 reviews

San Mateo Canyon Loop Trail is a 2.8 mile loop trail located near San Clemente, California. The trail is rated as moderate and primarily used for hiking, trail running, and mountain biking. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
2.8 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
472 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

hiking

mountain biking

trail running

over grown

hiking
32 minutes ago

easy chill hike.

hiking
1 month ago

I thought this was a great moderate trail. Nice for a family hike and great for mountain biking. beautiful scenery with the military base close by.

10 months ago

Not a great hiking trail but god for mountain biking.

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

There are no markers on the trail. Hard to tell where you are. Ended up going the wrong way because of no markers. 2.8 miles turned into 4.6. Probably will never go back.

hiking
Monday, April 03, 2017

Hiked early March after an above normal rainy season. Found the trails easy and narri with some low muddy spots. Rolling and windy trails was an easy and peaceful hike. The tall grass and shrubs were a nice change.

hiking
Saturday, December 10, 2016

Nice trail to do with my dog. great views.

trail running
Saturday, June 20, 2015

I ran the trail as my 6 year old followed in his MTB. The trail was a fine single-track with a lot of twists and turns, something I'm sure the MTBrs enjoy. In some areas the trail is overgrown, which seems impossible since the area is in middle of a severe drought. It's much hotter as you delve deeper into the canyon. Ensure you pack enough water to sustain life. The trail's signage needs improvement as a newcomer to the area I down myself asking local MTBrs about best routes. I will certainly venture back out again and often.

hiking
9 days ago

hiking
21 days ago

mountain biking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

trail running
5 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

Monday, April 10, 2017

hiking
Sunday, March 19, 2017

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Wednesday, January 04, 2017

mountain biking
Saturday, October 15, 2016

hiking
Saturday, September 10, 2016

hiking
Friday, July 22, 2016

hiking
Sunday, June 26, 2016

hiking
Sunday, February 14, 2016

Load More