Buzzard Roost Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 24 avis
N°20 sur 42 randonnées à

Buzzard Roost Trail est un sentier à faible trafic situé à proximité de Dover, dans l'Arkansas, qui offre la possibilité d'observer la faune. Il est considéré comme modéré. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, le camping et les excursions dans la nature et est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 3.9 miles Dénivelé: 469 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

grotte

forêt

vue panoramique

faune

boueux

rocheux

Le sentier Buzzard Roost Scenic Area est un sentier de 6 km menant à un Sand Stone altéré affleurant avec des crevis de 40 pieds de profondeur qui ont des fentes et une grotte semblable au cadre, une petite arche naturelle menant ensuite à l’une des plus grandes arches naturelles de moins à moins de 1/2 mile.

randonnée
boueux
7 months ago

Alors regardez. Ce sentier vaut vraiment le détour. Mais il s’agit essentiellement d’une promenade de 2 milles sur un sentier de VTT avec peu de choses à faire. Si vous vous en sortez, vous verrez des structures de rock extrêmement cool et une vue époustouflante. A noter que rien n'est marqué. Tu es tout seul. Un peu effrayant au début. Mais si vous arrivez à la maison blanche, descendez la route et vous verrez la grange marron / grise et cette route vous mènera au sentier de VTT. J'aimerais revenir et camper plus tard dans la saison et à nouveau à l'automne. C'est très isolé et calme.

randonnée
9 months ago

Bonne journée de randonnée, bien payer à la fin. Belles vues et structures rocheuses uniques.

Monday, August 13, 2018

Le sentier entier est un sentier de VTT. Je reviendrai pendant le congé lorsque les vues seront meilleures. En descendant le sentier vers le camping où quelqu'un avait laissé sa tente non pendue et laissé aussi un tas de déchets dans le foyer. La vue, une fois que vous atteignez le perchoir, est magnifique, mais ne vaut pas la randonnée VTT en été. Beaucoup d'animaux sauvages et je suis impatient de revenir en hiver.

randonnée
Monday, July 09, 2018

Sentier vraiment amusant! Pas trop fort, mais assez d’inclinaison pour revenir en sueur. Idéal pour camper au pied des rochers, si vous avez envie de vous asseoir, si vous vous sentez plus aventureux, il y a quelques endroits plus proches ou même sur les rochers, vous pourrez peut-être camper avec une tente ou tout simplement un sac de couchage sous un ciel magnifique. bon avertissement, il y a de très grandes crevasses entre les rochers et si vous entendez un bourdonnement, ce n’est que le Yellow Jacket de la taille d’une coccinelle, à la recherche d’insectes dans les arbres, sur et autour des rochers. Ce sont aussi les bourdons qui semblent attirés par le lichen qui recouvre les rochers, oh et les gros frelons qui volent aussi et les abeilles. C'est comme un paradis des insectes piqueurs là-haut pour une raison quelconque, mais cela n'enlève rien à la vue magnifique et au calme que procure le bourdonnement intermittent. Le sentier est en face de la maison blanche avec la pierre tombale dans la cour, nous nous sommes garés sur le quai en face de la maison pendant la nuit sans problèmes. Nous n’avons vu que quelques UTV qui ont fait un tour rapide une fois terminé, puis se sont dirigés vers un autre endroit. Le sentier est vraiment caillouteux, donc si vous avez de mauvaises chevilles, surveillez votre pas et vous voudrez peut-être les boucler. En outre, étant donné que c’est un sentier de VTT, il y avait de très grandes flaques d’eau pour les FYI. Dans l’ensemble, je recommanderais cette randonnée comme une excellente journée de randonnée et une solide randonnée vers le sentier du campement, mais j’attendrais jusqu’à l’automne lorsque les bêtes de la mort volante s’éclairciront un peu.

randonnée
Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Une autre grande randonnée payante. Nous étions seuls ici pendant des heures jusqu'à ce qu'un grand groupe sur Razors apparaisse. Endroit magnifique.

Monday, June 26, 2017

Super camping avec une vue magnifique. sommes allés en juin sans personne d'autre sous la pleine lune. très romantique.

