Del Norte and Montanon Trail to Scorpion Campgroud

DIFFICILE 22 avis
N°8 sur 24 randonnées à

Del Norte and Montanon Trail to Scorpion Campgroud est un sentier de point à point de 12.5 miles peu fréquenté situé près de Ventura, Californie. Le sentier vous présentera des fleurs sauvages et sa difficulté est évaluée comme difficile. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et est accessible toute l'année.

Distance: 12.5 miles Dénivelé: 2,660 feet Type d'itinéraire: Point A à point B

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

ornithologie

plage

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

chiens interdits

Le camping Del Norte (lieu de départ) se trouve à environ 3,5 km du port de Prisoners, où le bateau venant du continent dépose les visiteurs. Après la randonnée vers Scorpion Anchorage, vous trouverez un terrain de camping et le port de Scorpion Anchorage où les bateaux peuvent vous ramener sur le continent.

randonnée
pas d'ombre
1 month ago

Le sentier était en bon état. Nous venons de faire un aller-retour de 10 milles. Belles vues. Beaucoup de haut en bas. Belle piste. Je n'ai pas trouvé que la partie que nous avons faite soit particulièrement difficile, mais plutôt très variable.

randonnée
couvert de végétation
effacé
gravir
insectes
pas d'ombre
rocheux
1 month ago

randonnée
couvert de végétation
gravir
pas d'ombre
rocheux
3 months ago

Un trek amusant! Beaucoup de variance dans les conditions des pistes et du terrain. Je ne m'attendais pas à quel point le dernier tronçon de la montée au sommet serait escarpé et rocheux - pas techniquement une «escalade», mais c'était comme après les heures de randonnée pour y arriver et le poids d'un sac à dos lutter contre. Comme le notent quelques personnes, vous devrez emporter beaucoup d’eau car il n’ya pas de sources en chemin. Certaines sections où le sentier devient un peu flou et envahi par la végétation, mais pas trop mal du tout. Je suis parti dans la matinée de Del Norte (vers 7 heures du matin) et j'ai eu amplement le temps d'explorer le centre d'histoire du Scorpion et la plage et de relaxer bien avant l'arrivée du ferry de 16 heures. Une note sur les terrains de camping de Norte 1 et 2 est totalement non assombrie et était pratiquement inutilisable pendant la chaleur du mois d’août. Les n ° 3 et n ° 4 étaient agréables, avec de l'ombre partielle à complète presque toute la journée. C’était juste moi la plupart du temps, alors j’ai traîné au troisième rang de la journée et je suis passé au premier rang (pour la vue folle!) Une fois que le soleil s’est couché.

randonnée
pas d'ombre
5 months ago

J'ai fait une randonnée du port des prisonniers au scorpion d'Anchorage en une journée, de midi à 19 h 30 environ, avec un paquet de 30 #. J'ai 42 ans et pèse 205 livres. c'était très difficile à cause des montées d'escalade. le temps était utile car il y avait du brouillard et pas trop chaud. certaines parties du sentier étaient humides à cause de la brume. J'ai emballé 6,25 litres d'eau et utilisé environ 4. C'est perfide. Il n'y a pas d'eau, vous devez apporter la vôtre et en prendre soin. De plus, mes jambes étaient finies au moment où je pouvais gravir le sommet. Exposé. Long chemin de chaque côté du sentier à la montagne. Il y avait aussi des cactus près du sentier où j’étais brouillé à un moment donné et j’étais instable à cause de jambes lourdes. Remercie Dieu pour son aide. Faites très attention près du sommet. J'ai enregistré 12,3 miles cependant, cela a été commencé après que je sois déjà en randonnée alors c'est plus. Je suppose que quelques kilomètres de plus. La promenade en bateau avec l'île Packers était très agréable et confortable avec des salles de bain et un bar à l'ombre. Le capitaine s’est arrêté pour observer les baleines à bosse, les dauphins et les lions de mer. promenade en bateau pour les prisonniers qui s’arrêtaient au scorpion d’abord, donc cela a pris plus de temps que le trajet en bateau qui a duré environ une heure, je crois. Mat

randonnée
pas d'ombre
rocheux
5 months ago

Nous avons commencé à Prisonniers et avons campé au camping de l’arrière-pays de Del Norte. Il y a seulement quatre sites il y a la vue était spectaculaire. Le lendemain, nous avons continué jusqu'à Scorpion via Montoñon. Nous avons apprécié l'épaisse couche marine car le sentier n'a pas d'ombre. Le sentier passe d'une plaque géologique à l'autre et c'était fascinant de voir l'évolution du terrain et de la faune. N'oubliez pas de porter beaucoup d'eau!

