Bei der Dunn Road handelt es sich um einen 15,3 km langen Punkt-zu-Punkt-Pfad in der Nähe von Palm Springs, Kalifornien, mit wunderschönen Wildblumen. Der Weg ist als mittelschwer eingestuft und wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Trailrunning und Mountainbiken verwendet. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

ENTFERNUNG
15.3 Meilen
HÖHENUNTERSCHIED
1,332 Fuß
ROUTENTYP
Direkte Route

angeleinte hunde

Wandern

Mountainbiking

Trailrunning

Aussicht

Wildblumen

steinig

wandern
ausgewaschen
kein schatten
steinig
2 months ago

Ich habe vergessen zu erwähnen, dass ich vergessen habe zu stoppen, bevor wir losfahren. Der letzte Block oder so war also nicht Teil der Wanderung. Auch wenn Sie wie wir darauf zugreifen, kommen Sie zu einem verschlossenen Tor in der Dunn Road auf der Ranch. Folgen Sie dem Zaun nach rechts, bis er zu einem 3-litzigen Stacheldrahtzaun wird. Suchen Sie nach, wo der mittlere Strang gebunden ist. Dort eintreten und dem Wasserlauf folgen, bis Sie links die Straße sehen. Überquere die Wäsche und betrete die Straße. Es ist alles Straße von dort.

wandern
ausgewaschen
kein schatten
steinig
2 months ago

Diese Reise ist schwer / sehr anstrengend. Angefangen bei Pinyon Crest endeten wir mit dem Gedanken, wir würden über einen Grat in ein Tal wandern und dann bis zu den Picknicktischen ziemlich flach gehen. Nein, madam! Es war den ganzen Weg auf und ab, in den Ausläufern. Manchmal leichte Abhänge, meistens steile Abhänge und einige sehr steil. Es dauerte länger als erwartet und umfasste wahrscheinlich insgesamt Höhenunterschiede von mindestens 3000 'und vielleicht mehr. Die Landschaft ist wunderschön. Wir "Dunn" Dunn Road. Und es war sowohl Segen als auch Fluch.

3 months ago

Eine meiner Lieblingswanderungen in dieser Gegend. Die Geschichte der Dunn Road fesselt mich.

wandern
Sunday, November 05, 2017

Wir starten an der Kathedrale der Kathedralenstadt und steigen hinauf, die Aussicht ist atemberaubend und die Bilder werden nicht gerecht, es fühlt sich an, als ob der Wilde Westen an kühlen und wolkigen Tagen den Weg empfehlen würde, wie er sein wird großartige Erfahrung. Ausgehend von der Bucht ist es ehrlich hart, da der Regen den halben Weg ausgewaschen hat und Sie meistens auf nackten Felsen des Berges spazieren. Es ist also kein Anfängerweg, sehr steile Abschnitte auf dem Weg nach oben, aber das Besteigen ist 100% wert . Viele schöne Aussichten fesseln wirklich die Schönheit der Wüste des Coachella-Tals. Etwa 3 bis 4 Meilen weiter finden Sie die Erdbewegungsfahrzeuge, die Mike Dunn verlassen hat, während Sie versuchen, die Straße zu bauen. Sehr zu empfehlen und bitte viel Wasser mitnehmen, da mir 1,5 Liter nicht genügten und wir nur an bewölkten Tagen wandern.

mountainbiking
Monday, June 12, 2017

Ich würde gerne helfen, mehr Leute dazu zu bringen, dies zu erreichen und andere mögen es, damit auch sie die Spaßabfahrt genießen können, vielleicht sogar einige Male an einem Tag. Bitte hilf mir. Gehen Sie zu meinem Link unten, danke https://www.gofundme.com/helpmiszzydothis

wandern
Monday, February 13, 2017

Diese Wanderung ist recht steil und hat wenig Schatten. Wir hörten auf, als wir nahe der Straße große Hornschafe sahen und sie nicht stören wollten. Parken auf der Straße ist ohne Einschränkungen möglich. Sehr leise sah nur zwei andere Leute.

