Matt Davis Trail to Bootjack Trail Loop

MODERATE 21 reviews
#29 of 82 trails in

Matt Davis Trail to Bootjack Trail Loop is a 6.9 mile heavily trafficked loop trail located near Mill Valley, California that features a waterfall. The trail is rated as moderate and primarily used for hiking, walking, and trail running.

Distance: 6.9 miles Elevation Gain: 1,512 feet Route Type: Loop

hiking

trail running

walking

forest

views

waterfall

no dogs

Hike was amazing! Came across being able to picnic on a rock in front of a mini waterfall from the river that’s near. Aside from all the stairs up hill it was all worth it!

hiking
2 months ago

It was a lovely hike, the streams and creeks are flowing. The trail is well marked and maintained and I am happy to have made the trip.

8 months ago

great forest trail down into Muir woods. pay attention to trail markings and gps. We got side tracked a couple miles but worth the detour! pretty moderate especially bc of the length. took about 4hrs with 9ppl @ ~23min/mi.

hiking
Sunday, February 11, 2018

Multiple terrains and ecosystems on this big loop that goes down into Muir Woods and then back up on the high side of Panorama road. We hiked from the parking lot at Mountain Home, clockwise, It was a terrific morning! We spent some time walking around Muir Woods boardwalk a bit then continued back up Bootjack trail. Lots of trees and waterfalls. Nice!

hiking
Saturday, December 23, 2017

Beautiful hike, but mislead by AllTrails... this hike is NOT dog friendly. We had to turn around and abort because it was very clear that dogs were not welcome.

Sunday, July 09, 2017

Great hike under trees !

hiking
Monday, February 13, 2017

This is a great hike after some heavy rains. All the streams on Matt Davis are flowing and the hike down to Muir Woods is extremely lush.

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
Saturday, May 19, 2018

hiking
Tuesday, April 17, 2018

trail running
Saturday, February 17, 2018

hiking
Saturday, January 20, 2018

recorded matt

hiking
Monday, October 02, 2017

hiking
Saturday, September 30, 2017

hiking
Saturday, August 12, 2017

hiking
Thursday, July 20, 2017

Sunday, April 09, 2017

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Featured Trails