Goldenrod Loop

MODERATE 23 reviews
#5 of 16 trails in

Goldenrod Loop is a 4 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Oakland, California that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
4.0 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
528 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dog friendly

birding

hiking

horseback riding

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

lake

views

A moderate loop trail with views of the Upper San Leandro Reservoir

hiking
9 days ago

Nice breezes for a warm day, pretty smatterings of wild flowers and the front side was deserted. Second half of the loop on horseback/Brandon had more people (probably because it’s flatter).

1 month ago

The return 1/3 of the hike is definitely on the high end of moderate with the steep uphill climb, but totally doable. I went after a week of rain, so about 40 yards at the bottom at lake level were more creek than trail, but relatively easy to hop in most places. Horse poop at the top and accessible water at the bottom were a tad challenging to keep my off-leash dogs under control, though.

walking
Saturday, October 29, 2016

I rated this Trail low because of all the horse poop, especially on the northern end by the horse ranch. The Goldenrod Trail was less traveled, probably because it's windy and hilly. I didn't encounter anyone on this section when I walked on a Saturday morning. The Branden Trail is nicer and more traveled. The trail felt safe and the people I met were friendly. I went after it rained the previous night and it was muddy, which is to be expected. There are better options for hiking in the area in my opinion and I don't plan to return.

hiking
16 days ago

hiking
30 days ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

11 months ago

hiking
Monday, May 08, 2017

Sunday, April 02, 2017

Sunday, February 12, 2017

Friday, November 25, 2016

mountain biking
Thursday, November 03, 2016

hiking
Monday, July 04, 2016

hiking
Sunday, July 03, 2016

hiking
Sunday, June 12, 2016

Saturday, May 28, 2016

trail running
Saturday, May 14, 2016

hiking
Saturday, January 02, 2016

Saturday, April 11, 2015