Mt. El Sombroso via Woods Trail

MODERATE 29 reviews

Mt. El Sombroso via Woods Trail is a 11.6 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near New Almaden, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round.

DISTANCE
11.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
2,103 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

birding

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

walking

views

wild flowers

wildlife

no dogs

This trail has lots of shade and it's very comfortable. Not crowded. Good view! Bring water during the summer.

hiking
4 months ago

Very nice hike. Not for the beginners. Mostly shaded. View from the peak is awesome. Gates are not opened till 7 AM in the morning, even in summer. Not of much place on the side of the road to park the car. So, going early may not be advised.

hiking
Monday, September 25, 2017

This trail opened to public on Sep 17 2017 after 1.5 years and $25 million dollar restoration effort.

This is nice moderate 7.4 miles out and back trail.
The best parking spot is Bald Mountain parking spot 1.6 miles up mt. Umunhum road and Hicks road intersection. There are about 10 spots + 4 on the sides. Gets filled up early so go there before 7:30 am to get a spot.

The views are spectacular and once on the top, you will be rewarded with gentle breeze.

Sunday, September 24, 2017

you will enjoy every minute

Monday, September 18, 2017

A great hike to finish this trails in the area for the Sierra Azul Ridge! Trails open to public officially 2017 September 18!

Monday, August 21, 2017

finally opens September 17th 2017. can't wait!

hiking
Sunday, June 04, 2017

Most recently the Mt Umunhum road is closed. So you can't go further at the point when you must go on Barlow Road to return to Mt Umunhum road. Thus this trail is not a loop anymore.
Anyway, the trail is perfect. It has a lot of shades and it's very comfortable. Not crowded. Good view!

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

11 months ago

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

hiking
Sunday, December 03, 2017

hiking
Saturday, October 28, 2017

hiking
Sunday, October 08, 2017

hiking
Saturday, September 30, 2017

hiking
Sunday, August 20, 2017

hiking
Saturday, August 05, 2017

hiking
Saturday, July 29, 2017

Sunday, May 28, 2017

trail running
Saturday, April 29, 2017

Thursday, March 02, 2017

hiking
Sunday, February 05, 2017

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Sunday, October 16, 2016

hiking
Thursday, September 08, 2016