Joatngna Trail (The Elfin Forest Trail)

FACILE 43 avis
N°86 sur 219 randonnées à

Joatngna Trail (Le sentier forestier Elfin) est un sentier en boucle modérément fréquenté situé à proximité de Claremont, en Californie. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la marche, les excursions dans la nature et l'observation des oiseaux. Il est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens sont également capables d'utiliser ce sentier.

Distance: 0.8 miles Dénivelé: 121 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens bienvenus

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

Ce sentier d’un demi-kilomètre vous fait traverser une zone détruite par l’incendie de Padoue en 2003. En marchant, vous vous retrouverez au milieu de pins et de collines couvertes de chaparral. Votre destination peut être soit le guet pour voir le mont. San Antonio (Mt. Baldy), qui s’élève à 10 064 pieds ou le sentier en boucle d’un quart de mille, est une promenade facile et adaptée aux enfants.

randonnée
couvert de végétation
4 months ago

Sentier d'interprétation très envahi par la forêt derrière la station du Service des forêts. La pancarte indique que c'est adapté aux enfants et aux poussettes. Belle perspective pour voir Baldy, cependant.

randonnée
couvert de végétation
4 months ago

Petite randonnée superbe et super rapide (<20-30 min :) TOUTEFOIS, il est très envahi par la végétation, alors portez un pantalon long et épais pour éviter de frotter contre toutes les plantes du sentier. De plus, nous avons eu un réel problème d'insectes, alors apportez un insectifuge. C'est comme ça parfois. S'amuser!

randonnée
5 months ago

Cette courte randonnée est une excellente introduction à l’essence du mont. Baldy et l'histoire qui l'entoure. Les vues sont à couper le souffle, mais l’histoire autour de la région le rend beaucoup plus convaincant ... Les Tongva sont des Amérindiens du sud de la Californie et ils habitaient le bassin de Los Angeles et les îles Anglo-Normandes du sud. jeu, et est allé pêcher dans les rivières et l'océan. Et les femmes rassemblèrent des glands, des noix, des haricots et des fruits. Ils faisaient cuire du pain avec de la farine de gland spécialement préparée, ou parfois du maïs qu’ils vendaient. Il y a 31 sites connus qui auraient été des villages de Tongva (à l'origine du nom du sentier de Joatngna), chacun ayant eu entre 400 et 500 cabanes. Prendre plaisir!

randonnée
couvert de végétation
effacé
hors piste
rocheux
5 months ago

Le sentier est envahi et le chemin n’est pas défini en raison d’un manque d’entretien. Il a une vue magnifique et une rivière qui passe à travers. C'est une courte randonnée facile.

5 months ago

Belle courte randonnée, le sentier a beaucoup de surcroissance des pluies récentes Un peu déroutant à cause des lacets, suivez la carte. belle vue sur le ruisseau Baldy depuis le point de vue. N'oubliez pas votre passe pour le désert.

randonnée
7 months ago

Un tel sentier pour les enfants! C'était comme si nous marchions dans une jungle avec la pluie récente. Ce fut une randonnée rapide avec un grand gain d'altitude.

randonnée
10 months ago

Super petite randonnée pour la famille.

Monday, March 19, 2018

Belle petite randonnée. Belles vues.

randonnée
Saturday, September 23, 2017

Beau sentier court, idéal pour les jeunes enfants de 3 ans et plus. Pas facile pour les poussettes, peu d'ombre, banc de pique-nique amusant avec une vue amusante. Besoin d'un laissez-passer de stationnement en forêt, disponible au centre d'accueil du mont Baldy.

randonnée
Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Beaucoup de graffitis. Pas une piste claire

randonnée
Tuesday, July 04, 2017

Parfait pour les enfants :)

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

C'est une randonnée facile à faire et même si vous ne vous éloignez pas trop de la route. C'était parfait pour prendre mon chiot lors de sa première randonnée.

Saturday, January 07, 2017

C'est une si belle région. Il y a un ruisseau, auquel je ne m'attendais pas, et des trouvailles intéressantes comme un petit pré et des morceaux de vieille route. Le sentier est vraiment délavé par endroits, mais c'est un endroit assez facile à explorer. Beaucoup de graffitis à certains endroits et certaines poubelles (bien que pas excessives). À part ça, j'ai été agréablement surpris et je reviendrai à coup sûr. Vous êtes censé avoir un laissez-passer d’aventure pour vous garer, mais vous pouvez vous garer plus en aval (avant de vous rendre aux panneaux indiquant que vous devez afficher le laissez-passer).

