Memorial Day Verkauf! Holen Sie sich ein Jahr AllTrails Pro für nur $14.99
Erste Schritte

Der Chain Lakes Trail ist ein gut 14 Kilometer langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Oakhurst, Kalifornien, der über einen See verfügt und als mittelmäßig eingestuft wird. Der Weg bietet verschiedene Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und wird am besten von April bis Oktober genutzt.

ENTFERNUNG
14.3 Meilen
HÖHENUNTERSCHIED
2,434 Fuß
ROUTENTYP
Hin & zurück

Rucksacktour

Camping

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Gehen

Vogelbeobachtung

Wald

See

Fluss

Aussicht

Wildblumen

Wildtiere

keine Hunde

wandern
14 days ago

Habe gestern, 11. Mai, versucht, an diesen Punkt zu gelangen und konnte wegen des Schnees nicht einmal zum Ausgangspunkt des Weges gelangen. Hätte in einem 4WD-Auto überqueren können. Es begann etwa 12 Meilen vom Ausgangspunkt entfernt. Wir empfehlen, ein paar Wochen zu warten, es sei denn, Sie haben Schneeschuhe und Allrad

12 Meilen Rundfahrt vom Quartz Mountain Trail zum mittleren See. Leicht machbar an einem Tag, rein und raus, aber ziemlich bergauf unterwegs. Etwa 3 Stunden und 2 Stunden zurück mit einem Tagesrucksack.

rucksacktour
9 months ago

Ich bin daran interessiert, den Chiquito Pass Trail mit meiner Tochter ein paar Tage hinauf in Richtung Yosemite in Richtung Crescent Lake und Johnson Lake zu fahren, und dann mit dem Chilnualna Falls Trail zu verbinden, der mich durch den Wawona Dome nach North Wawona führt, wo wir eine Kabine haben direkt am Ausgangspunkt. Ich plane, die Beasore Road hinaufzufahren und dann auf die 5S04 zu fahren, um dort den Start des Chiquito-Pfades zu beginnen. Ich habe eine Frage: Wird ein Lexus-SUV (RX330 den 5S04 überleben, oder gehe ich ein großes Risiko ein, um die paar Meilen auf dieser Straße zu fahren? Von Google Earth sieht es nicht so schlimm aus.) Update: Die 5S04-Straße ist einfach gut, zumindest im Sommer. Ich nahm den Chiquito Lake Trail nach Yosemite und hielt am ersten Tag (ca. 10 Meilen Wanderung) in Johnson Lake an. Ich habe definitiv mein Herz gepumpt. Praktisch kein (fließendes) Wasser den ganzen Weg nach Johnson Lake. Der See ist wunderschön, aber wie viele dort oben ist er von Sumpf umgeben und es ist schwer, tatsächlich zum Wasser zu gelangen. Im Süden endet der Camping auf der Felsenplattform etwa 75 Meter vom Wasser entfernt. Tag 2 war eine Tageswanderung nach Buena Vista Lake, ca. 3 Meilen (5 km) von Johnson Lake entfernt, ein fantastischer See mit erstaunlichen Felsformationen. Das Angeln war ausgezeichnet, obwohl nicht viel größer als 8 oder 9 Zoll. Das Schwimmen war fantastisch und der See war sehr gut zugänglich und vor allem am nördlichen Ende kristallklar unter dem Felsvorsprung mit den Granitbögen Tag 3 war eine 15-Meilen-Wanderung a Der Weg führte westwärts von Johnson Lake, vorbei an Crescent und Grouse Lakes, und mündet schließlich mit dem Pfad der Chilnualna Falls, der Sie den Wawona Dome hinunter nach Wawona führt, wo sich unsere Familienhütte etwa 200 Meter vom Ausgangspunkt befindet. An der South Fork Fire, die im November 2016 stattfand, gab es eine Menge Brandstellen. Sehr traurig, einen Ort zu sehen, den ich seit 1966 besuchte, hat so viel Brand. Auch von der schwingenden Brücke in Wawona bis zu einer Meile stromaufwärts und entlang des Baches ausgebrannt.

