High Sierra Trail: Ninemile Creek to Bearpaw Meadow

DIFFICILE 8 avis
N°56 sur 91 randonnées à

Sentier High Sierra: De Ninemile Creek à Bearpaw Meadow est un sentier modérément fréquenté situé à proximité de Three Rivers, en Californie, qui présente de belles fleurs sauvages et est considéré comme difficile. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de mars à novembre. Les chevaux peuvent également utiliser ce sentier.

Distance: 20.5 miles Dénivelé: 4,340 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

activités en pleine nature

ornithologie

course à pied

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

insectes

chiens interdits

Il s’agit d’une belle randonnée qui serait spectaculaire si c’était la seule randonnée que vous entrepreniez dans le parc national de Sequoia. La grande chose à propos de cette randonnée est que vous obtenez de voir des parties de trois sentiers vraiment superbes: Alta, Sevenmile et High Sierra. L’inconvénient est qu’il s’agit principalement de montées, et non des plus spectaculaires de prairies, de points d’intérêt, de destinations ou de vues. Ce qui distingue ce sentier, c’est que la jonction avec le sentier Alta offre l’un des meilleurs points de vue près de la route, juste au-dessus du plus haut des Castle Rocks, et pas très loin sous le Great Western Divide avec ses pics des rochers. Vous pouvez également commencer cette randonnée à Crescent Meadows et suivre le sentier de haute Sierra jusqu'au connecteur menant à Alta Trail. Si vous campez à Bearpaw ou Buck Creek, faites une randonnée différente. Si vous ne faites que passer la journée, empruntez le sentier Alta pour faire une boucle dans la forêt géante et combinez-le dans un incroyable échantillonneur de parties de séquoia et d'alpage du parc.

randonnée
3 months ago

C'est un très beau sentier, en particulier les premières sections qui surplombent la Sierra et passent des cascades et de nombreuses fleurs sauvages. Nous avons été déçus par le camping Bear Paw, situé dans la forêt et inondé de moustiques. Nous sommes donc retournés à Buck Creek pour y camper pendant la nuit. Buck Creek est une rivière rapide, très belle pour camper à côté, offrant beaucoup d’eau. La distance peut être difficile pour certains, mais dans l’ensemble, le sentier est facile à suivre et généralement plat.

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
Fri Jun 22 2018

randonnée
Wed Jun 20 2018

Sat May 28 2016

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

High Sierra Trail: Ninemile Creek to Bearpaw Meadow

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(11)
Sequoia National Park

High Sierra Trail: Ninemile Creek to Bearpaw Meadow is a 20.5 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Three Rivers, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until November. Horses are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 20.5 miles Elevation Gain: 4,340 feet Route Type: Out & Back

backpacking

camping

hiking

horseback riding

nature trips

bird watching

running

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

bugs

no dogs

This is a nice hike, and would be a spectacular one if it were the only hike you were taking in Sequoia National Park. The great thing about this hike is that you get to see parts of three really superb trails: the Alta, Sevenmile and the High Sierra. The downside is that it is mostly uphill, and not the most spectacular of meadows, points of interest, destinations or views. What makes this trail stand out is the junction with the Alta Trail holds one of the best views that close to the road, as you sit just above the tallest of the Castle Rocks, and not too far below the Great Western Divide with it's peaks and crags. You could also begin this hike at Crescent Meadows and follow the high Sierra Trail to the connector to the Alta Trail. If you are camped at Bearpaw or Buck Creek, take a different hike. If you are just going out for the day, take the Alta Trail in as a loop through the Giant Forest to combine this into an amazing sampler of the sequoia and alpine parts of the park.

hiking
11 months ago

This is a very beautiful trail, especially the first sections that overlook the Sierra and pass waterfalls and many wild flowers. We were disappointed in bear paw campsite which was right in the forest and inundated with mosquitoes so we hiked back to Buck creek and camped there overnight. Buck creek is a fast flowing river so really beautiful to camp next to, offering plenty of water. The distance might be challenging for some but overall the trail is easy to follow and generally flat

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Fri Jun 22 2018

hiking
Wed Jun 20 2018

Sat May 28 2016