randonnée
pas d'ombre
5 months ago

randonnée
pas d'ombre
6 months ago

Est-ce que cette randonnée a duré 3 jours et 2 nuits? Commencé chez les prisonniers et fait une randonnée au camp de Del Norte, a passé la nuit. Puis le lendemain matin, nous sommes allés à Scorpion et sommes restés une nuit de plus. J'apportais environ 5 litres d'eau au printemps et cela me suffisait jusqu'à atteindre Scorpions où il y avait de l'eau potable. Assurez-vous de réserver vos campings (NPS.gov) et votre promenade en bateau (Islands Packers) à l'avance.

randonnée
pas d'ombre
7 months ago

randonnée
9 months ago

Absolument magnifique. Je l'ai fait dans l'autre sens, de Scorpion à Prisonniers. C'est une course. Vous descendez du bateau à 10h30/45 et le bateau part des prisonniers à 14h45. Si vous le manquez, vous êtes coincé du jour au lendemain. Donc, vous avez 4 heures au maximum pour faire un demi-marathon (je l’ai chronométré à exactement 13,1 minutes de jetée en jetée). Apportez de l'eau, beaucoup de motivation et votre sens de l'émerveillement ... parce que c'est tellement magnifique.

randonnée sac-à-dos
9 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

Nous avons voyagé pendant le week-end de la fête du travail. C'est probablement la meilleure carte All Trails pour la randonnée jusqu'au camping Del Norte à Santa Cruz depuis le port de Prisoners - sur la carte, elle comprend le cercle vert au cercle jaune. Nous avons également parcouru la portion de ce sentier qui mène à Del Norte, ce que beaucoup de gens vous diront qu’il est "plus facile" de revenir en terme de raideur. C'est un peu plus facile à certains moments, mais je dirais que tout aussi raide et même ennuyeux après un certain temps d'être plus à l'intérieur des terres et sur un chemin de terre. Le soir, le brouillard d'automne était beau.

randonnée
Mon Sep 10 2018

Ne suggère pas cela comme un aller et retour à cause du manque d'eau. Mieux vaut se faire déposer chez les prisonniers et faire une randonnée à travers ou même la nuit à del Norte en cours de route.

randonnée sac-à-dos
Fri Sep 07 2018

Très beau sentier qui suit le littoral de l'île de Santa Cruz! Assurez-vous d'apporter suffisamment d'eau, il n'y a pas de source d'eau potable avant d'arriver à Scorpion.

randonnée
20 days ago

a enregistré Del Norte Campground to Scorpion

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée sac-à-dos
6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée sac-à-dos
Sat Nov 24 2018

randonnée sac-à-dos
Mon Jun 11 2018

Charger plus

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Del Norte and Montanon Trail to Scorpion Campgroud

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(26)
Channel Islands National Park

Del Norte and Montanon Trail to Scorpion Campgroud is a 12.5 mile lightly trafficked point-to-point trail located near Ventura, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round.

Length 12.5 mi Elevation gain 2,660 ft Route type Point to Point

Backpacking

Camping

Hiking

Nature trips

Bird watching

Beach

Views

Wild flowers

Wildlife

No dogs

Description
Waypoints (2)
Tips
Getting There

No water along trail. Potable water available at Scorpian Anchorage but none at Del Norte so plan accordingly!

Del Norte Campground (starting location) is approximately 3.5 miles from Prisoners Harbor where the boat from the mainland drops visitors off. After hiking to Scorpion Anchorage there will be a campground and the Scorpion Anchorage Harbor where boats can take you back to the mainland.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (26)
Photos (207)
Recordings (20)
Completed (50)
Elizabeth Green
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 8, 2019
HikingNo shade

Trail was in good condition. We just did an out and back totaling 10miles. Beautiful views. Lots of up and down. Nice trail. I didn’t find the part that we did to be particularly hard, just up and down a lot.

View Elizabeth's Recording
RJ Valdez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarOctober 22, 2019
HikingBugsNo shadeOver grownRockyScrambleWashed out
View RJ's Recording
Jeff Hawley
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 22, 2019
HikingNo shadeOver grownRockyScramble

Such a fun trek! Lots of variance in trail conditions and terrain. I didn't quite expect just how steep and rocky the final bit of the climb to the peak would be -- not technically 'rock climbing', but it felt like it after the hours of hiking to get there and the weight of a backpack to contend with. As noted by a few folks, you'll need to pack plenty of water with you as there aren't any sources along the way. Some sections where the trail gets a bit fuzzy and overgrown, but not too bad at all. I set out in the morning from Del Norte (about 7am) and had plenty of time to explore the Scorpion history center and beach and chill well before the 4pm ferry arrived. A note on the campsites at Del Norte -- #1 and #2 are completely unshaded and were basically unusable in the August heat during the day. #3 and #4 were nice with partial to full shade most of the day. It was just me for most of my time there, so I hung out at #3 in the day and moved to #1 (for the insane view!) once the sun set.