10 months ago

Wir haben diesen Weg vom Quartz Mountain Trail Head aus unternommen. Am 12. Juli hatten wir ein wenig Regen bei der Wanderung und Regen in dieser Nacht. Wir campierten in den Felsen oberhalb des 2. Sees, um den Moskitos zu entkommen, die ich bewerten würde Moskitos als moderate, sonniges Plenum am Freitag, ein bisschen Rauch am Samstag wegen des Feuers in der Nähe des Eingangs zum Yosemite. Alles in allem eine tolle Reise und das Fliegenfischen war gut mit Bachforellen, Braunen und Regenbogen. Am Sonntag war die Wanderung zurück zum Trail Head etwas rauchig. Tageszeit und Nachtzeit, wo großartiger Daunenschlafsack übermannt wurde.

rucksacktour
11 months ago

Tolle Wochenendreise nach Yosemite Wilderness ohne die Massen.

rucksacktour
Friday, May 25, 2018

Wir haben dies am 23. Mai gemacht und konnten den letzten See (Chain Lake) und den davor nicht erreichen, da noch viel Schnee auf dem Weg vom Swamp Lake lag. Ich landete stattdessen am Swamp Lake. Ich würde diese Reise im Mai nicht empfehlen, da der Weg mit zerbrochenen Bäumen, Felsen und Bächen stark ausgewaschen ist. Es wird leicht sein, mich zu verlaufen, als ich und meine Gruppe die Spur ein paar Mal verloren haben. Es dauerte 6 bis 7 Stunden, um dorthin zu gelangen, aufgrund der Trail-Bedingungen im Mai und 3 Stunden zurück.

wandern
Wednesday, August 02, 2017

Wir begannen die Wanderung von der Straße 5S04, die eine unbefestigte Straße ist. Sie erreichen 5S04 von 5S07 oder Beasore Rd. Sie müssen etwa 5 Kilometer auf der unbefestigten Straße 5S04 fahren und Ihr Auto auf der Ostseite der Straße parken. Sie werden ziemlich viel am Chiquito Creek entlang wandern. Meine Uhr besagte, dass es 16,5 Meilen vom Parkplatz zu Chain Lakes (letzter See) waren. Das Wasser war großartig, um einzutauchen. Planen Sie 7 bis 11 Stunden für die Wanderrundfahrt. Kommt nur auf das Tempo an und wie lange Sie am See rumhängen. Es dauerte 4 Stunden bis zum letzten See und 3 Stunden bis zum Abstieg. Tolle Wanderung insgesamt.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Ich habe diesen Weg seit vielen Jahren genommen. Ich kehre immer wieder zurück, da es ein großartiger Weg für Wanderer oder Leute ist, die einfach nur dorthin kommen und sich entspannen möchten. Die Landschaft ist typisch für die Sierra, hohe Gipfel, ruhige Wiesen und wunderschöne Seen! Das Angeln ist in der Regel auch gut.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Dies ist eine meiner Lieblingsreisen. Der Weg ist an manchen Stellen lang und steil, aber das macht ihn so toll. Es gibt nicht viel Verkehr und Sie werden kaum eine andere Seele sehen. Wenn Sie also nach einer Reise suchen, um sich von der atemberaubenden Landschaft und dem guten Angeln zu erholen, ist dies Ihr Weg. Gönnen Sie sich einen ganzen Tag Wandern, mindestens 5-6 Stunden, länger, wenn Sie mit einer Gruppe reisen. Plan für 4, in einem angenehmen, langsamen Tempo. Dies ist einer der malerischsten Orte, an denen ich je gepackt habe. Wir campierten am unteren See und machten Tagesausflüge zu jedem der oberen Seen. Der obere See ist atemberaubend! Wenn Sie diese Reise machen, sollten Sie unbedingt alle drei Seen treffen.

