Mount Tamalpais via Matt Davis and Railroad Grade Trails

DIFFICILE 68 avis
N°15 sur 83 randonnées à

Mount Tamalpais via Matt Davis and Railroad Grade Trails est un sentier allez-retour de 7.4 miles modérément fréquenté situé près de Mill Valley, Californie. Le sentier vous offrira la possibilité d'observer la faune et sa difficulté est évaluée comme difficile. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens sont les bienvenus sur ce sentier.

Distance: 7.4 miles Dénivelé: 1,568 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

course à pied

forêt

voie partiellement aménagée

vue panoramique

faune

randonnée
3 months ago

La vue de la tour à incendie est fabuleuse (s'il n'y a pas de brouillard) mais trop de monde. Des hordes de personnes en groupes de 6 et 8 vont dans les deux sens le week-end sans place pour se garer sur l'autoroute. Ça tombe au-dessus de West Point Inn, mais à ce moment-là, on marche sur une route qui n'est pas vraiment une randonnée. Il y a de l'ombre au-dessous de l'auberge mais elle est exposée au-dessus.

randonnée
pas d'ombre
4 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

S'il vous plaît

randonnée
6 months ago

Ce n’est pas mon chemin préféré jusqu’à Mt Tam, mais généralement agréable et assez incliné avec une belle marche.

randonnée
9 months ago

Tant de choses à dire sur cette randonnée. incroyable. Stupéfiant. J'ai eu la chance de passer un jour ridiculement dégagé. L'inclinaison vers le haut est cohérente pour la plupart. J'ai dû prendre quelques respirations lors de la poussée vers l'auberge, et il y a une forte inclinaison juste avant le parking de la caserne des pompiers, mais je conviens avec d'autres que c'est plus modéré que difficile. Si vous ne voulez pas marcher sur une distance de 3 à 4 km, vous pourrez vous rendre à la caserne des pompiers, puis parcourir un sentier d'un kilomètre autour du sommet, qui est en soi extraordinaire. J'ai emprunté le sentier Matt Davis - j'adore l'étroit sentier rocheux sans racines - et le sentier des fougères - de nombreux escaliers et criques, magnifiques mais pesant à genoux. les routes de pompiers sont confortables, mais il y a beaucoup de motos, donc les chiens ont vraiment besoin d’être proches pendant ces étirements. Je vais amener beaucoup de visiteurs ici!

randonnée
11 months ago

Un de mes sentiers préférés sur le mont. Tam. Je commence généralement à la caserne des pompiers sur Pano Hwy et monte à Hogback, puis je prends RR Grade jusqu'à Westpoint Inn pour une vue panoramique de la baie. Le Matt Davis Trail de Westpoint Inn à la caserne de pompiers est un excellent sentier étroit à travers la forêt de séquoias qui serpente à flanc de montagne. Beaucoup de rebondissements et de racines d'arbres à franchir. Excellente vue sur une journée claire et ensoleillée orientée sud et est. Une des meilleures choses à propos de ce sentier est qu'il semble qu'il y ait très peu de chêne empoisonné poussant sur les côtés!

randonnée
Mon Nov 26 2018

Beau, plus modéré que difficile. Beaucoup de circulation à vélo, mais toujours une bonne expérience.

Mon Oct 01 2018

C'est un sentier fabuleux. Ce sentier mène au pic est de Tamalpais et offre une vue spectaculaire sur toute la région de la baie. Nous nous sommes rendus à la tour d'incendie en moins de 2 heures. Vous ne pouvez pas entrer dans la tour d'incendie, mais vous pouvez escalader tout autour pour voir une vue à 360 degrés. Il y a aussi un sentier en boucle pavé autour du sommet qui dure environ 20 minutes et offre une vue magnifique (et est un excellent accès pour les poussettes ou les personnes handicapées depuis le parking à proximité). Nous avons commencé la randonnée vers 9 h 30 le dimanche et nous n'avons eu aucun problème pour trouver un parking le long de la route Panorama Highway. Nous sommes arrivés au sommet à 11h15, ce qui était parfait car le brouillard s'était levé et nous avions un ciel dégagé magnifique. Randonnée hautement recommandée !!

randonnée
Mon Jun 25 2018

L'une des randonnées incontournables de la baie. De belles régions boisées à travers des arbres étroits, des ponts et des vues incroyables sur toute la baie depuis le sommet. Au sommet, beaucoup de gens conduisent ici. Ils manquent, tellement plus à voir. Chien amical et temps généralement frais sur la côte lorsqu'il fait chaud dans les terres. Grande randonnée de trois à quatre heures.

