Mount Tamalpais via Matt Davis and Railroad Grade Trails

SCHWER 35 Bewertungen
#18 von 82 Wegen in

Mount Tamalpais über Matt Davis und Railroad Grade Trails ist ein 7,4 Meilen langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Mill Valley, Kalifornien, der die Möglichkeit bietet, Wildtiere zu sehen. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Wandern, Trailrunning und für Naturausflüge genutzt und ist das ganze Jahr über begehbar. Hunde können diesen Weg auch nutzen.

Distance: 7.4 miles Höhenunterschied: 1,568 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

hundefreundlich

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Trailrunning

Gehen

Wald

teilweise befestigt

Aussicht

Wildtiere

wandern
1 month ago

Nicht mein Lieblingsweg auf den Mt. Tam, aber im Allgemeinen angenehm und genug Steigung gemischt mit schönem Gehen.

wandern
4 months ago

So viel zu dieser Wanderung zu sagen. unglaublich. atemberaubend. Ich hatte das Glück, einen lächerlich klaren Tag zu verbringen. Die Steigung ist zum größten Teil konsistent. Ich musste ein paar Atemzüge machen, um zum Inn zu gelangen, und kurz vor dem Parkplatz der Feuerwache gibt es eine scharfe Neigung, stimme aber mit den anderen überein, dass dies eher gemäßigt als schwer ist. Wenn Sie nicht die 3-4 Meilen hoch gehen möchten, stellt sich heraus, dass Sie zur Feuerwache fahren und dann einen Meilenweg um den Gipfel gehen können, der an sich außergewöhnlich ist. Ich nahm den Matt Davis Trail hoch - ich liebe den schmalen, felsigen Pfad ohne Fahrräder - und den Fern Trail hinunter - viele Treppen und Bäche, die zwar schön, aber schwer auf den Knien waren. Die Feuerwege sind komfortabel, aber viele Fahrräder, so dass Hunde auf diesen Strecken wirklich nahe sein müssen. Ich werde so viele Besucher hierher bringen!

wandern
6 months ago

Einer meiner Lieblingsstrecken am Berg. Tam. Normalerweise beginne ich im Firehouse am Pano Hwy und wandere hinauf zum Hogback. Dann fahre ich mit der RR Grade zum Westpoint Inn und genieße einen Panoramablick auf die Bucht. Der Matt Davis Trail vom Westpoint Inn zurück zum Firehouse ist ein ausgezeichneter schmaler Pfad durch den Redwood-Wald, der an der Seite des Berges liegt. Viele Drehungen und Drehungen und Baumwurzeln zum Übersteigen. Hervorragende Aussicht auf einen klaren, sonnigen Tag mit Blick nach Süden und Osten. Eines der besten Dinge an diesem Weg ist, dass es so aussieht, als würde an den Seiten sehr wenig Gifteiche wachsen!

wandern
7 months ago

Schön, mäßiger als schwer. Viel Radverkehr, aber immer noch ein tolles Erlebnis.

9 months ago

Dies ist ein fantastischer Weg. Dieser Weg führt zum East Peak von Tamalpais und die Aussicht auf die gesamte Bay Area ist spektakulär. Wir haben es in weniger als 2 Stunden zum Feuerturm geschafft. Sie können nicht in den Feuerturm gehen, aber Sie können ringsherum klettern, um 360 Grad Ansichten zu sehen. Es gibt auch einen gepflasterten Rundweg um den Gipfel, der etwa 20 Minuten lang ist und weitere großartige Aussichten bietet (und ist ein hervorragender Zugang für Spaziergänger oder Behinderte vom nahegelegenen Parkplatz). Wir fingen die Wanderung an einem Sonntag gegen 9:30 Uhr an und es war kein Problem, einen Parkplatz am Panorama Highway zu finden. Wir erreichten den Gipfel um 11:15 Uhr, was perfekt war, weil sich der Nebel gerade erst angehoben hatte und wir einen wunderschönen klaren Himmel hatten. Sehr empfehlenswerte Wanderung !!

wandern
Monday, June 25, 2018

Eine der Bay Areas muss man unbedingt machen. Wunderschöne Waldgebiete wandern durch enge, überfüllte Bäume, Brückenkreuzungen und einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die gesamte Bucht von oben. An der Spitze fahren viele Leute hier. Sie fehlen, so viel mehr zu sehen. Hundefreundlich und typisch kühl an der Küste, wenn es im Landesinneren heiß ist. Tolle drei bis vier Stunden Wanderung.