Thursday, August 04, 2016

Toller Weekender Trail und Übernachtung!

rucksacktour
Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Dies ist eine großartige Wanderung, etwas schwierig für mich als Anfänger, aber ich habe es geschafft. Es gab einen Sturm, der sich am Tag zuvor durchzog, so dass alle Seen überfluteten. Ein paar Bäche / Flüsse ohne Brücke zu überqueren, daher war es ein Muss, nass zu werden. Wir haben unterschätzt, wie kalt es am oberen See sein wird und wie nass wir werden würden. Aber nichts Besseres als die Landschaft. Bilderbuch.

wandern
Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Super Spaß beim Packen, wir fuhren von Quartz Mtn los. Der Trail Head betrat dann das Yosemite National Park, eine ziemlich moderate Wanderung, wir zelten am mittleren See, der obere obere See hatte großes Bachforellenangeln. Ich würde dies nicht als einen Oakhurst-Trail bezeichnen, eher wie einen Yosemite-Nationalpark-Trail, da ein Bärenkanister erforderlich ist.

Camping
Thursday, August 14, 2014

Wir fuhren vom Quarz Mountain Trail Head ab, der etwas schwieriger zu erreichen ist als der Chiquito TH, aber es lohnt sich. Wir sind an einem Freitagmorgen angekommen und am Sonntag abgereist. Die Wanderung dauerte etwa drei Stunden, um zum mittleren See zu gelangen und die Rückkehr etwas mehr als zwei Stunden. Wir konnten uns einen der besten Campingplätze am mittleren See (nördlich des Weges und am südlichen Ende des Sees) schnappen. Obwohl im Nordwesten und Südwesten unserer Position Feuer brannten, hatten wir erstaunlich wenig Rauch. Wir haben am Samstag eine Tageswanderung unternommen, die uns auf dem Weg zum Grat mit Blick auf den Breeze Lake überquerte. Der See war warm genug für ein Bad und die Moskitos waren überraschend abwesend. Ich habe keine Bisse bekommen, nur mein Sohn. Dies wird definitiv eine jährliche Reise für uns sein.

Camping
Thursday, June 20, 2013

Ich habe diesen Versuch wahrscheinlich 20 Mal gemacht, normalerweise für ein paar Tage unterwegs, aber manchmal nur hängen. Ich würde es als etwas einfacher als moderat einstufen, aber das ist subjektiv, denke ich. Ich habe vor, die Woche vom 7. bis 14. Juli wieder zu besuchen, kann aber auf die Ostseite des Madera Peak wechseln und bis nach Chittenden oder Twin Lakes östlich des Kaiser Peak schießen, je nach Menge und Wetter. Nehmen Sie den Quartz Creek Trailhead. Je nach Jahreszeit gibt es einen Wasserübergang. Viele große Campingplätze an der Nordseite des mittleren Sees, näher am oberen See. Der obere See ist ein wenig steinig zum Zelten. Nach Breeze Lake ist es nur ein Katzensprung nach Norden. Wenn Sie in der Stimmung sind, können Sie die Prüfung nördlich von Breeze Lake bis zum Fernandez Pass abhalten und nach Rutherford und zu den Seen östlich des Sing Peak fahren.

wandern
Saturday, June 16, 2012

Schön, kurz und auf den Punkt. Große Bäume, Ausblicke und natürlich Alpenseen. Höhengewinn / -verlust ist minimal, eine gute Wanderung für Familien, die ich mir vorstelle. Mehrere ausgezeichnete verstreute Campingplätze entlang der Seen, die sich als Basislager eignen. Nach Herzenslust wandern, einrichten und wandern!

wandern
8 months ago

aufgezeichnet Breeze Lake

wandern
8 months ago

wandern
8 months ago

wandern
11 months ago

wandern
Saturday, May 19, 2018

Monday, March 19, 2018

wandern
Thursday, August 31, 2017

rucksacktour
Sunday, July 02, 2017

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Chain Lakes Trail is a 14.3 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Oakhurst, California that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from April until October.

