Der Meysan Trail ist ein leicht befahrener Wanderweg in der Nähe von Lone Pine, Kalifornien, der über einen See verfügt und nur erfahrenen Abenteurern empfohlen wird. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Laufen und Rucksackwandern genutzt und ist am besten von März bis November geeignet. Hunde können diesen Weg auch nutzen.

Distance: 9.9 miles Höhenunterschied: 4,009 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

hundefreundlich

Rucksacktour

Wandern

Trailrunning

See

Aussicht

Wildblumen

Wildtiere

kein Schatten

wandern
1 month ago

Schaffte es nicht zum See. Vielleicht nächstes Mal. Anstrengend und steil. Sie können sich mit dem Trail verirren, wenn Sie sich dem Gipfel nähern. Mein Hund wurde sehr müde. Hab einen Platz am Bach gefunden. Seien Sie mit Mücken vorbereitet. Ich bin um 9 Uhr morgens abgereist und bin gegen 14 Uhr dort angekommen. Ich habe versehentlich meinen Schlafsack verlassen und bin zurückgegangen. Mein erstes Wandern in der Nacht war gegen 19 Uhr. Mein Kopflicht war großartig. Es begann dunkel zu werden. Es war sicher zum Parkplatz. Tolles Abenteuer.

wandern
8 months ago

Hervorragende Tageswanderung. Gute Höhengewinne. Am ersten See rechts halten, um nach Meysan zu gelangen. Der Weg ist manchmal etwas schwer zu folgen, aber nicht schlecht.

wandern
10 months ago

Dieser Weg ist ein Genuss: Abgeschiedenheit, Landschaft, vorhandenes Wasser und gutes Training durch Höhenunterschied. Wir brauchten viereinhalb Stunden, um einen Grass Lake zu erreichen, und weniger als drei Stunden, um zum Whitney Portal zurückzukehren. Er traf einen einzigen Wanderer auf seinem Weg und eine vierköpfige Familie in der Nähe von Grass Lake. Wie andere schon gesagt haben, kann man einen Weg wandern, der fast leer ist. Schöne Landschaft auch. Ich habe ein paar Fotos gepostet. Eine meiner Lieblingstageswanderungen und keine Genehmigung ist erforderlich (es sei denn, Sie sind ein Übernachtungsgast). Genießen...

wandern
11 months ago

Ich kann immer noch nicht darüber hinwegkommen, wie einsam und glücklich ich mich auf diesem Weg fühlte, nachdem ich hunderte Menschen im Whitney Portal Store gesehen hatte. Es fühlte sich wie das bestgehütete Geheimnis in der Gegend an. Mit jedem, der sich nach mir sehnt, dachte ich mir, dass dieser Weg beschäftigt sein würde, da er vom Whitney-Portal aus zu Fuß erreichbar ist. Nee. Niemand. Nur unberührte Landschaft und meine Hunde. Ich habe diesen Weg gewählt, weil ich keine Genehmigung brauchte und ich meine Hunde mitbringen konnte. Meine beiden Hunde sind außergewöhnlich wendig und haben sehr lange Wanderungen und Rucksackreisen über Nacht unternommen. Davon abgesehen bin ich froh, dass ich Trailschuhe mitgebracht habe, da dieser Trail sehr scharf wird. Glücklicherweise gibt es auf der Strecke reichlich Wasser, sodass ich kein Wasser für sie einpacken musste. Wie viele Leute vor mir gesagt haben, ist dies ein gut markierter Weg für die ersten vier Meilen, der dann auf der letzten Meile ein wenig schwer zu navigieren ist. Hier sind meine Tipps, wenn Sie den Aufstieg machen wollen: 1. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie sich mit dieser Pistenplan einchecken, damit Ihre Position den gesamten Weg nach oben verfolgt. Wenn der Weg unklar wird, können Sie mit dieser Karte besonders gut vom Kurs abkommen. So viel von der Strecke ist sehr klar, aber in manchen Gegenden sieht es so aus, als ob die Leute ihre eigenen Sprünge gemacht hätten, was die Navigation etwas verwirrend machte. 2. Beginnen Sie in den Sommermonaten im Morgengrauen, um hohe Temperaturen während des Aufstiegs zu vermeiden. Ich begann um 6:30 Uhr morgens und fing an, um 9 Uhr morgens wegen der Hitze die Schichten abzuziehen. Ich hatte die Sonne hinten im Rücken. 3. Achten Sie auf die Steinhaufen. Sie haben mir wirklich geholfen, auf Kurs zu bleiben. 4. Wenn Sie Hunde haben, tragen Sie Stiefel. Sie hassen diese Stiefel sicherlich, aber in dem Moment, in dem ich einen meiner Hunde-Stiefel für eine Pause auszog, riss sie ein Pad stark auf. Die Felsen an der Spitze sind super scharf. 5. Ich habe keine andere Seele gesehen. Obwohl ich es genossen habe, zurückgezogen zu sein, bin ich froh, dass ich vorher und nachher mit Leuten eingecheckt habe. Dies ist überhaupt nicht wie Whitney. Du bist allein da draußen. 6. Behalten Sie die Karte im Auge, wenn Sie ganz nach oben kommen. Die letzte Strecke zwischen dem winzigen See vor dem Ende des Weges wirkt wie ein falscher Abschluss. Das letzte Zuhause erfordert Bouldern. Dann erwartet Sie ein kristallklarer ruhiger See. Es liegt direkt hinter der großen Wiese und dem kleinen See. Ich brauchte fünf Stunden, um an die Spitze zu gelangen. Ich verbrachte eine Stunde an der Spitze, und ich brauchte vier Stunden, um insgesamt zehn Stunden runterzukommen. Ich halte mich für äußerst fit und wurde in den letzten anderthalb Meilen definitiv herausgefordert. Mach einfach weiter! Es lohnt sich.