randonnée
Sun Jun 03 2018

Ma randonnée préférée dans la région de la baie. J'ai aimé le fait que presque toute la piste de Matt Davis était protégée du soleil. Le sentier de la voie ferrée était à environ 50% d'ombre. Les vues sont incroyables et l'altitude est suffisamment progressive pour ne pas être trop difficile pour le montant que vous grimpez. Sur le chemin du retour, j’ai emprunté le sentier des fougères comme raccourci; il est assez raide pour envisager des bâtons de trekking et c’est un sentier très difficile à gravir. Beaucoup de signes pour garder votre chien en laisse. Nous avions un coyote qui venait jusqu'à nous, même s'il était beaucoup plus petit que mon chien, donc je n'étais pas trop inquiet. Dog n'a eu aucune tique après cette randonnée, ce qui n'a pas été le cas avec d'autres randonnées à North Bay.

fonctionnement
Thu Dec 28 2017

Aussi bon que ça devient! J'ai adoré ce sentier. Belle vue, bon mélange de hauts et de bas, de superbes zones boisées. J'ai hâte d'y retourner!

Mon Nov 06 2017

Grande randonnée paisible avec vue depuis le parking presque tout en haut. Grande variété et Westpoint Inn est un endroit charmant pour s'arrêter pour se reposer et profiter de la vue depuis un rocking chair. La meilleure partie de cette randonnée est qu'il y a deux salles de bain propres le long du chemin! Un dimanche après-midi, nous avons vu une poignée d'autres groupes, mais la piste était toujours calme. Je dirais que cette randonnée est modérée, pas difficile. Ce n'était pas très raide.

randonnée
Thu Sep 28 2017

Randonnée fantastique. Passez plusieurs cascades, bosquets de séquoias, incroyables escaliers. Ouvre des vues parfaites à photographier. Le dernier escalier de la tour à incendie est magnifique. Nous avons choisi de descendre les sentiers de l'escalier otwb et il y avait une vue incroyable pour vous récompenser de ce choix. Nous nous sommes arrêtés les deux fois à l'auberge West Point. Il est agréable de s’asseoir sur la terrasse et de regarder les colibris à la mangeoire. Quelques fois sept fois à la fois! La nourriture et les collations à l'auberge sont à l'honneur, alors apportez quelques dollars si vous voulez du thé, de la soupe ou quelque chose du genre. Randonnée enrichissante.

randonnée
13 days ago

randonnée
18 days ago

randonnée
18 days ago

randonnée
25 days ago

a enregistré Recording - Nov 12, 10:56 AM

randonnée
29 days ago

randonnée
1 month ago

a enregistré Recording - Nov 03, 12:06 PM

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

Charger plus

Mount Tamalpais via Matt Davis and Railroad Grade Trails

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(91)
Mount Tamalpais Watershed

Mount Tamalpais via Matt Davis and Railroad Grade Trails is a 7.4 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Mill Valley, California that offers the chance to see wildlife and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, running, and nature trips and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 7.4 miles Elevation Gain: 1,568 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dog friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

running

forest

partially paved

views

wildlife

The watershed remains open to the public, with some restrictions, for recreational use daily from sunrise to sunset. The recent county health order prohibits vehicles and parking at the watershed, with the exception of people with disabilities who have the required disability placards or license plates for their vehicles. Parking for those with disabilities is available at our Sky Oaks parking lot. While the watershed remains open, visitors must comply with social distancing requirements of at least 6 feet. All volunteer programs that take place on the watershed have been canceled until further notice. NOTE: As of April 2020, parking lot to the trailhead is closed. Please check the park website for more information.

hiking
1 month ago

Lots of shade in beginning of the trail, sunny and scenic spots towards the peak. Would recommend coming earlier to start the trail since a lot of parking is currently closed off. I had to park a mile away from the entrance of the trail.

