Pack Rat Falls Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 32 avis
N°2 sur 2 randonnées à

Le sentier Pack Rat Falls est un sentier légèrement fréquenté situé à proximité de Clarksville, dans l’Arkansas, avec une chute d’eau et classé modéré. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la marche, les excursions dans la nature et l'observation des oiseaux. Il est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 0.7 miles Dénivelé: 118 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

forêt

rivière

vue panoramique

chute d'eau

rocheux

Pack Rat Falls Trails est un sentier de brousse dans un petit canyon avec un ruisseau de pluie qui mène à une chute de 24 pieds de hauteur. Il est rempli de petites cascades et de rochers couverts de mousse. Le début du sentier se trouve à l'extrémité sud-est du terrain de camping primitif de Haws Creek NF. Vous vous dirigez vers l’est sur le sentier Ozark Highland et remontez immédiatement le drainage à droite. Le plaisir commence immédiatement lorsque vous vous dirigez vers le lit de la crique. Les chutes s’écoulent généralement à la fin de l’automne ou au printemps (saison des pluies) car il s’agit d’un ruisseau de pluie qui traverse le petit canyon.

randonnée
insectes
16 days ago

Il n'y a pas beaucoup d'eau pour le moment. Mis à part la quantité folle de moustiques (je ne me suis pas mordue, ils n'arrêtaient pas de bourdonner à l'oreille), c'était génial.

randonnée
4 months ago

Superbes vues juste une randonnée glissante

randonnée
4 months ago

J'ai dû faire celui-ci car je connais les personnes pour qui ce nom a été donné. Ils sont aussi beaux de personnes que le sentier. Je suis honoré de les connaître et je suis heureux qu'ils soient honorés d'une manière qui convient à leur travail.

gravir
rocheux
4 months ago

Le sentier commence près du camping n ° 6. Une fois arrivé à la crique, vous pouvez également y monter. Il y a des pistes sèches mais dans l'ensemble, il n'y a vraiment pas beaucoup de pistes. Regardez votre pied, il était glissant. Les enfants peuvent le faire, mais c'est plus difficile pour les randonneurs jusqu'à l'âge de 5 ans environ. Mes 4 ans ont peiné à cause de cela, mais les 6 ans que nous avions avec nous se sont bien comportés. J'ai emmené mon enfant de presque 2 ans dans un sac de transport mais c'était plus difficile en raison des roches glissantes, donc soyez prudent avec les enfants.

gravir
7 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

Trouver le sentier à l'arrière du terrain, il est facile de se rendre aux chutes inférieures. Si vous êtes à la hauteur, de nombreuses autres chutes en amont nécessiteront une certaine stabilité et du saut dans les rochers. Soyez prudent lorsque vous traversez des arbres tombés car ils sont souvent gorgés d’eau et en décomposition. Zone vraiment amusante à explorer. Haw Creek est une excellente zone de camping (les frais de camping vont jusqu'à 10 $ printemps 2019) et nécessitent un passage d'eau dans votre véhicule. Ne laissez pas cela vous effrayer, j'ai traversé ma Toyota Yaris lorsque l'eau touchait le bas des poteaux de chaque côté de la route destinée à mesurer les inondations. Je n'aurais probablement pas essayé si cela avait été beaucoup plus que cela, je pouvais vraiment sentir que la voiture luttait contre le courant de l'autre côté. Soyez attentif et surveillez le temps qu'il fait.

Monday, September 03, 2018

Je pense que j'ai marché sur la partie du lit de la crique plus qu'un sentier. C'était un peu déroutant au début, mais je pense que le sentier se faufile à côté du lit du ruisseau et à travers. Je devais faire attention parce que les rochers du lit de la crique étaient vraiment glissants. Ne poussez pas les rochers avec vos pieds. Essayez juste de prendre vos pieds. J'ai trouvé que cela m'aidait moins à glisser. Quand je suis arrivé à la fin, j'ai vu que quelqu'un avait laissé des fleurs sur un tronc d'arbre. Sur la photo que j'ai postée, vous remarquerez que j'ai attaché les roses blanches que j'ai trouvées à mon sac à dos. C'était une bonne surprise de trouver des roses blanches comme ça.

randonnée
Friday, May 18, 2018

Nice Little trail avec un bon paiement à la fin.

