Mine Hill Trail Loop

moderate 41 reviews

Mine Hill Trail Loop is a 7.9 mile loop trail located near San Jose, California that features beautiful wild flowers. The trail is rated as moderate and primarily used for hiking, walking, and trail running. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 7.9 miles Elevation Gain: 1,617 feet Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

hiking

walking

running

views

wild flowers

wildlife

This hike from Almaden Quicksilver County Park in southern San Jose tours the rusting remains of what once was one of the largest mercury-mining operations in the world. The Mine Hill region of the park includes English Camp, San Cristobal mine, a short section of mineshaft and the hulk of a large processing plant. At over 8 miles with substantial elevation gain, this is a rugged but satisfying hike into the history of the South Bay before it became famous as Silicon Valley. The park includes over 37 miles of hiking trails, including 30 miles of equestrian trails and 16.6 miles of bike trails. All trails in the park are also open to pet owners to walk their dogs on leash. For more information visit: https://www.sccgov.org/sites/parks/parkfinder/pages/almadenpark.aspx

running
9 months ago

Moderate trail I ran it end to end in light rain may 2019. Great views of the old mining rigs. Helps you remember life in the valley before technology.

running
Wed Dec 05 2018

The history of this area itself is great! Beautiful on an overcast day. There are mountain lions here and wild pigs. Another hiker said he saw two mountain lions right before we met each other on the trail. I spotted multiple deer. If you go fishing in the reservoir, it’s suggested to not eat the fish high in mercury.

hiking
Wed Jul 18 2018

Good workout! Strenuous at places and steep at the end. The abandoned structures are fun to see. Look for antique cars that have fallen off the side of the road.

hiking
Sat Feb 24 2018

Great for running and hiking! Watch out for horses and cyclist. Overall great trails.

hiking
Sat Jul 29 2017

Nice hike with expansive views in many directions. Mostly fire road with some sections of single-track trail as options. Pretty steep in places. I imagine it can get pretty hot in the afternoon during summer.

hiking
Mon Jul 10 2017

Started the hike at about 8:30am on a hot day in July. Was shaded for at least 2/3 of the hike and was very enjoyable. Would agree with the rating of "hard". Took us about 3 hours and 15 minutes to complete and was right on point at 8.2 miles. Overall, very much enjoyed this hike and would do again/recommend.

hiking
Tue May 23 2017

Go early to avoid heat.

hiking
13 days ago

hiking
22 days ago

running
24 days ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
Sun Jan 13 2019

hiking
Sun Oct 14 2018

hiking
Wed Sep 19 2018

hiking
Fri Sep 07 2018

hiking
Thu Aug 30 2018

hiking
Sun Aug 05 2018

hiking
Wed Aug 01 2018

hiking
Sun May 27 2018

hiking
Sun Mar 25 2018

hiking
Sun Mar 11 2018

Load More