Saturday, July 07, 2018

Perfekte Einführung in die Whitney Zone für mich. Ich habe nördlich von Whitney ausgiebig mit dem Rucksack gearbeitet und habe mich aus Gründen der Beliebtheit aus diesem Bereich entfernt. Dieser Weg ist jedoch auf jeden Fall ein weniger befahrener Weg, und wir haben kaum jemanden gesehen, was ihn zu einem schönen Wochenende macht. Der Weg beginnt sehr weich und der allmähliche Aufstieg zwischen zwei immensen und wunderschönen geologischen Mammuten, zwischen den Bäumen und entlang eines rauschenden Baches. Es ist etwa 3 km lang weich an den Füßen und ändert sich dann in einen recht steinigen Weg. Dann wird der Weg sehr anstrengend und es ist schwieriger, zum Grass Lake zu gelangen. Vom Gras bis zum Camp Lake sind Sie müde und fühlen sich erhaben, und es wird härter. Wir stiegen an der Mündung nach Meysan auf (schwieriges, steiles Bouldern für etwa 500 Fuß) und fanden einen Campingplatz. Atemberaubend! Angeln ist reichlich. Wir waren alleine und das Wetter war sehr angenehm. Wir konnten um 16 Uhr bequem in unseren Badeanzügen herumhängen. Es dauerte 6 Stunden, um die 8,2 Meilen hinaufzugehen, und 4 Stunden, um am nächsten Tag zurück zu gelangen, einschließlich eines Abstecher zum Grass Lake (was ebenfalls atemberaubend ist!). Dies ist eine schwierige Wanderung, aber die Belohnung ist immens: wunderschöne Aussichten, Einsamkeit, Fisch, anspruchsvolle Wanderung, Langlauferlebnis, Klettererlebnis.

wandern
Sunday, May 27, 2018

Gute Aussicht bis zum Lone Pine Peak und dann zurück ins Tal. Leider haben wir es wegen Schnee und müden Beinen von einer vorherigen Wanderung nicht bis zum See geschafft, aber die Mühe lohnt sich und würde es wieder tun

wandern
Monday, May 14, 2018

Erstaunliche Wanderung! Es lohnt sich absolut. Schöne Aussicht auf Lone Pine Peak. Immer noch viel Schnee zum See. Nicht zu schwer