Sunday, April 29, 2018

J'adore cet endroit

Saturday, March 24, 2018

Super chute, bonne randonnée! Randonnée amusante pour bien commencer la journée avec beaucoup d’eau aux chutes

activités en pleine nature
Wednesday, March 07, 2018

Cette chute était incroyable quand vous y êtes arrivé. Pour y accéder, allez dans la zone de loisirs automnale de Hawes Creek située derrière le site 6, le sentier. Une fois que vous atteignez la crique, vous ferez tout le chemin pour la traverser. Les bâtons de randonnée ne fonctionnent pas pour vous si vous les laissez dans le

randonnée
Tuesday, September 05, 2017

Étroit, pas nécessairement adapté aux enfants. Belle. Ne vous aventurez pas hors piste.

randonnée
Wednesday, April 05, 2017

belle randonnée.

randonnée
Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Nous avons parcouru ce sentier aujourd'hui avec 4 enfants (16-8 ans) et nous avons adoré. Quelques endroits difficiles pour les petites jambes mais qui en valent la peine. Nous avons vu des cascades, des papillons, des grenouilles, des araignées, heureusement pas de serpents! Je recommande fortement. Nous serons de retour!

randonnée
Saturday, March 12, 2016

Rochers et de l'eau ... était un super petit voyage. Peu de gens prennent la peine de prendre ce sentier. Et pour ceux qui choisissent, il y a une autre cascade juste un peu plus haute (un peu plus difficile à atteindre) qui est vraiment sympa aussi!

Thursday, March 26, 2015

Nous avons fait la randonnée aujourd'hui avec nos enfants (6,3 et 1 ans). Le sentier part de l’arrière du terrain de camping et se trouve à peu près au sommet de la crique. Les enfants ont fait du bon travail avec beaucoup de surveillance et d’aller lentement. Préparez-vous à faire un va-et-vient à travers le ruisseau à quelques reprises.

randonnée
Thursday, April 10, 2014

Belle randonnée mais difficile pour moi. Il restait encore de la glace et de la neige mais tellement belles.

randonnée
Monday, March 17, 2014

Fabuleuse randonnée bushwack. Il y a un sentier sur une partie du chemin et il faut ensuite parcourir le ruisseau jusqu'à la cascade. Nous avons apprécié cette randonnée beaucoup !!! Très jolie petite randonnée. Vraiment cool arbre creusé que vous devez rechercher aussi !!!

randonnée
Sunday, March 02, 2014

Aller après une pluie et profiter de la cascade.

randonnée
Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Le sentier Pack Rat Falls est une excellente randonnée sur un petit drainage. C'est absolument magnifique. Il est préférable de faire une randonnée à la fin de l'automne ou au printemps. Ce serait également formidable à tout moment de l'année. Il y a ce grand arbre de sycomore avec une cavité plus haute que l'homme moyen. Le ruisseau est parsemé de rochers couverts de mousse. C'est un régal à voir.

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

randonnée
Sunday, May 06, 2018

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

randonnée
Sunday, February 04, 2018

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Pack Rat Falls Trail is a 0.7 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Clarksville, Arkansas that features a waterfall and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 0.7 miles Elevation Gain: 118 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

forest

river

views

waterfall

rocky

Pack Rat Falls Trails is a bushwhack up a small canyon with a wet weather creek leading to a 24 ft. tall waterfall. It is jam packed with small cascades and moss covered rocks. The trailhead is at the southeast end of Haws Creek NF primitive campground. You head east on the Ozark Highland trail and immediately head up the drainage to the right. The fun begins immediately as you head up the creek bed. The falls generally flow during the late fall or spring months (raining season) because it is a wet weather creek flowing through the small canyon. Please note that the area is subject to flooding, please check that the trail is open before going.

hiking
closed
washed out
15 days ago

Didn’t get to this fall as road into area was closed due to road in flooded. Gates closed

hiking
1 month ago

Great trail! Was pleasantly surprised. The trail is pretty easy to follow but a few times I had to stop and look where to go. You will cross the creek a few times and the rocks can be slippery so be careful. There were some fallen trees so had to duck under some and climb over some. The payoff is well worth the hike.

hiking
4 months ago

Awesome trail. I went to Pack Rat falls. Also a great fall

hiking
4 months ago

Was surprised at this one—beautiful! Be prepared to get your feet wet, as you have to cross creek several times. Rocks can be slippery but worth the effort in the end. Was flowing 1-4-20.

