Golden Spike, Bridle Trail, French Trail, West Ridge Trail Loop

MITTELSCHWER 104 Bewertungen
#11 von 50 Wegen in

Golden Spike, Bridle Trail, Französischer Wanderweg, West Ridge Trail Loop ist ein 8,1 Meilen langer Wanderweg, der in der Nähe von Oakland, Kalifornien, liegt und schöne wilde Blumen aufweist. Der Weg bietet zahlreiche Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und ist das ganze Jahr über zugänglich. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen.

Entfernung: 8.1 miles Höhenunterschied: 1,558 feet Routentyp: Rundweg

hundefreundlich

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Spazieren

Vogelbeobachtung

Laufen

Wald

Aussicht

Wildblumen

wandern
3 months ago

So viel Gifteiche. Ich badete in Tecnu und brach immer noch aus. Komme nicht wieder ...

wandern
6 months ago

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die in der Beschreibung erstellte Schleife nicht mit dem Pfad auf der Karte übereinstimmt. Wenn Sie den aufgeführten Wegen in der angegebenen Reihenfolge folgen, werden Sie Ihrer Reise mehr als 2 Meilen hinzufügen. Wenn Sie einen Blick auf die Karte werfen, sehen Sie, wie Sie von French über Redwood nach West Ridge fahren und den French Trail nehmen, bis Sie West Ridge erreichen. Die Wanderung ist schön, aber es fehlt etwas an Aussicht

wandern
Sat Sep 08 2018

Sie müssen am Straßenrand parken, um zu dieser Wanderung zu gelangen, da es keinen öffentlichen Parkplatz gibt. Der Ausgangspunkt befindet sich in einem Reitzentrum, aber es ist nicht klar, ob das Publikum dort parken kann oder nicht. Ich habe gerade auf der Straße geparkt. Auf dem ersten Abschnitt gibt es keine Redwoods, und die Landschaft in diesem Abschnitt war Anfang September sehr trocken. Schließlich kommen Sie zu den Redwoods, die zwar der interessanteste Teil der Wanderung sind, aber niemals einen weiten Ausblick bieten. Es gibt einige recht steile Anstiege für kurze Strecken. Wenn Sie also jemanden neuen zum Wandern mitnehmen, sollten Sie ihn darauf vorbereiten. Es ist nicht das schwierigste überhaupt, aber dieser Weg hat einige Anstiege. Insgesamt gab es nicht genug Ansichten, um dies mehr als einmal zu unternehmen.

Fri Aug 17 2018

Wir haben diese Schleife gegen den Uhrzeigersinn gestartet. Ich glaube immer noch, dass es eine kluge Entscheidung war. Ich würde es nicht schwer bewerten, eher als mittel / mittel. Es ist 8,6 Meilen nicht 7,1. Wie auch immer Sie gehen, Sie werden 1,5 Meilen in der Sonne wandern, der Rest sind nur schattige Rothölzer.

Wed Jul 18 2018

Tolle Landschaft und starke Höhenunterschiede. kühler Schatten an heißen Tagen.

wandern
Fri Jun 22 2018

Sehr schöne Gegend, wenn Sie den Grat in Richtung Osten überqueren. Tonnen von Redwoods und Farnen, sehr schattig und viel weniger Verkehr. Ich würde diese Schleife wärmstens empfehlen.

wandern
Sun Jan 07 2018

Wunderschöne Aussicht. So eine tolle Flucht aus der Stadt.

wandern
Tue Jan 02 2018

Gute Leine für Hunde für den größten Teil des Weges, außer am Anfang, wo der Stall ist. Echo vorheriger Rezensent, dass ich dies als moderat bewerten würde, nicht schwer. Einige Höhenunterschiede, aber dazwischen Pausen. Die Route hat mehrere Auswahlpunkte, um die Schleife länger oder kürzer zu machen.

wandern
Mon Dec 04 2017

Gute Wanderung. Hundefreundlich Ich konnte meinen Hund fast die gesamte Spur von der Leine nehmen. Es gibt eine halbe Meile des Weges, wo Hunde an der Leine sein müssen. Einige Abschnitte werden mit Pferden und Fahrrädern geteilt. Aus Gründen der Sicherheit Ihres Hundes und anderer Benutzer wird eine gute Handhabung der Hunde empfohlen. 50-60% unter Schatten. Einige steile Felsabschnitte, gute Schuhe sind zu empfehlen. Ich werde diesen Weg eher als moderat als schwer einstufen. Trail mit mäßigem Verkehr, in den 3 Stunden trafen wir ungefähr 25 Gruppen, fast alle mit Hunden (ohne Leine), und wir trafen 3 Pferde. Dieser Weg hat kaum Aussichtspunkte. Kein Telefondienst (AT & T) für die ersten 30% der Wanderung.