Distance: 14.3 miles Elevation Gain: 2,434 feet Route Type: Out & Back

backpacking

camping

fishing

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

running

beach

forest

lake

river

views

wild flowers

wildlife

no dogs

hiking
bugs
10 months ago

The trial doesnt seem as far as it can be. I tracked 14 miles going to the third lake. You can easily make it shorter and not "miss out" by stopping at the first lake and have a great day. Lots of fish jumping. Going to the third lake doesnt feel that much farther until the last couple miles going back to the parking lot. The drive is another story. I know people say you can take a car on the road in but if you have another option take it. The road is long and does have plenty of ruts. We took a 4 wheel drive truck and a Subaru and they were fine but I was glad I left my 2 wheel drive Lexus behind. Several spots of heavy mosquitoes. Two or three stream crossings.

camping
10 months ago

Great secluded campsites located right when you enter the upper 2nd lake. There will be 1 tucked away on your left about 100 yards from the lake shore. Fantastic hike.

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
off trail
snow
washed out
11 months ago

Still lots of snow and the upper two lakes were frozen over. Really pretty lakes but tough travel without All Trails or GPS to keep you on track.

hiking
Sun May 12 2019

Tried to get to this yesterday May 11 and couldn’t even get to the trailhead because of the snow. Might have been crossable in a 4wd car. It started about 12 miles from the trailhead. Recommend waiting a couple of weeks unless you have snowshoes and 4wd

Fri Nov 02 2018

12 miles round trip from Quartz Mountain Trail head to middle lake. Easily doable in a day, in and out, but pretty uphill on the way in. About 3 hours up and 2 hours back with a daypack.

backpacking
Thu Aug 16 2018

I'm interested in taking the Chiquito Pass Trail up into Yosemite toward Crescent Lake and Johnson Lake with my daughter for a few days, and then connect with the Chilnualna Falls Trail that takes me down Wawona Dome and into North Wawona where we have a cabin right by the trailhead. I am planning on driving up Beasore Road and then on to the 5S04 to catch the start of the Chiquito trail there. I have a question: will a Lexus SUV (RX330 survive the 5S04 or am I taking a lot of risk to drive the couple of miles on that road? From Google Earth it doesn't look that bad. Update: The 5S04 road is just fine, at least in the summer. Took the Chiquito Lake trail into Yosemite and stopped at Johnson Lake for the first day (about 10 mile hike). Definitely got my heart pumping. Virtually no (running) water all the way to Johnson Lake. The lake is beautiful, but like many up there, it is surrounded by marsh and hard to actually get to the water. Camping on the south end up on the rock platform about 75 yards from the water. Day 2 was a day hike to Buena Vista Lake, about 3 miles round trip from Johnson Lake. Awesome lake with amazing rock formations. Fishing was excellent although nothing much bigger than 8 or 9 inches. Swimming was fantastic and the lake was very accessible and crystal clear, especially at the north end below the ledge with the granite arches. Day 3 was a 15 mile hike along the trail headed west out of Johnson Lake, which passes Crescent and Grouse Lakes, and eventually merges with the Chilnualna Falls trail that takes you down Wawona Dome and into Wawona, where we have our family cabin about 200 yards from the trail head. Passed a lot of burn area from the South Fork Fire that was in November 2016. Very sad to see a place I have been visiting since 1966 has this much burn. Also burned out from the swinging bridge in Wawona to about a mile upstream and along the stream.

Sun Jul 22 2018

We did this trail from Quartz mountain trail head, on July 12 we had a bit on rain on the hike in, plus rain that night, we camped up in the rocks way above the 2nd lake to get away from the mosquitos I would rate the mosquitos as moderate, plenary of sunshine Friday, a bit of smoke on Saturday due to the fire near the entrance to Yosemite. All in all a great trip and the fly fishing was good with brook trout, browns and rainbows. By Sunday the hike back to the trail head was a bit hazy due to smoke. Day time and night time temps where great, down sleeping bag was over kill.

backpacking
Mon Jun 04 2018

Great weekend trip to Yosemite Wilderness without the crowds.

backpacking
Fri May 25 2018

We did this on May 23rd and was not able to access the last lake (Chain Lake) and the one before that because there were still lots of snow that covered the trail from Swamp Lake. Ended up camping at Swamp Lake instead. I wouldn’t recommend this trip during May, because the trail is washed out a lot with broken trees, rocks, and streams. It will be easy to get lost as me and my group lost the trail a couple of times. Took 6-7 hours to get there due to the trail condition during May and 3 hours back down.

hiking
Wed Aug 02 2017

We started the hike from 5S04 road which is a dirt road. You get to 5S04 from 5S07 or Beasore Rd. You have to drive on 5S04 dirt road for about 2.4 miles and park your car on East side of road and trail head will be on West side. You pretty much will hike along the Chiquito Creek. My watch said it was 16.5 miles round trip from parking lot to Chain Lakes (last lake). Water was great to jump in. Plan on 7 to 11 hours for the hike round trip . Just depends on pace and how long you hang out at the lake. It took us 4 hours to make it to final lake and 3 hours to come down. Great hike overall.

