Mt. Baden-Powell from Dawson Saddle

INTERMÉDIAIRE 59 avis
N°36 sur 215 randonnées à

Mt. Baden-Powell from Dawson Saddle is a 9.9 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Valyermo, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
9.9 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
2,696 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

randonnée

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

This is a great hike through one of the best places in the Angeles Forest. This is wonderful high country hiking along one of the best sections of the PCT in Southern California. This trail is pretty straightforward, lots of steady up grade to the top, you can venture off on the side peaks as well. Throop and Burnham only add 350 feet in elevation gain and .5 to your mileage. Throop is worthwhile, Burnham is just a bump on the trail, but a must if you are peak bagging. The view from Baden Powell is spectacular, even on a day obscured by fires, or haze. The high country is amazing. You can even choose to follow along the ridgeline the entire way if you wish. One of the most outstanding things about this trail is that you can see where you are going and where you have been along the entire route. In my book, that always exemplifies a great trail.

5 months ago

Grand sentier avec une vue imprenable. Le début du sentier est un peu difficile à repérer. Si vous vous garez près du signal de circulation avec le panneau Dawson Gap, traversez la route et suivez les indications pour descendre à environ 50 pieds (direction opposée à la remise). Levez les yeux et vous verrez une petite piste qui monte la colline. Il y a un signe des scouts balisant la piste. Le sentier lui-même est en bon état et suit principalement la crête jusqu'à Baden Powell. Je dirais que c'est modéré - il y a une certaine inclinaison, mais pas trop difficile. Il peut faire assez froid / venteux lorsque le sentier rejoint une partie exposée de la crête. Une vue imprenable sur la vallée et les montagnes environnantes.

randonnée
7 months ago

J'adore ce sentier! Idéal pour la randonnée les chaudes journées d'été. La pinède, la haute altitude, avec des vues panoramiques sont fantastiques. Ceci est un sentier modéré à modéré. Le sentier se sépare en un point et vous pouvez opter pour une randonnée en pente plus raide d'environ 0,5 km à ce stade. Il y a plusieurs options de sentiers au sommet ... si vous souhaitez prolonger votre randonnée.

randonnée
8 months ago

Un chemin de terre lisse et ombragé marque tout le sentier Ouvert au sommet avec une vue imprenable tout autour.

randonnée
8 months ago

A pris la journée de travail pour faire de la randonnée le premier jour de l’été. Les conditions de piste étaient vraiment bonnes. Surtout aimé le fait que j'avais la piste pour moi. Sachez qu'il y a beaucoup de punaises volantes en cette période de l'année et qu'il fait beaucoup plus chaud, alors assurez-vous de planifier en conséquence. Je ne saurais trop souligner combien il est important de rester hydraté pour profiter de cette randonnée.

9 months ago

Randonnée difficile. Sélections et élévations continues. Vous n'obtenez vraiment aucune section où vous n'êtes pas incliné. Le sentier est facile à suivre bien qu’il se rétrécisse quelques fois et que je me sentais un peu mal à l’aise. Plus vous vous approchez du sommet, plus les sections sont raides. Le jour de ma randonnée, c’était une belle journée et je n’aurais pas pu rêver d’un temps plus clément. Je sentais cependant que l’effet du vent était mauvais et que je me rapprochais du sommet. Mes mains en particulier avaient froid et tremblaient à un moment donné. Je recommande de prendre des vêtements pour temps froid avec vous. À tout le moins, ayez-le disponible. Je n'avais pas de gants et je n'avais qu'une veste coupe-vent bon marché. J'étais assez misérable au sommet et j'aurais vraiment aimé prendre des gants et un pull / veste. La vue depuis le sommet est spectaculaire. Apportez beaucoup d’eau, des collations et des préparations pour le froid, même si les conditions ne semblent pas être nécessaires. C'est une randonnée difficile. Je vous recommande de vous entraîner et de développer votre endurance avant d'essayer afin que vous puissiez en profiter. Bonne chance!!

randonnée
11 months ago

Commencé vers 6h15 du matin et arrivé au sommet de Baden Powell à 8h. Il y avait seulement quelques petites plaques de neige glacée et la plupart d’entre elles, j’ai pu me promener, j’ai apporté des pointes mais je ne les ai pas utilisées. Sur la pente décente, je suis descendu sur la crête ouest de Baden Powell, sur Burnham Peak et sur Throop Peak. Il y avait déjà une douzaine de personnes sur Throop, alors j'ai continué à descendre la crête nord, sans m'arrêter, pour faire une courte pause avant de redescendre jusqu'au bout du sentier. Il s’agit d’un beau sentier plus pittoresque que celui qui monte de Vincent Gap et qui offre une vue à la fois orientale et occidentale sur les vallées situées de chaque côté de la crête. Remarque importante sur le début du sentier, ce n’est pas celui qui se trouve juste en face du hangar Caltrans qui a surgi ici il ya environ 10 ans, mais à environ 50 mètres à l’est de là près d’un ponceau juste avant le virage. Commencez ici et à la première lacune, vous verrez le panneau placé par les scouts.