Tuesday, May 08, 2018

Einfacher Trail, um schöne Aussichten zu verfolgen und lohnt sich

rucksacktour
Friday, August 04, 2017

Extremes Training, aber jeden Schritt wert

Thursday, December 29, 2016

Awsome, ich war hin und her gerissen, ob ich es für mich behalten oder dieses posten wollte.

wandern
Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Der Meysan-See ist hart, krass und wunderschön. Die letzten 2 Meilen der Wanderung sind viel anstrengender als die erste Hälfte. Die Verwendung eines GPS ist ein Muss, da der Pfad zwischen Camp Lake und Meysan Lake nicht vorhanden ist und wir uns auf Steinmänner und unsere Topokarten verlassen mussten, um nach Meysan zu gelangen. Die meisten Seen sind jetzt völlig ausgetrocknet (nicht sicher, ob dies die Dürre ist oder weil wir dies am ersten Wochenende im Oktober sehr spät getan haben), aber der Meysan-See hat immer noch viel Wasser. Als wir ankamen, war es ein funkelndes, tiefes Türkis, und die hoch aufragenden Gipfel, die es umgeben, wirken jenseits. Sehr gut machbar als Tageswanderung. Wir brauchten insgesamt 6 Stunden, aber ich würde mindestens 7 einplanen, damit Sie mehr Zeit am See verbringen können.

wandern
Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Toller Weg. Keine Genehmigungen, keine Leute. Die Route wird manchmal etwas unklar. Schönes Aufwärmen für den Mount Whitney.

wandern
Saturday, June 04, 2016

Ungefähr fünf Meilen innen und fünf Meilen außerhalb. Ausgezeichnete Seen. Bring eine Hängematte mit!

wandern
Wednesday, July 08, 2015

Steile Serpentinen für die ersten 4 Meilen. Sobald Sie den Gipfel erreicht haben, gibt es 3 Seen (schöne Landschaftsveränderung - Grün und Wildblumen). Der erste ist der Grass-See, dann weiter zum Camp Lake. Um den Meysan Lake zu erreichen, ist jedoch viel Arbeit erforderlich. Der Weg ist nicht leicht markiert, so dass es schwierig ist, sich zu verlaufen. Karten oder GPS hilft. Erwarten Sie viel Klettern. Ziemlich fortgeschrittene und herausfordernde Wanderung, aber die Aussicht wert! Bringen Sie eine wasserdichte Jacke mit, als es regnete, als wir den Berg hinuntergingen.

aufgezeichnet Meysan Trail

wandern
16 days ago

wandern
21 days ago

aufgezeichnet Meysan Trail

wandern
26 days ago

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
8 months ago

aufgezeichnet grads

wandern
11 months ago

wandern
11 months ago

wandern
11 months ago

wandern
11 months ago

wandern
11 months ago

wandern
Wednesday, August 08, 2018

wandern
Friday, June 22, 2018

wandern
Saturday, May 26, 2018

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Meysan Trail is a 9.9 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Lone Pine, California that features a lake and is only recommended for very experienced adventurers. The trail is primarily used for hiking, running, and backpacking and is best used from March until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 9.9 miles Elevation Gain: 4,009 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dog friendly

backpacking

hiking

running

lake

views

wild flowers

wildlife

no shade

hiking
2 months ago

totally beautiful. my first alpine lake!

hiking
6 months ago

Trailhead was a bit difficult to find - starts out with a ~500ish ft descent if you park at the portal which really hurts on the way back. Otherwise very beautiful trail, the lake is 100% worth the grind. Wish I would’ve backpacked instead of day hiked to have more time to explore. I recorded 13 miles round trip.

backpacking
rocky
8 months ago

Great trail, but 90% is uphill, so be prepared for a workout... we camped at grass lake and went to Meysan lake without our gear which I recommend. Glad we did t bring our dog, he would have had a hard time with the rocky summit to the lake. Also got a little altitude sickness, so if you start to feel it just camp and hit the lake early before you hike out... there’s over 1000 ft elevation difference. Got to the mid 30s at night, and no fires so pack accordingly! Overall, beautiful area and hike is worth the effort.