wandern
Sunday, June 03, 2018

Meine Lieblingswanderung in der Bay Area. Ich fand es gut, dass fast der gesamte Matt Davis Trail vor der Sonne geschützt war. Die Bahnstrecke war zu etwa 50% schattiert. Die Aussicht ist unglaublich und die Höhe ist allmählich genug, um für den Betrag, den Sie steigen, nicht zu schwierig zu sein. Ich bin auf dem Rückweg den Fern Trail hinuntergegangen, da es eine Abkürzung ist, die steil genug ist, um Trekkingstöcke in Betracht zu ziehen. Viele Zeichen, um Ihren Hund an der Leine zu halten. Wir hatten einen Kojoten, der zu uns kam, obwohl er viel kleiner war als mein Hund, also war ich nicht allzu besorgt. Hund hatte nach dieser Wanderung keine Zecke, was bei anderen Wanderungen in North Bay nicht der Fall war.

trailrunning
Thursday, December 28, 2017

So gut wie es nur geht! Ich habe diesen Weg geliebt. Schöne Aussichten, schöne Mischung aus Höhen und Tiefen, wunderschöne Waldgebiete. Ich kann es kaum erwarten, wiederzukommen!

Monday, November 06, 2017

Tolle, ruhige Wanderung mit Blick vom Parkplatz aus den meisten Weg nach oben. Die Abwechslung ist groß und der Westpoint Inn ist ein schöner Ort, um eine Pause einzulegen und die Aussicht von einem Schaukelstuhl zu genießen. Das Beste an dieser Wanderung ist, dass es zwei saubere Badezimmer auf dem Weg gibt! An einem Sonntagnachmittag sahen wir eine Handvoll anderer Gruppen, aber der Weg war immer noch ruhig. Ich würde diese Wanderung definitiv als moderat einstufen, nicht schwer. Es war nicht sehr steil.

wandern
Thursday, September 28, 2017

Fantastische Wanderung. Passieren Sie mehrere Wasserfälle, Rotholzhaine und beeindruckende Treppen. Öffnet einige perfekte Ansichten zum Fotografieren. Die letzte Treppe zum Feuerturm ist wunderschön. Ich entschied mich dafür, die Treppengänge entlang zu laufen, und es gab erstaunliche Aussichten, um Sie für diese Wahl zu belohnen. Wir waren beide Male im West Point Inn. Es ist schön, auf der Terrasse zu sitzen und die Kolibris am Anleger zu beobachten. Manchmal sieben Mal auf einmal! Essen und Snacks in der Herberge sind nach dem Ehreprinzip. Nehmen Sie also ein paar $ mit, falls Sie Tee, Suppe oder etwas möchten. Belohnende Wanderung.

aufgezeichnet Recording - May 11, 12:34 PM

wandern
2 months ago

aufgezeichnet Recording - Apr 28, 12:22 PM

2 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
7 months ago

9 months ago

wandern
11 months ago

aufgezeichnet Matt Davis Trail Mt Tam

wandern
Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Mount Tamalpais via Matt Davis and Railroad Grade Trails

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(91)
Mount Tamalpais Watershed

Mount Tamalpais via Matt Davis and Railroad Grade Trails is a 7.4 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Mill Valley, California that offers the chance to see wildlife and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, running, and nature trips and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 7.4 miles Elevation Gain: 1,568 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dog friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

running

forest

partially paved

views

wildlife

The watershed remains open to the public, with some restrictions, for recreational use daily from sunrise to sunset. The recent county health order prohibits vehicles and parking at the watershed, with the exception of people with disabilities who have the required disability placards or license plates for their vehicles. Parking for those with disabilities is available at our Sky Oaks parking lot. While the watershed remains open, visitors must comply with social distancing requirements of at least 6 feet. All volunteer programs that take place on the watershed have been canceled until further notice. NOTE: As of April 2020, parking lot to the trailhead is closed. Please check the park website for more information.

hiking
1 month ago

Lots of shade in beginning of the trail, sunny and scenic spots towards the peak. Would recommend coming earlier to start the trail since a lot of parking is currently closed off. I had to park a mile away from the entrance of the trail.