wandern
Thu May 25 2017

Zunächst einmal habe ich Verizon und in diesem Bereich gibt es NULL-Zelldienste. Wenn Sie vom Highway 13 auf die Redwood Road kommen, ist die Kreuzung des Skyline Blvd der letzte Ort, an dem Sie Service haben. Ich lasse Sie entscheiden, ob das eine gute oder eine schlechte Sache ist. Ich stimme dem Vorschlag von Matts zu, vom Big Bear Staging-Bereich aus zu starten. Überqueren Sie die Straße und Sie befinden sich sofort auf dem Golden Spike Trail und waren ein guter Start für die Wanderung. Wenn Sie den Weg vom Big Bear Staging Area aus beginnen, biegen Sie an einer Weggabelung ab, um links oder rechts auf dem Golden Spike Trail zu gehen. Ich bin richtig gegangen. Dieser Teil des Weges ist ungefähr drei Fuß breit und gerade breit genug für eine Person. Es ist sehr ruhig und hat viel Schatten. Gehen Sie jedoch vorsichtig vor, da der Weg entlang des Weges steil abfällt und einige überbewachsene Vegetation kleine Teile dieses Weges bedeckt. Nach etwa einer Meile auf diesem Weg schlagen Sie eine andere Abzweigung ein, um zum West Ridge Trail (links) oder zum Bridle Trail (Rechts) zu gelangen. Ich ging nach links und als ich den West Ridge Trail erreichte, ging ich nach links, um den Berg hinaufzugehen. Die nächsten 0,6 Meilen bis zur Kreuzung des Toyon Trail gewinnen Sie etwa 400 Höhenmeter. Machen Sie sich also sicher, dass Sie sich Zeit lassen. Der West Ridge Trail ist ungefähr 15 Meter breit und besteht hauptsächlich aus Felsgestein / Sand / Erde und ist ein Mountainbike- / Reitweg mit einer 50/50-Mischung aus Schatten und offenem Gelände. Von der Kreuzung von Toyon Trail und West Ridge bis zum Redwood Peak ist es leicht und moderat. Die Gesamtzeit vom Big Bear Staging Area bis zum Redwood Peak (3,5 Meilen) entlang der Route betrug 1 Stunde und 15 Minuten. Der gleiche Weg zurück war 45 Minuten. Während der gesamten Wanderung traf ich nur drei Leute, was ein schöner Ablenkung von dem Lärm der Menschen war, die bei vielen Wanderungen in den East Bay Regional Parks stattfanden. Ich werde auf jeden Fall wiederkommen, wenn ich mehr Zeit habe, alle Pfade dieses Parks zu erkunden.

wandern
Mon May 08 2017

Der Ausgangspunkt für diesen Weg ist in den Piedmont Stables, aber ich denke nicht, dass dies ein idealer Ort für den typischen Wanderer ist. Etwas weiter die Straße hinunter parkte ich am Big Bear Staging-Bereich, der sich in der Nähe des Redwood Gate befindet. Ein Vorteil dieses Staging-Bereichs ist die günstige Lage an der Redwood Road, sodass keine saisonale Eintrittsgebühr anfällt und Sie nicht bis ca. 8.30 Uhr auf das Tor warten müssen, wie im nahe gelegenen Redwood Tor. Parken Sie einfach entlang der Redwood Road in der Big Bear Staging Area, überqueren Sie die Straße und Sie befinden sich auf dem Golden Spike Trail. Es gibt auch einen Pfad, der diesen Bereich mit dem Macdonald Gate verbindet und den Anthony Chabot Regional Park ermöglicht. Mit dem Abschluss dieses Pfades habe ich offiziell alle Pfade im Redwood Regional Park gewandert, die derzeit auf All Trails aufgeführt sind. Abgesehen davon war dieser Weg wahrscheinlich der schwierigste, da er den meisten Höhenunterschied aufweist und fast 8 Meilen lang ist. Der Aufstieg vom French Trail über den Redwood Peak Trail nach West Ridge ist steinig und etwas technisch, daher denke ich, dass der Schwierigkeitsgrad eher hart als mittelmäßig ist. Dieser ist nicht für Anfänger. Auf der positiven Seite ist der Weg meistens beschattet, sodass der Redwood-Schirm auch im Sommer kühl bleibt. Es gibt einen kleinen Verbindungspfad zwischen Golden Spike und West Ridge, der nicht auf der Kartenebene Alle Trails angezeigt wird. Sie werden es auf den anderen Kartenebenen sehen. Alle Trails müssen ihre Karte aktualisieren. Ich habe ein Foto davon auf meiner Spur gemacht. Sie können es wirklich nicht verfehlen. Dieser Weg bietet eine Vielzahl von Gelände und Laub. French Trail ist bei weitem mein Favorit im Park. Es führt Sie durch das Herz des Redwood Forest. Je tiefer Sie in den Wald gehen, desto weniger Menschen werden Sie sehen. Es ist der perfekte Ort, um den Kopf frei von allen Ablenkungen der Welt zu machen.