Nice views, real steep, the top has drinking water.

walking
rocky
2 months ago

I would reccomend this trail to anyone trying to get there heart pumping.

hiking
bugs
5 months ago

Amazing views, trail has two big creeks, and trail is well kept. Our Dog had a blast but we pulled off at least a few ticks!

hiking
8 months ago

The views from the fire tower are fabulous (if there's no fog) but waaay too many people. Hordes of people in groups of 6 and 8 going in both directions on the weekend with no place to park on the highway. It thins out above West Point Inn but at that point you're walking along a road which isn't much of a hike. There is shade below the Inn but it's exposed above.

please

hiking
11 months ago

Not my favorite way up Mt Tam but generally enjoyable and enough incline mixed with nice walking.

hiking
Mon Feb 18 2019

So much to say about this hike. incredible. breathtaking. I was lucky to go on a ridiculously clear day. The incline up is consistent for the most part. I had to take a few breathers on the push to the Inn, and there's a sharp tilt just before the fire station parking lot, but agree with others that this is more moderate than hard. if you don't want to walk the 3-4 miles up, it turns out you can drive to the fire station and then walk a mile trail around the peak which is in itself extraordinary. I took the Matt Davis trail up--love the narrow, Rocky, rooty path without bikes--and the Fern Trail down--many stairs and creeks, which were beautiful but heavy on the knees. the fire roads are comfortable, but a lot of bikes so dogs really need to be close during those stretches. I'll bring so many visitors here!

hiking
Tue Jan 01 2019

One of my favorite trails on Mt. Tam. I generally start at the Firehouse on Pano Hwy and hike up Hogback, then take RR Grade up to Westpoint Inn for a panoramic view of the bay area. The Matt Davis Trail from Westpoint Inn back to the firehouse is an excellent narrow trail through the redwood forest hugging the side of the mountain. Lots of twists and turns and tree roots to step over. Excellent views on a clear, sunny day looking south and east. One of the best things about this trail is that it appears that there is very little poison oak growing on the sides!

hiking
Mon Nov 26 2018

Beautiful, more moderate than difficult. Lots of bike traffic but still a great experience.

Mon Oct 01 2018

This is a fabulous trail. This trail leads to the East Peak of Tamalpais, and the views of the entire Bay Area from here are spectacular. We made it up to the Fire Tower in less than 2 hours. You cannot go into the Fire Tower but you can clamber all around it to see 360 degrees of views. There is also a paved loop trail around the peak that is about 20 minutes and provides more great views (and is great access for strollers or handicapped folks from the parking area nearby). We started the hike at about 9:30 am on a Sunday and there was no problem finding parking along Panorama Highway. We got to the peak at 11:15 am which was perfect because the fog had just lifted and we had gorgeous clear skies. Highly recommended hike!!

hiking
Mon Jun 25 2018

One of the Bay Areas must-do hikes. Beautiful woodland areas hiking thru narrow crowded trees, bridge crossings and amazing views of the entire bay area from the top. At the top many people drive here. They are missing out, so much more to see. Dog friendly and typically cool temps on the coast when it is hot inland. Great three to four hour hike.

hiking
Sun Jun 03 2018

My favorite hike in the Bay Area. I liked that almost the entire Matt Davis trail was protected from the sun. The railroad grade trail was about 50% shade. The views are incredible and the elevation is gradual enough to not be too difficult for the amount you are climbing. I went down the Fern Trail on the way back as a shortcut it's steep enough to consider trekking poles and would be a really hard trail to go up. Lots of signs to keep your dog leashed. We had a coyote come right up to us although it was much smaller than my dog so I wasnt too worried. Dog didn't have any ticks after this hike which hasn't been the case with other North Bay hikes.

running
Thu Dec 28 2017

As good as it gets! I loved this trail. Beautiful views, nice mix of ups and downs, gorgeous wooded areas. I can’t wait to go back!

Mon Nov 06 2017

Great, peaceful hike with views from the parking lot most of the way up. Great variety and the westpoint inn is a lovely spot to stop for a rest and soak in the views from a rocking chair. Best part of this hike is that there’s two clean bathrooms along the way! On a Sunday afternoon, we saw a handful of other groups, but the trail still felt quiet. I would definitely rate this hike moderate, not hard. It wasn’t very steep.

hiking
Thu Sep 28 2017

Fantastic hike. Pass several waterfalls, redwood groves, amazing staircases. Opens up to some perfect views to photograph. The last staircase to the fire tower, is beautiful. Opted to walk down the stair case trails otwb and there were amazing views to reward you for that choice. Stopped both times at the West Point inn. Nice to sit on the patio and watch the hummingbirds at the feeder. Some times seven at a time! Food and snacks at the inn are on honor system, so bring a few $'s in case you want tea or soup or something. Rewarding hike.

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

Showing results 1 - 30 of 91