Richard's Road Trail

HARD 26 reviews
#3 of 6 trails in

Richard's Road Trail is a 5.6 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Redwood City, California that features a great forest setting and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Horses are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
5.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1,656 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

birding

hiking

horseback riding

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

views

no dogs

Park at the Main Entrance Parking Area

hiking
8 months ago

Fun trail for forest views and a moderate workout. With the recent rains, everything along the trail / road is damp, fresh and smells like you're off in the woods (at least until start hearing cars.) The trail as mapped here starts off going down before kicking into moderate gear and it builds from there with a few solid incline spots near the end. There are plenty of other trails around the park as well making it easy to loop this and get a different view on the return. I'm not much of a trail runner but this one seems ideal for it.

Conditions: Damp but not slick. Overall good shape with plenty of markers to keep on the trail and a few restroom / water spots accessible along the route. If you loop the trail, you can save a few hundred feet of climbing vs an out-and-back though I preferred the forest views on the fireroad.

Gain: There's a fair amount of downhill at the start so expect closer to 2k of total elevation climbing out and back (1750' doing the loop to the parking lot.)

trail running
Thursday, April 20, 2017

Crazy steep in some spots, but lots of fun to run! Absolutely beautiful redwood forest. There were some muddy areas when I ran it because of recent floods and mudslides, but nothing insurmountable. I saw a few fire-bellied newts crossing the path early in the morning. I did not have mobile service at the bottom so I had to call an Uber from the top of the mountain.

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Monday, September 11, 2017

hiking
Saturday, September 09, 2017

hiking
Saturday, September 09, 2017

recorded Recording - Aug 30, 07:37 PM

hiking
Thursday, August 31, 2017

hiking
Sunday, August 20, 2017

hiking
Sunday, August 20, 2017

hiking
Friday, June 16, 2017

hiking
Friday, June 02, 2017

Monday, May 08, 2017

Saturday, April 15, 2017

hiking
Saturday, March 25, 2017

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Sunday, July 10, 2016

Monday, February 15, 2016

hiking
Sunday, November 23, 2014