Matt Mac
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 7, 2019
HikingNo shade

I hiked from prisoners harbor to scorpion Anchorage in one day from noon to about 7:30 pm carrying a pack of 30#. I am 42 yr old man that weighs 205 lbs. this was very difficult because of the climbing uphills. the weather was helpful because it was foggy and not to hot. parts of the trail were moist due to the mist. I packed 6.25 litters of water and used about 4. It is treacherous. There is no water you must bring your own and take care of it. Also my legs were done by the time I got to climb the peak. Exposed. Long way down on either side of the trail at the mountain. Also some cactus near the trail were I was scrambling at one point and I was unstable due to tired legs. Thank God for his help. Be very careful near the peak. I recorded 12.3 miles however, that was started after I was already hiking so it is more. I would guess a couple more miles. The boat ride with island Packers was very nice comfortable with bathrooms and bar with smacks. The captain stopped for humpback whale, dolphins, and sea lion sightings. boat ride to prisoners stopped at scorpion first so took longer than the boat ride back which was about an hour I believe. Matt

View Matt's Recording
Bora Reed
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 5, 2019
HikingNo shadeRocky

We started at Prisoners and camped at Del Norte backcountry campsite. There are only four sites there are the view was spectacular. The next day, we continued on to Scorpion via Montoñon. We appreciated the thick marine layer as the trail has no shade. The trail crosses from one geological plate to the other and it was fascinating to see the change in terrain and fauna. Remember to carry plenty of water!

Ankan Bansal
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 4, 2019
HikingNo shade
Sean H
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMay 19, 2019
HikingNo shade

Did this trek over 3 days and 2 nights. Started at Prisoners and hiked to Del Norte Camp, stayed the night. Then the following morning hiked to Scorpion and stayed another night. I brought about 5 liters of water in the springtime and was enough for me until I reached Scorpions where there was potable water. Make sure to book your campsites (NPS.gov) and boat ride (Islands Packers) ahead of time.

Rachel Sinit
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 15, 2019
HikingNo shade
Schuyler Boone
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMarch 1, 2019
Hiking

Absolutely gorgeous. I did this going the other direction, from Scorpion to Prisoners. It’s a race. You get off the boat at 10:30/45 and the boat leaves in the afternoon from Prisoners at 2:45. If you miss it you’re stuck overnight. So you have 4 hours tops to do a half marathon (I clocked it at exactly 13.1 from pier to pier). BRING WATER, lots of motivation, and your sense of wonder... because it is so stunningly beautiful.

Chris P.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 28, 2019
Backpacking
Sariah Masterson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJanuary 8, 2019
Hiking

We traveled during labor day weekend. This is probably the best All Trails map for the hike to Del Norte campground on Santa Cruz from Prisoners Harbor -- on the map, it includes the green to the yellow circle. We also hiked the Navy Road portion of this trail to Del Norte, which many will tell you is "easier" to take on the way back in terms of steepness. It is a little easier at some points, but I'd say just as steep and even boring after a while being more inland and on a dirt road. The evening Autumn fog though was beautiful.

Nathan Manley
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSeptember 10, 2018
Hiking

Would not suggest this as an out and back because of lack of water. Better to get dropped at prisoners and hike across or even over night at del Norte along the way.

Alixandra Rachman
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 7, 2018
Backpacking
First to Review

Very beautiful trail that follows the coastline of Santa Cruz Island! Make sure you bring enough water, there is no source for potable water until you get to Scorpion.

Kim R.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 2, 2020
Hiking
View Kim's Recording
Jen Fowler
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 2, 2020
Hiking
View Jen's Recording
Lyle Larson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFebruary 11, 2020
Mountain biking
View Lyle's Recording
AllTrails epicsingletrack@gmail.com
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJanuary 19, 2020
Hiking
View AllTrails's Recording
Ellie A
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarNovember 23, 2019
Hiking
View Ellie's Recording
Jenepher Schulte
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 8, 2019
Hiking
View Jenepher's Recording
David Reiley
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarOctober 10, 2019
Backpacking
View David's Recording
Alex K.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJune 9, 2019
Hiking
View Alex's Recording
Showing results 1 - 21 of 26