Saturday, February 25, 2017

C'était un sentier assez facile avec de belles grottes et une superbe vue. A une belle vue sur le camp en bas avant de se diriger vers le Roost.

randonnée
Thursday, December 29, 2016

Pas bien marqué, j'ai utilisé les commentaires précédents pour le trouver et rester sur le bon sentier. une vue magnifique.

camping
Monday, August 17, 2015

Sentier assez facile, pas de points vraiment pénibles. Il a fallu environ une heure à mon ami et à moi-même pour localiser le début du sentier. Google Maps indique le chemin de terre sur lequel débute le sentier et s'appelle Country Rd 1805. Itinéraire: À Pelsor, dirigez-vous vers l'ouest sur la route 123 (le panneau indique "sud"). Après environ 5 à 6 km, vous verrez un chemin de terre au hasard avec un panneau d'arrêt. Quelques mètres plus loin, vous verrez un panneau jaune indiquant quelque chose à propos du trafic sur une seule voie: c'est la route. À environ 3 miles, vous arriverez à une fourche, restez à gauche et dans environ 2 miles, vous arriverez à une Maison Blanche avec une pierre tombale. Les instructions disent quelque chose à propos d’une grange mais celle-ci doit avoir été recouverte d’arbres envahis par la végétation ou avoir été enlevée car nous ne pouvions pas la trouver. Le sentier commence à environ 50 pieds de la maison blanche sur la route. Sur le sentier, vous arriverez finalement à deux fourches. Le sentier continue à droite (vous ne savez pas où la gauche mène), et peu après une deuxième fourche (à gauche: arche de pierre / à droite: Buzzards Roost). Stone Arch: Si vous vous dirigez à gauche sur la deuxième fourche, vous arriverez à une autre fourche. Rester à droite vous mènera au début d’un petit sentier qui descend jusqu’à une grande arche de pierre. Buzzards Roost: En vous dirigeant vers la droite, vous arriverez directement à Buzzards Roost et à ses grottes. Dans l’ensemble, nous avons campé près des formations rocheuses. Je recommande d'aller en automne / hiver quand les arbres ne sont pas si pleins pour la meilleure vue des rochers et de l'arc.

randonnée
Monday, February 16, 2015

J'ai adoré cette randonnée ... les grottes et les arches naturelles étaient spectaculaires !!!

randonnée
Sunday, March 02, 2014

Lire "Voices of Moccasin Creek" de Tate C. Page avant de visiter la région. Une fois que vous avez visité Buzzard's Roost, vous pouvez descendre en voiture à Treat et visiter la vieille grotte des forgerons. Beaucoup d'histoire dans la région.

randonnée
Sunday, November 24, 2013

Le sentier de Buzzard's Roost n'est pas balisé, mais suivez ces étapes et j'y arriverai! Comme mentionné dans un précédent message, restez à gauche et poursuivez après CR 1802. Environ un kilomètre plus tard, vous trouverez une vieille maison blanche avec une pierre tombale dans la cour avant de Waterman. Garez-vous ici et le sentier de VTT sur la route est le sentier que vous voulez. Suivez-la jusqu'à la fourche du sentier puis allez à droite. La piste bifurque à nouveau, la fourche droite (indiquée par une flèche orange sur un arbre) vous mènera à Buzzard's Roost, la fourche gauche vous mènera à une formidable arche de pierre. Suivez le sentier sur votre droite et vous trouverez une clairière avec un arbre marqué BR. Tu es arrivé! Le nid et la voûte valent bien la randonnée et se comparent à certains des meilleurs ponts naturels et abris rocheux que j'ai vus dans la région.

randonnée
Saturday, October 26, 2013

Super randonnée! Il y a deux arches. Le plus impressionnant est facile à trouver si vous faites la première à droite en revenant au parking puis restez à droite à la fourche. Le sentier n'est pas actuellement au bon endroit sur cette application. Le CR1802 se sépare et vous devriez prendre le CR1805 à gauche. Le sentier se trouve à 6,5 milles de la route 123.

randonnée
Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Buzzard Roost est une randonnée facile qui suit un sentier de VTT pour rejoindre le belvédère panoramique, puis au nord, une grande arche naturelle. Vous pouvez passer une heure à explorer le dessous de la falaise en vous promenant dans la grotte comme un labyrinthe. Cela vaut vraiment la peine de faire une petite randonnée de 3 km dans le bluff. La randonnée en est une randonnée facile. Camping primitif autorisé.

