Fern Canyon Trail to Vandeventer Trail Loop

MODERATE 31 reviews

Fern Canyon Trail to Vandeventer Trail Loop is a 6 mile loop trail located near Palm Springs, California that offers the chance to see wildlife. The trail is rated as moderate and offers a number of activity options.

Distance: 6.0 miles Elevation Gain: 951 feet Route Type: Loop

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

walking

bird watching

wildlife

no dogs

hiking
5 months ago

Great trail, nice ridge views.

hiking
7 months ago

I think it is important to note that this trail is in the Agua Caliente Indian Canyons (https://www.indian-canyons.com/indian_canyons), and not in the Santa Rosa & San Jacinto Mountains National Monument as it is currently noted here (as of 12/10/2018). There is a fee schedule per person (not per car) to get into this park, but the price is WELL WORTH IT!

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Great views. Full exposure so bring plenty of water. I agree with previous post as to direction. It's nice to end at the oasis.

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Great views with a variety of terrain including washes, switch-backs, cacti, palm trees and very easy water crossing. The 5.7 mile can be done easily in 3.5 hours but very little shade and water is a must.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Beautiful views, make sure to check weather conditions before you go, after you leave the water and shade of the palms its all dessert to the pools and it gets hot with no shade at all!

hiking
Sunday, February 26, 2017

Can be done in 3 hours. Nice to do it this way: fern canyon - vandeventer - palm canyon. At the end, to to the palm canyon, you should follow the lower trail and not the upper one (victor trail). Beautiful hike, not too strenuous, and a lot of landscapes/nature variation.

hiking
22 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
2 months ago

5 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

trail running
Sunday, April 08, 2018

hiking
Sunday, March 18, 2018

hiking
Friday, March 16, 2018

hiking
Monday, March 12, 2018

hiking
Sunday, March 11, 2018

hiking
Wednesday, March 07, 2018

hiking
Thursday, February 22, 2018

hiking
Sunday, February 18, 2018

hiking
Monday, January 29, 2018

hiking
Saturday, November 25, 2017

Load More

Featured Trails