hiking
rocky
scramble
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

Well-designed Trail looks like it’s maintained only up to around grass lake just follow the trail as it is stated on all trails and you’ll make it it’s not that hard to see the trail it is a use trail. Hiked on Saturday and I saw a lot of people I didn’t expect it after reading some of the reviews. Meysan Lake is beautiful

hiking
8 months ago

Great hike. Mostly exposed trail. Bring enough water, as there are no water sources along the trail until grass lake area. Most of the time you are hiking next to but significantly above the creek (with no easy way to get down there) Well marked except last 0.4 mile to Meysan lake. Trail curves to the right and upward of small rock mound to reach the lake. There is a discernible path. Meysan lake is beautiful. Unlike the Whitney trail you may very well encounter complete solitude here. No Whitney permit needed for this hike, but permit is required for overnight use. An under-appreciated escape.

hiking
8 months ago

My Garmin Montana 650t with optional topo SD card read 12.23 with 4228. This read more than 9.9 as well. The admin people need to change the listing. Also, there are better lakes with better hikes. But all in all, not bad.

backpacking
9 months ago

This is the second time I’ve hiked this trail and the second time I didn’t go to Meysan Lake. The first time is because my dog’s pads got pretty tore up so we camped at Grass Lake instead. This time I was without my dog as my goal was to climb Lone Pine Peak. I got to Lone Pine pretty late on Friday so decided to camp at the Whitney Portal campground Friday night to get on the trail early Saturday morning. The hike up to Grass Lake is scenic and not too hard. I set up camp at grass lake and headed up towards Lone Pine Peak. If you wish to climb Lone Pine Peak you’ll want to look for a chute towards the south east from the lake. It’s easy to miss as it doesn’t look much like a trail at all. You can also follow my recording. All in all I love this trail and will eventually hike it just to go to Meysan Lake as it looks beautiful and looked amazing from on top of Lone Pine Peak.

hiking
10 months ago

Did not make it to the lake. Maybe next time. Strenuous and steep. You can get lost with the trail as you go closer to the top. My dog got very tired. Found a spot by the creek. Be prepared with mosquitoes. Left at 9am got there around 2pm. I accidentally left my sleeping bag and went back. My first time hiking at night left before dawn around 7 pm. My head light was great. It started to get dark. Made it safe to the parking. Great adventure.

hiking
rocky
Sun May 19 2019

hiking
Tue Nov 20 2018

Excellent day hike. Good elevation gains. Keep right at the first lake to get to Meysan. The trail is a bit hard to follow at times but not too bad.

hiking
Tue Sep 18 2018

This trail is a treat: seclusion, scenery, available water, and a good work-out due to elevation gain. It took us four and one-half hours to arrive a Grass Lake, and less than three hours to get back to Whitney Portal. Met a sole hiker on his way down the trail, and one family of four near Grass Lake. As others have stated, you get to hike a trail that is nearly void of other people. Beautiful scenery, too. I posted a few photos. One of my favorite day hikes, and no permit is required (unless you are an overnight visitor). Enjoy...

hiking
Wed Aug 22 2018

I still can’t get over how secluded and lucky I felt on this trail after seeing hundreds of people at the Whitney portal store. It felt like the best kept secret in the area. With everybody clamoring to get up with me, I thought for certain this trail would be busy given that it’s within walking distance start from the Whitney portal. Nope. Nobody. Just pristine scenery and my dogs. I chose this trail because I didn’t need a permit and I could bring my dogs. Both of my dogs are exceptionally trail savvy and have done very long hikes and overnight backpacking trips. That being said, I’m glad I brought trail shoes for them because this trail tends to get very sharp. Fortunately there is plenty of water on the route so I didn’t need to pack water for them. Like many people before me said, this is a well marked trail for the first four miles, then tends to get a little bit hard to navigate in the last mile or so. Here are my tips if you are going to make the climb… 1. Make sure to check in with this trail map so that it tracks your location the entire way up. When the trail gets unclear, this map in particularly well save you from getting off course. So much of the trail is very clear, but in some areas it looks like people did their own offshoots which made navigation a little bit confusing. 2. If in the summer months, start at dawn to avoid high temperatures on the ascent. I started at 6:30 AM and started to peel off layers by 9 AM because of the heat. I had the sun at my back on the decent. 3. Watch for the cairns. They truly helped me stay on course. 4. If you have dogs, have them wear boots. They sure hate those boots, but the moment I took off one of my dogs boots for a break, she tore open a pad badly. The rocks at the top are super sharp. 5. I didn’t see another soul. while I enjoyed being secluded, I’m glad that I checked in with people before and after. This is not at all like Whitney. You are alone out there. 6. Keep a close eye out on the map as you get to the very top. The last stretch between the tiny lake before the end of the trail feels like a false finish. The last home requires bouldering. Then you are treated to a crystal clear quiet lake. It’s just beyond the big grassy meadow and small lake. It took me five hours to get to the top, I spent one hour resting at the top and it took me four hours to get down, with a total of 10 hours. I consider myself extremely fit, and was definitely challenged in the last mile and a half. Just keep going! It is worth it.

