Johnstone Trail

MODERATE 25 reviews
#1 of 3 trails in

Johnstone Trail is a 2.6 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Inverness, California that features beautiful wild flowers. The trail is rated as moderate and primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding.

DISTANCE
2.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
462 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

beach

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

no dogs

A very well-maintained trail in the coastal headlands that lead you to some very secluded shoreline. An excellent option is you want to get away from the crowds.

1 month ago

Beautiful trail but TONS of poison oak!

hiking
1 month ago

We took our ten month old out in his hiking backpack for his first outing and we were pleased with this trail! We would definitely do it again. Plenty of shade, some pretty flowers and a nice beach rest at the end. Also, we saw tons of bat rays in the water on the bay. Very cool!

hiking
3 months ago

Great hike with some beautiful views both at the top and near the shoreline where there’s access to picnic tables and bbq grills if interested.

Tuesday, July 04, 2017

nice moderate hike, especially for kids

hiking
Tuesday, September 06, 2016

Easy trail. Not too much hikers on a labor day weekend. Bonus is hearts desire beach is nearby.

hiking
Sunday, February 28, 2016

We hiked the Shell Beach trail. The hike was very easy and short only a little over a mile out and back. The San Andreas fault line runs through Tomales Bay. The view from Shell Beach is very panoramic. We went at low tide when the rocks on the beach were covered with mussels. It's a nice short hike and the beach is a good spot for a picnic or fishing ;)

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
Sunday, July 16, 2017

Monday, May 29, 2017

walking
Friday, April 28, 2017

hiking
Wednesday, December 28, 2016

hiking
Saturday, September 24, 2016

hiking
Sunday, July 10, 2016

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Wednesday, May 04, 2016

hiking
Wednesday, April 20, 2016

hiking
Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Wednesday, April 20, 2016