Whiting Road to Billy Goat Loop Trail

SCHWER 86 Bewertungen

Der Whiting-Weg zum Billy Goat Loop Trail ist ein 4,2 Meilen langer Wanderweg, der in der Nähe der Foothill Ranch in Kalifornien liegt. Der Wanderweg bietet verschiedene Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und wird am besten von März bis Oktober genutzt.

Entfernung: 4.2 miles Höhenunterschied: 1,066 feet Routentyp: Rundweg

Wandern

Mountainbiking

Naturausflüge

Trailrunning

Vogelbeobachtung

Wald

Aussicht

Wildblumen

keine Hunde

Im Winter kann dieser Park aufgrund von Regenereignissen geschlossen werden. Dies ist eine härtere Route zum Red Rock Canyon als der Borrego Trail. Sie gehen einige steile Abschnitte hinauf und dann den steilen Billy Goat Trail hinunter, der in Chapparral verstopft ist und an Stellen, an denen die Sandsteinrücken des Messerblatts abgefressen wurden, tückisch ist. Der Billy Goat Trail selbst ist für Biker gesperrt. Achten Sie auf den Felsen, der in den Elfenwald führt. Halten Sie Ausschau nach Berglöwen, besonders im Elfenwald und an dichten Bürstengebieten. Wie alle Touren auf der Whiting Ranch ist es am besten in den Sommermonaten zu vermeiden, wenn die Temperaturen einige hundert Grad erreichen können. Es gibt wenig Schatten auf dieser Route, außer am Ende der Mustard Road. Tragen Sie zu jeder Jahreszeit einen Hut.

wandern
6 days ago

Billy Goat ist eine unterhaltsame Strecke, wenn man bedenkt, dass wir in der Nähe wohnen. Es gibt steile Anstiege, aber es ist nicht übermäßig anstrengend, wenn Sie häufig trainieren. Es ist jedoch nicht einfach und ein gutes Training. Die mautpflichtige Straße und die neuen Häuser sind ein Dorn im Auge, aber die sanften Hügel machen das wieder wett. Wir haben es mit Red Rock gemacht, was ungefähr 2 Meilen hinzufügt

wandern
kein schatten
3 months ago

Ich habe diesen Trail genossen. Die Billy Goat-Strecke ist eine kurvenreiche Strecke, die Sie durch wilde Blumen und über unwegsames Gelände führt, so dass Sie sich "abseits der ausgetretenen Pfade" fühlen. Der Rest ist ein breiterer Pfad, der sich zeitweise der Straße nähert. Klar, es gibt keinen Schatten, aber wenn Sie einen schönen Tag vorfinden, werden Sie sich hier draußen amüsieren.

3 months ago

Harte, schmale, volle Sonne, aber sehr schnell bis zum Gipfel!

wandern
kein schatten
4 months ago

wandern
käfer
schlammig
4 months ago

wandern
Sunday, April 22, 2018

Toller Weg. Sehr landschaftlich. Kombiniert mit gefürchteten Hügeln für ein schönes Training.

wandern
Thursday, March 29, 2018

Schöner einfacher Weg hat uns gefallen. Lose Steine am Ziegenbock beobachten deinen Schritt

wandern
Sunday, December 31, 2017

Billy Goat ist bei Whiting einer meiner Lieblingsstrecken geworden. Manchmal schwierig und technisch. Steile Anstiege sowie Abfahrten. Kann vom Sand rutschig sein und lose Steine lösen. Kein Schatten, also denken Sie an die heißen Nachmittage. Ich bringe meine Stöcke für diesen Weg mit.

wandern
Sunday, December 03, 2017

Sie verbringen die gesamte recht unkomplizierte Wanderung ständig in steilen Höhenlagen, oft auf steilem und gelegentlich tückischem Gelände, aber es ist ein großartiges Training und das technischere Wandern auf dem Billy Goat Trail kann viel Spaß machen, wenn Sie dazu bereit sind . Ich empfehle, am Ende der Schleife vorbei zu wandern und zum Vista Lookout zu fahren. Das macht die Wanderung um anderthalb Kilometer, aber Sie haben einen ziemlich coolen Blick auf die Sandsteinformation des Canyons. Wir waren im Dezember am Morgen und das Wetter war durchweg perfekt. Denken Sie an die Mountainbiker, die auf diesen Wegen unterwegs sind. Sie bekommen einen Kick aus den Downhill-Abschnitten der Wanderung und können die Ecken ziemlich schnell umfahren, bleiben Sie also wachsam.

wandern
Saturday, October 28, 2017

Billy Goat Loop Trail war einfach mit hohen Steigungen gewandert. Gut für eine abendliche oder frühe Vogelwanderung. Am Abend ist der Sonnenuntergang wunderschön. Am Morgen wird es immer noch Nebelschwaden geben (je nach Wetterlage), aber es ist erstaunlich und abhängig von den Monaten. Sie werden sich dem Himmel näher fühlen. Einfache / gute Trainingswanderung in der Stadt.