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

a enregistré Buzzard Roost Trail

randonnée
8 months ago

10 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

Sunday, December 03, 2017

a enregistré Recording - Aug 31, 05:05 PM

randonnée
Thursday, August 31, 2017

randonnée
Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Sunday, January 29, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, December 31, 2016

Randonnées populaires

Buzzard Roost Trail is a 3.9 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Dover, Arkansas that offers the chance to see wildlife and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, camping, and nature trips and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 3.9 miles Elevation Gain: 469 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

camping

hiking

nature trips

cave

forest

views

wildlife

muddy

rocky

Buzzard Roost Scenic Area Trail is a 4 mile out and back trail leading to a weathered Sand Stone outcropping with 40 ft. deep crevises that have slots and cave like setting underneath, a small natural arch and then leads to one of the largest natural arches less than 1/2 mile away.

hiking
24 days ago

Except for the mud holes on the trail, this one was awesome! The roost was a really unique formation. There are also a couple of arches in the area that are really neat!

hiking
1 month ago

The trail is an ATV trail. It was very muddy after all of the rain from the past week. The buzzard roost is so beautiful and worth the hike! There is a small natural bridge very close to the roost on the left side. When you come up from the roost hang your first right then the next right as well, look for a small trail down and it will take you to the HUGE natural bridge! Very neat place!

hiking
1 month ago

Not a bad little trail. Follows an ATV trail all the way down that is very good at holding on to water well after it has rained. As others have said, it's probably better for views during leaf off time but it was still nice to look out from the roost today.

hiking
muddy
rocky
1 month ago

Good hike. The trail follows an ATV trail and as a result is pretty muddy. Solid final view and good view. Be careful when moving between the rocks as some drops are quite far. After you finish at the roost go back up and take the first right and then look for another right to see the larger natural bridge.

hiking
muddy
3 months ago

Completed 02.22.20. Prepare yourself for a long drive along a dirt road to get to the trailhead. Road is in decent condition as far as Ozarks can be, but it would be very muddy in places after rain. The trail itself is about 2 miles of ATV trail, easy to accomplish although muddy in many places even after little rain the last few days. Rock Formations and views at the end though are well worth the trip. I’d rate this as an easy trail

hiking
muddy
Fri Mar 15 2019

So, look. This trail is definitely worth the trek. But it is basically a 2 mile jaunt down an ATV trail with not much going on. If you ride it out, you’ll make it to some extremely cool rock structures and a killer view. Worth noting that absolutely nothing is marked. You’re on your own. Kind of creepy at first. But if you get to the white house, go down the road and you’ll see the brown/grey barn and that road will take you to the ATV trail. I’d like to come back and camp later in the season and then again in the fall. It’s very secluded and quiet.

hiking
Mon Dec 31 2018

Great day hike, good pay off at the end. Beautiful views and unique rock structures.

Mon Aug 13 2018

The entire trail is an ATV trail. Will return during leaf-off when the views will be better. Walked down the trail to the campsite where someone had left their tent unpegged and also left a bunch of garbage in the fire pit. The views, once you reach the roost, are beautiful, but not worth the atv hike in the summer. Lots of wildlife and am eager to return in the winter.