mountainbiking
Monday, December 28, 2015

Der Dunn Road Trail beginnt wie die meisten Trails in und um Cathedral City mit einer Meile von 17 Prozent Steigung. Nach dem Aufstieg aus dem Aufstieg wird die verbleibende Energie für die fantastischen Trails in der Postkarten-Landschaft verwendet. Nach dem Aufstieg und einer Viertelmeile vorüber haben wir (Palm Canyon Trail?) einen Weg gefunden, der über die Dunn Road führt und beschließt, sie nach Westen zu fahren. Ich habe den Aufstieg zu Fuß wirklich gehasst, aber es hat sich gelohnt!

mountainbiking
Saturday, January 12, 2013

Eine großartige Fahrt mit einer ziemlich interessanten Geschichte. Mike Dunn versuchte ein Jahrzehnt lang, eine Straße zu bauen, die die Bergtäler mit Palm Springs verband. Nachdem die Rechtsstreitigkeiten ihn gestoppt hatten, ließ er einige Traktoren und schweres Gerät und seine teilweise beendete Straße zurück. Es ist eine der besten, aber sehr anspruchsvollen Fahrten, die ich je gemacht habe. Wir fahren 4 Meilen und ungefähr 2600 Fuß hoch, durch ausgewaschene Abschnitte einer Straße, die wahrscheinlich zu steil ist, um wirklich für etwas anderes als für winterharte 4x4 zu arbeiten. Der Aufstieg ist hart, aber Sie werden mit unglaublichen Aussichten, leeren Pfaden und einer ganz anderen Umgebung belohnt als im Tal. Bei der 4-Meilen-Marke gibt es eine massive Erdbewegungsvorrichtung und einige Picknicktische. Dies ist ein großartiger Ort, an dem man sich etwas erholen kann, aber es ist auch der Beginn eines schönen Singletrails, der nach Westen / Nordwesten abschneidet und bis zu einem Punkt zurückführt, der etwa 3 km zurückliegt. Die Dunn Road ist eine echte Mischung aus einer breiten Hardpack-Straßenbasis oberhalb von etwa 3 Meilen bis zu einer teilweise verwaschenen schmalen Schotterstraße für die ersten 2 Meilen. Wieder ist die Belohnung oben, sowohl die Aussicht als auch der stellare Single-Track in den Höhen, wo die Dinge viel weniger steil werden. Wir haben dort oben nur 2 andere Mountainbiker gesehen. Aber zum Glück war einer von ihnen ein Einheimischer, der zugestimmt hatte, bei uns zu bleiben und uns eine Tour zu geben! Später in der Woche fuhr ich den Highway 74 hinauf und fand die "Spitze" der Dunn Road. Es wäre eine Mörderstrecke ab 12 Meilen mit einer Abfahrt.

aufgezeichnet Dunn Road

wandern
2 months ago

Monday, February 26, 2018

Empfohlene Wege

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Dunn Road is a 15.3 mile point-to-point trail located near Palm Springs, California that features beautiful wild flowers. The trail is rated as moderate and primarily used for hiking, trail running, and mountain biking. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 15.3 mi Elevation gain 1,332 ft Route type Point to Point

Dogs on leash

Hiking

Mountain biking

Running

Views

Wild flowers

Rocky

Waypoints (0)
Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (20)
Photos (149)
Recordings (10)
Completed (28)
Peter Laska
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon Jan 13 2020
HikingNo shadeRocky
View Peter's Recording
Alexandra Ward
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Mar 03 2019
HikingNo shadeRockyWashed out

I forgot to mention I forgot to stop recording before we started to drive. So the last block or so was not part of the hike. Also if you access as we did, you will come to a locked gate on Dunn Road at the ranch. Follow the fence to the right until it becomes a 3- strand barbed wire fence. Look for where the middle strand is tie up. Enter there and follow the watercourse down until you see the road on your left. Cross the wash and access the road. It’s all road from there.

Alexandra Ward
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Mar 02 2019
HikingNo shadeRockyWashed out

This trip is hard/very strenuous. Started at the Pinyon Crest end thinking we would hike over a ridge to a valley and then have a fairly level walk until the picnic tables. No ma’am! It was up and down the whole way, in the foothills. Sometimes gentle slopes, mostly steep slopes, and some really steep. Took longer than expected and probably involved total elevation gains of at least 3000’ and maybe more. The scenery is beautiful though. We”Dunn” Dunn Road. And it was both a blessing and a curse.

