San Leandro Bay Trail is a 6.4 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Oakland, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 6.4 miles Elevation Gain: 45 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

wheelchair friendly

kid friendly

stroller friendly

hiking

nature trips

paddle sports

road biking

walking

bird watching

running

beach

paved

views

wild flowers

Note: This parking lot is closed due to COVID-19. Walk-in access is allowed. The Tidewater Staging Area is a common place for canoes and kayaks to be launched from

hiking
8 days ago

Nice trail next to the water! Paved the entire way. Lots of places to branch off for a different path!

hiking
3 months ago

Flat paved trail, good for run or walk. Nice view of water. It can be sunny in hot days. You can find places to rest or sit on. Not too many people. Some parts could be dirty, but not on trail. North trail head connect to road where industry stays, Roads here are less maintained. There are bathrooms along the trail. And some drinking water locations as well. Local community and park people maintains this trail actively. I saw they cleaning the parks a few times, fixing the bathrooms, etc. North end is where Oakland Strokes is, you can see a lot of boys and girls here from time to time. You can get park maps from the park office at north trail head, check office hours before you go there.

hiking
4 months ago

Excellent paved trail with beautiful views of the bay. Pets are allowed on leash. Found very few people walking on a Saturday.

Wed May 15 2019

Great walk. Lot of shore birds. Will bring supplies to pick up trash next time.

Wed Dec 19 2018

Easy flat walk on mostly gravel/paved trails. The Bay waters are forever moving as well as the wild life in this area. Driving to get to the far north trail head is thur heavy industrial/trucking companies. North end of this trail you’ll walk through littered areas with mattress, shoes, and the like. Heads up. Once through the area you’ll be rewarded with easy and sight filled surroundings.

walking
Mon Sep 03 2018

Not a lot of people is a +! Lots of trash is a - ! View and birding is pretty good. Hard to get past the smells of trash and dog waste. Walking the dog here. Not planning on coming again.

Sat Apr 15 2017

nice views of San Leandro Bay , juxtaposed by a littered Shoreline

hiking
2 hours ago

hiking
8 days ago

hiking
8 days ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

recorded San Leandro Bay Trail

road biking
8 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Mon May 13 2019

hiking
Mon Apr 01 2019

hiking
Fri Mar 01 2019

hiking
Mon Feb 25 2019

walking
Fri Dec 14 2018

hiking
Tue Nov 27 2018

mountain biking
Mon Jun 25 2018

hiking
Sun Apr 22 2018

hiking
Sun Mar 25 2018

road biking
Thu Dec 28 2017

hiking
Sat Jun 17 2017

Sat May 27 2017

hiking
Mon May 08 2017

road biking
Thu Feb 16 2017

road biking
Sun Jan 22 2017

Showing results 1 - 30 of 33