Baylands Trail

MODERATE 35 reviews

Baylands Trail is a 5 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Mountain View, California that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
5.0 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
42 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

birding

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

walking

lake

views

wildlife

rocky

Lots of wildlife (many types of birds) and views of the bay. The trail is open year round and is popular with walkers and runners. It isn't paved per se, so traditional strollers wouldn't be a good idea -- the trail is mostly hard-packed dirt and gravel.

walking
2 months ago

Call me crazy, but with the air traffic, 101 freeway noise, and construction vehicles parked about- this trail was far from tranquil. The pros: adequate public restroom and abundant wildlife. There are far better trails if you want to forget you’re near one of the largest US cities.

walking
8 months ago

Nice and kids friendly

hiking
Monday, July 17, 2017

Took my dogs out for a hike, decent views with cool wildlife. Be prepared to bring some water if you do the full loop. Could've probably brought a travel bowl for my dogs, had to make more rest stops than usual due to the direct sunlight. Hats and sunscreen are a must if you burn easily. Overall a good flat hike/walk for some warm bay breeze, sun, and exercise!

hiking
Saturday, March 11, 2017

I made this a circular route and so a small section was alongside, but not immediately adjacent to, the highway.
The bay area is beautiful with abundant bird life and friendly hikers.

road biking
Friday, March 11, 2016

Easy

walking
Friday, November 07, 2014

Beautiful blue water, calm and cold breeze and hot sun, fabulous long walk and sights to see at every turn.

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

6 months ago

recorded dock

hiking
7 months ago

trail running
7 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

trail running
9 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Monday, July 24, 2017

road biking
Sunday, June 25, 2017

hiking
Sunday, March 19, 2017

Saturday, March 11, 2017

hiking
Friday, January 27, 2017

hiking
Sunday, December 25, 2016

hiking
Friday, November 25, 2016

walking
Saturday, September 17, 2016

hiking
Monday, September 05, 2016

trail running
Saturday, August 20, 2016

walking
Monday, August 08, 2016

road biking
Sunday, July 31, 2016

walking
Thursday, April 14, 2016

Load More