hiking
bugs
7 months ago

Theres not much water right now. Aside from the crazy amount of mosquitoes (i didn’t get bit they just kept buzzing in my ear) it was great.

hiking
Fri May 31 2019

Awesome beautiful views just a slippery hike

hiking
Sat May 25 2019

Had to do this one as I know the people this is named for. They are as beautiful of people as the trail. I’m honored to have known them and I’m glad they are honored in a manner that is befitting of their work.

rocky
scramble
Fri May 24 2019

The trail starts near campsite #6. Once you get to the creek you may as well walk up it. There are dry trail spots but overall there really isnt much of a trail at all. Watch your footing it was slippery. Kids can do it but it is more difficult for walkers to about age 5. My 4 yr old struggled on it in spots but the 6 year old we had with us did well. Took my almost 2 year old in a carry pack but it was more difficult due to the slippery rocks so proceed with caution with kids.

scramble
Sun Mar 03 2019

hiking
Fri Nov 09 2018

Find the trail at the back of the grounds, it’s easy to get to the lower falls. If you’re up to it, there are many other falls upstream that will require some sure footing and boulder hopping. Be careful crossing on fallen trees as they are often waterlogged and rotting. Really fun area to explore. Haw Creek is an excellent camping area (fee for camping goes up to 10$ spring 2019) and does require a water crossing in your vehicle. Don’t let it scare you, I crossed in my Toyota Yaris when the water was touching the bottom of the poles on either side of the road meant to measure flooding. Probably wouldn’t have tried it if it were much more than that, could definitely feel the car struggling against the current on the far side. Be mindful and keep an eye on the weather.

Mon Sep 03 2018

I think I walked on the creek bed part more than a trail. It was a little confusing at first, but I think the trail weaves beside the creek bed and across it. I had to be careful because the rocks in the creek bed where really slippery. Do not push off the rocks with your feet. Just try to pick your feet up. I found that helped me not slip as much. When I got to the end, I saw someone had left flowers on a tree trunk. In the picture I posted you will notice that I attached the white roses I found to my backpack. It was a pleasant surprise to find white roses like that.

hiking
Fri May 18 2018

Nice Little trail with a good payout on the end.

Sun Apr 29 2018

Love this place

Sat Mar 24 2018

Great fall great hike! Fun hike to start the day with plenty of water at falls

nature trips
Wed Mar 07 2018

This fall was amazing when you got there. It is reached by going into the Hawes Creek Fall Recreation Area behind site 6 is the trail. Once you reach the creek you will be going back and forth across it the entire way. Hiking poles don't work for you if you leave them in the

hiking
Tue Sep 05 2017

Narrow, not necessarily kid friendly. Beautiful. Don't venture off trail.

hiking
Wed Apr 05 2017

beautiful hiking.

hiking
Tue Mar 21 2017

We hiked this trail today with 4 kids (16-8) and loved it. A few tricky spots for little legs but totally worth it. We saw waterfalls, butterflies, frogs, spiders, thankfully no snakes! I highly recommend. We will be back!

hiking
Sat Mar 12 2016

Boulders and water....was a great little trip. Not many people bother to take this trail. And for those that choose, there is another waterfall just a bit further up(little more difficult to get to) that is really nice too!

Thu Mar 26 2015

We hiked this today with our kids (6,3, &1 yrs old). Trail leaves from back of campground and is pretty much just head up the creek. Kids did good with plenty of supervision and going slowly..be prepared to zig zag back and forth across creek a few times..some slick rocks and mud.

hiking
Thu Apr 10 2014

Beautiful hike but tough for me. There was still ice and snow left but so beautiful.

hiking
Mon Mar 17 2014

Fabulous short bushwack hike. There is a trail part of the way and then you have to bushwack up the creek until you reach the waterfall. We enjoyed this hike a LOT!!! Very pretty little hike. Really cool hollowed out tree that you must look for also!!!

hiking
Sun Mar 02 2014

Go after a rain and enjoy the waterfall.

hiking
Wed Mar 20 2013

Pack Rat Falls trail is a great hike up a small drainage. It is absolutely gorgeous. It is best hiked during late fall or during the spring. It would also be great anytime of the year. There is this one large Sycamore tree with a cavity taller than the average man. The stream is strewn with moss covered boulders. It is a treat to behold.

hiking
28 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
Sat Apr 27 2019

Showing results 1 - 28 of 38