Saturday, October 21, 2017

Eine meiner Lieblingswanderungen, wunderschöne Landschaft!

Monday, September 11, 2017

Meine Frau und ich wanderten Dreaded und Billy, eine nach der anderen, aber als wir neu waren, machte Billy zuerst, als wir in St. Concourse abstellten. Auf jeden Fall ist beides möglich und unsere gesamte Wanderung dauerte ca. 2 Stunden vor unserer Zeit. Nächstes Mal gehen wir zuerst Dreaded nach oben und gehen zu 4 Corners, wo Billy von links her angesprochen werden kann, anstatt nach unten zu gehen. Ich glaube es waren ungefähr 8 Meilen. Gefürchtet war härter, aber eine breite Straße und ungefähr 25% länger. Billy war steiler, und gute Schuhe sind gut, aber es ist ein bisschen auf und ab, aber nicht so rutschig wie Brand auf der Nordseite von Burbank. Wenn wir also nur den einen oder anderen getan hätten, hätte es sich weniger als Herausforderung erwiesen, wir hätten mindestens 5-10 Wanderer und 10 Biker gesehen, aber es fühlte sich nicht überfüllt an. Es wurde keine Tierwelt gesehen. Ungefähr 85-90 Grad, bringen Sie also Wasser. Während der letzten 2 Meilen vor Christus hatten wir kein Wasser mehr, wir wollten nur Billy machen. Wir hatten extra Wasser im Auto und es gibt einen Brunnen am Parkplatz des Concourse. An vier Ecken gab es einen Wasserbrunnen, aber es gab zu viele Bienen, die darauf brummten. Gesaugt, um kein Wasser zu haben, wenn es am 9. September 2017 so heiß ist.

wandern
Sunday, July 02, 2017

War eine tolle Wanderung. Der Billy Goat Trail wird ziemlich kompliziert und technisch. Müssen Sie auf dem Stand aufpassen. Nicht viel Schatten, also ist ein Hut oder eine Mütze definitiv gefragt. Alles in allem eine gute Arbeit.

Saturday, July 01, 2017

Schöne Aussicht und tolle Hügel!

Tuesday, May 02, 2017

Hart für meine erste Wanderung, aber es lohnt sich!

Monday, May 01, 2017

schöner Tag

wandern
Thursday, April 06, 2017

Eine meiner Lieblingswanderungen auf der Whiting Ranch. Ich würde sagen, dass es für Dreaded Hill der zweitstärkste ist, aber es ist interessanter. Dieser Weg hat einen relativ hohen Anteil an Steigungen und absteigenden Abschnitten, bietet jedoch einen ziemlich schönen Blick auf den höchsten Hügel. Ich habe in der richtigen Jahreszeit ein oder zwei Rehe gesehen.

wandern
Monday, April 03, 2017

Es ist gut, aber ich denke es sollte moderat sein, nicht schwer.

Saturday, March 25, 2017

Schmale Spur. Am besten wäre es, wenn Sie keine Höhenangst haben, um dem nachzugehen. Awesome 360 view .. Vögel beobachten auf dem gleichen Niveau. Belohnende Erfahrung. Keine harte Spur.

Sunday, July 17, 2016

Diese Wanderung hat viel Spaß gemacht, aber ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob ich es eine harte Wanderung nennen würde. Es hatte einige herausfordernde Momente, aber insgesamt eine moderate Wanderung. Ich habe länger gebraucht, um zum Billy Goat Trail zu kommen, als ihn zu begehen.

wandern
Sunday, June 05, 2016

Der Weg ist erstaunlich, man folgt einer Kammlinie und man kann praktisch alles von Wittling Ranch sehen

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Dies war eine wunderbare Wanderung. Gar nicht so schwer. Sie haben einige Loops zur Auswahl. Alles in allem gute 2 Stunden. Es lohnt sich Wird nach etwas anspruchsvollerem suchen.

Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Das war so ein großartiger Weg. Die Länge war nicht zu schlecht, etwa 5 Meilen. Es geht jedoch entweder bergauf oder bergab. Zwischendurch gibt es nicht viele Flatland-Pausen. Der Weg wird auch sehr eng und an einigen Stellen sehr steinig. Liebte es aber insgesamt !!