randonnée
11 months ago

Randonnée impressionnante rendue encore plus impressionnante par la prévention des glaces. On nous a dit qu'il n'y avait pas de neige sur les montagnes, nous n'avons donc pas apporté de pics. Le sentier du côté de Throop, cependant, avait des sections de glace importantes sur le sentier; assez significatif pour que nous sentions que c'était dangereux. Nous avons choisi d'alimenter la colline jusqu'au sommet de Throop. Le vent soufflait bien à plus de 35 mi / h sur la crête et atteignait des sommets pendant la majeure partie de la randonnée. Si vous partez pour cette randonnée dans les prochaines semaines, je vous recommande d’apporter des crampons pour mettre Throop et Burnham en sac. En outre, si vous incluez ces pics, considérez cela comme étant difficile plutôt que modéré.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

C'est un sentier bien balisé et bien entretenu avec des lacets de lacets aux bons endroits Principalement boisé avec beaucoup de belles vues sur le chemin et le sommet est magnifique.

randonnée
Sunday, October 08, 2017

J'ai ajouté un détour au mont. Burnham à cette route, qui est située à environ la marque des 3 miles. La vue est belle, mais Baden Powell est mieux. Sauf si vous avez envie de rayer Burnham de votre liste de sommet, sautez-le et allez directement à Powell.

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Spectaculaire! Beaucoup d'ombre le long du chemin. Le sentier offre des hauts et des bas. Attention, nous avons rencontré des roturiers trois fois sur ce sentier Grande randonnée à mi-distance

randonnée
Monday, July 11, 2016

J'ai adoré ce sentier. C'était bien marqué et avec une vue incroyable Totalement vaut le temps et l'effort.

randonnée
Wednesday, June 01, 2016

Je me suis levé tôt et j'étais sur le sentier à 5 heures, je suis arrivé au bout du sentier à temps pour voir le lever du soleil. C'est un beau sentier qui monte et descend. C’est l’endroit idéal pour prendre un nouveau souffle, embrasser la nature et vider votre esprit.

randonnée
Monday, August 03, 2015

Je vais certainement refaire cette randonnée. C'est épuisant et l'altitude est élevée. C'est super pour le conditionnement.

randonnée
Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Sentier génial! Mon préféré jusqu'à présent cette année. Belle forêt pittoresque et vues tout le chemin. Nous avons parcouru environ 15 km au total, mais nous avons également participé au court voyage au sommet du mont Burnham, en route vers Baden-Powell. J'étais vraiment un peu mal le lendemain (je n'en suis pas fier), mais cela en valait la peine. Ce fut une expérience à ne pas oublier de sitôt.

randonnée
Wednesday, July 03, 2013

Une très bonne randonnée avec des vues phénoménales. Certains des plus enrichissants de loin.

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

Charger plus

Mt. Baden-Powell from Dawson Saddle is a 9.9 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Valyermo, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
9.9 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
2,696 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dog friendly

hiking

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

This is a great hike through one of the best places in the Angeles Forest. This is wonderful high country hiking along one of the best sections of the PCT in Southern California. This trail is pretty straightforward, lots of steady up grade to the top, you can venture off on the side peaks as well. Throop and Burnham only add 350 feet in elevation gain and .5 to your mileage. Throop is worthwhile, Burnham is just a bump on the trail, but a must if you are peak bagging. The view from Baden Powell is spectacular, even on a day obscured by fires, or haze. The high country is amazing. You can even choose to follow along the ridgeline the entire way if you wish. One of the most outstanding things about this trail is that you can see where you are going and where you have been along the entire route. In my book, that always exemplifies a great trail.

1 month ago

Great trail with amazing views. The trail head is a little difficult to spot. If you park at the turnout with the Dawson Gap sign, cross the road and it's about 50 ft down (opposite direction from the shed). Look up and you'll see a small single track going up the hill. There is a sign from the boy scouts marking the trail. The trail itself is in good condition and mostly follows the ridge around to Baden Powell. I'd rate it as moderate - there is some incline, but not too difficult. It can be pretty windy/cold when the trail gets to an exposed section of the ridge. Amazing views into the valley and surrounding mountains.

hiking
3 months ago

Love this trail! Great for hiking on hot summer days. The pine forest , high elevation, along with scenic vistas are fantastic.