hiking
Mon Jul 09 2018

Really fun trail! Not too hard but enough incline coming back to work up a sweat. Great spot to camp right at the rocks if you feel like hammocking, if you feel more adventurous there are a few spots closer too or even on the rocks you may be able to camp with a tent or just a sleeping bag under a beautiful sky but fair warning, there are some pretty big crevasses in between the rocks and if you hear buzzing that’s just the Volkswagen Beetle sized Yellow Jackets hunting for insects in the trees on and around the rocks. It’s also the bumble bees that seem attracted to the lichen that covers the rocks, oh and big hornets also flying around and honey bees. It’s like a stinging insect paradise up there for some reason but that doesn’t take away from the stunning views and the peacefulness the intermittent buzzing provides. The trail is across the road from the white house with the tomb stone in the yard, we parked on the embankment across from the house overnight with no issues. Only saw a few UTVs who did a quick once over of the roost and then headed off for somewhere else. The trail is really rocky so if you have bad ankles watch your step and you may want to wrap them up. Also being as this is an ATV trail it had some pretty large puddles just FYI. All in all I’d recommend this as a great day hike and a solid hike to camp trail but I’d wait until fall when the flying death beasts thin out a bit

hiking
Wed Oct 25 2017

Another big pay off hike. We were alone here for hours until a big group on Razors showed up. Beautiful place.

Mon Jun 26 2017

great camping with an awesome view. went in June with no other people there under a full moon. very romantic.

Sat Feb 25 2017

This was a fairly easy trail with beautiful caves and awesome overlook. Has a nice camp sight at the bottom before heading to the Roost.

hiking
Thu Dec 29 2016

Not well marked, I used previous reviews to find it and stay on the correct trail. awesome views.

camping
Mon Aug 17 2015

Pretty easy trail, no real strenuous points. It took my friend and I about an hour to locate the trail head. Google Maps marks the dirt road that the trail starts on as Country Rd 1805. Directions: In Pelsor head west on 123 (the sign says south). After about 5-6 miles you'll see a random dirt road with a stop sign, a few feet in you'll see a yellow sign that says something about single lane traffic, this is the road. About 3 miles in you'll come to a fork, keep left and in about 2 more miles you'll make it to a White House with a tombstone. The instructions say something about a barn but it must have either been covered by overgrown trees or removed because we couldn't find it. The trail starts about 50 feet down the road from the white house. On the trail you'll eventually come to two forks the trail continues to the right (not sure where the left leads), and shortly after a second fork (left: stone arch/right: Buzzards Roost). Stone Arch: Heading left on the second fork will lead you to another fork, keeping right will take you to the beginning of a small descending trail that leads to a large stone arch. Buzzards Roost: Heading right will lead you straight to Buzzards Roost and its Caves. All in all a fun short trail, we camped down by the rock formations. I recommend going in the fall/winter when the trees aren't so full for the best views of both the rocks and arch.

hiking
Mon Feb 16 2015

Loved this hike.....caves and natural arches were spectacular!!!!

hiking
Sun Mar 02 2014

Read "Voices of Moccasin Creek" by Tate C. Page before visiting the area. Once you have visited the Buzzard's Roost you can make the drive down to Treat and visit the old blacksmiths cave. Lots of history in the area.

hiking
Sun Nov 24 2013

The trail for Buzzard's Roost isn't marked, but follow these steps and I'll get cha there! As mentioned in an earlier post, when driving in, keep left and continue on past CR 1802. About a mile later you'll find an old white house with a tombstone in the front yard for Waterman. Park here and the ATV trail across the road is the trail you want. Follow it until the trail forks then go right. The trail then forks again, the right fork (marked by an orange arrow on a tree) will lead you to Buzzard's Roost, the left fork will lead you to a tremendous stone arch. Follow the trail to your right and you'll find a clearing with a tree marked BR. You have arrived! Both the roost and arch are well worth the hike and compare to some of the best natural bridges and rock shelters I've seen in the area.

hiking
Sat Oct 26 2013

Awesome hike! There are two arches. The most impressive one is easy to find if you make the first right on your way back to the parking area then stay to the right at the fork. The trailhead is not currently in the right location on this app. CR1802 splits and you should take the left CR1805. The trailhead is 6.5 miles off Hwy123.

hiking
Tue Dec 25 2012

Buzzard roost is an easy hike following a ATV trail back to the scenic overlook and then just a short distance to the north, a large natural arch. You can spend an hour exploring the underneath side of the bluff as you wander the cave like maze. Well worth the short 2 mile hike in to the bluff. The hike in is an easy hike. Primitive camping allowed.

hiking
22 days ago

rock climbing
24 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Tue Feb 12 2019

Showing results 1 - 29 of 37