Nice views, real steep, the top has drinking water.

walking
rocky
2 months ago

I would reccomend this trail to anyone trying to get there heart pumping.

hiking
bugs
5 months ago

Amazing views, trail has two big creeks, and trail is well kept. Our Dog had a blast but we pulled off at least a few ticks!

hiking
8 months ago

The views from the fire tower are fabulous (if there's no fog) but waaay too many people. Hordes of people in groups of 6 and 8 going in both directions on the weekend with no place to park on the highway. It thins out above West Point Inn but at that point you're walking along a road which isn't much of a hike. There is shade below the Inn but it's exposed above.

please

hiking
11 months ago

Not my favorite way up Mt Tam but generally enjoyable and enough incline mixed with nice walking.

hiking
Mon Feb 18 2019

So much to say about this hike. incredible. breathtaking. I was lucky to go on a ridiculously clear day. The incline up is consistent for the most part. I had to take a few breathers on the push to the Inn, and there's a sharp tilt just before the fire station parking lot, but agree with others that this is more moderate than hard. if you don't want to walk the 3-4 miles up, it turns out you can drive to the fire station and then walk a mile trail around the peak which is in itself extraordinary. I took the Matt Davis trail up--love the narrow, Rocky, rooty path without bikes--and the Fern Trail down--many stairs and creeks, which were beautiful but heavy on the knees. the fire roads are comfortable, but a lot of bikes so dogs really need to be close during those stretches. I'll bring so many visitors here!

hiking
Tue Jan 01 2019

One of my favorite trails on Mt. Tam. I generally start at the Firehouse on Pano Hwy and hike up Hogback, then take RR Grade up to Westpoint Inn for a panoramic view of the bay area. The Matt Davis Trail from Westpoint Inn back to the firehouse is an excellent narrow trail through the redwood forest hugging the side of the mountain. Lots of twists and turns and tree roots to step over. Excellent views on a clear, sunny day looking south and east. One of the best things about this trail is that it appears that there is very little poison oak growing on the sides!

hiking
Mon Nov 26 2018

Beautiful, more moderate than difficult. Lots of bike traffic but still a great experience.

Mon Oct 01 2018

This is a fabulous trail. This trail leads to the East Peak of Tamalpais, and the views of the entire Bay Area from here are spectacular. We made it up to the Fire Tower in less than 2 hours. You cannot go into the Fire Tower but you can clamber all around it to see 360 degrees of views. There is also a paved loop trail around the peak that is about 20 minutes and provides more great views (and is great access for strollers or handicapped folks from the parking area nearby). We started the hike at about 9:30 am on a Sunday and there was no problem finding parking along Panorama Highway. We got to the peak at 11:15 am which was perfect because the fog had just lifted and we had gorgeous clear skies. Highly recommended hike!!

hiking
Mon Jun 25 2018

One of the Bay Areas must-do hikes. Beautiful woodland areas hiking thru narrow crowded trees, bridge crossings and amazing views of the entire bay area from the top. At the top many people drive here. They are missing out, so much more to see. Dog friendly and typically cool temps on the coast when it is hot inland. Great three to four hour hike.

hiking
Sun Jun 03 2018

My favorite hike in the Bay Area. I liked that almost the entire Matt Davis trail was protected from the sun. The railroad grade trail was about 50% shade. The views are incredible and the elevation is gradual enough to not be too difficult for the amount you are climbing. I went down the Fern Trail on the way back as a shortcut it's steep enough to consider trekking poles and would be a really hard trail to go up. Lots of signs to keep your dog leashed. We had a coyote come right up to us although it was much smaller than my dog so I wasnt too worried. Dog didn't have any ticks after this hike which hasn't been the case with other North Bay hikes.

running
Thu Dec 28 2017

As good as it gets! I loved this trail. Beautiful views, nice mix of ups and downs, gorgeous wooded areas. I can’t wait to go back!

Mon Nov 06 2017

Great, peaceful hike with views from the parking lot most of the way up. Great variety and the westpoint inn is a lovely spot to stop for a rest and soak in the views from a rocking chair. Best part of this hike is that there’s two clean bathrooms along the way! On a Sunday afternoon, we saw a handful of other groups, but the trail still felt quiet. I would definitely rate this hike moderate, not hard. It wasn’t very steep.

hiking
Thu Sep 28 2017

Fantastic hike. Pass several waterfalls, redwood groves, amazing staircases. Opens up to some perfect views to photograph. The last staircase to the fire tower, is beautiful. Opted to walk down the stair case trails otwb and there were amazing views to reward you for that choice. Stopped both times at the West Point inn. Nice to sit on the patio and watch the hummingbirds at the feeder. Some times seven at a time! Food and snacks at the inn are on honor system, so bring a few $'s in case you want tea or soup or something. Rewarding hike.

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

Showing results 1 - 30 of 91