Tue Jun 27 2017

I've been taking this trail for many years. I return again and again as it is a great trail for the first time backpacker or folks who just want to get there and relax! The scenery is typical Sierra, high peaks to climb, quiet meadows and beautiful lakes! The fishing is usually good as well.

Tue Aug 16 2016

This is one of my favorite pack trips. The trail is long and steep in places, but that's what makes it so great. There is not much traffic and you'll hardly ever see another soul. So, if you are looking for a trip to get away from it all with amazing scenery and good fishing this is your trail. Allow yourself a whole day of hiking, at least 5-6 hours, longer if you are traveling with a group. Coming down plan for 4, at a nice easy pace. This is one of the most picturesque locations I've ever packed to. We camped at the lower lake and made day trips to each of the upper lakes. The top lake is stunning! If you make this trip, be sure to hit all three lakes.

Thu Aug 04 2016

Great weekender trail and overnight !

backpacking
Wed Jun 15 2016

This is a great hike, a bit hard for myself being a beginner but I made it. There was a storm that rolled through the day before so all the lakes were over flowing. A few streams/rivers to cross with no bridge so getting wet was a must. We under estimated how cold it was going to be at the upper lake and how wet we were going to be. But nothing better than the landscape. Picture perfect.

hiking
Tue Mar 22 2016

Super fun back packing trip, we started out from Quartz Mtn. Trail head then entered into Yosemite national park property a fairly moderate hike, we camped at the middle lake, the upper top lake had great brook trout fishing. I really would not call this an Oakhurst trail more like a Yosemite national park trail because a bear canister is required.

camping
Thu Aug 14 2014

We left from the Quartz Mountain trail head, which is a little tougher to get to than Chiquito TH, but worth it. We hiked in on a Friday morning and departed on Sunday. The hike in took us about three hours to get to the middle lake and the return a little over two hours. We were able to snag one of the prime camp sites at the middle lake (north of the trail, and at the northwest end of the lake). Even though there were fires burning to the northwest and southwest of our position, we had surprisingly little smoke. We did a day hike on Saturday that took us cross country to the ridge overlooking Breeze Lake. The lake was warm enough for a swim and the mosquitoes were surprisingly absent. I got no bites, my son only one. This will definitely be an annual trip for us.

camping
Thu Jun 20 2013

I've done this trial probably 20 times, usually for a couple of days on the way somewhere else, but sometimes just hang there. I'd rate it as a little bit easier than moderate, but that's subjective I guess. I'm planing on going back the week of July 7 to 14 but may switch over to the East Side of Madera Peak and shoot up to Chittenden or Twin Lakes just East of Kaiser Peak, depending on crowds and weather. Take the Quartz Creek Trailhead. There is one water crossing over depending on the season. Many great campsites on the north side of the middle lake closer to the upper lake. The upper lake is a little rocky for camping. It's a short hop cross-country North to Breeze Lake as well and, if you're in the mood, you can catch the trial just north of Breeze Lake to Fernandez Pass and cross over to Rutherford and the lakes east of Sing Peak.

hiking
Sat Jun 16 2012

Beautiful, short, and to the point. Large trees, vistas, and of course alpine lakes. Elevation gain/loss is minimal, a good hike for families I imagine. Several excellent dispersed campsites along the lakes which make good base camps. Backpack in, set up and day hike to your hearts content!

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

recorded Chain Lakes Trail

hiking
10 months ago

11 months ago

hiking
Sat Sep 15 2018

hiking
Sun Sep 09 2018

hiking
Fri Jun 15 2018

hiking
Sat May 19 2018

Showing results 1 - 28 of 33