Hammond Coastal Trail is a 8.8 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Arcata, California that features a river and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
8.8 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
390 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

wheelchair friendly

stroller friendly

birding

hiking

horseback riding

road biking

trail running

walking

beach

partially paved

river

views

wild flowers

wildlife

This 5-plus mile hiking/biking/equestrian component of the California Coastal Trail stretches from the Arcata Bottoms northward to Clam Beach County Park in McKinleyville.

5 months ago

fun area , easy walk can go a few feet or a few miles lol

6 months ago

I really like this trail. I enjoy riding my bike on it for some exercise.

7 months ago

I grew up here and it is amazingly beautiful!

10 months ago

Very fun and accessible with plenty of amazing views!!

hiking
Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Only hiked part of it. I'll take my bike back and do the rest.

Friday, November 10, 2017

Great for hiking and biking. You can choose to do a small potion or the entire trail without any difficulty.

hiking
Saturday, November 04, 2017

Hiked a portion of the trail 4 miles to Clam.Beach.

Saturday, March 26, 2016

fun bike trail/ walking, beautiful views and trails. all ages fun

road biking
Wednesday, September 09, 2015

Great place to bike with you child !

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Great path available for run or bike! Constantly take the baby and go .. Beach or farmers market it connects them all!!! :)

Monday, August 10, 2015

I go here almost every day. I love it.

cross country skiing
Sunday, June 28, 2015

Easy & beautiful.

Saturday, May 23, 2015

Always pleasant to bike along the Hammond Trail. We're so fortunate to live so close to it!

12 days ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

Sunday, October 22, 2017

hiking
Monday, September 18, 2017

hiking
Monday, September 04, 2017

road biking
Sunday, August 27, 2017

mountain biking
Saturday, August 19, 2017

hiking
Sunday, August 13, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Thursday, July 13, 2017

road biking
Monday, July 03, 2017

hiking
Monday, July 03, 2017

Sunday, March 12, 2017

Load More