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
4 months ago

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Routen

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Golden Spike, Bridle Trail, French Trail, West Ridge Trail Loop

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(118)
Redwood Regional Park

Golden Spike, Bridle Trail, French Trail, West Ridge Trail Loop is a 8.1 mile heavily trafficked loop trail located near Oakland, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Length 8.1 mi Elevation gain 1,558 ft Route type Loop

Dog friendly

Hiking

Nature trips

Walking

Bird watching

Running

Forest

Views

Wild flowers

Description
Waypoints (0)

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (119)
Photos (1099)
Recordings (121)
Completed (314)
Marisa Roskelley
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Jul 08 2020
WalkingOver grown

My dogs and I loved this trail. Not too hard, lots of shade. Perfect to meander after a rough 12 hour night shift. I parked at the Big Bear staging area and entered the trail at the gate across the street.

Spivey McLane
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Jun 20 2020
HikingBugsOver grownRocky
View Spivey's Recording
Jeannine Gillikin
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat Aug 03 2019
Hiking

So much poison oak. I bathed in Tecnu and still broke out. Won’t be back...

Blaine Swarthout
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Apr 21 2019
Hiking

Please note, the loop created in the description does not match the path on the map. If you follow the trails listed in order then you will add 2+ miles to your journey. If you take a look the map, it shows going from French to Redwood to West Ridge vs taking the French Trail until you hit West Ridge. Hike is nice but somewhat lacking in views

Regina W.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat Sep 08 2018
Hiking

You have to park on the side of the road to access this hike since there is no public parking lot. The trailhead is at an equestrian center, but it’s not clear whether the public can park there or not, so I just parked on the street. There are no redwoods on the first section of trail and the scenery in that section was very dry in early September. Eventually you get to the redwoods which while it’s the most interesting part of the hike, still never offers any expansive views. There are some fairly steep climbs for short distances, so if you are taking someone new to hiking prepare them to expect that. It’s not the most difficult thing ever, but this trail does have some climbs. Overall, there weren’t enough views for me to want to hike this more than once.

Ioan Bacila
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Aug 17 2018

We've started this loop anticlock wise. Still believe was a smart decision. I wouldn't rate it hard, more like moderate/medium. It is 8.6 miles not 7.1. Either way you go you are going to hike in the sun for 1.5 miles, the rest is just beautiful shady redwoods.

H Wulfsberg
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Jul 18 2018

Great scenery and stout elevations changes. cool shade on hot days.

Kyle Krik
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Jun 22 2018
Hiking

Very beautiful area once you cross over the ridge into the East side of the trail. Tons of redwoods and ferns, very shaded, and much less traffic. I would highly recommend this loop.

Sarah Magluyan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jan 07 2018
Hiking

Beautiful views. Such a great escape from the city.

I-C Hung
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Jan 02 2018
Hiking

Good off-leash for dogs for most of the way except the very beginning, where the stable is. Echo previous reviewer that I would rate this as moderate, not hard. Some elevation but with breaks in between. Also has multiple choice points in route to either make your loop longer or shorter.

Carlos Coral
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon Dec 04 2017
Hiking

Good hike. Dog friendly. I was able to take my dog off leash almost the entire trail. There is half a mile of the trail where dogs need to be on leash. Some sections are shared with horses and bikes, good dog handling is advised for the safety of your dog and other users. 50-60% under shade. Some steep-rocky sections, good shoes are recommended. I will rate this trail as moderate rather than hard. Trail with moderate traffic, during the 3 hours we met about of 25 groups, almost all of them with dogs (off-leash), and we met 3 horses. This trail has hardly any view points. No phone service (AT&T) for the first 30% of the hike.