Monday, December 08, 2014

Ziegenbock!! Es sieht so einladend aus ... Lol ... tolle Wanderung. Schöne Landschaft und so schön, dass sehr wenig "Verkehr" vorbeizischte. Es ist eine kleine Herausforderung ... aber es lohnt sich für eine herrliche Aussicht!

wandern
Friday, June 28, 2013

Nicht zu schwierig, aber sicherlich einer der raueren Einzeltracks in der Umgebung. Aufgrund dessen und ohne Mountainbikes war es deutlich ruhiger als die umliegenden Loipen und eine schöne Pause, bevor die Runde wieder beendet wurde.

wandern
Friday, June 07, 2013

Nicht schlecht für eine Stadtwanderung. Dieser Billy Goat gibt dir einen kleinen Tritt in die Hose. Es ist nicht zu schwer, aber es bringt das Blut in Bewegung. Alles in allem habe ich es genossen. Es ist gut, wenn Sie nach einer härteren Wanderung in der Nähe der Zivilisation suchen. Sie können an der Portola Road in einem Einkaufszentrum parken und sich drei Dollar sparen.

wandern
Monday, March 12, 2012

Dies war ein schöner Weg. Nicht schwer. Das Parken war $ 3. Es war sehr beschäftigt, also früh gehen. Def geht zum Red Rock Trail, während er im Park ist.

Mountainbiking
12 days ago

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Whiting Road to Billy Goat Loop Trail

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(112)
Whiting Ranch Wilderness Park

Whiting Road to Billy Goat Loop Trail is a 4.2 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Foothill Ranch, California that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until October.

Distance: 4.2 miles Elevation Gain: 1,066 feet Route Type: Loop

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

bird watching

running

forest

views

wild flowers

no dogs

During the winter this park may close due to rain events. This is a rougher route to Red Rock Canyon than the Borrego Trail. You'll go up some steep sections and then down the steep Billy Goat Trail which is choked in chapparral and treacherous in spots where the knifeblade sandstone ridges have eroded. The Billy Goat Trail itself is closed to bikers. Watch for loose rock on the ridge leading into the elfin forest. Be on watch for mountain lions, particularly in the elfin forest and areas of thick brush. Like all Whiting Ranch hikes, it is best avoided during the summer months when temperatures can reach the low hundreds. There is little shade along this route except at the very bottom of Mustard Road. Wear a hat in all seasons.

hiking
over grown
26 days ago

hiking
26 days ago

This park has many of the features you will see of other nice hiking areas in SoCal, but what makes it different is Red Rock Canyon. For my full trip report with video, pics, information and story go to my blog: https://orangecountyhiking.home.blog/2020/04/23/whiting-ranch-wilderness-park/

Nice short trek on the backside of the Whiting Ranch Wilderness Park. We made our way down to Red Rock Canyon from the obscure trailhead off E. Santiago Canyon Rd. It's slightly shorter than the typical route (Borrego Trail to Red Rock), but this backside is definitely a better workout and has considerably better views along the way. It doesn't feel like you're in the OC.

Amazing views, definitely a challenge for fitness. Lots of elevation both up and down. Will probably take longer than you think!

hiking
no shade
6 months ago

Free parking at a small park near trailhead. Trail briefly branches but quickly comes back together at formal entrance to wilderness area that has trail map + mountain lion warning. Trails are mostly wide & very well maintained. Lots of cyclists. No shade. Billy Goat itself is a small, winding trail. Footing is straightforward. I wandered through a bunch different of other trails (Mustard & others) to extend what would otherwise have been a very short outing. Entire area suitable for trail running. Moderate difficulty. Worthwhile visit if you are close by. I see it as an early morning trail running circuit.

hiking
9 months ago

Billy Goat is a fun trail considering it’s proximity for us that live nearby. There are steep inclines but it’s not overly strenuous if you exercise often. It’s not easy, though and a nice workout. The toll road and new homes is kind of an eyesore but the rolling hills make up for it. We did it with Red Rock which adds about 2 miles

hiking
no shade
Mon May 20 2019

I enjoyed this trail. The Billy Goat section is a winding trail that takes you through wildflowers and over more rugged terrain that makes you feel “off the beaten path”. The rest is a wider trail that gets a little close to the road at times. Sure, there is no shade but if you find a nice day, you’ll enjoy yourself out here.