View Alexandra's Recording
Vicki Leimback
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Feb 13 2019

One of my favorite hikes in this area. The history of Dunn Road Captivates me.

Roy Boy
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Nov 05 2017
Hiking

We start at the cathedral city cove and hike up, the views are breathtaking and pictures don't do it justice, it feels like the Wild West up there on cool and cloudy days is when I'd recommend taking this trail as it will be amazing experience. Starting from the cove is honestly hard as rain has washed out half the trail and your walking mostly on bare rock of the mountain so it's not really a beginner trail, very steep parts on the way up but getting to the top is 100% worth it. Many beautiful views really capture the beauty of the Coachella valley desert and about 3-4 miles up you'll find the earth moving vehicles Mike Dunn abandoned while trying to make the road. Highly recommend and please take a lot of water as 1.5 liters wasn't enough for me and we only hike it on cloudy days.

Miszzy Larson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jun 12 2017
Mountain biking

I would like to help get more people up to the top of this and others like it so they too can enjoy the fun down hill ride, maybe even a few times in one day. please help me. go to my link below thank you https://www.gofundme.com/helpmiszzydothis

Carla Wray
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon Feb 13 2017
Hiking

This hike is quite steep and very little shade so keep that in mind when getting ready. We stopped when we saw big horn sheep close to the road and didn't want to disturb them. Parking on the street is available with no restrictions. Very quiet only saw two other people.

Tony Fernandez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon Dec 28 2015
Mountain biking

Dunn road trail starts like most trails here in and around Cathedral City, with a mile hike up a 17 percent incline. After your spent from the climb whatever energy you have left is used for the awesome trails in poster card scenery. after the ascent and a quarter mile past that we found (Palm Canyon Trail?) a trail running across Dunn road and decided to ride it towards west, IT WAS FREAKN AWESOME!!! I really hated the climb on foot but totally worth it!

Steve Mutkoski
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Jan 12 2013
Mountain biking

A great ride with a pretty interesting story behind it. Mike Dunn tried for a decade to carve a road out connecting the mountain valleys with Palm Springs. After litigation stopped him, he left some tractors and heavy equipment and his partially completed road behind. It's one of the best, but very challenging, rides I've done. We road up 4 miles and about 2600 feet, through washed out portions of a road that was probably too steep to really work for anything but hardy 4x4s. The climb is tough, but you are rewarded with incredible views, empty trails and a very different environment than what you see down in the valley. At the 4 miles mark, there is a massive earth moving device and some picnic tables. This is a great place to break for some air, but also marks the start of some nice singletrack which cuts off to the west/NW and loops back around to a point about 2 miles back down Dunn Road. Dunn Road is a real mix, a wide hardpack road base up above about 3 miles, to a partially washed out narrow dirt road for the first 2 miles. Again, the reward is up above, both the views and the stellar single track up in the heights where things get a lot less steep. We saw only 2 other mountain bikers our entire time up there. But luckily one of them was a local who agreed to stick with us and give us a tour! Later in the week, I drove up around Highway 74 and found the "top" of Dunn Road, it would be a killer 12+ miles downhill ride with a drop off.

Michael Connors
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu May 14 2020
Hiking
View Michael's Recording
Zachary Sturms
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Apr 22 2020
Hiking
View Zachary's Recording
Phil Sklar
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Apr 17 2020
Hiking
View Phil's Recording
Patty Jacobson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Mar 01 2020
Hiking
View Patty's Recording
Patty Jacobson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Feb 29 2020
Hiking
View Patty's Recording
Kirstan Jones
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Jan 16 2020
Hiking
View Kirstan's Recording
Jared Hemming
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jan 13 2020
Hiking
View Jared's Recording
Shelly Callender
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Dec 12 2019
Hiking
Eric Losee
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Aug 25 2019
Mountain biking
Donna Turley
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarWed Feb 20 2019
Hiking
View Donna's Recording
Tyler Crounse
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Feb 26 2018