W. Ng
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu May 25 2017
Hiking

First things first, I have Verizon and there is ZERO cell service in this area. If you're coming in on Redwood Road from Highway 13, the intersection of Skyline Blvd is the last place you'll have service. I'll let you decide if that is a good thing or a bad thing. I agree with Matts' suggestion of starting from the Big Bear Staging area. Cross the street and you're immediately on the Golden Spike Trail and was a nice way to start the hike. As you start on the trail from the Big Bear Staging Area, you'll hit a fork in the trail to go left or right on the Golden Spike Trail. I went right. This portion of the trail is narrow approximately three feet wide, just wide enough for one person. It is very quiet, has lots of shade. However, proceed with caution, as there is a steep drop-off along the trail edge as well as some over grown vegetation that cover small parts of this trail. After about a mile on this trail, you'll hit another fork in the trail, to head to the West Ridge Trail (left) or Bridle Trail (Right). I went left and when I got to the West Ridge Trail, I continued left to go up the mountain. The next 0.6 mile to the intersection of Toyon Trail you’ll gain about almost 400’ in elevation so make sure you take your time. West Ridge Trail is approximately 15 feet wide, and is mostly bedrock/sand/dirt and is a mountain biking/equestrian trail with a 50/50 mixture of shade and open area. From the intersection of Toyon Trail and West Ridge to Redwood Peak is easy going and moderate. Total time from Big Bear Staging Area to Redwood Peak (3.5 miles) along the route was 1hr and 15 minutes. Going back down the same way was 45 minutes. During the entire hike, I only ran into three people, which was a nice get away from all the noise of people from many of the hikes in the east bay regional parks. I'm definitely going to come back when I have more time to explore all the trails of this park.

Matt R
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon May 08 2017
Hiking

The starting point for this trail is at Piedmont Stables, but I don't think this is an ideal staging area for the typical hiker. I parked a little further down the road at Big Bear Staging area, which is close to the Redwood Gate. One advantage of starting at this staging area is that it is conveniently located along Redwood Road, so there is no seasonal entry fee and you don't have to wait until ~8:30am for the gate to open like you do at the nearby Redwood Gate. Simply park along Redwood Road at Big Bear Staging Area, cross the street and you're on Golden Spike Trail. For what it's worth, there is also a trail that connects this staging area to the Macdonald Gate, providing access to Anthony Chabot Regional Park too. With the completion of this trail, I've officially hiked all of the trails in Redwood Regional Park that are currently listed on All Trails. With that being said, this trail was probably the hardest as it has the most elevation gain and is nearly 8 miles long. The climb from French Trail up to West Ridge via Redwood Peak Trail is rocky and somewhat technical, so I think the difficulty rating is closer to hard than it is moderate. This one isn't for beginners. On the plus side, the trail is mostly shaded, so the Redwood canopy keeps you cool even in the summertime. There is a small connector trail between Golden Spike and West Ridge that is not shown on the All Trails map layer. You will see it on the other map layers. All Trails needs to update their map. I took a picture of it on my track. You really can't miss it. This trail offers a variety of terrain and foliage. French Trail is by far my favorite in the park. It takes you through the heart of the Redwood forest. The deeper you go into the forest, the fewer people you will see. It's the perfect place to clear your mind and get away from all the distractions of the world.

Natalia Lunova
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Jul 11 2020
Hiking
View Natalia's Recording
Ilana Hertz
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jul 10 2020
Hiking
View Ilana's Recording
David Harbin
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarTue Jul 07 2020
Hiking
View David's Recording
Ge Zhang
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarTue Jun 30 2020
Hiking
View Ge's Recording
Sara Adams
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Jun 21 2020
Hiking
View Sara's Recording
Sarah Knights
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Jun 17 2020
Hiking
View Sarah's Recording
Aurore Pauchet
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat May 23 2020
Hiking
View Aurore's Recording
Bertrand Baud
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat May 09 2020
Mountain biking
View Bertrand's Recording
Kavya Muthanna
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat May 02 2020
Hiking
View Kavya's Recording
Brooklyn Boston
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri May 01 2020
Hiking
View Brooklyn's Recording
Denise O.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu Mar 26 2020
Hiking
View Denise's Recording
Alex Tangen
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Mar 22 2020
Hiking
View Alex's Recording
David Bradley
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat Mar 21 2020
View David's Recording
Shabnam Kazemlou
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat Jan 18 2020
Hiking
View Shabnam's Recording
Raymundo Ramos
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Jan 07 2020
Hiking
View Raymundo's Recording
Showing results 1 - 28 of 119