Sat Jul 07 2018

Perfect introduction to the Whitney Zone area for me. I have extensively backpacked north of Whitney and have purposely stayed away from this area due to popularity. This trail, however, is most definitely a path less traveled and we barely saw anyone, making it a lovely weekend. The trail starts very mellow and the gradual climb up between two immense and beautiful geological mammoths, amongst the trees and alongside a rushing Creek. It's soft on the feet for about 2 miles then it changes to quite rocky trail. Then the trail gets very strenuous and harder to follow up to Grass lake. From Grass to Camp Lake you're tired and feeling elevation, and it's about to get harder. We climbed up to Meysan at the outlet (difficult, steep bouldering for about 500ft up) and found a camping spot. Breathtaking! Fishing is plentiful. We were alone and the weather was extremely pleasant. We could comfortablely hang out in our swimsuits at 4pm. It took 6 hours to hike the 5.2 miles up, and 4 hours to get back the next day, including a detour to Grass Lake (which is equally breathtaking!). This is a tough hike but the reward is immense : beautiful views, solitude, fish, challenging hike, cross country experience, climbing experience.

hiking
Sun May 27 2018

Good views up to Lone Pine Peak and then back in to the valley. Unfortunately we didn’t make it all the way to the lake due to snow and tired legs from a previous hike, but well worth the effort and would do it again

hiking
Mon May 14 2018

Amazing Hike! Completely worth it. Beautiful view of Lone Pine peak. Lots of snow still getting up to the lake. Not too difficult.

Tue May 08 2018

Easy trail to follow pretty views and worth it

backpacking
Fri Aug 04 2017

Extreme workout but worth every step

Thu Dec 29 2016

Awsome, I was torn between keeping it to myself or posting this.

hiking
Tue Oct 11 2016

Meysan lake is harsh, stark, and beautiful. The last 2 miles of the hike are much more strenuous than the first half. Using a GPS is a must, as the trail does not exist between Camp lake and Meysan Lake, and we had to rely on cairns and our topo maps to get to Meysan. Most of the lakes are completely dried up now (not sure if this is the drought or because we did this very late in the season, first weekend of October) but Meysan lake still has plenty of water. When we arrived, it was a sparkling deep turquoise, and the towering peaks surrounding it looks otherworldly. Very doable as a day hike. Took us about 6 hours total, but I would budget at least 7 so that you can spend more time at the lake.

hiking
Wed Jul 13 2016

Great trail. No permits, no people. Route does get a little unclear at times. Nice warm up for Mount Whitney.

hiking
Sat Jun 04 2016

About five miles in and five miles out. Excellent lakes. Bring a hammock!

hiking
Wed Jul 08 2015

Steep switchbacks for the first 4 miles. There are 3 lakes once you reach the top (beautiful landscape change - greenery and wild flowers), the first is Grass lake, then continue on to Camp Lake, but to reach Meysan Lake requires a lot of work. The trail isn't easily marked so it's difficult to get lost. Maps or GPS helps. Expect a lot of rock climbing. Pretty advanced and challenging trek but worth the view! Bring a waterproof jacket as it rained on us going down the mountain.

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

recorded Meysan Trail

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

Showing results 1 - 29 of 68