This is a moderate to moderated + trail. The trail splits at one point and iyou can opt for a steeper grade hike for about .5 mile at this point.

There are several trail options at the summit... should you want to extend your hike.

hiking
4 months ago

Smooth dirt path with plenty of shade spots the whole trail. Open at the top with amazing views all around.

hiking
4 months ago

Took the day off from work to hike on the first day of summer. The trail conditions were really good. Especially loved the fact that I had the trail to myself. Be aware that there are lots of flying bugs this time of year, and the weather is much warmer so make sure to plan accordingly. I can't stress how important keeping oneself hydrated is to the enjoyment of this hike.

5 months ago

Difficult hike. Continuous switchbacks and elevation. You really don't get any sections where you are not at an incline. The trail is easy to follow although it does narrow a few times and I felt a bit uneasy. The closer you get to the top the steeper the sections. The day I hikedbthisbpeak was a beautiful day and could not have asked for better weather. I did however feel the affect big the wind bad I got closer to the summit. My hands especially did get cold and were shaking at one point. I recommend taking cold weather gear with you. At the very least, have it available. I didn't have gloves and I only had a cheap wind breaker jacket. I was pretty miserable at the top and definitely wish I'd taken gloves and a sweater/jacket. The view from the top is spectacular. Bring plenty of water, snacks and cold weather prep even if the conditions don't seem to call for it. This is a difficult hike. I'd recommend training and building up your stamina before attempting so that you could enjoy it. Good luck!!

hiking
7 months ago

Started out around 6:15 in the morning and arrived on the summit of Baden Powell at 8am. There were only a few small patches of icy snow and most of them I was able to walk around, I did bring spikes but did not use them. On the decent I came down the West ridge of Baden Powell, up and over Burnham Peak, and up to Throop Peak. There were already a dozen or so people on Throop so I continued down the North ridge a ways stopping for a short break before continuing back down to the trail head. This is a beautiful trail more scenic than the trail up from Vincent Gap with views looking both East and West into the valleys on each side of the ridge. An important note about the actual trail head, it is not the one directly across from the Caltrans shed that popped up here about 10 years ago, it is about 50 yards or so east of there near a culvert just before the bend in the road. Start here and at the first switchback you will see the sign placed by the Boy Scouts.

hiking
7 months ago

Awesome hike made more awesome by ice-avoidance. We were told that there was no snow on the mountains, so we did not bring spikes of any sort. The trail on the side of Throop, however, had significant sections of ice on the trail; significant enough that we felt it was dangerous. We chose to power up the hillside to the top of Throop. Wind was a good 35+ mph on the ridge and peaks for most of the hike. If you're going on this hike in the next few weeks, I recommend either bringing crampons are plan to bag Throop and Burnham. Also, if you include these peaks, consider this hard rather than moderate.

11 months ago

This is a well marked and well maintained trail with gentle switchbacks in all the right places. Mostly wooded with plenty of good views along the way and the summit is stunning.

hiking
Sunday, October 08, 2017

I added a detour to Mt. Burnham to this route, which is located at around the 3 mile mark. The view is nice, but Baden Powell is better. Unless you're itching to cross off Burnham from your peak list, skip it and go straight to Powell.

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Spectacular! Lots of shade along the way. Trail offers up and down both ways. Caution we have encountered rattlers three times on this trail

Views are unbelievable. Great mid distance hike

hiking
Monday, July 11, 2016

I loved this trail. It was well marked, and had amazing views! Totally worth the time and effort.

hiking
Wednesday, June 01, 2016

Woke up early and was on the trail by 0500, I got to the end of the trail in time to see the sunrise. It's a beautiful trail going up and down. This is the perfect spot to catch a fresh breath of air, embrace nature and clear your mind.

hiking
Monday, August 03, 2015

I will definitely do this hike again. It is strenuous, and the elevation is high. It is great for conditioning.

hiking
Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Awesome trail! My favorite so far this year. Beautiful, scenic forest and views the whole way. We did about 9.4 miles total, as we also threw in the short side trip to the summit of Mount Burnham enroute to Baden-Powell. I was definitely a bit sore the next day (I aint proud), but it was well worth the effort. It was an experience not to be soon forgotten.

hiking
Wednesday, July 03, 2013

A really good hike with phenomenal views. Some of the most rewarding by far.

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

Load More