Monday, December 19, 2016

Beau paysage, il venait de pleuvoir alors le niveau d'eau était élevé. Je n'ai pas pu trouver de boucle et j'ai perdu la piste. Je pense que cela est dû au niveau de l'eau.

randonnée
21 days ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Joatngna Trail (The Elfin Forest Trail)

easyYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray Star(64)
Angeles National Forest

Joatngna Trail (The Elfin Forest Trail) is a 0.8 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Claremont, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 0.8 miles Elevation Gain: 121 feet Route Type: Loop

dog friendly

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

This half-mile trail takes you through an area burned in the 2003 Padua Fire. As you walk, you will find yourself among pine trees and chaparral-covered hillsides. Your destination can be either the lookout to view Mt. San Antonio (Mt. Baldy) which stands at an impressive 10,064 feet or the quarter-mile loop trail- an easy and child friendly stroll.

hiking
bugs
over grown
4 days ago

It was overall a nice trail, but my friend accidentally stepped on a snake and we saw another one while going up. There’s a lot of wildlife, bees, ticks, spiders, etc. It’s very overgrown as well.

hiking
bugs
over grown
19 days ago

Great quick little hike! Very over grown and lots and lots of bees. Very dog friendly great little areas for pictures and some shade in some places. Definitely wear full length pants or active wear for your legs so they don’t get torn up from the over grown areas like mine did.

running
over grown
20 days ago

hiking
4 months ago

Super short but you feel like an explorer

hiking
over grown
4 months ago

hiking
over grown
rocky
4 months ago

Awesome trail for my 2-4 yr old boys. There are some parts that I needed to hold them and guide them through but overall it’s a great beginning hike that has mountains, a river or creek, old roads, a great look out spot, and a not too sketchy bridge. Boys loved it. Lots of history in this area as well so that’s cool.

hiking
rocky
4 months ago

hiking
over grown
11 months ago

Very overgrown interpretive trail behind the Forest Service station. The sign says it's stroller and kid friendly, it's not unless you carry them. Nice outlook to see Baldy, though.

hiking
over grown
11 months ago

Beautiful and super quick little hike (<20-30 min:) HOWEVER, it’s very very overgrown so wear long, thickish pants to avoid brushing up against all the plants in the path. Also, we had a real problem with bugs so bring bug spray. It be like that sometimes. Have fun!

hiking
Mon May 20 2019

This short hike is a great introduction to the essence of Mt. Baldy and the history around it. The views are stunning, but the story around the area makes it much more compelling... The Tongva are Native American people of Southern California and they inhabited the Los Angeles Basin and the Southern Channel Islands.The men hunted deer, rabbits, and small game, and went fishing in the rivers and ocean. And the women gathered acorns, nuts, beans, and fruits. They baked bread from specially prepared acorn flour, or sometimes from corn they got in trade. There are 31 known sites believed to have been Tongva villages (the origin of the Joatngna Trail name) each having had as many as 400 to 500 huts. Enjoy!

hiking
off trail
over grown
rocky
washed out
Wed May 15 2019

Trail is overgrown & the path is not defined due to lack of maintenance. It has beautiful views & a river that passes thru it. Its a short easy hike.

Sat Apr 20 2019

Nice short hike, trail has lots of overgrowth from the recent rains. A little bit confusing due to the switchbacks, follow the map. nice view of Mt Baldy stream from the lookout point. don't forget your wilderness pass.

hiking
Tue Mar 05 2019

Such a great trail for kids! It felt like we were walking through a jungle with all the recent rain. It was a quick hike with a great amount of elevation gain.

hiking
Fri Nov 23 2018

Great little hike for the family.

Mon Mar 19 2018

Nice little hike. Nice views.

hiking
Sat Sep 23 2017

Nice short trail, perfect for young children 3 and up. Not stroller friendly, bit a lot of shade, fun picnic bench at the to with a fun view. Need a forest parking pass, available at the Mt Baldy visitor center.

hiking
Tue Sep 19 2017

Lots of graffiti. Not a clear trail

hiking
Tue Jul 04 2017

Perfect for the kids :)

Tue Jan 17 2017

This is a great easy hike to do and although you don't get to far away from the road. This was perfect for taking my puppy on her first hike.

Sat Jan 07 2017

This is such a beautiful area. There's a stream, which I wasn't expecting, and some cool finds like a little meadow and bits of old road. The trail is really washed out in places, but it's an easy enough area to explore. Lots of graffiti in places and some (although not excessive) trash. Other than that, I was pleasantly surprised, and I will definitely be back. You're supposed to have an adventure pass to park, but there are other turnouts you can park in further down the hill (before you get to the signs that say you must display the pass).

Mon Dec 19 2016

Beautiful scenery, it had just rained so water level was high. I could not find a loop and lost the trail. I think it my be due to water level.

hiking
17 hours ago

Showing results 1 - 24 of 64