Fri May 17 2019

Hard, narrow, full sun, but up to the top very fast!

hiking
no shade
Sat Apr 13 2019

hiking
bugs
muddy
Sun Apr 07 2019

hiking
Sun Apr 22 2018

Great trail. Very scenic. Combined it with dreaded hill for a nice workout.

hiking
Thu Mar 29 2018

Nice simple trail we enjoyed it. Loose rocks on the billy goat watch your step .

hiking
Sun Dec 31 2017

Billy Goat has become one of my favorite trails at Whiting. Difficult and technical at times. Steep uphills as well as downhills. Can be slippery from the sand and loose gravely rocks. No shade so keep that in mind during the hot afternoons. I bring my poles with me for this trail.

hiking
Sun Dec 03 2017

You spend the entirety of this fairly straightforward hike constantly fluctuating in elevation, oftentimes over steep and occasionally treacherous terrain, but it's a great work out and the more technical hiking along Billy Goat Trail can be a lot of fun if you're up for it. I recommend hiking past the far end of the loop and continuing out to Vista Lookout. It adds about a mile and a half onto your hike, but you get pretty cool views of the canyon's sandstone formation. Went in December in the morning and the weather was perfect throughout. Be mindful of the mountain bikers that frequent these trails. They get a kick out of the downhill sections of the hike and can round the corners pretty quick so stay alert.

hiking
Sat Oct 28 2017

Billy Goat Loop Trail was simple hiked w/ some high inclines. Good for an evening or early bird morning hike. In evening the sunset is beautiful. In the morning you will still get fogginess (depending on the weather condition), but it is amazing and depending on the month(s). You will feel like your closer to heaven. Simple/good workout hike in the city.

Sat Oct 21 2017

One of my fav hikes, beautiful scenery!

Mon Sep 11 2017

My wife and I hiked Dreaded and Billy, one after the other, but bc we were new, did Billy first bc we parked st Concourse. Anyway, both can be done and our whole hike was about 2 hours bc we ran a bit too. Next time we will go up Dreaded first and go to 4 Corners where Billy can be approached from the left to go up instead of down. I think it was about 8 mi total. Dreaded was harder but a wide utility road and about 25% longer. Billy was steeper and good shoes are rqd bc it's a bit gravelly up and down, but not as slippery as Brand is, on the north side of Burbank. So if we had only done one or the other, it would not have felt as much of a challenge, we saw at least 5-10 hikers and 10 bikers, but it did not feel crowded. No wildlife was seen. About 85-90 degrees, so bring water. We ran out of water over the last 2 miles bc we only planned to do Billy. We had extra water in the car and there is a fountain at Concourse parking. Four corners had a water fountain, but there were too many bees buzzing to get at it. Sucked to not have water when so hot on September 9, 2017.

hiking
Sun Jul 02 2017

Was an awesome hike. The Billy Goat trail gets quite tricky and technical. Need to watch your footing. Not much shade so a hat or cap is definitely called for. All in all a good work out.

Sat Jul 01 2017

Nice view & great Hills!

Tue May 02 2017

Tough for my first hike but so worth it!

Mon May 01 2017

nice day

hiking
Thu Apr 06 2017

One of my favorite hikes in Whiting Ranch. I would say it is 2nd toughest to Dreaded Hill, but it is more interesting. This trail has its fair share of climbs and descending portions but offers a fairly nice view at the highest hill. I have been able to spot a deer or two during the right time of year.

hiking
Mon Apr 03 2017

It's good but I think it should be moderate, not hard.

Sat Mar 25 2017

Narrow trail. Would be best to not have a fear of heights to trail this. Awesome 360 view .. watching birds soar at your same level. Rewarding experience. Not a hard trail.

Sun Jul 17 2016

This hike was a lot of fun, but I'm not sure I would call it a hard hike. It had some challenging moments, but overall a moderate hike. It took me longer to get out to the actual Billy Goat Trail than it did to hike it.

hiking
Sun Jun 05 2016

The trail is amazing you follow a ridge line and you can practically see all of whiting ranch It can get pretty steep but a fun technical hike

Thu Mar 24 2016

This was a wonderful hike. Not too difficult at all. You have a few loops to choose from. All in all a good 2 hours. Well worth it. Will be looking for something more challenging.

Wed Nov 11 2015

This was such a great trail. The length wasn't too bad, about 5 miles. However, it is either uphill or downhill. You don't get a lot of flatland breaks in between. The trail also gets really narrow and very rocky at some points. Loved it overall though!!

Mon Dec 08 2014

Billy Goat!! It looks so inviting ..Lol...great hike. Beautiful scenery and so nice to have very little "traffic " whizzing by. It's a wee bit of a challenge...but worth it for gorgeous views!!

Showing results 1 - 29 of 112